Revised Request for Standing Offer

August 6, 2019

The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) is seeking to establish a new list of pre-qualified Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LITs), which can be accessed on an as-needed basis, in all regions of the country, further to the issuance of Conservatory Measures. This revised Request for Standing Offer (RFSO) will replace the existing Standing Offer for LIT Services.

Establishing Standing Offer Agreements (SOAs) allows for the timely, transparent and cost effective transfer of insolvency estates from an LIT who is the subject of Conservatory Measures to a private sector LIT who is responsible for completing the estate administrations.

This process consists of an application accessible on Buyandsell.ca, the Government of Canada’s procurement website available at the following address: https://buyandsell.gc.ca/procurement-data/tender-notice/PW-19-00884275. There is no charge for registration or access to any of the procurement documents associated to the RFSO.

The OSB will use the SOA list to select LITs to administer seized estates. SOA Holders will be offered a limited and specified period of time to conduct due diligence on the estate files seized prior to accepting or declining the work, submitting their offer for a no cost option, or submitting their Schedule of Costs. 

Procedures regarding both the no cost option and the Schedule of Costs have been revised to offer greater clarity to LIT bidders. The highest ranked SOA Holder to accept an assignment of all the estates at no cost to the OSB will be assigned the seized estates pursuant to Conservatory Measures. If no bids are submitted at no cost to the OSB, the determination will be based on the lowest Schedule of Costs.

We encourage LITs to participate in the Standing Offer Agreement as it is essential for the integrity of the insolvency system that the OSB have an adequate number of qualified bidders across Canada so that estates that are subject to Conservatory Measures can be administered in the private sector where appropriate.

For more detail on the purpose and process of the RFSO, please refer to the following information:

Please note that LITs qualified under the previous RFSO are still required to submit a new bid and fulfill the qualification requirements.

Sincerely,

Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy of Canada


Overview of the Process 

  1. Parties must register in order to log in to the Buyandsell.ca website. There is no charge for registration or access to all applicable RFSO procurement documents.
  2. The documentation will include information such as: objectives and requirements of the project, the scope of work, the mandatory requirements, the evaluation grid, remuneration and the selection process.
  3. Bidders must show that they meet all mandatory requirements and submit all required information by the date and time indicated.
  4. Following the review of all bids, the OSB will inform the bidders of the results of the review and of the list of pre-qualified LITs. 

Anticipated Responsibility of Licenced Insolvency Trustee (LIT) Awarded a Contract 

The contracted LIT will take the necessary actions to protect the seized estates. The contracted LIT’s responsibilities are to: 

  • Take possession and control of estate assets, realize and collect assets for dividend distribution among the creditors based on the order of payment provided for in the BIA;
  • Take possession and control of and keep the paper and/or electronic books, records and documents related to estates;
  • Protect and preserve the property and the paper and/or electronic books, records and documents related to the estates being administered;
  • Continue and complete the administration of the seized estates and perform the duties relative to the estates in accordance with the provisions of the BIA, the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Rules and the directives issued by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy; and
  • Ensure that the parties involved receive the services that a LIT is required to provide pursuant to the provisions of the BIA, the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Rules and the directives of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy. 

Questions and Answers

  1. Why is the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) launching a revised Request for Standing Offer (RFSO)?
    The OSB is launching a revised RFSO as the original terms and conditions are set to expire in September 2019. In addition, the OSB wishes to have the maximum number of Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LITs) available in every province to administer the seized  estates.

  2. Who is eligible to apply under the RFSO?
    The mandatory requirements are fully described in the RFSO, however, generally speaking, all LITs in good standing who, have the capacity, financial resources and adequate facilities to administer estates as an LIT are eligible to apply. LITs have the choice to apply to administer either consumer files, corporate files, or both.

  3. Is the new RFSO identical to current SOA?
    No. The OSB is seeking to enable more suppliers to offer their services and obtain contracts as Guardian LITs. As a result, the OSB has revised its requirements to better meet its needs and provide it with the necessary flexibility to respond to the various circumstances that may result from Conservatory Measures. The OSB has also taken into consideration the fees and rates set out in the BIA, as well as its fiscal responsibilities. Consequently, the OSB has determined that it is necessary to have SOAs that will more fully address these requirements.

  4. Am I likely to be contacted to complete the administration of seized estates?
    Despite an increase in Conservatory Measures in recent years, the OSB cannot provide a guarantee of work to any of the qualified LITs. That said, in the past five years, the OSB has taken considerable steps to place seized files in the hands of private-sector  LITs.

    The OSB will communicate with SOA Holders qualified in the province or territory(ies) where they want to offer their services simultaneously, providing dates on which information regarding the estates seized pursuant to Conservatory Measures will be made available for review. SOA Holders will be offered a limited and specified period of time to conduct due diligence on the estate files seized prior to accepting or declining the work, submitting their offer for a no cost option, or submitting their fee-based bid. 

    Upon receiving the qualified SOA Holders’ submissions within the prescribed timelines, the OSB will assess the submissions by order of rank. The SOA Holders list will be ranked based on the considerations identified in the RFSO.

    The highest ranked SOA Holder to accept an assignment of all the estates at no cost to the OSB will be assigned the estates seized pursuant to Conservatory Measures. If no bids are submitted at no cost to the OSB, the determination will be based on the lowest Schedule of Costs. 

    Collectively, all the enhancements are considered to be in the best interest of the insolvency system. Estates which were seized as part of Conservatory Measures will be more likely to be placed with a private-sector LIT, where the infrastructure to administer estates already exists. This will result in reduced costs to the entire system and less disruption to the debtors and creditors of the seized files.
Date modified:

Nouveau modèle de demande d’offres à commandes

Le 6 août 2019

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) cherche à établir une nouvelle liste de syndics autorisés en insolvabilité (SAI) présélectionnés auxquels il pourrait faire appel dans toutes les régions du pays suite à l’application de mesures conservatoires. Le nouveau modèle de demande d’offres à commandes (DOC) remplacera l’actuelle offre à commandes de services de SAI.

La mise en place d’une convention d’offre à commandes (COC) permet de transférer les actifs en toute transparence, au moment opportun et de manière rentable, entre un SAI visé par des mesures conservatoires et un SAI du secteur privé qui se chargera de clore les dossiers d’insolvabilité.

Ce processus consiste en une demande accessible sur Achatsetventes.ca, le site d’achat en ligne du gouvernement du Canada à l’adresse https://achatsetventes.gc.ca/donnees-sur-l-approvisionnement/appels-d-offres/PW-19-00884275. L’inscription est gratuite, de même que l’accès aux documents d’approvisionnement associés à la DOC.

Le BSF aura recours à la liste des COC pour sélectionner les SAI qui pourront administrer les actifs saisis. Les détenteurs de COC auront une période de temps limitée et définie pour faire un examen approfondi des dossiers saisis avant d’accepter ou de refuser le travail et de soumettre une offre avec option sans frais ou un barème des coûts.

Les marches à suivre pour déposer une offre avec option sans frais ou un barème des coûts ont été révisées pour les rendre plus claires. Le détenteur de COC le mieux classé qui accepte de prendre en charge tous les dossiers sans frais pour le BSF se verra attribuer les dossiers d’actifs saisis en raison de mesures conservatoires. Si aucune offre avec option sans frais pour le BSF n’est soumise, la détermination sera fondée sur le barème des coûts le moins élevé.

Pour préserver l’intégrité du système d’insolvabilité, il est essentiel que le BSF dispose d’un nombre adéquat de soumissionnaires présélectionnés partout au Canada afin que les dossiers d’actifs assujettis à des mesures conservatoires puissent être administrés au privé si nécessaire. C’est pourquoi nous encourageons les SAI à participer à la DOC.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la raison d’être de la DOC et sur la marche à suivre, veuillez consulter les liens suivants :

Veuillez noter que les SAI sélectionnés en vertu du modèle précédent de DOC doivent déposer une nouvelle offre et répondre aux critères de qualification.

Sincèrement,

Bureau du surintendant des faillites Canada


Survol de la marche à suivre

  1. Il faut s’inscrire pour se connecter au site achatsetventes.gc.ca. L’inscription est gratuite, de même que l’accès aux documents d’approvisionnement associés à la DOC.
  2. La documentation comprend des renseignements comme les objectifs et les exigences du projet, l’étendue des travaux, les exigences obligatoires, la grille d’évaluation, la rémunération et le mode de sélection.
  3. Les soumissionnaires doivent démontrer qu’ils répondent à toutes les exigences obligatoires et déposer toute l’information requise avant la date et l’heure indiquées.
  4. Après examen de toutes les soumissions, le BSF transmettra aux soumissionnaires les conclusions de son examen et la liste des SAI présélectionnés.

Responsabilités à prévoir pour le syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) qui obtient un contrat

Le SAI retenu prendra les mesures nécessaires pour protéger les actifs saisis. Ses responsabilités sont les suivantes :

  • prendre possession et contrôle des dossiers d’actifs, réaliser et collecter les actifs afin de distribuer les dividendes parmi les créanciers selon l’ordre de paiement défini dans la LFI;
  • prendre possession et contrôle des livres, dossiers et documents physiques ou électroniques relatifs aux actifs et les conserver;
  • protéger et préserver les biens et les livres, dossiers et documents physiques ou électroniques relatifs aux actifs administrés;
  • poursuivre et clore l’administration des dossiers d’actifs saisis et s’acquitter des tâches relatives aux actifs conformément aux dispositions de la LFI, aux Règles sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité et aux instructions délivrées par le surintendant des faillites;
  • veiller à ce que les parties concernées reçoivent les services qu’un SAI est tenu de fournir aux termes de la LFI, des Règles sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité et des instructions délivrées par le surintendant des faillites.

Questions et réponses

  1. Pourquoi le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) publie-t-il un nouveau modèle de demande d’offres à commandes (DOC)?
    Le BSF publie un nouveau modèle de demande d’offres à commandes parce que les conditions originales viennent à échéance en septembre 2019. De plus, le BSF souhaite pouvoir compter sur le plus grand nombre possible de syndics autorisés en insolvabilité (SAI) dans toutes les provinces pour administrer les dossiers d’actifs saisis.

  2. Qui peut déposer une demande d’offres à commandes?
    Les critères obligatoires sont décrits dans la DOC. Tous les SAI en règle qui ont la capacité, les ressources financières et les installations nécessaires pour administrer des actifs en tant que SAI peuvent déposer une demande. Les demandes peuvent viser des dossiers de consommateurs, des dossiers d’entreprises, ou les deux.

  3. Le nouveau modèle de DOC est-il identique à l’actuelle convention d’offre à commandes (COC)?
    Non. Le BSF veut permettre à un plus grand nombre de fournisseurs d’offrir leurs services et d’obtenir des contrats en tant que SAI gardien. C’est pourquoi le BSF a revu ses critères afin de mieux répondre à ses besoins et d’avoir la souplesse nécessaire pour bien réagir aux diverses situations qui peuvent découler de mesures conservatoires. Le BSF a aussi tenu compte des frais et tarifs définis dans la LFI et de ses responsabilités financières. Par conséquent, le BSF a déterminé qu’il était nécessaire que les COC répondent mieux à ces exigences.

  4. Quelles sont les chances que l’on communique avec moi pour clore l’administration des dossiers d’actifs saisis?
    Bien que les mesures conservatoires soient plus nombreuses depuis quelques années, le BSF ne peut offrir une garantie de travail aux SAI présélectionnés. Cela dit, au cours des cinq dernières années, le BSF a pris des mesures considérables pour placer les dossiers saisis entre les mains de SAI du secteur privé.

    Le BSF communiquera simultanément avec les détenteurs de COC présélectionnés dans les provinces ou territoires où ils désirent offrir leurs services; il leur donnera la date à laquelle l’information au sujet des actifs saisis aux termes de mesures conservatoires sera disponible pour examen. Les détenteurs de COC auront une période définie et limitée pour faire un examen approfondi des dossiers saisis avant d’accepter ou de refuser le travail et de soumettre une offre avec option sans frais ou une offre pour des services tarifés.

    À la réception, dans les délais prescrits, des soumissions déposées par des détenteurs de COC présélectionnés, le BSF en fera l’évaluation par ordre de classement.

    Le détenteur de COC le mieux classé qui accepte de prendre en charge tous les dossiers sans frais pour le BSF se verra attribuer les dossiers d’actifs saisis dans le cadre des mesures conservatoires. Si aucune offre sans frais pour le BSF n’est soumise, c’est l’offre proposant le barème des coûts le moins élevé qui sera retenue.

    On juge qu’ensemble, ces améliorations servent les intérêts du système d’insolvabilité. Grâce à elles, les dossiers d’actifs saisis dans la foulée de mesures conservatoires seront plus susceptibles d’être confiés à un SAI du secteur privé, où l’infrastructure nécessaire pour administrer des actifs existe déjà. Cela permettra de réduire les coûts pour l’ensemble du système, de même que les perturbations pour les débiteurs et les créanciers concernés par les dossiers saisis.
Date de modification :