Language selection

Search

Supreme Court of Nova Scotia in bankruptcy and insolvency

Court File No. :
Estate No. : 51-2402731

 

THE HONOURABLE      ) WEDNESDAY, THE 29th
JUSTICE DARLENE JAMIESON   ) DAY OF APRIL, 2020
  )  

   IN THE MATTER OF THE PROPOSAL OF BETTY ANN MOORE
(of the Town of Amherst, in the County of Cumberland, in the Province of Nova Scotia)

 ORDER

THIS MOTION, made by The Superintendent of Bankruptcy (“Superintendent”), pursuant to paragraph 5(4)(a), subsections 66.31(1), 187(11) and 187(12) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.B-3, as amended (“BIA”), was heard by teleconference on April 29, 2020, at the Court House, 1815 Upper Water St., Halifax, Nova Scotia.

UPON READING the Notice of Motion herein, the Affidavit of Elisabeth Lang, Superintendent, affirmed on April 27, 2020, the Affidavit of André Bolduc, Licensed Insolvency Trustee (“LIT”) with and Executive Board Member of the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals, affirmed on April 28, 2020, and the Factum of the Superintendent.

UPON READING the Order pronounced by Chief Justice Geoffrey B. Morawetz of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice on April 27, 2020 in Ontario Court File Number: 31-2597721 (in the matter of the proposal of Stephen Francis Podgurski) (the “Ontario Omnibus Order”)

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS AND DECLARES that for the purposes of this Order:
    1. The “Period of the Emergency” shall be defined as the period of March 13, 2020, to June 30, 2020. For greater certainty, the start date and the end date are included in the Period of the Emergency.
    2. The “Suspension Period” shall be defined as the period from April 27, 2020 to June 30, 2020. For greater certainty, the start date and the end date are included in the Suspension Period.
  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that this Order shall apply to:
    1. All “Active Commercial Proposals” (Division I proposals), which shall be defined as all the Division I proposals filed with the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (“OSB”) up to the end of the Period of the Emergency;
    2. All “Active Consumer Proposals” (Division II proposals), which shall be defined as all the Division II proposals filed with the OSB or revived pursuant to the BIA up to the end of the Period of the Emergency, but excluding the Division II proposals that were deemed annulled, annulled or that were fully performed on or before the date of this Order; and
    3. All “Active Bankruptcy Files”, which shall be defined as all bankruptcies filed with the OSB, up to the end of the Period of the Emergency, but excluding the bankruptcies wherein the bankrupt had received his or her discharge on or before the date of this Order.
  2. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for service and filing of the Notice of Motion and the Motion Record herein are hereby abridged and validated so that this motion is properly returnable today and hereby dispenses with further service thereof.
  3. THIS COURT ORDERS that the requirement for a separate Notice of Motion and supporting Affidavits to be filed in the Court file of each of the insolvency files in the Province of Nova Scotia affected by this Order is hereby dispensed with.
  4. THIS COURT ORDERS that the requirement for notice of this Motion to any debtor, inspector or creditor, within the bankruptcy and proposal estates administered in the Province of Nova Scotia, be and is hereby waived.
  5. THIS COURT ORDERS that the Superintendent of Bankruptcy shall publish this Order on the website of the OSB forthwith.
  6. THIS COURT ORDERS that this order is effective as of Monday, April 27, 2020 concurrently with the Ontario Omnibus Order.

Matters applicable to Active Commercial Proposals

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for holding the meeting of creditors that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by section 51 of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period. 

Matters applicable to Active Consumer Proposals

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for holding the meeting of creditors that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by section 66.15 of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  2. THIS COURT ORDERS that an Active Consumer Proposal shall not be deemed annulled pursuant to section 66.31 of the BIA unless the consumer debtor is in default of:
    1. In the case when payments under the Active Consumer Proposal are to be made monthly or more frequently, the day on which the consumer debtor is in default for an amount that is equal to or more than the amount of three payments plus an additional amount equivalent to up to three payments for defaults that occurred during the period of March 13, 2020, to December 31, 2020; or
    2. In the case when payments under the Active Consumer Proposal are to be made less frequently than monthly, the day that is three months after the day on which the consumer debtor is in default in respect of any payment except that for those payments due between March 13, 2020 to December 31, 2020 it shall be the day that is six months after the day on which the consumer debtor is in default.

Matters applicable to Active Bankruptcy Files:

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that the trustee’s obligation to apply to court for a hearing during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by subsection 170.1(3) of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  2. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for the holding of the meeting of creditors that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by section 102 of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  3. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for scheduling a mediation that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by rule 105(4) and (10) of the BIGR, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  4. THIS COURT ORDERS that any interested person may apply to the Court to terminate the relief provided herein in respect of any proceeding, on providing notice of the application to do so on five days notice to the trustee, the OSB, and any other person likely to be affected by the order sought.

 

 

 

__________________
DEBORA KERVIN
Deputy Prothonotary

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Cour Suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse faillite et insolvabilité

Ceci est une traduction non officielle. Veuillez consulter l’ordonnance en anglais pour la version officielle.

No de dossier de la Cour :
No de dossier d’actif : 51-2402731

 

L’HONORABLE JUGE   )   LE MERCREDI
DARLENE JAMIESON   ) 29 AVRIL 2020
  )  

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE LA PROPOSITION DE BETTY ANN MOORE (de la ville d’Amherst, dans le comté de Cumberland, dans la province de Nouvelle-Écosse)

ORDONNANCE

LA REQUÊTE, déposée par la surintendante des faillites (« la surintendante ») en vertu de l’alinéa 5(4)a) et des paragraphes 66.31(1), 187(11) et 187(12) de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité, L.R.C. (1985), ch. B-3, dans sa version modifiée (« la LFI »), a été entendue par téléconférence le 29 avril 2020 au palais de justice du 1815 Upper Water St. à Halifax, en Nouvelle‑Écosse.

APRÈS AVOIR LU l’avis de requête, l’affidavit d’Elisabeth Lang, surintendante, souscrit le 27 avril 2020, l’affidavit d’André Bolduc, syndic autorisé en insolvabilité et membre du Comité exécutif de l’Association canadienne des professionnels de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation, souscrit le 28 avril 2020, et le mémoire de la surintendante;

APRÈS AVOIR LU l’ordonnance rendue par le juge en chef Geoffrey B. Morawetz, de la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, le 27 avril 2020, dans le dossier de la Cour de l’Ontario no 31‑2597721 (dans l’affaire de la proposition de Stephen Francis Podgurski) (« l’ordonnance omnibus de l’Ontario »);

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE ET DÉCLARE ce qui suit, pour les fins de la présente ordonnance :
    1. la « période d’urgence » commence le 13 mars 2020 et se termine le 30 juin 2020, étant entendu que les dates de début et de fin sont comprises dans cette période;
    2. la « période de suspension » commence le 27 avril 2020 et se termine le 30 juin 2020, étant entendu que les dates de début et de fin sont comprises dans cette période.
  2. LA COUR ORDONNE que la présente ordonnance s’applique à :
    1. toutes les « propositions concordataires actives » (propositions en vertu de la section I), c’est-à-dire toutes les propositions en vertu de la section I déposées auprès du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (« le BSF ») jusqu’à la fin de la période d’urgence;
    2. toutes les « propositions de consommateur actives » (propositions en vertu de la section II), c’est-à-dire toutes les propositions en vertu de la section II déposées auprès du BSF ou rétablies en application de la LFIjusqu’à la fin de la période d’urgence, mais à l’exclusion des propositions en vertu de la section II qui étaient annulées ou réputées annulées ou qui avaient été entièrement exécutées le jour ou avant le jour du prononcé de la présente ordonnance;
    3. tous les « dossiers de faillite actifs », c’est-à-dire tous les dossiers de faillite déposés auprès du BSF jusqu’à la fin de la période d’urgence, mais à l’exclusion des faillites pour lesquelles le failli a obtenu sa libération le jour ou avant le jour du prononcé de la présente ordonnance.
  3. LA COUR ORDONNE que les délais de signification et de dépôt de l’avis de requête et du dossier de requête soient par la présente abrégés et validés de sorte que la requête puisse être entendue en bonne et due forme aujourd’hui sans nécessité de signification supplémentaire.
  4. LA COUR ORDONNE la dispense de l’obligation de déposer un avis de requête distinct et les affidavits à l’appui dans chaque dossier d’insolvabilité en Nouvelle‑Écosse visé par la présente ordonnance.
  5. LA COUR ORDONNE la dispense de l’obligation d’aviser de la requête tout débiteur, inspecteur ou créancier à l’égard des dossiers de faillite et de proposition administrés en Nouvelle‑Écosse.
  6. LA COUR ORDONNE que la surintendante des faillites publie sans délai la présente ordonnance sur le site Web du BSF.
  7. LA COUR ORDONNE que la présente ordonnance entre en vigueur le lundi 27 avril 2020 au même moment que l’ordonnance omnibus de l’Ontario.

Affaires applicables aux propositions concordataires actives

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE que le délai prévu à l’article 51 de la LFI pour tenir l’assemblée des créanciers devant avoir lieu pendant la période d’urgence fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.

Affaires applicables aux propositions de consommateur actives

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE que le délai prévu à l’article 66.15 de la LFI pour tenir l’assemblée des créanciers devant avoir lieu pendant la période d’urgence fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  2. LA COUR ORDONNE qu’aucune proposition de consommateur active ne soit réputée annulée en vertu de l’article 66.31 de la LFI, à moins que le débiteur consommateur ne soit en défaut :
    1. dans le cas où les paiements prévus par la proposition de consommateur active doivent être effectués mensuellement ou plus fréquemment, le jour où le débiteur consommateur est en défaut de payer un montant représentant trois versements ou plus, plus un montant supplémentaire représentant un maximum de trois versements en lien avec des défauts survenus entre le 13 mars 2020 et le 31 décembre 2020; ou
    2. dans le cas où les paiements prévus par la proposition de consommateur active doivent être effectués moins fréquemment que mensuellement, à l’expiration d’un délai de trois mois après le jour où le débiteur consommateur a été en défaut de payer tout montant à l’exception des versements à effectuer entre le 13 mars 2020 et le 31 décembre 2020, soit dans les six mois suivant la date à laquelle le débiteur consommateur a été en défaut.

Affaires applicables aux dossiers de faillite actifs

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE que l’obligation incombant au syndic de demander sans délai au tribunal une date d’audience au cours de la période d’urgence, en vertu du paragraphe 170.1(3) de la LFI, fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  2. LA COUR ORDONNE que le délai prévu à l’article 102 de la LFI pour tenir l’assemblée des créanciers devant avoir lieu au cours de la période d’urgence fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  3. LA COUR ORDONNE que les délais prévus aux paragraphes 105(4) et (10) des Règles générales sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité pour tenir les séances de médiation devant avoir lieu durant la période d’urgence fassent l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  4. LA COUR ORDONNE que toute partie intéressée puisse présenter au tribunal une demande afin de mettre fin aux redressements prévus dans la présente ordonnance en ce qui a trait à toute procédure en donnant un avis de cinq jours au syndic, au BSF et à toute autre partie susceptible d’être touchée par l’ordonnance demandée. 
Date de modification :