Language selection

Search

Manitoba - the Queen's Bench Winnipeg Centre

Doc No. 6

FILED IN THE COURT OF QUEEN'S BENCH
C. Laniuk, Deputy Registrar
Friday, May 1, 2020
11:35:32 (Central Standard Time)

File No: BK20-01-05447
Estate No.: 21-2487620

THE QUEEN’S BENCH
Winnipeg Centre
In Bankruptcy and Insolvency

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROPOSAL OF ASSUNTA DALIDA CRUZ
(of the City of Winnipeg, in the Province of Manitoba)

 

THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE

)

Thursday, April 30, 2020

JAMES G. EDMOND

)

 

 

THE SUPERINTENDENT OF BANKRUPTCY

Moving party

and

ASSUNTA DALIDA CRUZ

Debtor

and

BDO CANADA LIMITED

Licenced Insolvency Trustee


ORDER


ATTORNEY GENERAL OF CANADA
Department Of Justice Canada Prairie Region, Winnipeg Office 301 - 310 Broadway
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0S6
Facsimile: (204) 984-5434
Per: Timothy Doyle / Penny L. Piper

Telephone: (204) 984-6997
E-mail: timothy.doyle@justice.gc.ca


ORDER

THIS MOTION, made by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (“Superintendent”), pursuant to paragraph 5(4)(a), subsections 66.31(1), 187(11) and 187(12) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.B-3, as amended (“BIA”), was heard by teleconference call on April 30, 2020, at the Law Courts Complex, 408 York Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

UPON READING the Notice of Motion herein, the Affidavit of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, Elisabeth Lang, affirmed on April 28, 2020, the Affidavit of André Bolduc, Licensed Insolvency Trustee (“LIT”), Senior Vice President in the Ottawa Financial Recovery Service Office of BDO Canada Limited (“BDO”) and Executive Board Member of the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals, affirmed on April 28, 2020;

AND UPON READING the Order pronounced by Chief Justice Geoffrey B. Morawetz of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice on April 27, 2020 in Ontario Court File Number: 31-2597721 (In the matter of the proposal of Stephen Francis Podgurski) (the “Ontario Omnibus Order”).

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS AND DECLARES that for the purposes of this Order:
    1. The “Period of the Emergency” shall be defined as the period of March 13, 2020, to June 30, 2020. For greater certainty, the start date and the end date are included in the Period of the Emergency.
    2. The “Suspension Period” shall be defined as the period from April 27, 2020 to June 30, 2020. For greater certainty, the start date and the end date are included in the Suspension Period.
  2. THIS COURT ORDERS that this Order shall apply to:
    1. All “Active Commercial Proposals” (Division I proposals), which shall be defined as all the Division I proposals filed with the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (“OSB”) up to the end of the Period of the Emergency;
    2. All “Active Consumer Proposals” (Division II proposals), which shall be defined as all the Division II proposals filed with the OSB or revived pursuant to the BIA up to the end of the Period of the Emergency, but excluding the Division II proposals that were deemed annulled, annulled or that were fully performed on or before the date of this Order; and
    3. All “Active Bankruptcy Files” which shall be defined as all bankruptcies filed with the OSB, up to the end of the Period of the Emergency, but excluding the bankruptcies wherein the bankrupt had received his or her discharge on or before the date of this Order.
  3. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for service and filing of this application by motion and supporting material are hereby abridged and validated so that this motion is properly returnable today and hereby dispenses with further service thereof.
  4. THIS COURT ORDERS that the requirement for a separate notice of motion and supporting affidavits to be filed in the Court file of each of the insolvency files in the Province of Manitoba affected by this Order is hereby dispensed with.
  5. THIS COURT ORDERS that the requirement for notice of this notice of motion to any debtor, inspector, or creditor, within the bankruptcy and proposal estates administered in the Province of Manitoba, be and is hereby waived.
  6. THIS COURT ORDERS that the Superintendent of Bankruptcy shall publish this Order on the website of the OSB forthwith.
  7. THIS COURT ORDERS that this Order is effective as of Monday, April 27, 2020, concurrently with the Ontario Omnibus Order.

MATTERS APPLICABLE TO ACTIVE COMMERCIAL PROPOSALS

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for holding the meeting of creditors that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by section 51 of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.

MATTERS APPLICABLE TO ACTIVE CONSUMER PROPOSALS

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for holding the meeting of creditors that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by section 66.15 of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  2. THIS COURT ORDERS that an Active Consumer Proposal shall not be deemed annulled pursuant to section 66.31 of the BIA unless the consumer debtor is in default of:
    1. In the case when payments under the Active Consumer Proposal are to be made monthly or more frequently, the day on which the consumer debtor is in default for an amount that is equal to or more than the amount of three payments plus an additional amount equivalent to up to three payments for defaults that occurred during the period of March 13, 2020, to December 31, 2020; or
    2. In the case when payments under the Active Consumer Proposal are to be made less frequently than monthly, the day that is three months after the day on which the consumer debtor is in default in respect of any payment except that for those payments due between March 13, 2020 to December 31, 2020 it shall be the day that is six months after the day on which the consumer debtor is in default.

MATTERS APPLICABLE TO ACTIVE BANKRUPTCY FILES

  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that the trustee’s obligation to apply to court for a hearing during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by subsection 170.1(3) of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  2. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for the holding of the meeting of creditors that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by section 102 of the BIA, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  3. THIS COURT ORDERS that the time for scheduling a mediation that is to take place during the Period of the Emergency, as provided by rule 105(4) and (10) of the BIGR, is to be extended by the time of the Suspension Period.
  4. THIS COURT ORDERS that any interested person may apply to the Court to terminate the relief provided herein in respect of any proceeding, on providing notice of the application to do so on five days notice to the trustee, the OSB, and any other person likely to be affected by the order sought.

 

April 30, 2020

__________________________
The Honourable Mr. Justice
James G. Edmond

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Manitoba–Cour du Banc de la Reine Centre de Winnipeg

Ceci est une traduction non officielle. Veuillez consulter l’ordonnance en anglais pour la version officielle.

Doc No : 6

DÉPOSÉ À LA COUR DU BANC DE LA REINE
C. Laniuk, registraire adjoint
Le vendredi 1 mai 2020
11h35 (heure standard centrale)

No de dossier de la Cour : BK20-01-05447
No de dossier d’actif : 21-2487620

COUR DU BANC DE LA REINE
Centre de Winnipeg
Faillite et insolvabilité

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE LA PROPOSITION
D’ASSUNTA DALIDA CRUZ
(de la ville de Winnipeg, dans la province du Manitoba)

 

L’HONORABLE JUGE

)

Le jeudi 30 avril 2020

JAMES G. EDMOND

)

 

 

LA SURINTENDANTE DES FAILLITES

Partie requérante

et

ASSUNTA DALIDA CRUZ

Débitrice

et

BDO CANADA LIMITÉE

Syndic autorisé en insolvabilité


ORDONNANCE


PROCUREUR GÉNÉRAL DU CANADA Ministère de la Justice du Canada
Région des Prairies, bureau de Winnipeg
310, avenue Broadway, bureau 301
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3C 0S6
Télécopieur : 204-984-5434
Par Timothy Doyle et Penny L. Piper

Téléphone : 204-984-6997
Courriel : timothy.doyle@justice.gc.ca


ORDONNANCE

LA REQUÊTE, déposée par la surintendante des faillites (« la surintendante ») en vertu de l’alinéa 5(4)a) et des paragraphes 66.31(1), 187(11) et 187(12) de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité, L.R.C. (1985), ch. B-3, dans sa version modifiée (« la LFI »), a été entendue par téléconférence le 30 avril 2020 au palais de justice situé au 408, avenue York à Winnipeg, au Manitoba.

APRÈS AVOIR LU l’avis de requête, l’affidavit d’Elisabeth Lang, surintendante, souscrit le 28 avril 2020, et l’affidavit d’André Bolduc, syndic autorisé en insolvabilité, vice-président principal des Services de redressement d’entreprises de BDO Canada limitée à Ottawa (« BDO ») et membre du Comité exécutif de l’Association canadienne des professionnels de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation, souscrit le 28 avril 2020;

ET APRÈS AVOIR LU l’ordonnance rendue par le juge en chef Geoffrey B. Morawetz, de la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, le 27 avril 2020, dans le dossier de cour de l’Ontario no 31 2597721 (dans l’affaire de la proposition de Stephen Francis Podgurski) (« l’ordonnance omnibus de l’Ontario »);

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE ET DÉCLARE ce qui suit, pour les fins de la présente ordonnance :
    1. la « période d’urgence » commence le 13 mars 2020 et se termine le 30 juin 2020, étant entendu que les dates de début et de fin sont comprises dans cette période;
    2. la « période de suspension » commence le 27 avril 2020 et se termine le 30 juin 2020, étant entendu que les dates de début et de fin sont comprises dans cette période.
  2. LA COUR ORDONNE que la présente ordonnance s’applique à :
    1. toutes les « propositions concordataires actives » (propositions en vertu de la section I), c’est-à-dire toutes les propositions en vertu de la section I déposées auprès du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (« le BSF ») jusqu’à la fin de la période d’urgence;
    2. toutes les « propositions de consommateur actives » (propositions en vertu de la section II), c’est-à-dire toutes les propositions en vertu de la section II déposées auprès du BSF ou rétablies en application de la LFI jusqu’à la fin de la période d’urgence, mais à l’exclusion des propositions en vertu de la section II qui étaient annulées ou réputées annulées ou qui avaient été entièrement exécutées le jour ou avant le jour du prononcé de la présente ordonnance;
    3. tous les « dossiers de faillite actifs », c’est-à-dire tous les dossiers de faillite déposés auprès du BSF jusqu’à la fin de la période d’urgence, mais à l’exclusion des faillites pour lesquelles le failli a obtenu sa libération le jour ou avant le jour du prononcé de la présente ordonnance.
  3. LA COUR ORDONNE que les délais de signification et de dépôt de la demande par voie de requête et des documents justificatifs à l’appui soient par la présente abrégés et validés de sorte que la requête puisse être entendue en bonne et due forme aujourd’hui sans nécessité de signification supplémentaire.
  4. LA COUR ORDONNE la dispense de l’obligation de déposer un avis de requête distinct et les affidavits à l’appui dans chaque dossier d’insolvabilité au Manitoba visé par la présente ordonnance.
  5. LA COUR ORDONNE la dispense de l’obligation d’aviser de l’avis de requête tout débiteur, inspecteur ou créancier à l’égard des dossiers de faillite et de proposition administrés au Manitoba.
  6. LA COUR ORDONNE que la surintendante des faillites publie sans délai la présente ordonnance sur le site Web du BSF.
  7. LA COUR ORDONNE que la présente ordonnance entre en vigueur le lundi 27 avril 2020, au même moment que l’ordonnance omnibus de l’Ontario.

AFFAIRES APPLICABLES AUX PROPOSITIONS CONCORDATAIRES ACTIVES

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE que le délai prévu à l’article 51 de la LFI pour tenir l’assemblée des créanciers devant avoir lieu pendant la période d’urgence fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.

AFFAIRES APPLICABLES AUX PROPOSITIONS DE CONSOMMATEUR ACTIVES

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE que le délai prévu à l’article 66.15 de la LFI pour tenir l’assemblée des créanciers devant avoir lieu pendant la période d’urgence fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  2. LA COUR ORDONNE qu’aucune proposition de consommateur active ne soit réputée annulée en vertu de l’article 66.31 de la LFI, à moins que le débiteur consommateur ne soit en défaut :
    1. dans le cas où les paiements prévus par la proposition de consommateur active doivent être effectués mensuellement ou plus fréquemment, le jour où le débiteur consommateur est en défaut de payer un montant représentant trois versements ou plus, plus un montant supplémentaire représentant un maximum de trois versements en lien avec des défauts survenus entre le 13 mars 2020 et le 31 décembre 2020; ou
    2. dans le cas où les paiements prévus par la proposition de consommateur active doivent être effectués moins fréquemment que mensuellement, à l’expiration d’un délai de trois mois après le jour où le débiteur consommateur a été en défaut de payer tout montant à l’exception des versements à effectuer entre le 13 mars 2020 et le 31 décembre 2020, soit dans les six mois suivant la date à laquelle le débiteur consommateur a été en défaut.

AFFAIRES APPLICABLES AUX DOSSIERS DE FAILLITE ACTIFS

  1. LA COUR ORDONNE que l’obligation incombant au syndic de demander sans délai au tribunal une date d’audience au cours de la période d’urgence, en vertu du paragraphe 170.1(3) de la LFI, fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  2. LA COUR ORDONNE que le délai prévu à l’article 102 de la LFI pour tenir l’assemblée des créanciers devant avoir lieu au cours de la période d’urgence fasse l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  3. LA COUR ORDONNE que les délais prévus aux paragraphes 105(4) et (10) des Règles générales sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité pour tenir les séances de médiation devant avoir lieu durant la période d’urgence fassent l’objet d’une prolongation correspondant à la période de suspension.
  4. LA COUR ORDONNE que toute partie intéressée puisse présenter au tribunal une demande afin de mettre fin aux redressements prévus dans la présente ordonnance en ce qui a trait à toute procédure en donnant un avis de cinq jours au syndic, au BSF et à toute autre partie susceptible d’être touchée par l’ordonnance demandée.

 

Le 30 avril 2020

__________________________
L’honorable juge
James G. Edmond

Date de modification :