Archived — Backgrounder - Generic drug sector study

Backgrounder

October 29, 2007


Background

The development and supply of pharmaceuticals are important parts of health care delivery in Canada. In 2006, total retail and hospital expenditures on pharmaceuticals at invoice cost were $17.8 billion. Generic pharmaceuticals account for a large and growing portion of pharmaceuticals dispensed in Canada. In 2005, 43 per cent of all drugs dispensed through retail pharmacies were generic and total generic drug spending in 2006 was $3.2 billion.

On September 28, 2006, the Bureau announced that it would be undertaking a study of the generic drug sector as part of its mandate as competition advocate. The Bureau initiated this project in response to several studies that found the price of prescription generics to be high in Canada compared to other countries.

Canada's health system is an area where competition is often seen as playing a limited role. The reality is that competitive markets are responsible for delivering many of the products and services on which our health system relies. Given their importance to the welfare of Canadians, health-related markets have been a key enforcement and advocacy priority for the Bureau for several years.

In conducting the study, the Bureau relied on publicly available information, data purchased from data providers and information obtained from sector participants in interviews and contacts conducted over the January to April 2007 period.

The Bureau's key findings are:

  • Generic manufacturing has become more competitive over the past 15 years. It appears that strong competition exists in the supply of many generic drugs in Canada.
  • In most provinces, an important way in which manufacturers compete to have their product stocked by pharmacies is to offer them rebates off invoice prices. Rebates provide an incentive for pharmacies to select a particular manufacturer's product. Public sources and information provided by parties interviewed for this study indicate that these are on average 40 per cent of the price the pharmacy is invoiced. Rebates are currently prohibited in two provinces, Ontario and Quebec. However, legislation adopted in Ontario in 2006, and under consideration in Quebec, allows generic drug manufacturers to compete by paying for pharmacies' professional services such as patient counselling.
  • Rebates and allowances are not typically reflected in amounts paid for drugs by public or private drug plans, or out-of-pocket by consumers. Until recently, prices paid for generic drugs across the country tended to reflect the maximum generic drug prices allowed under Ontario's drug plan. This changed in 2006 when Ontario reduced the maximum it would pay for generic drugs to 50 per cent of the brand-name product price. These lower prices are not paid by private drug plans in Ontario, which represent over half of the market in that province, or drug plans in other provinces, although they are due to be adopted in Quebec in 2008.
  • Plans incorporate various policies to reduce their generic drug costs. However, they provide limited incentive for manufacturers to compete by offering competitive prices to end payors.

The Competition Bureau will be continuing its work in the generic drug sector by examining possible options for obtaining the benefits from competition and the impediments to their adoption. Implementing new approaches would require important changes to the system for generic drugs that would have to be carefully considered.

Private plans also do not appear to be obtaining competitive prices from manufacturers. An increased role in obtaining lower prices for their customers could provide significant savings to businesses and individuals in Canada. The Bureau will be doing further work in this area to determine why this is not happening.

Date modified:

Archivé — Précis d’information - Étude du secteur canadien des médicaments génériques

Précis d'information

Le 29 octobre 2007


Contexte

La mise au point et l'approvisionnement de médicaments sont des parties importantes de la prestation de soins de santé au Canada. En 2006, les dépenses totales des ventes au détail et des hôpitaux qui ont été facturées pour des médicaments s'élevaient à 17,8 milliards de dollars. Les médicaments génériques représentent une portion importante et grandissante des médicaments délivrés au Canada. En 2005, 43 p. 100 de tous les médicaments délivrés par des pharmacies au détail étaient génériques et les dépenses totales en médicaments génériques se chiffraient à 3,2 milliards de dollars en 2006.

Le 28 septembre 2006, le Bureau a annoncé qu'il mènerait une étude du secteur des médicaments génériques dans le cadre de son mandat à titre de défenseur de la concurrence. Le Bureau a mis sur pied ce projet en réponse à plusieurs études qui ont constaté que le prix des médicaments génériques sur ordonnance était plus élevé au Canada que dans d'autres pays.

Le rôle que joue la concurrence dans le système de santé du Canada est souvent perçu comme limité. En réalité, les marchés concurrentiels permettent de fournir un grand nombre des produits et services dont notre système de santé dépend. Étant donné leur importance pour le bien-être des Canadiens, les marchés liés à la santé constituent depuis plusieurs années une priorité clé du Bureau pour ce qui est de l'application de la loi et de la promotion de la concurrence.

Pour mener l'étude, le Bureau a eu recours à de l'information accessible au public, à des données achetées à des fournisseurs de données et à de l'information obtenue de participants sectoriels au cours d'entrevues et de communications qui ont eu lieu de janvier à avril 2007.

Voici les principales conclusions du Bureau :

  • La fabrication de médicaments génériques est devenue plus concurrentielle au cours des 15 dernières années. Il semble qu'une forte concurrence s'exerce dans l'approvisionnement de nombreux médicaments génériques au Canada.
  • Dans la plupart des provinces, un moyen important par lequel les fabricants rivalisent pour que les pharmacies offrent leurs produits consiste à leur offrir un rabais sur les prix facturés. Les rabais incitent les pharmacies à choisir le produit d'un fabricant particulier. Les sources d'information publiques et les renseignements recueillis auprès des parties interviewées pour cette étude révèlent que lex prix réduits sont en moyenne 40 pour cent du prix facturés à la pharmacie. Les rabais sont actuellement interdits dans deux provinces, l'Ontario et le Québec. Toutefois, les dispositions législatives adoptées en Ontario en 2006, et à l'étude au Québec, permettent aux fabricants de médicaments génériques de se faire concurrence en payant pour des services professionnels des pharmacies, comme les conseils aux patients.
  • Les rabais et les remises ne figurent pas habituellement dans les montants payés pour les médicaments par les régimes d'assurance-médicaments publics ou privés, ou par les consommateurs. Jusqu'à récemment, les prix payés au pays pour des médicaments génériques tendaient à refléter les prix maximaux permis par le régime d'assurance-médicaments de l'Ontario pour ces médicaments. La situation a changé en 2006, lorsque l'Ontario a réduit le maximum qu'elle paierait pour un médicament générique à 50 p. 100 du prix du médicament de marque. Ces prix inférieurs ne sont pas payés par les régimes d'assurance-médicaments privés en Ontario, ce qui représente plus de la moitié du marché dans cette province, ou par les régimes dans d'autres provinces, mais ils seront adoptés par le Québec en 2008.
  • Les régimes d'assurance-médicaments comprennent diverses politiques visant à réduire leurs coûts pour les médicaments génériques. Toutefois, ils incitent peu les fabricants à se faire concurrence en offrant des prix concurrentiels aux payeurs finals.

Le Bureau de la concurrence poursuivra ses travaux dans le secteur des médicaments génériques en examinant des options qui permettraient d'obtenir les avantages liés à la concurrence, ainsi que les obstacles à leur adoption. La mise en oeuvre de nouvelles approches nécessiterait d'importantes modifications du système pour les médicaments génériques, qui devraient être examinées minutieusement.

Les régimes d'assurance-médicaments privés ne semblent pas obtenir des prix concurrentiels des fabricants. Si les régimes pouvaient jouer un rôle accru dans l'obtention de prix inférieurs pour leurs clients, les entreprises et les particuliers au Canada pourraient réaliser des économies importantes. Le Bureau approfondira son travail dans ce domaine afin de déterminer pourquoi il n'en est pas ainsi.

Date de modification :