The Competition Bureau's month in review — 2019

CB in Brief is an electronic publication, distributed regularly to media and stakeholders to provide a snapshot of recent news and developments.

On this page

April — 2019

Investigation of gas prices in Northwestern Ontario

Investigation of gas prices in Northwestern Ontario

As part of an investigation of gasoline pricing practices in Northwestern Ontario, Competition Bureau officers visited a total of 50 gas stations in the Ontario communities of Thunder Bay, Fort Frances, Dryden and Kenora.

Competition Bureau concludes investigation of gas prices in Northwestern Ontario

The Competition Bureau has concluded an investigation of gasoline pricing practices in Northwestern Ontario. The Bureau did not find evidence that an offence under the Competition Act has occurred.

As part of an investigation that began in December 2018, Bureau officers conducted field interviews at a total of 50 gas stations in the communities of Thunder Bay, Fort Frances, Dryden and Kenora. The Bureau also collected and analysed pricing data from various sources, and examined regional market characteristics such as wholesale gasoline supply and distribution. Throughout this investigation, the Bureau did not uncover evidence of anticompetitive agreements among competitors in the wholesale or retail gasoline markets. 

Should the Bureau become aware of evidence of anticompetitive activity at any time in the future, it will not hesitate to take action.

Contact us to report anticompetitive activity

Anyone with information about price-fixing or other anticompetitive activity can contact the Competition Bureau by calling 1-800-348-5358 or by submitting a complaint online. Keep in mind that high or identical prices by themselves are not evidence of illegal activity. There needs to be hard evidence of an illegal agreement between competitors.

Whistleblowing Initiative

If you believe the company you work for has an illegal agreement with its competitors, contact us and we will keep your identity secret. Whistleblowers are also protected by law. It is against the law for your employer to retaliate against you, or to threaten to do so, if you provide the Competition Bureau with information.

Those involved in illegal agreements who come forward with information and cooperate with our investigation may qualify for immunity or lenient treatment under our Immunity and Leniency Programs.

March — 2019

(Left to right) Jonah Brook, law student at the University of British Columbia; Victoria Wicks, law student at the University of British Columbia; Matthew Boswell, Commissioner of Competition; Dylan Williams, law student at the University of British Columbia; Brian Facey, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP; Hannah Thomson, law student at the University of British Columbia.

Bureau hosts first Canadian Competition Law Moot

Left to right:

  • Jonah Brook, law student at the University of British Columbia;
  • Victoria Wicks, law student at the University of British Columbia;
  • Matthew Boswell, Commissioner of Competition;
  • Dylan Williams, law student at the University of British Columbia;
  • Brian Facey, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP;
  • Hannah Thomson, law student at the University of British Columbia.

Bureau hosts first Canadian Competition Law Moot

The Competition Bureau, the Canadian Bar Association and the Canadian Competition Tribunal joined forces to organize the first Canadian Competition Law Moot on March 15 and 16, 2019.

The event assembled 21 budding lawyers from five Canadian law faculties: the University of Ottawa, Peter A. Allard School of Law at the University of British Columbia, Queen's University, the University of Toronto Faculty of Law and Osgoode Hall Law School of York University.

These law students tackled current and complex issues during a fictional competition law case regarding a merger challenge. This kind of exercise allows students to sharpen their legal skills while networking with leading specialists and obtaining feedback from real judges, including an Alberta Court of Appeal justice, the Chairperson of the Competition Tribunal, the Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Canada and a former Supreme Court of Canada justice, the Honourable Marshall Rothstein.

The Bureau would like to congratulate all law faculties, coaches, mentors and students for participating and making this first edition a great success. Special congratulations to Dylan Williams, Jonah Brook, Hannah Thomson and Victoria Wicks from the Peter A. Allard School of Law for winning the prize of Best Faculty, and to François Tougas and McMillan LLP for coaching and mentoring the team and making it possible for them to attend the moot.


(Left to right) Elanor M. Fox, New York University School of Law, and Leila Wright, Assistant Deputy Commissioner at the Competition Bureau.

Big data paper recognized at the 2019 Antitrust Writing Awards

Picture courtesy of Concurrences.

Left to right:

  • Elanor M. Fox, New York University School of Law;
  • Leila Wright, Assistant Deputy Commissioner at the Competition Bureau.

Big data paper recognized at the 2019 Antitrust Writing Awards

On March 26, 2019, the Competition Bureau's landmark report Big data and Innovation: key themes for competition policy in Canada won a 2019 Antitrust Writing Award in the “Soft Laws” category. Associate Deputy Commissioner Leila Wright accepted the award in Washington, D.C.

Antitrust Writing awards are presented by the Institute of Competition Law, the publisher of Concurrences. The “Soft Laws” awards acknowledge the most innovative non-enforcement tools used by competition agencies, such as guidelines, market studies and white papers.

The Bureau is committed to keeping pace with new issues in the rapidly developing digital economy. The Big data and Innovation report examines these issues in the context of enforcement and analysis related to mergers, monopolistic practices, cartels and deceptive marketing practices.

This is the third consecutive Antitrust Writing Award won by the Bureau. In 2017, the Bureau's Intellectual Property Enforcement Guidelines were recognized as Most Innovative Soft Law (intellectual property section). In 2018, the Bureau's white paper on Big Data was recognized as a winner in the “Soft Laws” category.

Take a look at the winners of the other categories and view some of the photos taken during this event.

  • RSS
Date modified:

La revue du mois au Bureau de la concurrence — 2019

Diffusée auprès des médias et intervenants, la publication électronique mensuelle Le BC en bref donne un aperçu de l'actualité récente touchant le Bureau.

Sur cette page

Avril — 2019

Enquête sur les prix de l'essence dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario

Enquête sur les prix de l'essence dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario

Dans le cadre de son enquête sur les pratiques d'établissement des prix dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario, des agents du Bureau de la concurrence ont visité un total de 50 stations-service dans les collectivités ontariennes de Thunder Bay, Fort Frances, Dryden et Kenora.

Le Bureau de la concurrence met fin à son enquête sur les prix de l'essence dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario

Le Bureau de la concurrence a mis fin à son enquête sur les pratiques d'établissement des prix de l'essence dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario. Le Bureau n'a pas trouvé de preuves qu'il y a eu infraction à la Loi sur la concurrence.

Dans le cadre de son enquête, qui a débuté en décembre 2018, les agents du Bureau ont mené des entrevues sur le terrain dans un total de 50 stations-service dans les collectivités de Thunder Bay, Fort Frances, Dryden et Kenora. Le Bureau a également recueilli des données relatives aux prix auprès de diverses sources aux fins d'analyses, en plus d'examiner les caractéristiques régionales du marché, comme la fourniture et la distribution de gros de l'essence. Au cours de son enquête, le Bureau n'a pas relevé de preuves que des concurrents sur les marchés de gros et de détail de l'essence ont conclu des ententes anticoncurrentielles. 

S'il obtient des preuves qu'il y a eu une activité anticoncurrentielle dans l'avenir, le Bureau n'hésitera pas à prendre les mesures qui s'imposent.

Communiquer avec nous pour signaler toute activité anticoncurrentielle

Quiconque a des renseignements au sujet d'une fixation des prix ou d'une autre activité anticoncurrentielle peut communiquer avec le Bureau de la concurrence par téléphone au 1-800-348-5358 ou en remplissant un formulaire de plainte en ligne. Veuillez garder à l'esprit que des prix élevés ou identiques ne constituent pas en soi une preuve d'activité illégale. Il faut qu'il y ait des preuves suffisantes qu'une entente illégale entre concurrents a été conclue.

Initiative de dénonciation

Si vous croyez que l'entreprise pour laquelle vous travaillez a conclu une entente illégale avec ses concurrents, communiquez avec nous en toute confidentialité. Les dénonciateurs sont protégés par la loi. Les représailles ou les menaces de représailles de la part de votre employeur en réponse aux renseignements que vous donnez au Bureau sont illégales.

Les personnes impliquées dans des ententes illégales qui collaborent avec le Bureau en fournissant des renseignements au cours d'une enquête peuvent se voir accorder l'immunité ou recevoir un traitement plus favorable en vertu de nos Programmes d'immunité et de clémence.

Mars — 2019

(De gauche à droite) Jonah Brook, étudiant en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique; Victoria Wicks, étudiante en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique; Matthew Boswell, commissaire de la concurrence; Dylan Williams, étudiant en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique; Brian Facey, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP; Hannah Thomson, étudiante en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le Bureau organise le premier concours de plaidoirie canadien en droit de la concurrence

De gauche à droite :

  • Jonah Brook, étudiant en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • Victoria Wicks, étudiante en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • Matthew Boswell, commissaire de la concurrence;
  • Dylan Williams, étudiant en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • Brian Facey, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP;
  • Hannah Thomson, étudiante en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le Bureau organise le premier concours de plaidoirie canadien en droit de la concurrence

Le Bureau de la concurrence, l'Association du Barreau canadien et le Tribunal de la concurrence du Canada ont uni leurs forces pour organiser le premier concours de plaidoirie canadien en droit de la concurrence les 15 et 16 mars 2019.

L'événement a permis de rassembler 21 avocats en herbe de cinq facultés de droit canadiennes : l'Université d'Ottawa, l'École de droit Peter A. Allard de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, l'Université Queen's, l'École de droit de l'Université de Toronto et l'École de droit Osgoode Hall de l'Université York.

Ces étudiants en droit se sont attaqués à des enjeux actuels et complexes dans le cadre d'une affaire fictive en droit de la concurrence concernant la contestation d'une fusion. Ce genre d'exercice permet aux étudiants d'affiner leurs compétences juridiques, tout en réseautant avec des experts éminents et d'obtenir des commentaires de véritables juges, parmi lesquels on comptait une juge de la Cour d'appel de l'Alberta, le président du Tribunal de la concurrence, le juge en chef de la Cour fédérale du Canada et un ancien juge de la Cour suprême du Canada, l'honorable Marshall Rothstein.

Le Bureau tient à remercier les écoles, les entraîneurs, les mentors et les étudiants qui ont participé, faisant de cette première édition un véritable succès. Nous félicitons Dylan Williams, Jonah Brook, Hannah Thomson et Victoria Wicks de l'École de droit Peter A. Allard pour avoir remporté le prix de la meilleure école, de même que François Tougas et McMillan S.E.N.C.R.L. d'avoir été les entraîneurs et mentors de l'équipe, et d'avoir rendue possible leur participation au concours de plaidoirie.


(De gauche à droite) Elanor M. Fox, New York University School of Law, et Leila Wright, sous-commissaire déléguée au Bureau de la concurrence.

Le rapport sur les mégadonnées est récompensé aux Antitrust Writing Awards 2019

Photo reproduite avec la permission de Concurrences.

De gauche à droite :

  • Elanor M. Fox, New York University School of Law;
  • Leila Wright, sous-commissaire déléguée au Bureau de la concurrence.

Le rapport sur les mégadonnées est récompensé aux Antitrust Writing Awards 2019

Le 26 mars 2019, un rapport majeur du Bureau de la concurrence, intitulé Mégadonnées et innovation : les grands thèmes de la politique en matière de concurrence au Canada, a remporté un prix lors des Antitrust Writing Awards (en anglais seulement) dans la catégorie des meilleurs textes de droit souple. La sous-commissaire déléguée Leila Wright était à Washington pour accepter le prix.

Les Antitrust Writing Awards sont présentés par l'Institut de droit de la concurrence, l'éditeur de Concurrences. Le prix de la catégorie « texte de droit souple » reconnaît les outils non contraignants les plus innovateurs utilisés par les organismes de la concurrence, comme les lignes directrices, les études de marché et les livres blancs.

Le Bureau est déterminé à suivre le rythme de l'apparition de nouveaux enjeux dans une économie numérique qui croît rapidement. Le rapport sur les mégadonnées et l'innovation traite de ces enjeux dans le contexte de l'application de la loi et de l'analyse relatives aux fusions, aux pratiques monopolistiques, aux cartels et aux pratiques commerciales trompeuses.

Il s'agit du troisième prix consécutif des Antitrust Writing Awards que reçoit le Bureau. En 2017, les Lignes directrices sur la propriété intellectuelle ont été reconnues comme le texte de droit souple le plus innovateur (section de la propriété intellectuelle). En 2018, le livre blanc du Bureau sur les mégadonnées a été l'un des gagnants de la catégorie des meilleurs textes de droit souple.

Consultez les gagnants des autres catégories (en anglais seulement) et regardez quelques-unes des photos prises lors de l'événement.

Date de modification :