Commissioner of Competition and Softvoyage Inc. conclude an agreement following an investigation into allegations of abuse of dominance

Position statement

OTTAWA, January 17, 2018 — The Commissioner of Competition ("Commissioner") announced today that he has reached an agreement with Softvoyage Inc. ("Softvoyage") following an investigation initiated by the Competition Bureau (the "Bureau") into allegations of abuse of dominance by Softvoyage, contrary to section 79 of the Competition Act (the "Act"). The consent agreement is registered with the Competition Tribunal.

In order to address the Commissioner's concerns, Softvoyage, a company engaged in the development of software geared towards the travel industry, committed to end certain restrictive business practices that the Commissioner determined have had and would otherwise continue to have the effect of substantially lessening or preventing competition in two markets related to the supply of "all-inclusive travel packages" (hereinafter, "vacation packages"). These markets are: (i) the market for "content management" software used by tour operators to create vacation packages, and to manage their inventories or "content"; and (ii) the market for “online distribution” software enabling the sale of vacation packages to Canadian consumers (together, the "relevant markets").

The Commissioner wishes to emphasize Softvoyage's collaboration throughout the Bureau’s investigation, including the company’s willingness to promptly respond to the Bureau’s concerns. The Commissioner anticipates that Softvoyage's commitment to cease the identified practices will remove certain barriers to entry, thereby restoring effective competition in the relevant markets. This will, in turn, foster innovation in these markets.

This position statement is intended to provide an overview of: (i) the Canadian vacation package industry and its key stakeholders; (ii) the Bureau's investigation; and (iii) the terms of the consent agreement.

I. Overview of the vacation package industry and key stakeholders

Canadians are known to be "vacation package” enthusiasts. Many take advantage each year of all-inclusive trips to plan a getaway to a "sun destination" by choosing the vacation package that suits them best. These packages typically include transportation (both air and ground), accommodation, as well as food and beverages.

Supply of vacation packages in Canada

Vacation packages are created by tour operators. The main tour operators in Canada include Air Canada Vacations, Sunwing, Transat and WestJet Vacations. Tour operators enter into commercial relationships with providers of the various components they wish to assemble to create their vacation packages. They can then make their vacation packages available for purchase to Canadian consumers, whether it be directly through their websites or call centers, or – in most cases – through a travel agency offering their services in person, online, or both.

Two types of software are necessary to enable the marketing of vacation packages:

  1. “Content management” software, for use by the tour operator. This software allows the tour operator to store its "content" or "data", i.e., the various components that will be assembled to form its vacation packages, and to manage its inventories; and
  2. Software enabling the “distribution” of vacation packages, i.e., software providing access to the inventory of vacation packages managed using content management software. This distribution software enables the promotion and sale of these packages. Distribution to consumers occurs either directly from the tour operator or through a travel agency.

Softvoyage has developed and marketed content management software, as well as e-commerce software for the distribution of vacation packages. Softvoyage alone currently holds over 90% of the market share in each of the relevant markets.

While software for content management and distribution of vacation packages may appear to the end consumer of vacation packages as somewhat "ancillary", these types of software are very important to the variety of product offerings that are ultimately made available to consumers. The quality of the software, together with the degree of development of its functionalities, impacts (i) the ease of searching and booking for consumers, and (ii) the breadth of features that are available to consumers.

For instance, the more technologically advanced the software, the more it enables tour operators to create and sell vacation packages that allow for greater flexibility on several levels:

  1. trip duration;
  2. points of origin and destination, including flight connections;
  3. methods of payment – especially for individuals traveling in groups; and
  4. the specific activities included in a given package.

In short, enhanced innovation on the software side translates into a more personalized experience that will better serve the consumer’s particular interests, preferences, or needs.

II. Bureau investigation

The Bureau initiated its investigation after it received allegations that:

  1. Softvoyage held a dominant position in the relevant markets, substantially controlling both the market for content management software and the market for distribution software with respect to vacation packages in Canada;
  2. Softvoyage engaged in a practice of anti-competitive acts; and
  3. these practices had the effect of substantially lessening or preventing competition in these markets, contrary to section 79 of the Act.

In the course of its investigation, the Bureau contacted a wide range of market participants in order to collect information and verify the allegations, including data and documents.

Allegations against Softvoyage

Essentially, it was alleged that Softvoyage had foreclosed the relevant markets, or otherwise made their access difficult through various practices, which Softvoyage had been able to implement due to its control over these two markets.

Specifically, it was alleged that Softvoyage’s well-established control over the market for distribution software facilitated its control over the market for content management software. Practically speaking, most tour operators that previously used competing content management software migrated towards Softvoyage’s content management software over time, at least partly to benefit from optimal distribution through Softvoyage's distribution software. As explained by various market participants, tour operators using competing content management software frequently faced various technical barriers to the distribution of their vacation packages, which negatively impacted their sales.

Once the majority of tour operators had adopted Softvoyage's content management software, Softvoyage allegedly consolidated its market power in the market for distribution software by including exclusivity clauses in its contracts, including those with tour operators. These exclusivity clauses would then force tour operators that were using Softvoyage's content management software to use only Softvoyage’s distribution software for the distribution and sale of their vacation packages. These clauses would also prohibit tour operators from extracting or using their own data managed in Softvoyage’s content management software.

According to the allegations, these exclusivity clauses restricted access to tour operator’s "content" exclusively for Softvoyage's distribution software. In other words, they created a barrier to entry or prevented the viability of any current or potential competitor in the market for distribution software. As a result, the competitive rivalry, including in respect of innovation, was materially decreased in the relevant markets, compared to the level that would have existed in the absence of Softvoyage’s contracting practices.

The Commissioner’s findings

The information gathered throughout the course of the investigation allowed the Commissioner to establish that:

  1. Softvoyage controls the two relevant markets. It is currently the leading supplier of content management software and in the supply of distribution software as they relate to vacation packages in Canada, holding over 90% of the market share in these two markets.
  2. Certain restrictive clauses, or portions of clauses, found in Softvoyage’s contractual agreements, including those with tour operators, constitute a practice of anti-competitive acts which has unduly impeded the ability for potential competitors to enter the relevant markets.
  3. Such clauses or portions of clauses, individually or as a whole, have had and would otherwise continue to have the effect of substantially lessening or preventing competition in the relevant markets, which, among other things, translates into a lower degree of innovation than that that would likely exist in the absence of these practices.

The Commissioner's investigation identified certain clauses, or portions of clauses, in the contracts between Softvoyage and a number of its clients, including tour operators, which could restrict the distribution channels available to tour operators using Softvoyage’s content management software (“restrictive language”). This restrictive language also appeared to limit the ability of tour operators to extract and make use of their own data (or content) managed in Softvoyage's content management software.

The restrictive language has had the effect of creating an artificial link between Softvoyage's content management software and its distribution software by rendering the tour operators’ content inaccessible to any of Softvoyage’s competitors in the market for distribution software. The Bureau carefully considered the business justifications put forth by Softvoyage to explain why it had included the restrictive language in its contracts. However, the Bureau concluded that the scope of the restrictive language exceeded the stated legitimate business justifications.

Finally, in reaching the finding that the practices had the effect of substantially lessening or preventing competition in the relevant markets, the Bureau collected information from various categories of market participants, including tour operators and travel agencies, industry associations, past competitors to Softvoyage that were excluded from the relevant markets, potential competitors to Softvoyage in the absence of the practices, and businesses offering similar products and services in foreign markets. The information gathered allowed the Commissioner to find that: (i) Softvoyage's practices had an impact on the degree of current innovation in the relevant markets in Canada, and (ii) this difference could likely be attributed, at least in part, to the absence of competition in these markets resulting from the barriers to entry created by Softvoyage's anticompetitive practices.

III. Terms of the Consent Agreement

The consent agreement between the Commissioner and Softvoyage covers a period of seven (7) years from its registration with the Competition Tribunal. The Bureau is of the view that the terms of this consent agreement will resolve the Commissioner's concerns by eliminating certain barriers to entry that have had and that would otherwise likely continue to have the effect of substantially lessening or preventing competition in the relevant markets.

During the term of the consent agreement, Softvoyage commits to refrain from enforcing certain clauses, or portions of clauses, contained in its contracts with its clients. These include clauses that likely limits tour operators in their choice of distribution software, as well as clauses that likely limit the ability of tour operators to use their own content (i.e., data or vacation packages components) when it is managed using Softvoyage's content management software.

Softvoyage also commits to collaborate in good faith with tour operators that wish to use competing distribution channels to distribute their content managed using Softvoyage's content management software. In addition, Softvoyage commits to collaborate in good faith with tour operators using competing content management software so as to enable them to distribute their vacation packages using Softvoyage’s distribution software in a non-discriminatory fashion.

Finally, Softvoyage commits to establish and implement a corporate compliance program.

This publication is not a legal document. The Bureau’s findings, as reflected in this Position Statement, are not findings of fact or law that have been tested before a tribunal or court. Further, the contents of this Position Statement do not indicate findings of unlawful conduct by any party.

However, in an effort to further enhance its communication and transparency with stakeholders, the Bureau may publicly communicate the results of certain investigations, inquiries and merger reviews by way of a Position Statement. In the case of a merger review, Position Statements briefly describe the Bureau's analysis of a particular proposed transaction and summarize its main findings. The Bureau also publishes Position Statements summarizing the results of certain investigations, inquiries and reviews conducted under the Competition Act. Readers should exercise caution in interpreting the Bureau’s assessment. Enforcement decisions are made on a case‑by‑case basis and the conclusions discussed in the Position Statement are specific to the present matter and are not binding on the Commissioner of Competition.


For media enquiries, please contact:
Media Relations
Telephone: 819‑994‑5945
Email: ic.media‑cb‑bc.ic@canada.ca

For general enquiries, please contact:
Information Centre
Competition Bureau
Telephone: 819‑997‑4282
Toll free: 1‑800‑348‑5358
TTY (hearing impaired): 1‑866‑694‑8389
www.competitionbureau.gc.ca
Enquiries/Complaints
Stay connected

Date modified:

Le commissaire de la concurrence et Softvoyage Inc. concluent un consentement au terme d’une enquête concernant des allégations d’abus de position dominante

Énoncé de position

OTTAWA, le 17 janvier, 2018 — Aujourd’hui, le commissaire de la concurrence (le « commissaire ») a annoncé avoir conclu une entente avec l’entreprise Softvoyage Inc. (« Softvoyage ») au terme d’une enquête initiée par le Bureau de la concurrence (le « Bureau ») concernant des allégations d’abus de position dominante par Softvoyage, en contravention avec l’article 79 de la Loi sur la concurrence (la « Loi »). Le consentement est dûment enregistré au Tribunal de la concurrence.

Afin de répondre aux préoccupations du commissaire, Softvoyage, une entreprise œuvrant dans le domaine du développement de logiciels à l’intention de l’industrie du voyage, s’est engagée à cesser certaines pratiques commerciales restrictives qui, selon le commissaire, ont eu et continueraient autrement d’avoir pour effet d’empêcher ou de diminuer sensiblement la concurrence dans deux marchés relatifs à la fourniture de « voyages tout inclus » (ci-après, les « forfaits vacances »). Ces marchés sont d’une part, le marché des logiciels de « gestion de contenu » utilisés par les voyagistes, ou tour-opérateurs, afin de créer les forfaits vacances et de gérer leurs inventaires ou leur « contenu », et d’autre part, le marché du commerce électronique des forfaits vacances fondé sur des logiciels de « distribution » permettant la vente de forfaits vacances aux consommateurs canadiens (ensemble, les « marchés pertinents »).

Le commissaire tient à souligner la collaboration de Softvoyage durant l’enquête du Bureau, y compris la volonté de l’entreprise à répondre promptement aux préoccupations du Bureau. Le commissaire prévoit que l’engagement de Softvoyage à cesser les pratiques recensées permettra de rétablir une concurrence effective dans les marchés pertinents en éliminant certaines barrières à l’entrée, ce qui favorisera l’innovation dans ces marchés.

Le présent énoncé de position vise à fournir un aperçu de l’industrie des forfaits vacances au Canada et de ses principaux acteurs, de l’enquête du Bureau, et des modalités que Softvoyage s’engage à respecter en vertu du consentement.

I. Portrait de l’industrie des forfaits vacances et principaux acteurs

Les Canadiens sont connus pour être amateurs de « forfaits vacances ». Nombre d’entre eux profitent chaque année de cette formule « clef en main » pour planifier une escapade vers une « destination soleil » en optant pour le forfait vacances qui leur convient le mieux. Ces forfaits incluent typiquement le transport (aérien et terrestre), l’hébergement, ainsi que les repas et boissons.

Offre des forfaits vacances au Canada

Les forfaits vacances sont créés au départ par les tour-opérateurs, dont les principaux au Canada incluent Vacances Air Canada, Sunwing, Transat et Vacances WestJet. Les tour-opérateurs établissent et concluent des relations commerciales avec les fournisseurs des différentes composantes qu’ils souhaitent assembler afin de créer leur offre de forfaits vacances. Ils peuvent ensuite rendre leurs forfaits vacances disponibles pour achat par les consommateurs canadiens, que ce soit directement à l’aide de leur site Internet ou de leur centre d’appel, ou encore – et dans la majorité des cas – par l’intermédiaire d’agences de voyages qui offrent leurs services en personne, en ligne, ou des deux façons.

Deux types de logiciels sont nécessaires pour permettre la commercialisation des forfaits vacances.

  1. Un logiciel de « gestion de contenu » à l’usage du tour-opérateur. Ce logiciel lui permet de stocker son « contenu » ou ses « données », c’est-à-dire les différentes composantes qui seront assemblées pour former ses forfaits vacances, et de gérer ses inventaires.
  2. Un logiciel pour la « distribution » des forfaits vacances, c’est-à-dire un logiciel donnant accès aux inventaires des forfaits vacances (lesquels sont gérés à l’aide de logiciels de gestion de contenu) pour permettre le magasinage et la vente de ces forfaits. La distribution aux consommateurs s’effectue soit directement par le tour-opérateur ou par l’intermédiaire d’agences de voyages.

Softvoyage a développé et commercialisé un logiciel de gestion de contenu de même que des logiciels de commerce électronique permettant la distribution des forfaits vacances. À elle seule, l’entreprise détient actuellement plus de 90 % des parts de chacun des marchés pertinents.

Bien que les logiciels permettant la gestion de contenu et la distribution des forfaits vacances puissent sembler quelque peu « secondaires » dans l’esprit du consommateur final de forfaits vacances, ils revêtent une importance significative en ce qui a trait à la variété des produits offerts qui lui seront disponibles au bout du compte. La qualité de ces logiciels, jumelée au degré de développement de leurs fonctionnalités, a des répercussions non seulement sur la facilité avec laquelle le consommateur peut effectuer des recherches et des réservations parmi les forfaits disponibles, mais également directement sur l’étendue des caractéristiques disponibles.

À titre d'exemple, plus un logiciel est développé au niveau technologique, plus il permet aux tour-opérateurs de créer et de vendre des forfaits vacances plus flexibles sur plusieurs plans : la durée du voyage, les points d’origine et de destination ainsi que les correspondances, les modes de paiement – notamment pour les personnes qui voyagent en groupe – ou encore, les activités précises incluses dans le forfait. Bref, un degré d’innovation accru du côté desdits logiciels se traduit pour le consommateur en une expérience plus personnalisée et qui répond davantage à ses intérêts, à ses préférences ou à ses besoins particuliers.

II. Enquête du bureau

L’enquête du Bureau a été lancée à la suite de la réception d’allégations selon lesquelles :

  1. Softvoyage occupait une position dominante dans les marchés pertinents, contrôlant sensiblement le marché des logiciels de gestion de contenu et le marché des logiciels de distribution dans le domaine des forfaits vacances au Canada;
  2. Softvoyage s’adonnait à des pratiques d’agissements anticoncurrentiels; et
  3. ces pratiques avaient pour effet d’empêcher ou de diminuer sensiblement la concurrence dans ces marchés, en contravention avec l’article 79 de la Loi.

Au cours de l’enquête, le Bureau est entré en contact avec un vaste éventail de participants aux marchés afin de recueillir des renseignements, incluant des données et des documents, et de vérifier lesdites allégations.

Allégations à l’égard de Softvoyage

Essentiellement, il était allégué que Softvoyage aurait fermé ou autrement rendu difficile l’accès aux marchés pertinents, à l’aide de diverses pratiques, que l’entreprise aurait pu mettre en œuvre grâce au contrôle qu’elle exerce sur ces deux marchés.

Plus précisément et selon les allégations reçues, le contrôle bien établi de Softvoyage sur le marché des logiciels de distribution aurait facilité l’établissement de son contrôle sur le marché des logiciels de gestion de contenu. Concrètement, la plupart des tour-opérateurs qui avaient recours autrefois à des logiciels de gestion de contenu concurrents à celui de Softvoyage auraient migré au fil du temps vers le logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage, et ce, notamment afin de bénéficier d’une distribution optimale au travers des logiciels de distribution de Softvoyage. Divers acteurs des marchés ont expliqué que les tour-opérateurs ayant recours à des logiciels de gestion de contenu autres que celui de Softvoyage faisaient fréquemment face à différents obstacles techniques gênant la distribution de leurs forfaits vacances, ce qui avait des répercussions négatives sur leurs ventes.

Une fois que la majorité des tour-opérateurs eut adopté le logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage, Softvoyage aurait consolidé sa puissance commerciale dans le marché des logiciels de distribution en incluant des clauses d’exclusivité dans ses ententes contractuelles, notamment avec les tour-opérateurs. Ces clauses d’exclusivité auraient notamment contraint les tour-opérateurs se servant du logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage à utiliser uniquement les logiciels de distribution de Softvoyage pour la distribution et la vente de leurs forfaits vacances, et auraient également interdit aux tour-opérateurs d’extraire leurs propres données du logiciel de gestion de contenu pour ensuite les utiliser autrement.

Ces clauses d’exclusivité auraient fait en sorte que l’accès au « contenu » des tour-opérateurs soit limité exclusivement aux logiciels de distribution de Softvoyage, créant ainsi une barrière excluant l’entrée ou empêchant la viabilité de tout concurrent, actuel ou potentiel, dans le marché des logiciels de distribution. En conséquence, la rivalité concurrentielle, y compris en matière d'innovation, serait sensiblement plus faible dans les marchés pertinents qu’elle ne l’aurait été en l’absence de ces pratiques.

Observations du commissaire

L’information recueillie au cours de l’enquête a permis au commissaire d’établir les faits suivants :

  1. Softvoyage contrôle les deux marchés pertinents. Elle est à l’heure actuelle la principale entreprise œuvrant activement comme fournisseur de logiciels de gestion de contenu et fournisseur de logiciels de distribution dans le domaine des forfaits vacances au Canada, détenant plus de 90 % des parts de chacun de ces deux marchés.
  2. Certaines clauses ou portions de clauses de nature restrictive qui se retrouvent notamment dans les ententes contractuelles entre Softvoyage et les tour-opérateurs constituent une pratique d’agissements anticoncurrentiels ayant limité indûment la possibilité d’entrée de concurrents dans les marchés pertinents.
  3. Ces clauses ou portions de clauses, prises individuellement ou dans leur ensemble, ont eu et continueraient autrement d’avoir pour effet d’empêcher ou de diminuer sensiblement la concurrence dans les marchés pertinents, ce qui se traduit notamment par un degré d’innovation inférieur à celui qui prévaudrait vraisemblablement en l’absence des pratiques.

Le commissaire a effectivement été en mesure de confirmer la présence de certaines clauses ou portions de clause dans les ententes contractuelles entre Softvoyage et plusieurs de ses clients, notamment tour-opérateurs, qui peuvent être interprétées comme restreignant les canaux de distribution dont les tour-opérateurs utilisant le logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage peuvent se servir, en plus de limiter la possibilité pour les tour-opérateurs d'extraire et d'utiliser leurs propres données (ou leur contenu) gérées dans le logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage.

Ces clauses contractuelles ont eu pour effet de créer un lien artificiel entre le logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage, d’une part, et ses logiciels de distribution, d’autre part, en rendant inaccessible le contenu des tour-opérateurs à tout concurrent de Softvoyage dans le marché des logiciels de distribution. Le Bureau a considéré attentivement les justifications commerciales mises de l’avant par Softvoyage pour expliquer l’inclusion des clauses ou portions de clause problématiques dans ses ententes contractuelles. Toutefois, le Bureau a conclu que l’étendue desdites clauses ou portions de clauses dépassait les objectifs légitimes visés.

Enfin, pour en arriver au constat que les pratiques avaient eu pour effet d’empêcher ou de diminuer sensiblement la concurrence dans les marchés pertinents, le Bureau a recueilli des renseignements de diverses catégories de participants aux marchés, y compris de tour-opérateurs et d’agences de voyages, d’associations de l’industrie, d’anciens concurrents de Softvoyage ayant été exclus des marchés, de concurrents potentiels de Softvoyage dans les marchés en l’absence des pratiques, et d’entreprises offrant des produits et services similaires dans des marchés étrangers. Les renseignements ainsi recueillis ont permis de constater que les pratiques de Softvoyage avaient eu une incidence sur le degré d’innovation actuel dans les marchés pertinents au Canada, et que cette différence pouvait vraisemblablement être attribuée, du moins en partie, à l’absence de concurrence dans ces marchés, découlant notamment des barrières à l’entrée créées par les pratiques de Softvoyage.

III. Modalités du consentement

Le consentement entre le commissaire et Softvoyage couvre une période de sept (7) ans à compter de son enregistrement au Tribunal de la concurrence. Le Bureau considère que les modalités de ce consentement permettront de résoudre les préoccupations du commissaire en éliminant certaines barrières à l’entrée qui ont eu et qui autrement continueraient vraisemblablement d’avoir pour effet d’empêcher ou de diminuer sensiblement la concurrence dans les marchés pertinents.

Pendant la durée du consentement, Softvoyage s’engage notamment à s’abstenir d’imposer certaines clauses ou portions de clauses contenues dans ses ententes contractuelles avec ses clients. Il s’agit notamment des clauses dont le libellé limite vraisemblablement les tour-opérateurs dans leur choix de logiciels de distribution, ainsi que des clauses dont le libellé limite vraisemblablement l’utilisation que les tour-opérateurs peuvent faire de leur propre contenu (c’est-à-dire des données ou composantes formant les forfaits vacances) lorsque ce contenu est géré au moyen du logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage.

Softvoyage s'engage également à collaborer de bonne foi avec ses clients tour-opérateurs qui souhaitent que leur contenu géré au moyen du logiciel de gestion de contenu de Softvoyage soit accessible à des tierces parties à des fins de distribution. Softvoyage s'engage d'autre part à collaborer de bonne foi avec ses clients tour-opérateurs qui utilisent un logiciel de gestion de contenu autre que le sien, afin de permettre la distribution sans discrimination de leurs forfaits vacances au moyen des logiciels de distribution de Softvoyage.

Enfin, Softvoyage établira et mettra en pratique un programme de conformité à la Loi sur la concurrence.

Le présent énoncé de position n’est pas un document juridique. Les conclusions du Bureau, telles qu’elles y sont exposées, ne constituent ni des conclusions de fait ni de droit ayant subi l’épreuve d’un tribunal administratif ou judiciaire. Qui plus est, ces conclusions ne sauraient indiquer que telle ou telle partie s’est livrée à un comportement illégal.

Cependant, afin de renforcer la transparence et la communication avec les intervenants, le Bureau peut publier dans des énoncés de position les résultats de certains de ses examens de fusions et de ses enquêtes menés en vertu de la Loi sur la concurrence. Dans le cas de l’examen d’une fusion, l’énoncé de position donnera un aperçu de l’analyse de la transaction proposée et en résumera les principales constatations. Dans le cas d’une enquête, il présentera le sommaire des résultats. Le lecteur se doit d’interpréter les énoncés de position avec discernement. Les décisions liées à l’application de la loi sont prises au cas par cas, et les conclusions exposées ici ne se rapportent qu’au cas dont il est question et ne lient aucunement le commissaire de la concurrence.


Renseignements à l'intention des médias :
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone : 819‑994‑5945
Courriel : ic.media‑cb‑bc.ic@canada.ca

Renseignements généraux :
Centre des renseignements
Bureau de la concurrence
Téléphone : 819‑997‑4282
Sans frais : 1‑800‑348‑5358
ATS (malentendants) : 1‑866‑694‑8389
www.bureaudelaconcurrence.gc.ca
Demande de renseignements/Formulaire de plainte
Restez branchés

Date de modification :