Market Study Notice: Competition in Broadband Services

Some of the content in this notice has been updated. See the Broadband Market Study Update for additional detail regarding the timing and scope of the Study.

Notice of study

  1. The Competition Bureau (Bureau) is commencing a market study to better understand the competitive dynamics of Canada’s broadband internet services industry (Study).Footnote 1, Footnote 2
  2. Broadband is the high speed, high capacity internet access that fuels the digital economy. Canadians use broadband services to find and share information, purchase products and services, and increase their productivity at work. Accordingly, high prices in the broadband sector can have negative spill-over effects into a wide range of economic activity.
  3. Promoting healthy competition can help to ensure that all Canadians prosper in a competitive and innovative marketplace.

Purpose of the study

  1. Most Canadian homes are served by two networks capable of providing broadband internet services: one owned by the local telephone company, and the other owned by the local cable company. This limited choice leads to obvious questions about competition; when consumers have only two options, can we be sure that market forces will deliver the low prices and high levels of innovation that are characteristic of competitive markets?
  2. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) has historically taken action to increase the level of competition in Canadian broadband markets by allowing independent resellers to use existing telephone and cable networks to provide internet services to Canadians.Footnote 3 Presently, more than 550 companies have been established to act as a competitive alternative to traditional telephone and cable companies.Footnote 4
  3. Yet, questions arise as to the impacts that these independent service providers, or "resellers", have had on competition. The latest CRTC Communications Monitoring Report notes that, as of 2016, 87% of retail internet subscriptions in Canada were purchased from a traditional telephone or cable company.Footnote 5 This comes against the backdrop of resellers offering seemingly comparable services at prices that can be as much as 30% lower than those advertised by telephone and cable companies, as measured in a 2015 report by Wall Communications.Footnote 6
  4. The purpose of this Study is to better understand these market outcomes and the competitive dynamics of Canadian broadband markets more generally. Are resellers fulfilling their role in placing increased competitive discipline on traditional telephone and cable companies? Or are these figures a symptom of a marketplace that could function better?

Scope of the study

  1. The Bureau plans to examine four broad questions, each of which contains a number of specific issues:
    1. Have resellers been able to deploy competitively effective service offers?
      1. What competitive influence have resellers had, to date, on traditional phone and cable network owners? How could this competitive influence change in the future?
      2. Are there differences between the services offered by traditional phone and cable network owners and those provided by resellers that could explain the observed consumption patterns? What are the value points that matter the most to consumers?
    2. How have consumers reacted to new competitive alternatives?
      1. How aware are Canadian consumers of their options for broadband services? Are there factors that may drive consumer inertia in this industry and, if so, are there ways to overcome these factors?
      2. How does the fact that resellers do not typically provide other telecommunications services (e.g., television or phone service) affect the competitive attractiveness of resellers?
      3. How do industry contractual practices affect consumer behaviour? How are contract lengths and bundling discounts structured? How aware are consumers of their contractual obligations and rights?
    3. How does regulation in this industry affect the economic behaviour of broadband suppliers?
      1. How does the Canadian reseller regime affect the incentives that network owners have to expand or upgrade their networks? Have network investment levels changed following the establishment of resellers?
      2. What investments must resellers make in order to provide services to consumers? Are there features of the marketplace that impede the expansion of resellers?
      3. Have network owners used the reseller regime to expand their reach outside of their incumbency area? Why or why not?
    4. How do other countries manage and regulate broadband competition?
      1. Do Canadian regulations diverge in any meaningful way from those employed by other countries? Are there significant differences between Canada and other jurisdictions that explain any divergence?
      2. Are there lessons to be learned from how other jurisdictions regulate broadband?
  2. In conducting the Study, the Bureau does not intend to evaluate:
    1. The billing, sales, or customer service practices of broadband providers, other than those that may inhibit consumer switching; or
    2. Allegations of unfair or coordinated conduct among broadband providers.Footnote 7
  3. As the Study progresses, the topics within the scope of the Study may change (including adding, substituting, or removing topics). In the event that the scope is changed materially, the Bureau will update this notice and advise stakeholders of the changes.

Outcomes of the study

  1. The Bureau expects to publish the results of the Study in a public report, which may include recommendations to relevant government authorities, as appropriate.
  2. The Study will enable the Bureau to, among other things:
    1. Make informed regulatory interventions regarding steps that regulators or policymakers could take to further support competition in the broadband industry; and
    2. Increase its knowledge and understanding of the competitive dynamics of the broadband industry, and telecommunications industry more generally, to inform the Bureau’s future work.

Timeline

  1. The Bureau intends to conduct the Study according to the following timeline:
    1. May 2018: Study commencement
    2. August 31, 2018: Deadline for initial submissions and/or requests for interviews
    3. Summer and Fall 2018: Stakeholder engagement and research
    4. Winter 2018-2019: Information analysis and continued stakeholder engagement
    5. Spring 2019: Publish draft report; hold public consultation; and publish final report
  2. The Bureau will modify this schedule at its discretion if necessary. Should there be any material change to this schedule, the Bureau will update this notice and advise stakeholders of the changes.

Getting involved

  1. Those with an interest in the Canadian broadband industry are invited to provide written or oral submissions on specific issues relevant to the Study. Please provide written submissions by mail, fax, or email to the officer identified below. If you would prefer that the Bureau contact you for an oral interview, please provide your contact information. The Bureau would appreciate receiving submissions and/or indications of willingness to participate in an oral interview before August 31, 2018, in order to provide adequate time to review and conduct follow-up interviews as necessary.
  2. The main contact for the Study is:

    Greg Lang
    Major Case Director and Strategic Policy Advisor
    Competition Promotion Branch

    Email: ic.cbmarketstudies-etudesdemarchebc.ic@canada.ca
    Fax: (819) 953-6400

    Competition Bureau
    Place du Portage Phase I
    50 rue Victoria Gatineau, QC
    K1A 0C9

Role of the Competition Bureau

  1. The Bureau enforces and administers the Competition Act (Act). As part of its mandate, the Bureau participates in a range of activities to promote and advocate for the benefits of a competitive marketplace. More competition can lead to lower prices for consumers, as well as increased choice and innovation.
  2. Among the tools the Bureau uses to advocate for competition are market studies. Market studies allow the Bureau to study an industry in depth and understand the competitive dynamics in that industry. Market studies can be effective tools to help regulators and policymakers understand the competitive dynamics of an industry and the potential impacts that regulation can have on competition.
  3. Through market studies, the Bureau can identify competition issues and suggest potential solutions. Alternatively, market studies can confirm that competition in the marketplace is functioning effectively.

Premise of the study

  1. The Bureau operates on the assumption that competition is good for both businesses and consumers. Competitive markets deliver significant benefits to the economy. Competition makes the economy more efficient; gives small and medium businesses an equitable chance to participate in the economy; provides consumers with competitive prices, product choice and the information needed to take decisions; and drives innovation.
  2. While regulation can be necessary to ensure that legitimate policy objectives are met, the Bureau’s perspective is that such regulation should be undertaken in a manner that allows competitive forces to dictate marketplace outcomes to the maximum extent possible.

Information gathering

  1. Over the course of the Study, the Bureau will gather and analyze information from various sources. The Bureau will consult experts, market participants, and other stakeholders, and will review academic literature and the experience of other jurisdictions.
  2. The Bureau may also, as appropriate, examine information collected in respect of its past advocacy or enforcement files, in order to inform its views during the Study.

Confidentiality

  1. The Bureau conducts its advocacy and enforcement activities under the authority of the Act. Section 29 of the Act protects information obtained by or provided to the Bureau, including the identities of the persons who provided the information, and any information that could reveal their identities. However, when information has been made public or where persons providing information authorize its communication to other parties, subsection 29(2) permits the disclosure of such information. Additionally, subsection 29(1) provides exceptions for the communication of information to a Canadian law enforcement agency or for the purposes of the administration or enforcement of the Act. The Bureau’s Information Bulletin on the Communication of Confidential Information under the Competition ActFootnote 8 is available on its website, and stakeholders are encouraged to consult that Information Bulletin, or direct specific questions to the officer identified above.
  2. Should the Bureau publish a report in relation to the Study, the analysis therein may be based on confidential or commercially sensitive information. We encourage stakeholders to identify any confidential or commercially sensitive information in their submissions. The Bureau will anonymize the information to the best of its ability.
  3. The Bureau will conduct its analysis in confidence. To help ensure that no confidential or commercially sensitive information is publically disclosed, the Bureau will provide affected stakeholders, as appropriate, with an advance copy of any report forty-eight (48) hours prior to its intended publication for the sole purpose of allowing them to identify whether any confidential or commercially sensitive information has been included.
Date modified:

Avis d'étude de marché : La concurrence dans les services à large bande

Une partie du contenu de cet avis a été mis à jour. Veuillez consulter la Mise à jour au sujet de l’étude de marché sur les services à large bande pour obtenir des détails supplémentaires en ce qui concerne le calendrier et la portée de l’étude.

Avis d'étude

  1. Le Bureau de la concurrence (le Bureau) entreprend une étude de marché pour mieux comprendre la dynamique concurrentielle de l'industrie canadienne des services Internet à large bande (l'étude)Note de bas de page 1,Note de bas de page 2.
  2. La large bande est l'accès Internet à haute vitesse et à haute capacité qui alimente l'économie numérique. Les Canadiens utilisent les services à large bande pour trouver et communiquer de l'information, acheter des produits et des services et accroître leur productivité au travail. Par conséquent, des prix élevés dans le secteur de la large bande peuvent avoir des répercussions négatives sur un vaste éventail d'activités économiques.
  3. La promotion d'une saine concurrence peut aider à faire en sorte que tous les Canadiens prospèrent dans un marché concurrentiel et innovateur.

Objet de l'étude

  1. La plupart des foyers canadiens sont desservis par deux réseaux capables de fournir des services Internet à large bande : l'un appartenant à la compagnie de services téléphoniques locaux et l'autre à la compagnie de services de câblodistribution locaux. Ce choix limité conduit à des questions évidentes en matière de concurrence; lorsque les consommateurs n'ont que deux options, pouvons-nous être certains que les forces du marché fourniront les prix bas et les niveaux élevés d'innovation qui caractérisent les marchés concurrentiels?
  2. Par le passé, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a communément pris des mesures pour accroître le niveau de concurrence au sein des marchés canadiens des services à large bande, en permettant aux revendeurs indépendants d'utiliser les réseaux téléphoniques et câblés existants pour fournir des services Internet aux CanadiensNote de bas de page 3. Actuellement, on dénombre plus de 550 entreprises offrant une solution de rechange concurrentielle aux compagnies de services téléphoniques et de câblodistribution traditionnellesNote de bas de page 4.
  3. Malgré cela, des questions se posent quant à l'impact que les fournisseurs de services indépendants, ou « revendeurs », ont eu sur la concurrence. Le dernier Rapport de surveillance des communications du CRTC révèle qu'en 2016, 87 % des abonnements aux services Internet de détail au Canada ont été achetés auprès d'une compagnie de téléphone ou de câblodistribution traditionnelleNote de bas de page 5. Cette situation contraste avec le constat que les revendeurs offrent des services apparemment comparables à des prix parfois inférieurs de 30 % à ceux annoncés par les compagnies de téléphone et de câblodistribution, tel qu'il est mesuré dans un rapport de Wall Communications en 2015Note de bas de page 6.
  4. La présente étude a pour but de mieux comprendre ces résultats sur le marché et la dynamique concurrentielle des marchés canadiens des services à large bande en général. Les revendeurs remplissent-ils leur rôle en imposant une meilleure discipline concurrentielle aux compagnies de téléphone et de câblodistribution traditionnelles? Ces chiffres sont-ils plutôt un signal que le marché pourrait mieux fonctionner?

Portée de l'étude

  1. Le Bureau prévoit examiner quatre grandes questions, chacune comprenant différents enjeux particuliers :
    1. Les revendeurs ont-ils été en mesure de déployer des offres de services efficaces sur le plan concurrentiel?
      1. Quelle influence concurrentielle les revendeurs ont-ils eue, à ce jour, sur les propriétaires de réseaux de téléphone et de câblodistribution traditionnels? Comment cette concurrence pourrait-elle influencer le changement à l'avenir?
      2. Existe-t-il des différences entre les services offerts par les propriétaires de réseaux de téléphone et de câblodistribution traditionnels et ceux offerts par les revendeurs qui pourraient expliquer les schémas de consommation observés? Quels sont les points de valeur qui importent le plus aux yeux des consommateurs?
    2. Comment les consommateurs ont-ils réagi aux nouvelles solutions de rechange concurrentielles?
      1. Dans quelle mesure les consommateurs canadiens sont-ils au courant de leurs options en matière de services à large bande? Existe-t-il des facteurs susceptibles d'entraîner l'inertie des consommateurs dans cette industrie, et, le cas échéant, est-il possible de surmonter ces facteurs?
      2. Dans quelle mesure est-ce que le fait que les revendeurs n'offrent habituellement pas d'autres services de télécommunication (p. ex. services de télévision ou de téléphonie) nuit-il à leur attrait sur le plan concurrentiel?
      3. Comment les pratiques contractuelles de l'industrie influent-elles sur le comportement des consommateurs? Comment la durée des contrats et les rabais sur les forfaits sont-ils structurés? Dans quelle mesure les consommateurs connaissent-ils leurs droits et leurs obligations contractuelles?
    3. Comment la réglementation dans ce secteur influe-t-elle sur le comportement économique des fournisseurs de services à large bande?
      1. Comment le régime canadien des revendeurs influe-t-il sur ce qui inciterait les propriétaires de réseaux à étendre ou à mettre à niveau leurs réseaux? Les niveaux d'investissement dans les réseaux ont-ils changé après la venue de revendeurs?
      2. Quels sont les investissements que doivent faire les revendeurs pour fournir des services aux consommateurs? Y a-t-il des caractéristiques du marché qui empêchent l'expansion des revendeurs?
      3. Les propriétaires de réseaux ont-ils utilisé le régime des revendeurs pour étendre leur portée hors de leur zone de titularité? Pourquoi ou pourquoi pas?
    4. Comment les autres pays gèrent-ils et réglementent-ils la concurrence en matière de large bande?
      1. La réglementation canadienne diverge-t-elle de façon significative de celle d'autres pays? Existe-t-il des différences significatives entre le Canada et les autres administrations qui pourraient expliquer ces divergences?
      2. Y a-t-il des leçons à tirer de la façon dont d'autres administrations réglementent les services à large bande?
  2. En menant l'étude, le Bureau n'a pas l'intention d'évaluer :
    1. les pratiques de facturation, de vente ou de service à la clientèle des fournisseurs de services à large bande, à l'exception de celles qui peuvent empêcher les consommateurs de changer de fournisseur;
    2. les allégations de conduite injuste ou coordonnée entre les fournisseurs de services à large bandeNote de bas de page 7.
  3. Au fur et à mesure que l'étude progressera, il se pourrait que des changements soient apportés à la portée de l'étude (notamment, des sujets pourraient être ajoutés, substitués à d'autres ou supprimés). Dans l'éventualité d'une modification importante de la portée, le Bureau mettra à jour le présent avis et informera les intervenants des changements apportés.

Résultats de l'étude

  1. Le Bureau prévoit publier les résultats de l'étude dans un rapport public, lequel pourrait comprendre des recommandations à l'intention des autorités gouvernementales compétentes, le cas échéant.
  2. L'étude permettra au Bureau, entre autres choses :
    1. de faire des interventions réglementaires éclairées concernant les mesures que les organismes de réglementation ou les décideurs pourraient prendre pour favoriser davantage la concurrence dans l'industrie de la large bande; et
    2. d'accroître ses connaissances et sa compréhension de la dynamique concurrentielle de l'industrie de la large bande, et de l'industrie des télécommunications en général, afin d'éclairer ses travaux futurs.

Échéancier

  1. Le Bureau a l'intention de mener l'étude selon le calendrier suivant :
    1. Mai 2018 : début de l'étude
    2. 31 août 2018 : date limite de présentation des observations initiales ou des demandes d'entrevues
    3. Été et automne 2018 : mobilisation des parties prenantes et recherche
    4. Hiver 2018-2019 : analyse de l'information et mobilisation continue des parties prenantes
    5. Printemps 2019 : publication de l'ébauche du rapport; tenue d'une consultation publique et publication du rapport final
  2. Le Bureau modifiera ce calendrier à sa discrétion s'il y a lieu. En cas de changements importants apportés au calendrier, le Bureau mettra à jour le présent avis et informera les intervenants des changements apportés.

Pour participer

  1. Les intervenants intéressés par l'industrie canadienne de la large bande sont invités à produire de vive voix ou par écrit leurs observations portant sur des sujets particuliers qui ont un lien avec l'étude. Veuillez transmettre vos observations écrites par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courriel à l'agent indiqué ci-après. Veuillez fournir vos coordonnées si vous préférez que le Bureau communique avec vous pour une entrevue de vive voix. Le Bureau aimerait recevoir avant le 31 août 2018 vos observations ou l'indication que vous souhaitez participer à une entrevue afin de disposer d'un délai suffisant pour examiner les documents et de mener des entrevues de suivi le cas échéant.
  2. La personne-ressource principale dans le cadre de l'étude est :

    Greg Lang
    Directeur des dossiers spéciaux et conseiller stratégique
    Direction générale de la promotion de la concurrence

    Courriel : ic.cbmarketstudies-etudesdemarchebc.ic@canada.ca
    Télécopieur : (819) 953-6400

    Bureau de la concurrence
    Place du Portage, Phase 1
    50, rue Victoria, Gatineau (Québec)
    K1A 0C9

Rôle du Bureau de la concurrence

  1. Le Bureau assure et contrôle l'application de la Loi sur la concurrence (la Loi). Dans le cadre de son mandat, le Bureau prend part à diverses activités pour promouvoir les avantages d'un marché concurrentiel. Une concurrence accrue peut entraîner une réduction des prix pour les consommateurs, mener à une offre élargie et stimuler l'innovation.
  2. Les études de marché font partie des outils utilisés par le Bureau pour faire la promotion de la concurrence. Les études de marché permettent au Bureau d'étudier une industrie en profondeur et de comprendre la dynamique concurrentielle dans cette industrie. Les études de marché peuvent être des outils efficaces pour aider les organismes de réglementation et les décideurs à comprendre la dynamique concurrentielle d'une industrie et les impacts potentiels que la réglementation peut avoir sur la concurrence.
  3. Grâce aux études de marché, le Bureau peut cerner les problèmes de concurrence et suggérer des solutions potentielles. Par ailleurs, les études de marché peuvent permettre de confirmer que la concurrence fonctionne efficacement sur le marché.

Prémisse de l'étude

  1. Le Bureau de la concurrence part du principe que la concurrence profite aux consommateurs et aux entreprises. Les marchés concurrentiels assurent d'importants avantages à l'économie. La concurrence : rend l'économie plus efficiente; donne aux petites et moyennes entreprises une chance équitable de contribuer à l'économie; assure aux consommateurs des prix concurrentiels, un choix de produits et l'information nécessaire pour prendre des décisions; et alimente l'innovation.
  2. Bien que la réglementation puisse être nécessaire pour s'assurer que les objectifs légitimes de politiques publiques sont atteints, le Bureau estime qu'une telle réglementation devrait être entreprise d'une manière qui permette aux forces de la concurrence de dicter les résultats du marché dans la mesure du possible.

Collecte d'information

  1. Le Bureau réunira et analysera de l'information de diverses sources au fil de l'étude. Le Bureau consultera des experts, des participants du marché et d'autres intervenants et examinera la documentation universitaire et l'expérience d'autres administrations.
  2. Le Bureau peut aussi, s'il y a lieu, examiner l'information recueillie dans le cadre de ses dossiers antérieurs de promotion de la concurrence ou d'application de la loi, afin d'éclairer ses points de vue pendant l'étude.

Confidentialité

  1. Le Bureau mène ses activités de promotion de la concurrence et d'application de la loi en vertu de la Loi sur la concurrence. Les dispositions de l'article 29 protègent les renseignements obtenus par le Bureau ou fournis à ce dernier, y compris l'identité des personnes les ayant fournis et toute information susceptible de révéler leur identité. Cependant, lorsque des renseignements sont devenus publics ou que les personnes ayant fourni des renseignements en autorisent la communication à d'autres parties, le paragraphe 29(2) autorise la divulgation de ces renseignements. De plus, le paragraphe 29(1) prévoit des exceptions dans le cadre de la communication de renseignements à un organisme canadien chargé du contrôle d'application de la loi ou dans le cadre de l'application ou du contrôle d'application de la Loi. Le Bureau a publié un « Bulletin d'information sur la communication de renseignements confidentiels aux termes de la Loi sur la concurrence »Note de bas de page 8 sur son site Web; nous invitons les intervenants à consulter ce bulletin ou à adresser leurs questions à l'agent susmentionné.
  2. Si le Bureau publie un rapport lié à l'étude, l'analyse qu'il contiendra pourrait être fondée sur des renseignements confidentiels ou délicats sur le plan commercial. Nous encourageons les parties prenantes à désigner comme telle toute information confidentielle ou commercialement sensible dans leurs observations. Le Bureau s'efforcera de rendre l'information aussi anonyme que possible.
  3. Le Bureau effectuera son analyse en toute confidentialité. Néanmoins, pour veiller à ce qu'aucune information sensible sur le plan commercial ne soit divulguée, le Bureau fournira au préalable aux intervenants concernés, le cas échéant, un exemplaire de tout rapport 48 heures avant la publication prévue, dans le seul but de leur permettre de vérifier s'il contient de l'information confidentielle ou délicate sur le plan commercial.
Date de modification :