Amending the articles of a cooperative

You can amend the articles of a cooperative under the Canada Cooperatives Act (Coop Act) by filing an application with Corporations Canada. The information below will assist you in preparing your application.

Note

The information provided here is to assist you in amending your cooperative quickly and accurately. It is not intended to replace legal advice. Consider consulting a lawyer or another professional advisor to ensure that the specific needs of your cooperative are met. 

On this page

Cooperative principles

A cooperative is a body corporate that adheres to the cooperative principles. For more information, see What is a Co-operative?

Documents that must be filed to incorporate a cooperative

To amend the articles of a cooperative, you must file an application that includes: 

  1. a cover letter including contact information for the person filing the application. In this letter, clearly indicate whether or not your cooperative is a non-profit housing cooperative or a worker cooperative
  2. a completed and signed copy of Form 3004 – Articles of Amendment (PDF Version, 120 KB) (see Instructions to complete the form)
  3. a completed and signed copy of Form 3003 – Change of address of registered office (PDF Version, 1,124 KB) (see instructions to complete form) if there are any changes to the place in which the registered office is situated
  4. a completed and signed copy of Form 3006 – Change regarding directors (PDF Version, 120 KB) (see instructions to complete the form) if there are any changes to the board of directors of the cooperative
  5. a Nuans name search report  for the proposed name that is not more than 90 days old. If your name has been pre-approved by Corporations Canada, attach a copy of the Corporations Canada letter approving your name along with the copy of the Nuans name search report if there are any changes to the name of the cooperative
  6. the filing fee (see Services, fees and turnaround times – Coop Act).

Corporations Canada offers several methods of filing (see How do I file my application under the Canada Cooperatives Act (Coop Act)?).

Language of the articles

The articles can be in the official language of your choice. This means they may be:

  • in a format that uses either official language (in French or in English)
  • in a format that employs both English and French.

When to file Form 3007– Restated Articles of Incorporation

If your cooperative has made several amendments to its articles, it may be useful to consolidate all the changes and set out the current articles of the cooperative into one document. To make this consolidation an official document, you can file Form 3007 – Restated Articles of Incorporation with Corporations Canada.

You can’t amend your articles when filing restated articles of incorporation.

Your application for restated articles must include:

  1. A completed and signed copy of Form 3007 – Restated Articles of Incorporation (see Federal corporation forms)
  2. The filing fee (see Services, fees and turnaround times – Coop Act). There is no fee when Form 3007 – Restated Articles of Incorporation is submitted at the same time as Form 3004 – Articles of Amendment.

Effective date of the certificate

The certificate’s effective date is the date on which Corporations Canada receives your complete application or any later date you requested.

Problem with your application

If there is a problem with your application, Corporations Canada returns it with a letter that explains the steps you need to take to fix the problem.

Date modified:

Modifier les statuts d’une coopérative

Vous pouvez modifier les statuts de votre coopérative régie par la Loi canadienne sur les coopératives (LCOOP) en déposant une demande auprès de Corporations Canada. L’information ci-dessous vous aidera à préparer votre demande.

Note

Les renseignements fournis vous aideront à effectuer rapidement et correctement une demande de modification. Ces renseignements ne visent pas à remplacer l’avis d’un conseiller juridique. Songez à consulter un avocat ou un autre conseiller professionnel pour vous assurer que les besoins spécifiques de votre coopérative ont été considérés.

Sur cette page

Principe coopératif

Une coopérative est une personne morale qui adhère au principe coopératif. Pour en savoir plus, voir Qu’est-ce qu’une coopérative?

Documents qui doivent être déposés pour modifier les statuts d’une coopérative

Pour modifier les statuts d’une coopérative, vous devez déposer une demande incluant ce qui suit :

  1. une lettre de présentation qui comprend les coordonnées de la personne ressource. Dans cette lettre, indiquez de façon claire si votre coopérative est ou si elle n’est pas une coopérative d’habitation sans but lucratif ou une coopérative de travailleurs
  2. un Formulaire 3004 – Clauses modificatrices (Version PDF, 106 Ko) rempli et signé (voir les instructions pour remplir le formulaire)
  3. un Formulaire 3003 – Changement d’adresse du siège social (Version PDF, 120 Ko) rempli et signé (voir les instructions pour remplir le formulaire) s’il y a un changement au lieu où est situé le siège social
  4. un Formulaire 3006 – Changement concernant les administrateurs (Version PDF, 130 Ko) rempli et signé (voir les instructions pour remplir le formulaire) s’il y a un changement relativement aux administrateurs de la coopérative
  5. s’il y a une modification à la dénomination sociale, un rapport Nuans de recherche de dénominations pour la dénomination proposée qui date d’au plus 90 jours. Si votre dénomination a été préapprouvée par Corporations Canada, joindre une copie de la lettre de Corporations Canada approuvant votre dénomination à la copie du rapport Nuans de recherche de dénominations.
  6. les frais de dépôt (voir Services, frais et délais d’exécution – LCOOP).

Corporations Canada vous offre différentes manières de déposer votre demande (voir Comment déposer une demande en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les coopératives (LCOOP)).

Langues des clauses modificatrices

Vous pouvez déposer les clauses modificatrices dans la langue officielle de votre choix, ce qui signifie que les clauses peuvent être présentées :

  • dans un format utilisant l'une des deux langues officielles (c.-à-d., en français ou en anglais)
  • dans un format utilisant l'anglais et le français.

Quand doit-on déposer le Formulaire 3007 – Statuts constitutifs mis à jour?

Si votre coopérative a apporté plusieurs modifications à ses statuts, il pourrait être utile de consolider toutes les modifications et d’établir les statuts courants de votre coopérative dans un document. Pour faire de cette consolidation un document officiel, vous pouvez déposer le Formulaire 3007 – Statuts constitutifs mis à jour auprès de Corporations Canada.

Vous ne pouvez pas modifier les statuts lors du dépôt du Formulaire 3007 – Statuts constitutifs mis à jour.

Votre demande de statuts constitutifs mis à jour doit inclure :

  1. Un Formulaire 3007 – Statuts constitutifs mis à jour rempli et signé (voir Formulaires pour les coopératives)
  2. Les frais (voir Services, frais et délais d’exécution – LCOOP). Il n’y a pas de frais lorsque le Formulaire 3007 – Statuts constitutifs mis à jour est soumis en même temps qu’un Formulaire 3004 – Clauses modificatrices.

Date d’entrée en vigueur du certificat

La date d’entrée en vigueur du certificat est la date à laquelle Corporations Canada reçoit votre demande complète ou à toute date ultérieure que vous demandez.

Problème concernant votre demande

S’il y a un problème concernant votre demande, Corporations Canada la retourne accompagnée d’une lettre expliquant les étapes que vous devez suivre pour régler ce problème.

Date de modification :