Creating a not-for-profit corporation

Corporations under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) can be created (that is, incorporated) by filing a request through the Online Filing Centre. If you prefer to submit a non-online request to create a corporation (that is, by email attachment, fax or mail) this document will help you to prepare the request.

Note

The information provided is to assist you to complete the incorporation process quickly and accurately. It is not intended to replace legal advice. Consider consulting a lawyer or another professional advisor to ensure that the specific needs of your corporation are met.

On this page

Documents to file to create a not-for-profit corporation

An application for a certificate of incorporation must include:

Models of Form 4001 – Articles of Incorporation provide examples of wording that typical not-for-profit corporations can refer to when completing their articles.

The steps to follow after you submit your application are explained in What happens after I submit my application under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act?.

Language of the articles

The articles can be in the official language of your choice. This means they can be:

  • in a format that uses either official language (in English or in French)
  • in a format that employs both English and French, or
  • in a fully bilingual format, using both official languages equally.

Professional associations

Incorporation of a professional association (that is, a corporation whose proposed name or purposes suggest that it considers itself to be an association of professionals) does not provide that corporation with the authority to practise, or to regulate the practice of, the profession. It is the corporation's responsibility to comply with provincial laws respecting professions.

What to do after the corporation has been created

Once the corporation has been created, a number of other items must be considered. Next steps following incorporation provides information on what needs to be done after a corporation has been created and on how to operate a not-for-profit corporation under the NFP Act.

You will be required to file certain documents with Corporations Canada (see Your reporting obligations under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act).

By-laws

At the first organizational meeting, the directors can make by-laws. This process can be simplified by referring to the Model by-laws – Not-for-profit corporations, which have been written to apply to a typical not-for-profit corporation.

Corporations Canada has also developed an online interactive tool called a By-law builder: not-for-profit corporations that allows you to generate the by-laws you want by choosing provisions that meet the specific needs of your corporation from a number of available options.

Note

By-laws do not have to be filed with the application to obtain a certificate of incorporation. However, the NFP Act requires that they be filed within 12 months after the members have confirmed them.

Registering as a charity under the Income Tax Act

To be able to issue official donation receipts and to be exempt from taxation, the Income Tax Act requires that corporations created and operated exclusively for charitable purposes register with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) as charities. Consult How to draft purposes for charitable registration to know more.

The act of incorporating as a not-for-profit corporation under the NFP Act does not mean that the corporation will automatically be tax-exempt or considered as a registered charity for the purposes of the Income Tax Act.

If your corporation intends to become a registered charity, read CRA’s Apply to become a registered charity before preparing your incorporating documents, particularly as it relates to the purposes of the corporation statement. It is important that this statement meet the CRA requirements to qualify for registration as a charity.

You should also know that if you need to change the purpose statement after incorporation to qualify for registration as a charity, changes to approved articles of incorporation could only be made through an amendment ― a separate fee-based service.

Not-for-profit corporations and non-profit organizations

Incorporation under the NFP Act does not automatically mean that the corporation will be exempt from tax under the Income Tax Act. For more information on being considered a non-profit organization under the Income Tax Act, see the CRA's Non-profit organizations section.

Date modified:

Création d'une organisation à but non lucratif

Une organisation régie par la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) peut être créée, c'est-à-dire, constituée en organisation, en déposant une demande au Centre de dépôt en ligne. Si vous préférez soumettre une demande pour créer une organisation autrement qu'en ligne (c.-à-d., par pièce jointe à un courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste), le présent document vous aidera à préparer la demande.

Note

Les renseignements fournis vous aideront à procéder rapidement et correctement à la constitution de votre organisation à but non lucratif. Ces renseignements ne visent pas à remplacer l'avis d'un conseiller juridique. Songez à consulter un avocat ou un autre conseiller professionnel pour vous assurer que les besoins spécifiques de votre société ont été considérés.

Sur cette page

Documents à déposer pour constituer une organisation à but non lucratif

Une demande de certificat de constitution doit comprendre :

Des modèles du Formulaire 4001 – Statuts constitutifs fournissent des exemples de libellés auxquels une organisation à but non lucratif typique peut se reporter au moment d'établir ses statuts.

Les étapes à suivre après que vous soumettez votre demande se trouvent dans Qu'advient-il de ma demande en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif après que je l'ai soumise?.

Langue des statuts constitutifs

Vous pouvez déposer les statuts dans la langue officielle de votre choix, ce qui signifie que les statuts peuvent être présentés :

  • dans un format utilisant l'une des deux langues officielles (c.-à-d., en français ou en anglais)
  • dans un format utilisant l'anglais et le français, ou
  • dans un format entièrement bilingue, utilisant les deux langues officielles de façon égale.

Associations professionnelles

La constitution en organisation d'une association professionnelle (c.-à-d., une organisation dont la dénomination ou les objets laissent supposer qu'elle se considère comme une association de professionnels) ne lui confère pas le pouvoir d'exercer la profession ni d'en règlementer la pratique. L'organisation a la responsabilité de se conformer aux lois provinciales concernant les professions.

Ce qu'il faut faire une fois que l'organisation est constituée

Lorsque l'organisation est constituée, certains autres éléments doivent être considérés. Étapes suivant la constitution fournissent des renseignements sur ce qui doit être fait après qu'une organisation à but non lucratif est constituée en vertu de la Loi BNL et sur la façon d'exploiter une telle organisation.

Vous devrez déposer certains documents auprès de Corporations Canada (voir Vos obligations de déclaration en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif).

Règlements administratifs

Lors de la première assemblée constitutive, les administrateurs peuvent adopter des règlements administratifs. Ce processus peut être simplifié en se reportant aux Modèles de règlements administratifs – Organisations à but non lucratif, qui s'applique à une organisation à but non lucratif typique.

Corporations Canada a également mis au point un outil interactif en ligne appelé Outil d'élaboration des règlements administratifs : organisations à but non lucratif qui permet de produire les règlements administratifs désirés en choisissant les dispositions qui correspondent aux besoins spécifiques de votre organisation en utilisant un certain nombre d'options.

Note

Les règlements administratifs n'ont pas à être déposés en même temps que la demande de certificat de constitution. Toutefois, la Loi BNL exige qu'ils soient déposés au cours des 12 mois suivant leur confirmation par les membres.

L'enregistrement d'un organisme de bienfaisance en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

Pour pouvoir délivrer des reçus officiels en contrepartie d'un don, et pour être exemptes d'impôt, la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu exige que les organisations constituées et exploitées exclusivement à des fins de bienfaisance s'enregistrent auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) en tant qu'organismes de bienfaisance. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez Comment rédiger des fins qui satisfont aux exigences de la bienfaisance en matière d’enregistrement.

Le fait de créer une organisation à but non lucratif en vertu de la Loi BNL ne signifie pas que l’organisation sera automatiquement exemptée d'impôt ou considérée comme un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré aux termes de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Si votre organisation prévoit devenir un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré, lisez Demander à devenir un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré de l’ARC avant de préparer vos documents constitutifs, et plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne la déclaration d'intention de l'organisation. Il importe que cette déclaration rencontre les exigences de l'enregistrement à titre d'organisme de bienfaisance.

De plus, il est bon de savoir que si, après la constitution en société, vous devez modifier cette déclaration pour que votre organisation soit admissible à l'enregistrement à titre d'organisme de bienfaisance, les modifications apportées aux statuts approuvés ne peuvent être effectuées que par le biais d’une modification des statuts ― un service payant séparé.

Organisations à but non lucratif et organismes sans but lucratif

Une organisation à but non lucratif qui est constituée en vertu de la Loi BNL n'est pas automatiquement considérée comme un organisme exempt d'impôt en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Pour en savoir plus sur le fait d'être considérée comme un organisme sans but lucratif en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, voir la section Organismes sans but lucratif de l'ARC.

Date de modification :