Using notice-and-access under the Canada Business Corporations Act

Amendments to the Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA) have been made to facilitate the use of notice-and-access by CBCA distributing corporations.

Notice-and-access allows greater use of the internet for delivering proxy-related materials to shareholders of distributing corporations. It also significantly reduces the number of documents to be mailed to shareholders. Essentially, it provides shareholders with an alternative manner to access the proxy-related materials.

The amendments to sections 150, 153 and 159 of the CBCA to fully allow distributing corporations to use notice-and-access require regulations. The development of the required regulations is expected to take approximately 18-24 months.

Until the required regulations are developed, Corporations Canada is of the view that the notice-and-access regime provides shareholders with sufficient disclosure to support applications for exemptions under both subsection 151(1) and section 156 of the CBCA. Amendments to these two sections need no regulations and are in effect now. These amendments give the Director, on any terms that the Directors thinks fit, the authority to:

  • under subsection 151(1): exempt a person from the requirements of subsection 150(1) to send the proxy circular to shareholders and exempt a person from the requirements of subsection 153(1) related to the duties of intermediaries;
  • under section 156: exempt a corporation from the requirements of section 159 to send the annual financial statements to shareholders.

To be considered for these exemptions, a corporation must be a distributing corporation as defined under the CBCA.  Applications will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

If you would like more information about applying for these exemptions, consult the following:

If you have any questions, contact us.

Date modified:

Utilisation du mécanisme de notification et d’accès en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions

Des modifications à la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA) ont été effectuées pour faciliter l’utilisation du mécanisme de notification et d’accès par les sociétés régies par la LCSA ayant fait appel au public.

Le mécanisme de notification et d’accès permet une utilisation accrue de l’internet pour livrer des documents reliés aux procurations aux actionnaires de sociétés ayant fait appel au public. Cela permet également de réduire de manière significative le nombre de documents à poster aux actionnaires. Essentiellement, cela procure aux actionnaires un autre moyen d’avoir accès aux documents reliés aux procurations.

Les modifications aux articles 150, 153 et 159 de la LCSA pour permettre aux sociétés ayant fait appel au public d’utiliser pleinement le mécanisme de notification et d’accès exigent des règlements. L’élaboration des règlements nécessaires devrait prendre environ 18 à 24 mois.

En attendant l’élaboration desdits règlements, Corporations Canada est d’avis que le régime de notification et d’accès offre aux actionnaires une divulgation suffisante pour appuyer des demandes de dispense en vertu du paragraphe 151(1) et de l’article 156 de la LCSA. Les modifications à cet article et ce paragraphe n’ont pas besoin de règlements et sont actuellement en vigueur. Ces modifications donnent au directeur, aux conditions qu’il estime pertinentes, les pouvoirs suivants :

  • en vertu du paragraphe 151(1) : dispenser une personne des exigences du paragraphe 150(1) d’envoyer la circulaire de procuration aux actionnaires et dispenser une personne des exigences du paragraphe 153(1) concernant les devoirs d’intermédiaires;
  • en vertu de l’article 156 : dispenser une société des exigences de l’article 159 d’envoyer les états financiers annuels aux actionnaires.

Pour demander ces dispenses, une société doit être une société ayant fait appel au public selon la définition de la LCSA. Toutes les demandes seront examinées au cas par cas.

Si vous voulez plus de renseignements sur les demandes de telles dispenses, consultez :

Si vous avez des questions, contactez-nous.

Date de modification :