Railway documents

The Railway Tool allows you to deposit and search for railway documents. To access this tool, you will need to request authorization or sign in.

The Railway Tool has 2 functions.

  • The search function allows the secure database of railway documents to be searched.
  • The deposit function allows railway documents to be deposited with the Registrar General of Canada.

The database contains the railway documents that have been deposited with the Registrar General of Canada under sections 104 and 105 of the Canada Transportation Act (CTA). Records date back to 1868, and they are kept permanently.
Documents are not removed from the database, even if:

  • a letter of transmittal or a deposited document expressly indicates that the document has a fixed term
  • a discharge or release of a deposited document is subsequently filed
  • a request is made by the person who originally deposited the document.

Depositing railway documents

Sections 104 and 105 of the CTA allow certain documents associated with railways to be deposited with the office of the Registrar General of Canada. Section 104 allows for the deposit of mortgages and hypothecs. Section 105 of the CTA allows for the deposit of certain contracts respecting rolling stock.

While the intent of sections 104 and 105 of the CTA is to provide public notice of the interests contained in the documents deposited, the Registrar does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of the deposit system or the documents. In accessing the deposit system, you agree that the use of the system is at your own risk. Whether considering to deposit a document or to search for a railway document, you may wish to consult with legal counsel or other professional advisers to understand the issues as they apply to your particular situation.

Date modified:

Documents de chemins de fer

L’Outil de chemins de fer vous permet de déposer et de rechercher des documents de chemins de fer. Pour accéder à l’outil, vous devrez demander l'autorisation ou ouvrir une session afin de l’utiliser.

L’Outil de chemins de fer offre deux services qui permettent :

  • d’effectuer des recherches dans la base de données protégée
  • de déposer des documents de chemins de fer auprès du bureau du Registraire général du Canada.

La base de données contient des documents de compagnies de chemin de fer déposés auprès du Bureau du registraire général du Canada en vertu des articles 104 et 105 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada (LTC). Les archives remontent à 1868 et les documents déposés sont conservés en permanence dans la base de données.

Les documents ne sont pas retirés de la base de données, même si :

  • une lettre d'accompagnement ou un dépôt indique expressément que le document a une durée déterminée
  • une cession ou une libération d'un document déposé a été présentée subséquemment
  • une demande est faite par la personne qui a déposé le document à l'origine.

Dépôt de documents de chemins de fer

Les articles 104 et 105 de la LTC permettent de déposer certains documents reliés aux chemins de fer auprès du bureau du Registraire général du Canada. L'article 104 permet de déposer des documents hypothécaires. L'article 105 de la LTC permet de déposer certains contrats relatifs au matériel roulant.

Bien que l'objectif des articles 104 et 105 de la LTC soit d'informer le public au sujet des intérêts contenus dans les documents déposés, le Registraire ne garantit pas l'exactitude ni l'intégralité du système de dépôt ni des documents. En accédant au système de dépôt, vous acceptez d'utiliser le système à vos propres risques. Que votre intention soit de déposer un document ou de faire la recherche d'un document de compagnies de chemins de fer, vous voudrez peut-être consulter un conseiller juridique ou d'autres conseillers professionnels pour comprendre les enjeux tels qu'ils s'appliquent à votre propre situation.

Date de modification :