SAR

Ensuring Radio Equipment Safety in Canada

Wireless devices are increasingly ubiquitous in our daily lives, ranging from smartphones and Wi-Fi routers, to Bluetooth headsets and tablets. With more Canadians than ever relying on wireless-enabled products and services, the proliferation of radiofrequency-emitting devices is ever increasing.

However, demand for wireless services has to be balanced with the safety of Canadians. Consequently, all equipment manufactured, imported, sold or leased in Canada must meet stringent radiofrequency exposure requirements.

Ensuring the safety of Canadians regarding radio equipment is a shared responsibility between Health Canada and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada. Health Canada is responsible for maintaining Canada’s radiofrequency exposure guidelines, better known as Safety Code 6, ensuring that exposure guidelines reflect the most recent and pertinent scientific evidence available. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada ensures that the most up-to-date Safety Code 6 guidelines are adopted within its applicable equipment standards to ensure that all equipment manufactured, imported, sold or leased in Canada does not transmit radiofrequency energy above levels well below where potential health effects may occur. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada also maintains a market surveillance program which audits and evaluates, on an ongoing basis, a sampling of wireless products currently on the market. The market surveillance program provides reassurances that wireless devices available to Canadians continue to meet the radiofrequency exposure guidelines. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, by way of the Certification and Engineering Bureau, operate Specific Absorption Rate or SAR test equipment as part of its market surveillance program.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada also monitors cellular and broadcasting towers to ensure that such installations also meet Safety Code 6 requirements. Further information on tower safety can be found at the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's Fact about Tower web site.

Large safety margins, of the order of 50 times in many cases, are built into Safety Code 6 to provide a significant level of protection for anyone using a wireless device. As such, the safety of Canadians is ensured when using any compliant wireless device in Canada.

Image shown the Approximately 50 time safety margin between the threshold for potential health effects and Health Canada limits for public exposure of Radio Frequency Energy


Q1: What is SAR?

The Specific Absorption Rate or SAR is the rate at which RF energy is absorbed by a defined amount of mass of a biological body. SAR is expressed in units of watts per kilogram (W/kg). The SAR value of your cell phone is normally published in the user manual or you can contact the manufacturer to obtain this information. The SAR value can also be obtained on Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada’s website (see Question 5)

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada requires that all portable and hand-held radiocommunication devices sold in Canada, including cell phones, comply with the regulatory SAR limits.

Q2: What are the SAR limits in Canada?

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada’s Radio Standards Specification (RSS) – 102 entitled Radio Frequency Exposure Compliance of Radiocommunication Apparatus (All Frequency Bands) sets out the requirements and measurement techniques used to evaluate the RF exposure compliance of wireless devices such as cell phones. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada’s RSS-102 has adopted the SAR limits established in Health Canada’s RF exposure guidelines entitled: Limits of Human Exposure to Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Energy in the Frequency Range from 3 kHz to 300 GHz- Safety Code 6. All radiocommunication devices must comply with these limits to be certified in Canada.

Table 1: SAR Limits in Canada
Body Region Devices Used by the General Public
SAR Limit (W/kg)
Devices for Controlled Use
SAR Limit (W/kg)
Mass Average (g)
Localized Head and Trunk 1.6 >8 1
Localized Limbs 4 20 10

For example, the SAR limit for general public for a cell phone in close proximity to the head and trunk is 1.6 W/kg, averaged over any 1g of tissue.

Q3: Are the SAR limits the same around the world?

Canada and the US have similar SAR limits. However, other countries, such as those in the European Community, have adopted the less stringent limit recommended by the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) guideline.

Table 2: SAR Limits for head, neck and trunk in Canada/US versus ICNIRP
Guideline SAR limit - Head, Neck and Trunk
Health Canada Safety Code 6/
US FCC OET 65
1.6 W/kg averaged over 1 gram of tissue*
ICNIRP 2.0 W/kg average over any 10 grams of tissue**
* Defined as tissue volume in the shape of a cube
** Defined as 10g of continuous tissue

Averaging localized SAR using a larger volume allows greater variation within the sample that could permit exposure to higher levels of RF at some points within the sample. Confining the average SAR to a smaller sample allows less variability and overall lower allowable exposure to RF; thus, making the SAR limit adopted in North America more stringent in comparison to the ICNIRP limit (adopted by most of Europe).

Q4: Is a cell phone with a lower SAR value considered safer?

No. Different cell phones will have different SAR values;, however, all must meet the regulatory limits set forth by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada in order to be sold on the Canadian market. These established regulatory limits are well below any levels that could represent a safety concern.

Q5: How can I obtain the SAR value of my cell phone on the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada website?

The SAR value of a specific cell phone model can be obtained for almost all cell phones by using the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (IC) Certification Number for that model. The IC Certification Number is an alpha-numeric code typically printed on a label or embossed, somewhere on the case or in the battery compartment of the phone or device. Once the IC Certification Number is obtained, you must enter it in the Certification Number criteria field in the Radio Equipment List (REL) database search page available at the following link:

https://sms-sgs.ic.gc.ca/equipmentSearch/searchRadioEquipments?execution=e13s1&lang=en

Click on "Search" and the phone model will appear. Click on the phone model and you should obtain the applicable SAR value(s) for your phone as measured at time of certification.

Q6: How do you measure SAR?

The cell phone is made to continuously transmit at maximum output power into the simulated human body/head tissue. The maximum electric field, as a result of radiated emissions from the cell phone is then measured in and around the simulated tissue. This test determines the maximum SAR associated with the phone or device.

SAR measurement methodologies are developed by international standards development organizations such as the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). The international standards developed by these organizations provide measurement methods to test portable and hand-held devices such as cell phones for compliance with Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) limits. These measurement methods are recognized world-wide as procedures for verifying Radio Frequency (RF) exposure compliance.

Since the SAR value is determined at the highest power level in laboratory conditions, the actual SAR level of the cell phone can be well below this value when operating in every day use. Cell phones and other portable devices use adaptive power control to reduce the transmitted power to the minimum possible while maintaining a good call quality. This is an important feature which is used to maximize battery life.

Specialised laboratory test equipment is used for conducting SAR measurements. The equipment consists of a ‘phantom’ (human or body), precision robot, RF field sensors, and device holder. The phantom is filled with a liquid that represents the electrical properties of human tissue.

Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) measurement systems at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada Certification and Engineering Bureau
Figure 1: SAR measurement systems at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada Certification and Engineering Bureau.

Two basic types of SAR measurement are made: head measurement when the device is used near the head and, body measurement when the device is used near or in contact with the body. A simplified example of the steps taken to measure SAR applied to a cell phone is provide below. Note that similar procedures are also used for other type of devices using RF such as tablets, WiFi routers, land mobile radio, etc.

For head measurements, a head phantom is used and the following steps are followed:

  • The cell phone is positioned against the phantom head and switched on to full power.
  • The precision robot moves the RF probe throughout the phantom head measuring the cell phone signal level in the head phantom.
  • The computer analysing the data converts the radio signal of the cell phone into SAR (W/kg).
  • The full test is conducted at all operating frequencies and using different phone positions.
  • The maximum level measured is recorded as the SAR value against the head.

For body measurements, a body (box) phantom is used and the following steps are followed:

  • The cell phone is positioned against the phantom body and switched on to full power.
  • The precision robot moves the RF probe throughout the phantom body measuring the radio signal level in the body near the cellular phone.
  • The computer analysing the data converts the radio signal levels into SAR (W/kg).
  • The maximum level measured is recorded as the SAR value against the body.

Q7: What has changed as a result of the revised Safety Code 6 in March 2015?

Health Canada has updated Safety Code 6 based on the latest available scientific evidence, including improved modelling of the interaction of radiofrequency fields with the human body. It includes slightly more restrictive reference levels in some frequency ranges to ensure even larger safety margins to protect all Canadians, including newborn infants and children. The revisions to Safety Code 6 make Canada’s limits among the most rigorous science-based limits in the world. The code continues to establish a human exposure limit that is far below the threshold for potential health effects.

Search

To find the SAR value of your device please use the SAR Search.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Débit d'absorption spécifique

Assurer la sécurité de l’équipement radio au Canada

Les dispositifs sans fil font de plus en plus partie de notre quotidien - du téléphone intelligent et routeur Wi-Fi au casque d’écoute Bluetooth et tablette. Les Canadiens sont plus nombreux que jamais à recourir aux produits et services sans fil, et les dispositifs émettant des radiofréquences ne cessent de proliférer.

Toutefois, il est important de concilier la demande de services sans fil avec la sécurité des Canadiens. Par conséquent, tout équipement fabriqué, importé, vendu ou loué au Canada doit satisfaire à des exigences strictes relatives aux limites d’exposition humaine aux radiofréquences.

Assurer la sécurité des Canadiens en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation de l’équipement radio constitue une responsabilité partagée entre Santé Canada et Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada. Il incombe à Santé Canada de maintenir à jour les lignes directrices sur l’exposition aux radiofréquences, mieux connues sous le nom de Code de sécurité 6, de s’assurer que les directives sur l’exposition tiennent compte des données scientifiques, les plus récentes et les plus pertinentes, qui soient. De son côté, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada veille à ce que les plus récentes lignes directrices du Code de sécurité 6 soient intégrées aux normes applicables à l’équipement afin de s’assurer que tout équipement fabriqué, importé, vendu ou loué au Canada ne transmette pas de radiofréquences à un niveau bien en deçà de ceux qui pourraient constituer un danger pour la santé. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada tient également à jour un programme de surveillance du marché qui permet de vérifier et d’évaluer, de façon continue, un échantillon de produits sans fil actuellement offerts sur le marché. Le programme de surveillance du marché vise à rassurer les Canadiens que les produits sans fil offerts au Canada sont toujours conformes aux lignes directrices sur l’exposition aux radiofréquences. Par le biais du Bureau d’homologation et de services techniques, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada exploite de l’équipement d’essai spécialisé DAS (DAS : débit d’absorption spécifique) dans le cadre de son programme de surveillance du marché.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada effectue également la surveillance des pylônes pour la radiodiffusion et pour la transmission cellulaire, et veille à ce que de telles installations respectent aussi les exigences du Code de sécurité 6. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la sécurité des pylônes, veuillez consulter le site Web d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada Les faits au sujet des pylônes.

De vastes marges de sécurité, de l’ordre de 50 fois dans de nombreux cas, sont intégrées au Code de sécurité 6 pour offrir un niveau de protection important à quiconque utilise un dispositif sans fil. Pour cette raison, la sécurité des Canadiens est assurée s’ils utilisent un dispositif sans fil qui respectent les normes canadiennes.

Image shown the Approximately 50 time safety margin between the threshold for potential health effects and Health Canada limits for public exposure of Radio Frequency Energy

Qu'est-ce que le DAS?

Le débit d'absorption spécifique (DAS) représente le débit auquel l'énergie radioélectrique est absorbée par une masse définie de tissu biologique. Le DAS est exprimé en « watts par kilogramme » (W/kg). La valeur du DAS pour votre téléphone cellulaire est normalement publiée; vous pouvez aussi l’obtenir en communiquant avec le fabricant ou en consultant le site Internet d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (voir la question 5).

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada exige que tous les appareils portatifs de radiocommunication vendus au Canada, y compris les téléphones cellulaires, soient conformes aux limites réglementaires de DAS.

Quelles sont les limites de DAS au Canada?

Le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, le CNR-102, intitulé Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences (toutes bandes de fréquences), prescrit les exigences et les techniques de mesure relatives à l'exposition aux RF servant à évaluer la conformité des appareils sans fil, comme les téléphones cellulaires. Le CNR-102 d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada est fondé sur les limites de DAS établies dans les lignes directrices de Santé Canada sur l'exposition aux RF, intitulées Limites d'exposition humaine à l'énergie électromagnétique radioélectrique dans la gamme de fréquences de 3 kHz à 300 GHz - Code de sécurité 6. Tous les appareils de radiocommunication doivent être conformes à ces limites pour être certifiés au Canada.

Tableau 1: Limites de DAS au Canada
Région du Corps Appareils utilisés par le grand public
Limites de DAS (W/kg)
Appareils à utilisation restreinte
Limites de DAS (W/kg)
Masse moyenne (g)
Parties particuliéres de la tête et du torse 1,6 8 1
Parties particuliéres des membres 4 20 10

Par exemple, la limite de DAS d'un téléphone cellulaire utilisé près de la tête et du tronc par le grand public est de 1,6 W/kg (moyenne pour un gramme de n'importe quel tissu).

Les limites de DAS sont-elles les mêmes partout dans le monde?

Les limites de DAS sont semblables au Canada et aux états-Unis. Toutefois, d'autres pays, comme ceux de l'Union européenne, ont adopté des limites moins strictes recommandées dans les lignes directrices de la Commission internationale pour la protection contre les rayonnements non ionisant (ICNIRP).

Tableau 2 : Limites de DAS au Canada et aux états-Unis pour la tête, le cou et le tronc, par rapport à celles de l'ICNIRP
Lignes directrices Limites de DAS pour la tête, le cou et le tronc
Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada/
US FCC OET 65
1,6 W/kg, moyenne pour 1g de tissu*
ICNIRP 2,0 W/kg, moyenne pour 10 g de tissu**
* Volume de tissu sous forme d'un cube.
** Volume de tissu continu de 10 g

Faire la moyenne du DAS localisé sur un volume plus important permet des variations plus prononcées dans un même échantillon et pourrait par conséquent entraîner une exposition plus importante aux radiofréquences en certains points dans l'échantillon. Le fait de limiter les mesures du DAS moyen à un échantillon plus petit restreint la variabilité et l'exposition admissible générale aux RF; la limite du DAS adoptée en Amérique du Nord est donc plus rigoureuse que celle de l'ICNIRP (adoptée par la majorité des pays européens).

Est-ce que les téléphones cellulaires dont la valeur de DAS est plus basse sont plus sûrs?

Non. Même si les téléphones présentent des valeurs de DAS différentes, ils doivent tous être conformes aux limites réglementaires établies par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour être vendus au Canada. Ces limites réglementaires établies sont bien en deçà des niveaux de DAS représentant un danger pour la santé.

Comment peut-on trouver la valeur de DAS d'un téléphone cellulaire sur le site Internet d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada?

La valeur de DAS de presque tous les modèles peut être trouvée en utilisant le numéro de certification d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (IC) du modèle. Ce numéro est un code alphanumérique qui est généralement imprimé sur une étiquette apposée sur le téléphone ou dans le compartiment de la pile, ou qui est gravé à l'un ou l'autre de ces endroits. Une fois le numéro de certification d'IC obtenu, il faut le saisir dans le champ de critère « Numéro de certification » de la base de données de NMR (Nomenclature du matériel radio)

Cliquez sur « Recherche » pour afficher le modèle de téléphone cellulaire, puis cliquez sur le modèle pour obtenir la ou les valeurs de DAS mesurées au moment de la certification du téléphone.

Comment mesure-t-on les valeurs de DAS d'un téléphone cellulaire?

Un téléphone cellulaire est conçu pour émettre en continu à une puissance de sortie maximale dans le tissu corporel ou crânien simulé. On mesure le champ électrique maximal des émissions du téléphone tout autour de tissu simulé. Ces measures déterminent, la valeur de DAS maximale associée au téléphone ou dispositif.

Les méthodes de mesures de DAS sont conçues par les organismes de normalisation internationaux, comme l'Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) et la Commission électrotechnique internationale (CEI). Les normes internationales rédigées par ces organismes fournissent des méthodes de mesure qui servent à mettre à l'essai des appareils portatifs, comme les téléphones cellulaires, en vue d'assurer leur conformité aux limites de DAS. Ces méthodes de mesure sont reconnues à travers le monde en tant que procédures de vérification de la conformité de l'exposition aux radiofréquence (RF).

Puisque la valeur de DAS est déterminée selon le niveau de puissance maximal en laboratoire, il se peut que le véritable niveau de DAS d'un téléphone cellulaire soit bien en deçà de cette valeur dans la vie de tous les jours. Les téléphones cellulaires et autres appareils portatifs peuvent être munis d'un contrôle de puissance adaptatif qui réduit la puissance émise au minimum tout en conservant une bonne qualité d'appel et qui constitue, en outre, une fonction clé servant à maximiser la durée de vie de la pile.

Un équipement spécialisé de contrôle est utilisé en laboratoire pour effectuer les mesures du DAS. L’équipement comprend un « fantôme » (un modèle représentant le corps et la tête), un robot de précision, des capteurs de champs RF et un support de téléphone mobile. Le fantôme est rempli d’un liquide qui représente les propriétés diélectriques du tissu humain.

Système de mesure de DAS au Bureau d’Homologation et de Services Techniques d’Industrie
Figure 1: système de mesure de DAS au Bureau d’Homologation et de Services Techniques d’Industrie.

Deux approches de base pour mesurer le DAS sont prises: des mesures pour une utilisation du dispositif près de la tête et, des mesures pour une utilisation du dispositif près ou en contact avec le corps. Un exemple simplifié des étapes à suivre pour effectuer ces mesures, appliqué à un téléphone cellulaire, est décrit ci-bas. Notez que des procédures similaire existent pour d’autre type de dispositifs tels les tablettes, les router WiFi, les radios mobiles, etc.

Pour les mesures pour l’utilisation près de la tête, un fantôme de tête est utilisé et les étapes suivantes sont suivies:

  • Le téléphone cellulaire est positionné contre le fantôme de tête et porté à sa puissance maximum.
  • Le robot déplace la sonde RF dans le fantôme en mesurant le niveau du signal radioélectrique du téléphone cellulaire.
  • L’ordinateur qui analyse les données convertit les niveaux du signal radioélectrique du téléphone cellulaire en DAS (W/kg).
  • L’ensemble du contrôle est effectué à toutes les fréquences d’utilisation et dans différentes positions du téléphone.
  • Le niveau maximum mesuré est enregistré comme la valeur de DAS contre la tête.

Pour les mesures près du corps, un fantôme de corps est utilisé et les étapes suivantes sont suivies:

  • Le téléphone cellulaire est positionné à une distance de 15mm ou moins du fantôme et porté à sa puissance maximum
  • Le robot déplace la sonde RF dans le fantôme du corps en mesurant le niveau du signal radioélectrique dans le corps à proximité du téléphone.
  • L’ordinateur qui analyse les données convertit les niveaux du signal radioélectrique en DAS (W/kg).
  • Le niveau maximum mesuré est enregistré comme la valeur de DAS contre le corps.

Qu’est-ce qui a changé à la suite de la révision du Code de sécurité 6 en mars 2015?

Santé Canada a mis à jour le Code de sécurité 6 en fonction des toutes dernières données scientifiques disponibles, y compris la modélisation améliorée de l’interaction des champs de radiofréquence avec le corps humain. Cela comprend des niveaux de référence un peu plus stricts dans certaines gammes de fréquences pour assurer des marges de sécurité encore plus importantes pour protéger les Canadiens, y compris les nouveau-nés et les enfants. Avec la révision du Code de sécurité 6, les limites du Canada figureront parmi les limites scientifiques les plus rigoureuses dans le monde. Le Code de sécurité continue de maintenir une limite d’exposition humaine qui est de beaucoup inférieure au seuil à partir duquel des effets néfastes sur la santé peuvent survenir.

Recherche

Pour trouver le DAS la valeur de votre dispositif veuillez utiliser la Recherche de DAS.

Date de modification :