Not-for-Profit Corporations

Prior to October 17, 2011, The Canada Corporations Act, Part II, (sections 153 to 157.1(3)) allowed for the incorporation of non-profit corporations at the federal level. The Canada Corporations Act, Part II had remained largely unchanged since 1917, and lacked the rules and provisions for the corporate governance systems that have been introduced into many other corporate laws in comparable jurisdictions.

On October 17, 2011, following extensive consultations, the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) came into force and is intended to be a comprehensive law, designed to cover all aspects of corporations without share capital incorporated at the federal level. As of that date, applications for incorporation under Part II of the CCA are prohibited.

Applications to incorporate a not-for-profit must now be made under the NFP Act and all organizations incorporated under the Canada Corporations Act, Part II. As the October 17, 2014 transition date has passed, please refer to the Corporations Canada website for more information.

Primer for Directors of Not-for-Profit Corporations

In response to concerns over director liability in the not-for-profit sector, Industry Canada has prepared a handbook for directors and officers of not-for-profit corporations.

This user-friendly document provides valuable information in a convenient format to inform directors and officers of their duties, rights and liabilities.

The publication was prepared in collaboration with the Canadian Center for Philanthropy, the Canadian Bar Association and the Canadian Society of Association Executives.

Primer for Directors of Not-For-Profit Corporations, Rights, Duties and Practices

* This Primer is a general resource and has not been updated to reflect the requirements in the Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Sociétés à but non lucratif

Avant le 17 octobre 2011, la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes (LCC), Partie II, (article 153 au paragraphe 157.1(3)) permettait la constitution en personne morale des organisations à but non lucratif au niveau fédéral. La Loi sur les corporations canadiennes, Partie II, n'avait quasiment pas changé depuis 1917, et il lui manquait les règles et les dispositions visant les systèmes de gouvernance d'entreprise qui ont été ajoutées à bon nombre d'autres lois sur les sociétés dans des pays comparables.

Le 17 octobre 2011, à la suite de consultations exhaustives, la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (LCOBNL) est entrée en vigueur et vise à être une loi d'application générale, dont le but est de couvrir tous les aspects des sociétés sans capital-actions constituées en personne morale au niveau fédéral. Depuis cette date, les demandes de constitution en société en vertu de la Partie II de la LCC sont interdites.

Les demandes de constitution en société d'une organisation à but non lucratif doivent désormais être faites en vertu de la LCOBNL, et toutes les organisations constituées en personne morale en vertu de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes, Partie II, doivent faire la transition vers la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif. La date limite pour la transition est mainteranent passée. Veuillez consulter le site Web de Corporations Canada pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Guide à l'intention des administrateurs des sociétés à but non lucratif

En réponse aux préoccupations liées à la responsabilité des administrateurs dans le secteur à but non lucratif, Industrie Canada a préparé un guide à l'intention des administrateurs et des dirigeants des sociétés à but non lucratif.

Ce document facile d'accès et de format pratique, renferme des informations utiles visant à aviser ces personnes quant à leurs devoirs, droits et responsabilités.

Cette publication a été préparée en collaboration avec le Centre canadien de philanthropie, l'Association du barreau canadien et la Société canadienne des directeurs d'association.

Guide à l'intention des administrateurs des sociétés à but non lucratif, droits, fonctions et pratiques

* Ce document est une ressource générale et n'a pas été mis à jour pour refléter les exigences du Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif.

Date de modification :