Consultation on the new Manual of Patent Office Practice Chapter 17 section on pharmaceutical solid forms

Current status: Closed

This consultation closed on August 17, 2018.

Third-party information liability disclaimer

Some of the information on this web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Consultation comments received

Please note that the comments are presented in the order they were submitted, and in the language in which they were written.

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is conducting a consultation from July 9th to August 17th, 2018 on a proposed new section of Chapter 17 of the Manual of Patent Office Practice (MOPOP).

We are seeking feedback on the proposed changes to Chapter 17 as it relates to pharmaceutical solid forms.

When

July 9th to August 17th, 2018 Updated

What

MOPOP Chapter 17 deals with the topics of biotechnology and medicinal inventions. The proposed update to Chapter 17 involves the addition of a new topic of pharmaceutical solid forms. This new section serves to provide additional certainty and consistency in the patent examination process as it pertains to pharmaceutical solid forms, such as: polymorphs, salts, hydrates, solvates, desolvates and co-crystals.

The MOPOP is a guide for patent examiners, applicants, agents and the public looking for information about the operational procedures and examination practices of the Patent Office under the current Patent Act and Patent Rules. This Manual is to be considered solely as a guide and should not be quoted as an authority. Authority must be found in the Patent Act, the Patent Rules and decisions of the Courts interpreting them.

Consultation document:

Chapter 17: Pharmaceutical solid forms

Who

Any business, individual, group or organization that has an interest in the examination of patent applications in Canada.

How

CIPO values your views and would like to hear about how the proposed chapter aligns with the Patent Act, Patent Rules and current jurisprudence. Any feedback regarding the clarity of the information presented in the new section of the MOPOP would also be appreciated. Please share with us your comments and feedback by sending an email to: jeremy.mclean@canada.ca. Please include "MOPOP Chapter 17 consultation" in the subject line.

Questions?

Should you have any questions about this consultation, please send them by email to Jeremy McLean or by regular mail to the following address:

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Patent Branch
50 Victoria Street
Place du Portage I
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0C9
Attention: Jeremy McLean

Date modified:

Consultation sur la nouvelle section du chapitre 17 du Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets sur les formes pharmaceutiques solides

État actuel : Fermé

Cette consultation a été fermée le 17 août 2018.

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant les renseignements provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Commentaires reçus pendant la consultation

Veuillez noter que les commentaires sont présentés dans l’ordre dans lequel ils ont été soumis et dans la langue dans laquelle ils ont été écrits.

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) mène une consultation publique du 9 juillet au 17 août 2018 sur une nouvelle section proposée du chapitre 17 du Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets (RPBB).

Nous sollicitons des commentaires sur ces modifications qui portent sur les formes pharmaceutiques solides.

Quand?

Du 9 juillet au 17 août 2018 Mise à jour

Quoi?

Le chapitre 17 du RPBB porte sur des sujets liés aux domaines de la biotechnologie et des inventions médicinales. La mise à jour proposée au chapitre 17 aborde l'ajout d'un nouveau sujet, celui des formes pharmaceutiques solides. Cette nouvelle section permettra d'accroître la certitude et l'uniformité du processus d'examen des brevets relativement aux formes pharmaceutiques solides telles que les polymorphes, les sels, les hydrates, les solvates, les désolvates et les co-cristaux.

Le RPBB est un guide destiné aux examinateurs de brevets, aux demandeurs, aux agents et au public qui cherchent des renseignements sur les procédures opérationnelles et les pratiques d'examen du Bureau des brevets en vertu de la version actuelle de la Loi sur les brevets et des Règles sur les brevets. Ce recueil constitue uniquement un guide et ne doit pas être cité comme un texte faisant autorité. Les textes faisant autorité sont la Loi sur les brevets, les Règles sur les brevets et la jurisprudence connexe.

Document de la consultation :

Chapitre 17 : Formes pharmaceutiques solides

Qui?

Les entreprises, les particuliers, les groupes ou les organisations qui s'intéressent à l'examen des demandes de brevets au Canada.

Comment?

L'OPIC accorde de l'importance à votre point de vue et souhaite connaître votre opinion sur la manière dont le chapitre proposé se conforme à la Loi sur les brevets, aux Règles sur les brevets et à la jurisprudence connexe. Tout commentaire relativement à la clarté des renseignements présentés dans la nouvelle section du RPBB serait également apprécié. Veuillez nous faire parvenir vos commentaires par courriel à l'adresse suivante : jeremy.mclean@canada.ca. Veuillez inscrire le titre « Consultation sur le chapitre 17 du RPBB » dans l'objet.

Des questions?

Si vous avez des questions sur cette consultation, veuillez les envoyer par courriel à Jeremy McLean ou par courrier ordinaire à l'adresse suivante :

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Direction des brevets
50, rue Victoria
Place du Portage l
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0C9
À l'attention de : Jeremy McLean

Date de modification :