Language selection

Search

Konstantinos Georgaras, Chief Executive Officer (interim)

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Konstantinos Georgaras

Konstantinos Georgaras is the Chief Executive Officer (interim) at the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO).

In this role, Mr. Georgaras provides strategic direction and leadership to CIPO and ensures the provision of world-class intellectual property (IP) services by granting IP rights and providing IP awareness and information. He also represents CIPO and Canada's interests, both nationally and internationally.

Mr. Georgaras joined CIPO in 2010. As Director General of Corporate Strategies and Services, he was responsible for legislative, regulatory, administrative and operational policy related to the IP framework that CIPO administers. He also provided expert advice on broader IP policy analysis, policy development and framework modernization. He led the Canadian delegation on various bilateral and multilateral initiatives, such as strategic World Intellectual Property Organization committees, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation's IP committee and other fora, to develop and advance Canadian IP positions and interests internationally. Mr. Georgaras led an extensive program of professional economic research and analysis to identify and evaluate national and international trends and developments, policies, strategies, plans and initiatives to support Canada's IP policy. He also led the development of strategic partnerships, financial services and human resources.

Mr. Georgaras began his career in the public service in 1984 and has held strategic and executive positions within the departments of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada and Human Resources and Skills Development Canada and within the Science, Technology and Innovation Council. Mr. Georgaras has extensive experience spanning strategic, economic and legislative policy, with direct responsibilities for IP, innovation, insolvency and industrial and labour market policies.

Mr. Georgaras holds a Master of Arts in Public Administration from Carleton University and an Executive Certificate in Public Leadership from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

Contact information

50 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0C9
Canada
Building Place du Portage Phase I

Telephone : (819)-997-1057
Fax : 819-997-1890
Email: konstantinos.georgaras@canada.ca

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Konstantinos Georgaras, président par intérim

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Konstantinos Georgaras

Konstantinos Georgaras assume par intérim les fonctions de président de l’Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC).

À ce titre, M. Georgaras agit comme chef de file et offre une orientation stratégique à l'OPIC. Il veille à la prestation de services de propriété intellectuelle (PI) de haut niveau par l'octroi de droits de PI, ainsi que par la sensibilisation et la diffusion de renseignements sur la PI. Il représente également l'OPIC et les intérêts du Canada, tant à l'échelle nationale que mondiale.

M. Georgaras s'est joint à l'OPIC en 2010. À titre de directeur principal, Direction des stratégies et services organisationnels, il était responsable des politiques législatives, réglementaires, administratives et opérationnelles liées au cadre de la PI que l'OPIC administre. Il a également donné des conseils d'expert sur l'analyse plus large des politiques relatives à la PI, sur l'élaboration des politiques relatives à la PI, ainsi que sur la modernisation du cadre de la PI. À la tête de la délégation canadienne, il a participé à diverses initiatives bilatérales et multilatérales, les comités stratégiques de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle, le comité sur la PI de la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique et d'autres forums, afin de définir et de promouvoir les positions et les intérêts du Canada en matière de PI à l'échelle mondiale. M. Georgaras a dirigé un vaste programme de recherche et d'analyse économiques professionnelles visant à dégager et à évaluer les tendances et les avancées nationales et mondiales, ainsi que les politiques, les stratégies, les plans et les initiatives visant à soutenir le régime de PI du Canada. Il a également dirigé la mise en place de partenariats stratégiques, de services financiers et de ressources humaines.

M. Georgaras a fait ses débuts dans la fonction publique en 1984 et a occupé des postes stratégiques et de direction à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, à Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada, ainsi qu'au Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation. Il a acquis une vaste expérience dans une gamme de domaines, comme les politiques stratégiques, économiques et législatives, ayant assumé des fonctions en lien direct avec la PI, l'innovation, l'insolvabilité et les politiques industrielles et du marché du travail.

M. Georgaras est titulaire d'une maîtrise ès arts en administration publique de l'Université Carleton et d'un certificat pour cadres supérieurs en leadership public de la John F. Kennedy School of Government de l'Université Harvard.

Coordonnées

50, rue Victoria
Gatineau, Québec K1A 0C9
Canada
Immeuble Place du Portage Phase I

Téléphone : (819)-997-1057
Télécopieur : 819-997-1890
Courriel : konstantinos.georgaras@canada.ca

Date de modification :