2020-2021 CIPO IP Research Agenda

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) undertakes research and data analysis to better understand IP trends and inform decision-making.

Alternative formats

Download the 2020-2021 CIPO IP Research Agenda (PDF, 2,278 KB 2 pages)

Copy of this publication

To obtain a copy of this publication, or to receive it in an alternate format (Braille, large print, etc.), please fill out the Publication Request Form or contact:

ISED Citizen Services Centre
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H5
Canada

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1‑800‑328‑6189
Telephone (international): 613‑954‑5031
TTY (for hearing impaired): 1‑866‑694‑8389
Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
Email: ISED@Canada.ca

On this page

Publish and share research to support the dissemination of IP knowledge to Canadians and the users of the Canadian IP system

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office is committed to disseminating its economic research and IP analytics reports. In addition, CIPO hosts an annual IP Research Workshop that brings together researchers from across the Government of Canada and leaders in IP research from other IP offices, research institutions and universities. CIPO's economic research and IP analytics are supported by a publication strategy that outlines the what, when, where, how and who of our work.

Publications and the IP Research Workshop

Disseminating intellectual property (IP) knowledge to Canadians and the users of the Canadian IP system

Economics of IP

Forecasting, surveys, econometric analysis and understanding the role of IP in innovation and economic growth

IP Analytics

A view of the IP activity of Canadian inventors, scientists, companies, universities and research institutions by technology area in Canada and around the world

IP Data

The foundation of developing an evidence base to support sound IP policy and operational decision-making

Economics of IP research

Conduct leading-edge economic research to support the development of a strong evidence base to inform IP policy and operational decision-making.

IP Canada Report 2020

The report presents trends in the use of IP, both domestically and by Canadian innovators and businesses abroad. This report relies both on CIPO's own internal data and on data from the World Intellectual Property Organization. This will be the fourth iteration of the report.

The role of IP among high growth small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs)

This study will explore the relationship between IP and scaling-up. Specifically, the study will look at the relationship between holding IP and economic outcomes such as growth or market expansion.

Forecasting IP Demand

Development of forecasting models using state-of-the-art techniques that incorporate machine learning. IP forecasting helps CIPO maintain the appropriate workforce to deliver quality and timely rights to applicants.

Surveys on IP in Canada

CIPO works with our partners in Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED) to deliver key inputs related to IP on innovation and industry surveys administered by Statistics Canada, including:

IP analytics

Undertake IP analytics to inform innovation in key sectors, markets and technologies

Artificial Intelligence Technologies 

An artificial intelligence (AI) patent landscape report with a focus on patented inventions filed by Canadian institutions and researchers. This report highlights the top Canadian applicants and segments the data set into various categories of AI in order to obtain a deeper understanding of where Canada's strengths lie.

Materials for Clean Fuels Research

Analysis on the use of patented inventions by Canadian and global researchers and corporate institutions in the field of clean technologies as it aligns with the National Research Council's Materials for Clean Fuels Challenge program.

Patenting by Post-Secondary Institutions

This report examines patenting activity by Canadian post-secondary institutions worldwide. Key to the study is the use of algorithms to identify researchers and professors at institutions that do not have a university-owned IP policy, thus providing a more accurate representation of the overall patenting activity by the academic sector in Canada.

Trademark Analytics

This research will explore the international trademark filing habits and linkages to international trade. Ultimately, this research will improve our understanding of the current and expected future activity of companies abroad.

IP Analytics to Support Government Priorities

CIPO works with ISED to develop measures to support the delivery of the Innovation and Skills Plan and the IP Strategy. Specifically, we are measuring the patenting activities of the Economic Strategy Tables and the Innovation Superclusters Initiative.  

For more information on this document, please contact CIPO-IPReseach@canada.ca


Permission to reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Department of Industry, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that the Department of Industry is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, or as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, the Department of Industry.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial purposes, please fill out the Application for Crown Copyright Clearance or contact the ISED Citizen Services Centre mentioned above.

Ⓒ Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Industry, 2020

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Programme de recherche sur la PI de l’OPIC pour 2020–2021.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme de recherche sur la PI de l'OPIC pour 2020–2021

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada mène des recherches et des analyses de données pour mieux comprendre les tendances en matière de propriété intellectuelle et ainsi éclairer la prise de décisions.

Formats substituts

Télécharger le Programme de recherche sur la PI de l'OPIC pour 2020–2021 (PDF, 2,278 Ko 2 pages)

Exemplaire de cette publication

Pour obtenir un exemplaire de cette publication ou un format substitut (Braille, gros caractères), veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande de publication ou communiquer avec :

Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.D.-Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5
Canada

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1‑800‑328‑6189
Téléphone (international) : 613‑954‑5031
ATS (pour les personnes malentendantes) : 1‑866‑694‑8389
Les heures de bureau sont de 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est).
Courriel : ISDE@Canada.ca

Sur cette page

Publier et diffuser les résultats de recherche afin d'appuyer la diffusion des connaissances en matière de PI auprès des Canadiens et des utilisateurs du système canadien de PI

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) s'engage à diffuser ses rapports de recherche économique et d'analyse de la PI. En outre, l'OPIC organise chaque année un atelier de recherche sur la PI qui rassemble des chercheurs à l'échelle du gouvernement du Canada et des chefs de file de la recherche en PI provenant d'autres offices de PI, d'établissements de recherche et d'universités. La recherche économique et l'analyse de la PI menées par l'OPIC reposent sur une stratégie de publication décrivant les éléments suivants liés à notre travail : quoi, quand, où, comment et qui.

Publications et l'atelier de recherche sur la PI

Diffusion des connaissances en matière de propriété intellectuelle (PI) auprès des Canadiens et des utilisateurs du système canadien PI.

Économie de la PI

Prévisions, enquêtes, analyse économétrique et compréhension du rôle de la PI pour l'innovation et la croissance économique.

Analyse de la PI

Aperçu des activités liées à la PI menées par les inventeurs, les scientifiques, les entreprises, les universités et les instituts de recherche canadiens, en fonction de chaque domaine technologique, au Canada et dans le monde.

Données sur la PI

Fondement de l'élaboration d'une base de données pour appuyer une prise de décisions saine en matière de politique et de fonctionnement de la PI.

Économie de la recherche sur la PI

Mener des recherches économiques de pointe pour appuyer l'élaboration d'une base de données solide de manière à éclairer la prise de décisions en matière de politique et de fonctionnement de la PI.

Rapport sur la PI au Canada 2020

The report presents trends in the use of IP, both domestically and by Canadian innovators and businesses abroad. This report relies both on CIPO's own internal data and on data from the World Intellectual Property Organization. This will be the fourth iteration of the report.

Forte croissance du rôle de la PI au sein des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME)

L'étude vise à examiner la relation entre la PI et la mise à l'échelle. Plus précisément, l'étude vise à examiner la relation entre la détention de la PI et les résultats économiques comme la croissance ou le développement du marché.

Prévision de la demande en PI

Développement de modèles de prévision utilisant des techniques de pointe qui intègrent l'apprentissage machine. Les prévisions en matière de PI aident l'OPIC à maintenir en poste un effectif convenable pour offrir aux demandeurs des droits de PI de qualité et en temps opportun.

Enquêtes sur la PI au Canada

L'OPIC collabore avec ses partenaires d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) pour fournir des données clés sur la PI en matière d'innovation ainsi que des enquêtes sur l'industrie dirigées par Statistique Canada, notamment :

Analyse de la PI

Mener une analyse de la PI pour éclairer l'innovation liée aux secteurs, marchés et technologies clés.

Technologies d'intelligence artificielle

Rapport sur le paysage des brevets en matière d'intelligence artificielle (IA), axé sur les inventions brevetées déposées par des institutions et des chercheurs canadiens. Le rapport présente les meilleurs candidats canadiens et répartit l'ensemble des données en différentes catégories d'IA, afin de mieux cerner les forces du Canada.

Recherche sur les matériaux pour combustibles propres

Analyse de l'utilisation des inventions brevetées par les chercheurs et les entreprises du Canada et du monde, dans le domaine des technologies propres, dans le cadre du Programme Défi « Matériaux pour combustibles propres » du Conseil national de recherches Canada.

Brevetage par les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire

Le rapport examine les activités de brevetage des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire canadiens, à l'échelle mondiale. Le principal élément de l'étude est l'utilisation d'algorithmes pour recenser les chercheurs et les professeurs des établissements qui n'ont pas de politique universitaire de PI, permettant ainsi d'obtenir une représentation plus précise de l'activité mondiale de brevetage du milieu universitaire, au Canada.

Analyse des marques de commerce

La recherche vise à examiner les habitudes en matière de dépôt des marques à l'échelle internationale et les liens avec le commerce international. À terme, la recherche permettra de mieux comprendre l'activité actuelle et à venir des entreprises à l'étranger.

Analyse de la PI à l'appui des priorités du gouvernement

L'OPIC collabore avec ISDE pour élaborer des mesures visant à appuyer la mise en oeuvre du Plan pour l'innovation et les compétences et de la Stratégie de PI. Plus précisément, nous mesurons les activités de brevetage des Tables sectorielles de stratégies économiques et de l'Initiative des supergrappes d'innovation.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur cette publication, veuillez communiquer avec l'OPIC à l'adresse OPIC-RecherchePI@canada.ca


Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission du ministère de l'Industrie, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que le ministère de l'Industrie soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Industrie ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez demander l'affranchissement du droit d'auteur de la Couronne ou communiquer avec le Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE aux coordonnées ci-dessus.

Ⓒ Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie, 2020
N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Also available in English under the title 2020-2021 CIPO IP Research Agenda.

Date de modification :