Transfers and/or Change of Name

Publication Date: 2001-12-05

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

This notice is intended to clarify the Trademarks Office practice with respect to:

  1. a transfer of a trademark(s) resulting in a change of ownership; and
  2. a change of name of an applicant or registered owner.

Transfers

A transfer of a trademark application or a registered trademark will be recorded upon the receipt of:

  1. the prescribed fee (Tariff of Fees - item 6);
  2. a name and mailing address in Canada for the new owner/applicant (see paragraph 30(g) of the Trade-marks Act for representative for service information); and
  3. evidence that the mark has been transferred.

There is no requirement to provide the Trademarks Office with the original of any document that is evidence of a transfer. The Office will accept photocopies of documents or photocopies of relevant excerpts from transfer documents. Where an assignment document is used as evidence of a transfer it should be signed by the owner/applicant.

Change Of Name

In accordance with paragraph 41(1)(a) of the Trade-marks Act and item 5 of the Tariff of Fees, the Office will amend the register to reflect a trademarks owner's change of name upon receipt of a written request.

The Office will amend a pending trademark application to reflect a change of name of the applicant upon receipt of a written request; no fee is required.

As a general rule, there is no requirement to provide the Office with evidence of a change of name. If the name change is a result of a merger/amalgamation or a change in corporate status, the Office will require some evidence that shows the circumstances in which the name changed (e.g. certificate of merger/amalgamation).

Date modified:

Transferts et changement de nom

Date de publication : 2001-12-05

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser les pratiques actuelles du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation faite par le Bureau de certaines dispositions de la Loi. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Cet énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser les pratiques actuelles du Bureau des marques de commerce en ce qui a trait :

  1. au transfert de marque(s) de commerce entraînant un changement de propriété;
  2. au changement du nom d'un requérant ou d'un propriétaire inscrit.

Transferts

Le transfert d'une demande de marque de commerce ou d'une marque de commerce déposée se fera sur réception :

  1. du droit prescrit (Tarif des droits - article 6);
  2. des coordonnées du nouveau propriétaire ou du requérant (nom et adresse) au Canada (voir l'alinéa 30g) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce pour des renseignements sur le représentant pour signification);
  3. d'une preuve que la marque de commerce a été transférée.

Il n'est pas nécessaire de fournir au Bureau des marques de commerce l'original d'un document utilisé comme preuve du transfert. Le Bureau accepte les photocopies de documents ou les photocopies d'extraits pertinents de documents de transfert. Si un document de cession est utilisé pour prouver un transfert, celui-ci doit être signé par le propriétaire ou par le requérant.

Changement de nom

Conformément à l'alinéa 41(1)a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce et à l'article 5 du Tarif des droits, le Bureau modifiera le registre, en y inscrivant le changement du nom d'un titulaire de marques de commerce, après réception d'une demande écrite.

Le Bureau modifiera, sur réception d'une demande écrite, une demande de marque de commerce en instance afin que cette dernière reflète le changement du nom du requérant; aucun frais n'est requis.

De manière générale, il n'est pas nécessaire de fournir au Bureau la preuve d'un changement de nom. Cependant, si le changement de nom résulte d'une fusion ou d'un changement du statut de l'entreprise, le Bureau exigera une forme de preuve démontrant dans quelles circonstances le changement de nom s'est opéré (p. ex. : certificat de fusionnement/de fusion).

Date de modification :