Electronic Register

Publication Date: 1997-05-21

Paragraph 26(1)(a) of the Trade-marks Act provides that "there shall be kept under the supervision of the Registrar a register of trademarks and of transfers, disclaimers, amendments, judgments and orders relating to each registered trademark…".

Effective immediately, the official version of this register is the one kept by the Registrar in electronic form. The version of the Register that is kept in paper form is not the official version but will remain available for consultation by members of the public. It should be noted, however, that although the paper version generally reflects the contents of the electronic version it will not always reflect the latest changes thereto.

Currently, it is possible to obtain photocopies or certified copies from the copy unit of the Trademarks Office. All such copies are produced from the electronic version of the register. Facilities will soon be made available for the public to have direct access to the electronic version of the register and to print copies of the register pages from the electronic version of the register.

Date modified:

Registre électronique

Date de publication : 1997-05-21

Conformément à l'alinéa 26(1)a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, « Sont tenus, sous la surveillance du registraire: le registre des marques de commerce ainsi que des transferts, désistements, modifications, jugements et ordonnances concernant chaque marque de commerce déposée… ».

Dorénavant, la version officielle de ce registre est celle tenue par le registraire sous forme électronique. La version papier n'est plus considérée comme étant la version officielle, mais les particuliers pourront continuer de la consulter. II convient toutefois de souligner que même si la version papier témoigne en règle générale du contenu de la version électronique, les plus récents changements n'y seront pas toujours intégrés.

Pour le moment, on peut s'adresser à l'unité des copies du Bureau des marques de commerce pour obtenir des photocopies ou des copies certifiées. Ces copies sont reproduites à partir de la version électronique du registre. Des installations seront bientôt mises en place pour permettre au public d'avoir directement accès à la version électronique du registre et de faire imprimer des copies des pages voulues.

Date de modification :