Extensions of Time to File a Declaration of Use

Publication Date: 1998-07-15

Six month extension

The Office currently grants extensions of time of six months upon the expiration of the time limit to file a declaration of use if the request is justified and the prescribed fee of $125 is paid.

As of April 14, 1998, on the first request for an extension of time or any subsequent one, if a reason is not provided that would justify the extension of time, the Office will refuse the extension of time and allow the applicant two months to further respond.

One year extension

The Office currently grants extensions of time of one year where the request for an extension of time is based on a situation in which the applicant requires a type of government approval before use of the trademark can begin.

As of April 14, 1998, on the first request and on any subsequent one, if the request is based on awaiting approval from a government department, the Office will require specifics of the government department from which the applicant is seeking approval.

Significant and Substantive Reasons

The Office Practice Notice published in the Trademarks Journal January 28, 1998, February 4, 1998, February 11, 1998 and February 18, 1998, stated that the Office will require significant and substantive reasons to support a request for an extension of time that extends beyond the period of 3 years from the original deadline to file a declaration of use. The determination of whether a reason is significant and substantive will be decided on an individual basis by the Manager of the Declaration and Registration Section and the Assistant Director, Trademarks Branch.

3rd Party Intervention

As discussed at the Trademarks Joint Liaison Committee on September 22, 1997 it was agreed that any correspondence from third parties would be returned in view of the provisions of section 8 of theTrade-marks Regulations (1996): Correspondence relating to the prosecution of an application for the registration of a trademark shall be with the applicant or its agent.

Date modified:

Prolongation du délai pour produire la déclaration d'emploi

Date de publication : 1998-07-15

Prolongation de six mois

Le Bureau octroie présentement des prolongations de délai de six mois lorsque le délai pour déposer la déclaration d'emploi est expiré si la requête est justifiée et que le droit prescrit de 125 $ est acquitté

A compter du 14 avril 1998, à la première demande de prolongation de délai et les suivantes, s'il n'y a pas de raisons données, le Bureau refusera la prolongation de délai et donnera au requérant deux mois additionnels pour répondre.

Prolongation d'un an

Le Bureau octroie présentement des prolongations de délai d'un an lorsqu'un requérant est en attente d'une approbation gouvernementale avant que la marque soit en emploi.

A compter du 14 avril 1998, à la première demande de prolongation de délai et les suivantes, si la demande est en attente d'une approbation gouvernementale, le Bureau demandera de spécifier le ministère dont le requérant attend l'approbation.

Raisons considérables et substantielles

La pratique administrative publiée dans le Journal des marques de commerce du 28 janvier 1998, 4 février 1998, 11 février 1998 et 18 février 1998, énonçait que le Bureau exigerait des raisons considérables et substantielles pour justifier l'octroi d'une autre prolongation de délai après le délai de trois ans à compter de la date indiquée dans l'avis d'admission pour soumettre une déclaration d'emploi. L'évaluation afin de déterminer si une raison est considérable et substantielle, sera faite sur une base individuelle par le Gestionnaire de la section des déclarations et des enregistrements et la Directrice adjointe, Direction des marques de commerce

Intervention d'une tierce partie

Lors de la réunion du comité mixte sur les marques de commerce du 22 septembre 1997, il y avait eu entente que toute lettre d'intervention d'une tierce partie serait retournée selon les dispositions de l'article 8 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce (1996) : la correspondance relative à la poursuite d'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce est échangée avec le requérant ou son agent.

Date de modification :