Procedures at Time of Filing

Publication Date: 1999-03-10

The Trademarks Office will not refund the application filing fee once an application is received by the Registrar of Trademarks. The fee set out in Item 1 of the Tariff of Fees, that is payable on the filing of an application for the registration of a trademark, is considered to cover the work associated with the filing of the application and is not considered to be dependent on whether or not the application obtains a filing date in accordance with section 25 of the Trade-marks Regulations

Applications will be open to public inspection, in accordance with subsection 29(1) of the Trade-marks Act, as soon as administratively possible after receipt, whether or not the application obtains a filing date. All applications received will become open to public inspection, even if they have been voluntarily abandonned before the application information is entered into the INTREPID system. Note that a request for the withdrawal of an application is considered by the Office to be equivalent to a request for the voluntary abandonment of the application.

Any amendment to an application must comply with sections 30, 31, 32 and 33 of the Trade-marks Regulations whether the amendment is requested before or after the date that the application information is entered into the INTREPID system.

Where an application is received that does not meet the requirements of section 25 of the Regulations for obtaining a filing date and where this is not corrected after a request is made, the Office will send out a default notice pursuant to section 36 of the Act.

Date modified:

Procédures au moment de la production

Date de publication : 1999-03-10

Le Bureau des marques de commerce ne remboursera pas le droit exigé pour la production d'une demande après la réception de celle-ci par le registraire des marques de commerce. Le droit prévu à l'article 1 du Tarif des droits, qui est payable pour la production d'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce, est considéré couvrir le traitement associé à la production de la demande et ne dépend pas de l'obtention ou non d'une date de production conformément à l'article 25 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce.

Les demandes seront accessibles à l'inspection publique, conformément au paragraphe 29(1) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, dès qu'il sera possible du point de vue administratif après leur réception, que les demandes aient obtenu ou non une date de production. Toutes les demandes reçues deviendront accessibles à l'inspection publique, même si elles ont été abandonnées volontairement avant que l'information les concernant n'ait été inscrite dans le système INTREPID. II est à noter qu'une requête de retrait d'une demande est considérée par le Bureau comme étant équivalente à une requête d'abandon volontaire.

Toute modification d'une demande doit être conforme aux articles 30, 31, 32 et 33 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, que la modification ait été demandée avant ou après la date à laquelle l'information la concernant a été inscrite dans le système INTREPID.

Lorsqu'une demande ne satisfait pas aux exigences de l'article 25 du Règlement relatives à l'obtention d'une date de production et lorsque, suite à la demande du Bureau, la ou les corrections voulues ne sont pas apportées, le Bureau fera parvenir un avis de défaut conformément à l'article 36 de la Loi.

Date de modification :