Three-dimensional Marks

Publication Date: 2000-12-06

The requirements for registrability of a three-dimensional mark are dependent upon whether the mark falls within the definition of distinguishing guise in section 2 of the Trade-marks Act and accordingly upon whether the mark is a shaping of goods or their containers, or is a mode of wrapping or packaging goods. If a three-dimensional mark does not fall within the definition of a distinguishing guise, then it may be registrable as an ordinary trademark, i.e. as the kind of trademark referred to in paragraph (a) of the definition of trademark in section 2 of the Act. On the other hand, if a three-dimensional mark falls within the definition of a distinguishing guise, then it may be registered only as a distinguishing guise (and is subject to the special requirements applicable to registration of distinguishing guises) and cannot be registered as an ordinary trademark. This is because the context in which the word "mark" is used in the definition of "trademark" indicates that it is used in a narrow sense that excludes guise (Registrar v. Brewers Association, (1982) 62 C.P.R. (2d) 145.)

Where an application is filed for registration of a three-dimensional mark that is not a distinguishing guise, the application should include a description of the mark that makes clear that the trademark applied for is a three-dimensional mark. Where it is not clear whether an application is intended to cover a two-dimensional or a three-dimensional mark, the Office will ask the applicant for a written clarification.

Two-dimensional marks applied to three-dimensional objects

As a general principle, where an application is for a two-dimensional mark, the drawing of the mark should show the mark in isolation and should not show the mark as applied to a three-dimensional object. Where a better understanding of the mark would be achieved by submitting a drawing showing the mark applied to a three-dimensional object, such a drawing will be accepted by the Office provided that the applicant complies with the following requirements:

  1. The three-dimensional object must be shown in dotted outline.
  2. The application must contain a description of the mark that makes clear that the application covers the two-dimensional mark only.
  3. The description of the mark must specifically state that the three-dimensional object shown in dotted outline in the drawing does not form part of the trademark.

Should the description or the drawing of the mark explicitly or implicitly indicate that the mark has, in whole or in part, a shape that is defined by the shape of a three-dimensional object, the mark will be considered to be a three-dimensional mark and must be identified as such in the description. The Office will not, however, object to a mark being identified as a two-dimensional mark merely because the description includes a statement that the mark (whether it consists of one or more elements) is applied in a particular position (or positions) on a three-dimensional object; such a statement is viewed as being merely a restriction on the scope of protection being claimed for a two-dimensional mark.

Where (in cases where the drawing shows a mark applied to a three-dimensional object) the Office has doubts about an applicant's statement that its mark is a two-dimensional mark, the Office may request the applicant to submit a drawing showing the mark in a flat two-dimensional state; if the mark cannot be shown in a flat two-dimensional state, the Office will consider the mark to be a three-dimensional mark.

Distinguishing guises

Section 2 of the Act defines a distinguishing guise as follows:

"distinguishing guise" means

  1. a shaping of goods or their containers, or
  2. a mode of wrapping or packaging goods the appearance of which is used by a person for the purpose of distinguishing or so as to distinguish goods or services manufactured, sold, leased, hired or performed by him from those manufactured, sold, leased, hired or performed by others;

It is to be noted that the words following paragraph (b), i.e. "the appearance of which … by others", apply to both paragraph (a) and paragraph (b). (See Brewers Association v. Registrar, (1979) 42 C.P.R. (2d) 93.)

An application for a distinguishing guise need not be limited to either only a shaping of goods or their containers on the one hand, or to only a mode of wrapping or packaging goods on the other hand. The Office considers that a distinguishing guise may include a combination of the elements described in both (a) and (b) of the definition. (See Smith, Kline & French v. Registrar (1987), 14 C.P.R. (3d) 432 at 435.)

Where a trademark contains both elements that fall within the definition of a distinguishing guise and elements that do not fall within the definition of a distinguishing guise (e.g. the combination of the shaping of a ware together with reading matter or colour appearing on the ware), the special provisions in the Act concerning distinguishing guises (i.e. sections 13 and 32) are still considered to apply (See Registrar v. Brewers Association (1982), 62 C.P.R. (2d)145.)

Colour

Trademarks that contain colour as an element are considered to be distinguishing guises if the colour forms part of a mode of wrapping or packaging goods the appearance of which is used for the purpose of distinguishing or so as to distinguish one person's goods or services from those of others. Further, as discussed above, where a trademark consists of the combination of colour and the shaping of a ware or container, the special provisions in the Act concerning distinguishing guises are still considered to apply.

The following in particular are not considered to constitute a distinguishing guise and are registrable as ordinary trademarks (unless they form part of a mode of wrapping or packaging goods):

Applications for trademarks that are not distinguishing guises, that are not two dimensional and that consist of or include one or more colours applied to the surface of a three-dimensional object must contain i) a drawing or drawings showing the visible features of that object in dotted outline, and ii) a description indicating that the trademark consists of the particular colour or colours only insofar as they are applied to the particular object shown in the drawing. The description and the drawings must of themselves clearly define what the trademark consists of and, although the Trademarks Office may request that specimens be furnished, the description should not itself refer to specimens since specimens are not an integral part of an application (See Novopharm v. Bayer (1999), 3 C.P.R. (4th) 305). An example of an acceptable description is: "The trademark consists of the colour purple applied to the whole of the visible surface of the particular tablet shown in the drawing."

Goods

The Office interprets the word "goods", in the definition of distinguishing guise, as meaning any articles that would normally be the subject of trade, i.e., sold, leased or otherwise distributed in the marketplace. In accordance with this interpretation, the word "goods" would not, for example, include fanciful three-dimensional objects that are created for the purpose of distinguishing goods or services but that are not articles that would normally be the subject of trade. The shaping of such a fanciful three-dimensional object would thus not fall within the definition of a distinguishing guise and may be registrable as an ordinary trademark.

Shaping of goods or their containers

Since in the definition of distinguishing guise in section 2 of the Act, the words "the appearance of which … by others" apply to paragraph (a), it is clear that a guise consisting of a shaping of goods or their containers can be used for the purpose of distinguishing either goods or services or both. However, taking into account the over-all scheme of the Act and in particular the underlying objectives of the provisions on guises, the Office considers that not every mark consisting of the shaping of goods or their containers is required to be treated as a guise.

Based upon section 13 of the Act, the key objectives of the distinguishing guise provisions appear to be to prevent the registration of a mark from interfering with the use of any utilitarian feature and from unreasonably interfering with the development of any art or industry. In order to give effect to these objectives without imposing an undue burden on all applicants for shape marks, the Office view is that whether or not a mark consisting of a shaping of goods or their containers must be treated as a guise depends upon the nature of the relationship between, on the one hand, the goods or their containers, the shaping of which constitutes the mark, and, on the other hand, the goods or services covered by the statement of goods or services in the application.

The Office position is that where an applicant wishes to register, in association with services, a three-dimensional mark consisting of a shaping of goods or their containers, the application is required to be for a distinguishing guise only if the goods or the containers are inherently related to the services. Otherwise, the application may be made for registration as an ordinary trademark. Under this approach, an application for the registration of the shaping of food containers for use in association with fast food restaurant services would need to be filed for registration as a guise but an application for the shape of a parachute for use in association with restaurant services could be filed for registration as an ordinary trademark.

Where an applicant wishes to register, in association with goods, a three-dimensional mark consisting of a shaping of goods or their containers, the Office position is that if the goods, the shaping of which or of their containers constitutes the three-dimensional mark, are covered by, or are closely related to, the goods that are included in the statement of goods in the application, the application must be for a distinguishing guise. Otherwise, the application may be made for registration as an ordinary trademark.

A "shaping of goods or their containers" is considered to include both a shaping of the entirety of a ware or its container, or a shaping of a part of a ware or its container. To interpret the definition of distinguishing guise as being limited to shapings of the entirety of a ware or its container is not considered to be consistent with the underlying purpose of the special provisions in the Act governing distinguishing guises. Such an interpretation would allow an applicant to easily circumvent the limitations in section 13 of the Act since applicants could then delete some minor detail from the overall shaping and obtain protection for that as an ordinary trademark.

Three-dimensional forms that are not an integral part of a ware or its container and that are attached to a ware or its container for the purpose of distinguishing goods or services are not considered to be a part of the ware or its container for the purposes of the definition of a "distinguishing guise". Whether a three-dimensional form is or is not an integral part of the ware or its container is necessarily a question of fact that depends on all the circumstances of each case. By way of example, the Office would normally consider a hood ornament not be an integral part of an automobile and thus the three-dimensional form of a hood ornament could be registered as an ordinary trademark for use in association with automobiles. On the other hand, the front grill or the taillight of an automobile would be considered to be an integral part of an automobile and thus the three-dimensional form of a front grill or taillight could, if the statement of goods in the application covered automobiles, only be registered as a distinguishing guise.

Mode of wrapping or packaging goods

When a guise consists of a mode of wrapping or packaging, the appearance of the mode is considered to include all the visual features of the mode shown in the drawing or drawings submitted as part of the application for registration, with the exception of any features that have been identified as not forming part of the guise. Thus any reading matter shown in the drawing(s) would form part of the guise unless the reading matter had been expressly excluded.

Bearing in mind the definition of "package" in section 2 of the Act, the Office considers that a mode of packaging goods would include containers or holders and that the appearance of such a mode of packaging, that would be protectable as a distinguishing guise, could include the combination of the shape of a container and other visual features such as reading matter appearing on the container. (See Smith, Kline & French v. Registrar (1987), 14 C.P.R. (3d) 432 at 435.)

Evidence of acquired distinctiveness

Paragraph 13(1)(a) of the Act provides that a distinguishing guise is registrable only if it has been so used in Canada by the applicant or his predecessor in title as to have become distinctive at the date of filing an application for its registration. To be distinctive, the guise must have come to mean to purchasers that the goods or services sold in association with the guise come from one source, i.e. the guise must function in the marketplace to distinguish the goods or services of one person from those of others. To satisfy the test of distinctiveness it is not sufficient that a trademark be merely distinctive in channels of trade as, for example, to the manufacturer or wholesaler, but it must be distinctive to all who are probable purchasers including the ultimate consumer. (See Parke Davis v. Empire Laboratories (1963), 41 C.P.R. 121 at 145 and Calumet Manufacturing v. Mennen (1991), 40 C.P.R. (3d) 76 at 89 and 90.)

Subsection 32(2) of the Act requires the Registrar, having regard to the evidence adduced, to restrict the registration to the goods or services in association with which the distinguishing guise has been so used as to have become distinctive. The onus on the applicant to establish that a distinguishing guise has become distinctive in respect of a particular ware or service is a heavy onus and that onus is particularly severe where the guise is inherently weak such as where the guise has a significant ornamental or utilitarian function. (See Calumet Manufacturing v. Mennen (1989), 27 C.P.R. (3d) 467 at 472 and Parke Davis v. Empire Laboratories (1963), 41 C.P.R. 121 at 145.)

What evidence will be sufficient to establish acquired distinctiveness will depend very much on the circumstances of each case. It will not normally be sufficient to merely provide evidence of sales and advertising of the goods in Canada. For a distinguishing guise which has a high degree of inherent distinctiveness, it could be sufficient to provide evidence of very significant sales and advertising (which should include specimens of how the guise has been actually used and advertised) together with evidence that no other trader is using the same or a similar mark in Canada. For a distinguishing guise which is inherently weak (e.g. if it has a significant ornamental or utilitarian function), it will normally be necessary to provide more direct evidence that purchasers in the marketplace have come to recognize the guise as distinguishing the goods or services of its owner from those of others; for this purpose survey evidence or affidavits from actual purchasers may be necessary. In order to establish acquired distinctiveness, the evidence submitted need not show that 100% of potential purchasers recognize the guise as serving to distinguish; however, in general the evidence would have to be sufficient for it to be concluded that a high proportion of potential purchasers recognize the guise as serving to distinguish.

Subsection 32(2) of the Act requires the Registrar, having regard to the evidence adduced, to restrict the registration to the defined territorial area in Canada in which the distinguishing guise is shown to have become distinctive. Accordingly, evidence submitted to establish acquired distinctiveness must make clear in what territorial areas in Canada the distinguishing guise has become distinctive.

Functionality

Where an application is filed for the registration of a three-dimensional mark, whether as a distinguishing guise or as an ordinary trademark, the Office will assess whether the mark is primarily functional from either an ornamental or a utilitarian point of view. If it is, and if such functionality relates primarily or essentially to the goods or services covered by the application, the mark will not be registrable. (See Remington Rand v. Philips (1995), 64 C.P.R. (3d) 467.)

The Office will also take into account paragraph 13(1)(b) of the Act which provides that a distinguishing guise is registrable only if the exclusive use by the applicant of the distinguishing guise in association with the goods or services with which it has been used is not likely unreasonably to limit the development of any art or industry.

Date modified:

Marques à trois dimensions

Date de publication : 2000-12-06

Les exigences relatives à l'enregistrabilité d'une marque à trois dimensions dépendent de la question de savoir si la marque tombe sous le coup de la définition d'un signe distinctif, à l'article 2 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, et, par le fait même, de la question de savoir si la marque est un façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants, ou un mode d'envelopper ou d'empaqueter des produits. Si une marque à trois dimensions ne tombe pas sous le coup de la définition d'un signe distinctif, elle peut alors être enregistrée comme une marque de commerce ordinaire, c.-à-d. comme le genre de marque de commerce visé à l'alinéa a) de la définition d'une marque de commerce, à l'article 2 de la Loi. D'autre part, si une marque à trois dimensions tombe sous le coup de la définition d'un signe distinctif, elle peut être alors enregistrée seulement en tant que signe distinctif (et elle est assujettie aux exigences spéciales applicables à l'enregistrement des signes distinctifs) et ne peut être enregistrée comme une marque de commerce ordinaire. Cela tient au fait que le contexte dans lequel le mot « marque » est employé dans la définition de « marque de commerce » indique que ce terme est employé dans un sens strict qui exclut le mot signe. (Registrar v. Brewers Association, (1982) 62 C.P.R. (2d) 145).

Lorsqu'une demande d'enregistrement est soumise à l'égard d'une marque à trois dimensions qui n'est pas un signe distinctif, la demande doit inclure une description de la marque indiquant clairement que la marque de commerce demandée est une marque à trois dimensions. Lorsqu'il n'est pas clair si une demande est censée s'appliquer à une marque à deux dimensions ou à trois dimensions, le Bureau demandera au requérant de lui fournir la précision nécessaire par écrit.

Marques bidimensionnelles apposées sur des objets à trois dimensions

Selon un principe général valable pour toute demande d'enregistrement de marque bidimensionnelle, le dessin de la marque doit représenter seulement la marque et non la marque apposée sur un objet à trois dimensions. Mais si un dessin montrant la marque apposée sur un objet à trois dimensions peut aider à se faire une meilleure idée de la marque, le Bureau des marques de commerce acceptera le dessin en question, à la condition que le requérant se conforme aux exigences suivantes :

  1. Le contour de l'objet à trois dimensions est représenté en pointillé.
  2. La demande comporte une description de la marque de commerce indiquant clairement que la demande vise uniquement la marque bidimensionnelle.
  3. La description de la marque doit bien préciser que l'objet à trois dimensions montré en pointillé dans le dessin ne fait pas partie de la marque de commerce.

Dans les cas où la description ou le dessin d'une marque indique explicitement ou implicitement que cette marque a, en tout ou en partie, la forme d'un objet à trois dimensions, cette marque sera considérée comme étant une marque à trois dimensions et doit être identifiée comme telle dans la description. Toutefois, le Bureau ne s'opposera pas à ce qu'une marque soit identifiée comme étant une marque à deux dimensions uniquement parce qu'il est indiqué dans la description que cette marque (qu'il s'agisse d'un ou de plusieurs éléments) est apposée à un endroit particulier (ou à plusieurs endroits) sur un objet à trois dimensions; on considère qu'une telle indication restreint seulement la portée de la protection revendiquée (pour une marque à deux dimensions).

Dans les cas où le Bureau a des doutes au sujet d'une demande concernant une marque à deux dimensions (et dans les cas où le dessin représente une marque apposée sur un objet à trois dimensions), le Bureau peut demander au requérant de lui fournir un dessin qui représente sa marque en deux dimensions (représentation plane); s'il n'est pas possible de représenter cette marque en deux dimensions, le Bureau considérera qu'il s'agit d'une marque à trois dimensions.

Signes distinctifs

L'article 2 de la Loi donne la définition suivante de signe distinctif :

« signe distinctif » Selon le cas :

  1. façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants;
  2. mode d'envelopper ou empaqueter des produits, dont la présentation est employée par une personne afin de distinguer, ou de façon à distinguer, les produits fabriqués, vendus, donnés à bail ou loués ou les services loués ou exécutés, par elle, des produits fabriqués, vendus, donnés à bail ou loués ou des services loués ou exécutés, par d'autres.

Il est à noter que les mots suivant la première ligne de l'alinéa b), c.-à-d. « dont la présentation… par d'autres », s'appliquent tant à l'alinéa a) qu'à l'alinéa b). (Voir Brewers Association v. Registrar, (1979) 42 C.P.R. (2d) 93).

Il n'est pas nécessaire qu'une demande concernant un signe distinctif se limite soit à un façonnement de produits ou à leurs contenants, d'une part, ou soit à un mode d'envelopper ou d'empaqueter des produits, d'autre part. Le Bureau considère qu'un signe distinctif peut inclure une combinaison des éléments décrits en a) et en b) de la définition. (Voir Smith, Kline & French (1987), 14 C.P.R. (3d) 432 à 435).

Lorsqu'une marque de commerce contient des éléments qui tombent sous le coup de la définition d'un signe distinctif ainsi que des éléments qui ne tombent pas sous le coup de cette définition (p. ex., la combinaison du façonnement d'un produit ou du texte et de la couleur apparaissant sur le produit), les dispositions spéciales de la Loi concernant les signes distinctifs (c.-à-d. les articles 13 et 32) sont considérées applicables (Voir Registrar v. Brewers Association (1982), 62 C.P.R. (2d)145).

Couleur

Quand une couleur fait partie des composantes d'une marque de commerce, on considère qu'il s'agit d'un signe distinctif si la couleur en question fait partie intégrante du mode d'envelopper ou empaqueter dont l'apparence est employée afin de distinguer, ou de façon à distinguer, les produits ou les services d'une personne de ceux des autres. En outre, tel qu'indiqué ci-dessus, quand une marque de commerce consiste en une couleur combinée à un façonnement particulier du produit ou de son contenant, les dispositions spéciales de la Loi concernant les signes distinctifs continuent de s'appliquer.

Les éléments suivants, en particulier, ne sont pas considérés comme des signes distinctifs et peuvent être enregistrés comme des marques de commerce ordinaires (sauf s'ils font partie intégrante du mode d'envelopper ou empaqueter des produits) :

Les demandes d'enregistrement de marques de commerce qui ne sont pas des signes distinctifs, qui ne sont pas à deux dimensions et qui consistent en, ou incluent, une ou plusieurs couleurs appliquées à la surface d'un objet à trois dimensions doivent contenir i) un ou des dessins démontrant les aspects visibles de l'objet en pointillé, et ii) une description indiquant que la marque de commerce consiste en la couleur ou en les couleurs particulières appliquées à l'objet montré dans le dessin. La description et le dessin doivent par eux-mêmes clairement définir en quoi consiste la marque de commerce, et même si le Bureau des marques de commerce peut exiger des spécimens, la description de la marque ne doit pas faire de référence aux spécimens étant donné que ces derniers ne font pas partie intégrante d'une demande. (Voir Novopharm v. Bayer (1999), 3 C.P.R. (4th) 305.) Voici un exemple d'une description acceptable: « La marque de commerce consiste en la couleur pourpre appliquée à toute la surface visible du comprimé montré dans le dessin. »

Marchandises

Tout article qui fait normalement l'objet d'un commerce, c.-à-d. qui est vendu, loué ou autrement écoulé sur le marché, est l'interprétation que donne le Bureau au mot « produits ». Selon cette interprétation, le mot « produits » exclurait, par exemple, des objets à trois dimensions de fantaisie qui sont créés pour distinguer des produits ou des services, mais qui ne sont pas des articles qui feraient normalement l'objet d'un commerce. Le façonnement d'un tel objet à trois dimensions de fantaisie, qui ne tomberait donc pas sous le coup de la définition d'un signe distinctif, pourrait être enregistré comme une marque de commerce ordinaire.

Façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants

Puisque, dans la définition de signe distinctif, à l'article 2 de la Loi, les mots « dont la présentation … par d'autres » s'appliquent à l'alinéa a), il est évident qu'un signe constitué du façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants peut être employé pour distinguer soit des produits, soit des services, ou bien les deux. Cependant, si l'on tient compte de l'esprit de la Loi et surtout de l'objet fondamental des dispositions régissant les signes, le Bureau considère que les marques constituées du façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants ne doivent pas toutes être traitées comme un signe.

Selon l'article 13 de la Loi, les dispositions sur les signes distinctifs semblent avoir pour principal objet d'empêcher que l'enregistrement d'une marque gêne l'emploi de toute particularité utilitaire ou restreigne de façon déraisonnable le développement d'un art ou d'une industrie. Pour appliquer cet article sans imposer un fardeau indu aux requérants de marques à trois dimensions, le Bureau estime que le fait de traiter ou non comme un signe une marque constituée du façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants dépend de la nature du rapport entre, d'une part, les produits et leurs contenants, dont le façonnement constitue la marque, et, d'autre part, les produits ou services visés par l'état déclaratif des produits ou des services dans la demande.

D'après la position adoptée par le Bureau, lorsqu'un requérant désire enregistrer, à l'égard de services, une marque à trois dimensions constituée du façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants, celui-ci doit déposer une demande d'enregistrement de signe distinctif seulement dans les cas où les produits où les contenants présentent un rapport fondamental avec les services. Sinon, le requérant peut déposer une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce ordinaire. Par exemple, en ce qui concerne le façonnement de contenants d'aliments employés en liaison avec des services de restauration rapide, il faudrait remplir une demande d'enregistrement de signe. Cependant, s'il s'agissait du façonnement d'un parachute employé en liaison avec des services de restauration, le requérant pourrait remplir une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce ordinaire.

Le Bureau estime que lorsqu'un requérant désire enregistrer, à l'égard de produits, une marque à trois dimensions constituée du façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants, le requérant doit déposer une demande d'enregistrement de signe distinctif quand les produits décrits dans l'état déclaratif comprennent les produits ou sont étroitement liés aux produits dont le façonnement ou celui du contenant constitue la marque à trois dimensions. Dans le cas contraire, le requérant peut déposer une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce ordinaire.

Le Bureau considère qu'un « façonnement de produits ou de leurs contenants » inclut aussi bien le façonnement de l'ensemble d'un produit ou de son contenant que le façonnement d'une partie d'un produit ou de son contenant. Interpréter la définition d'un signe distinctif comme se limitant au façonnement de l'ensemble d'un produit ou de son contenant n'est pas considéré conforme à l'objectif fondamental des dispositions spéciales de la Loi régissant les signes distinctifs. En effet, une telle interprétation permettrait à un requérant de contourner facilement les restrictions prévues à l'article 13 de la Loi, car il pourrait alors supprimer un détail négligeable du façonnement de l'ensemble du produit et obtenir une protection à l'égard de ce signe en tant que marque de commerce ordinaire.

Les formes tridimensionnelles qui ne font pas partie intégrante d'un produit ou de son contenant, mais qui y sont attachées pour distinguer des produits ou des services, ne sont pas considérées comme faisant partie du produit ou de son contenant au sens de la définition d'un « signe distinctif ». Qu'une forme tridimensionnelle fasse partie intégrante ou non d'un produit ou de son contenant est essentiellement une question de fait qui varie selon le cas. Par exemple, le Bureau considérerait normalement qu'un ornement de capot ne fait pas partie intégrante d'une automobile et que, par conséquent, la forme tridimensionnelle d'un ornement de capot pourrait être enregistrée comme une marque de commerce ordinaire à employer en liaison avec des automobiles. D'autre part, la calandre ou les feux arrière d'une automobile seraient considérés comme faisant partie intégrante d'une automobile; en conséquence, leur forme tridimensionnelle pourrait être enregistrée seulement comme signe distinctif si l'état déclaratif des produits, dans la demande, englobait les automobiles.

Mode d'envelopper ou d'empaqueter des produits

Lorsqu'un signe est un mode d'envelopper ou d'empaqueter, il est considéré que la présentation du mode inclut tous les éléments visuels du signe figurant dans le ou les dessins soumis avec la demande d'enregistrement, exception faite des éléments qui ont été désignés comme ne faisant pas partie du signe. Ainsi, tout texte figurant dans le ou les dessins ferait partie du signe, à moins d'avoir été expressément exclu.

Le Bureau considère qu'un mode d'empaqueter des produits inclurait des contenants ou des supports et que la présentation d'un tel mode d'empaquetage, qui bénéficierait d'une protection en tant que signe distinctif, pourrait inclure la combinaison de la forme d'un contenant et d'autres éléments visuels tels que du texte figurant sur le contenant. (Voir Smith, Kline & French v. Registrar (1987), 14 C.P.R. (3d) 432 à 435).

Preuve de caractère distinctif acquis

L'alinéa 13(1)a) de la Loi prévoit qu'un signe distinctif n'est enregistrable que s'il a été employé au Canada par le requérant ou son prédécesseur en titre de façon à être devenu distinctif à la date de la production d'une demande d'enregistrement le concernant. Pour être distinctif, le signe doit signifier pour les acheteurs que les produits ou les services vendus en liaison avec le signe proviennent d'une source précise, c.-à-d. que le signe doit avoir pour effet sur le marché de distinguer les produits ou les services d'une personne de ceux d'autres personnes. Pour satisfaire au critère du caractère distinctif, il ne suffit pas qu'une marque de commerce soit distinctive seulement dans les circuits de distribution, par exemple pour le fabricant ou le grossiste, mais elle doit aussi avoir un caractère distinctif aux yeux de tous les acheteurs éventuels, y compris le consommateur final. (Voir Parke Davis v. Empire Laboratories (1963), 41 C.P.R. 121 à 145 et Calumet Manufacturing v. Mennen (1991), 40 C.P.R. (3d) 76 à 89 et 90).

Aux termes du paragraphe 32(2) de la Loi, le registraire est tenu de restreindre l'enregistrement, eu égard à la preuve fournie, aux produits ou services en liaison avec lesquels il est démontré que le signe distinctif a été employé au point d'être devenu distinctif. Le fardeau qui incombe au requérant de démontrer qu'un signe distinctif est devenu distinctif par rapport à une produit ou un service particulier est un fardeau dont il est difficile de s'acquitter, surtout lorsque le signe est faible en soi, par exemple lorsque le signe a une fonction décorative ou utilitaire certaine. (Voir Calumet Manufacturing v. Mennen (1989), 27 C.P.R. (3d) 467 à 472 et Parke Davis v. Empire Laboratories (1963) 41 C.P.R. 121 à 145).

La preuve qui sera jugée suffisante pour démontrer le caractère distinctif acquis dépendra dans une forte mesure des circonstances de chaque cas. En général, il ne suffira pas de simplement fournir une preuve concernant la vente et l'annonce des produits au Canada. Dans le cas d'un signe distinctif qui présente un caractère distinctif inhérent marqué, il pourrait être suffisant de fournir une preuve d'un chiffre d'affaires considérable et de montants importants consacrés à la publicité (avec des spécimens démontrant comment le signe a été employé et annoncé); il faudrait aussi prouver qu'aucun autre commerçant n'emploie la même marque ou une marque semblable au Canada. Dans le cas d'un signe distinctif qui est faible en soi (p. ex., qui a une fonction décorative ou utilitaire certaine), il faudra normalement fournir des éléments probants plus directs que les acheteurs sur le marché considèrent que le signe permet de distinguer les produits ou les services de leur propriétaire de ceux d'autres personnes. A cette fin, une preuve obtenue par sondage ou des déclarations assermentées d'acheteurs réels peuvent se révéler nécessaires. Afin de démontrer le caractère distinctif acquis, il n'est pas nécessaire que la preuve soumise établisse que 100 % des acheteurs éventuels considèrent que le signe joue un rôle distinctif; en général toutefois, la preuve devrait être suffisante pour permettre de conclure qu'un pourcentage considérable d'acheteurs éventuels considère que le signe a une fonction distinctive.

Aux termes du paragraphe 32(2) de la Loi, le registraire est tenu de restreindre l'enregistrement, eu égard à la preuve fournie, à la région territoriale définie au Canada où, d'après ce qui est démontré, la marque de commerce est ainsi devenue distinctive. En conséquence, la preuve soumise en vue de démontrer le caractère distinctif acquis doit indiquer clairement dans quelles régions territoriales au Canada le signe distinctif a acquis un caractère distinctif.

Fonctionnalité

Lorsqu'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque à trois dimensions est produite, soit en tant que signe distinctif ou en tant que marque de commerce ordinaire, le Bureau déterminera si la marque est essentiellement fonctionnelle d'un point de vue décoratif ou utilitaire. Dans l'affirmative, et si cette fonctionnalité a principalement ou essentiellement trait aux produits ou aux services visés par la demande, la marque ne sera pas jugée enregistrable. (Voir Remington Rand. v. Philips (1995), 64 C.P.R. (3d) 467).

Le Bureau tiendra également compte de l'alinéa 13(1)b) de la Loi, qui prévoit qu'un signe distinctif n'est enregistrable que si l'emploi exclusif, par le requérant, d'un signe distinctif en liaison avec les produits ou services avec lesquels il a été employé n'a pas vraisemblablement pour effet de restreindre de façon déraisonnable le développement d'un art ou d'une industrie.

Date de modification :