Certification Marks — Compliance with Paragraph 30(f)

Publication Date: 1998-07-15

Paragraph 30(f) of the Trade-marks Act requires an application for the registration of a certification mark to contain particulars of the defined standard that the use of the mark is intended to indicate. The definition of "certification mark" in section 2 of the Act specifies what a defined standard must be in respect of.

In the past, the Trademarks Office has accepted particulars of a standard defined in very general terms. For example, particulars of a defined standard such as The use of the certification mark indicates that the specific goods listed above in association with which it is used are of a standard defined by the applicant with respect to their character and quality has been accepted. However, in view of the decision of the Trademarks Opposition Board in Molson Breweries v. Labatt Brewing (1996), 69 C.P.R. (3d) 274 in respect of the trademark KOKANEE & Design, this practice no longer appears to be acceptable.

Therefore, effective immediately, the Office will not accept an application for the registration of a certification mark as complying with the requirements of paragraph 30(f) of the Act, unless the application sets out in a meaningful way particulars of the defined standard that the use of the mark is intended to indicate. To be meaningful, the particulars set out should allow a member of the public to ascertain the precise nature of the defined standard that the use of the mark is intended to indicate.

Where the defined standard is very lengthy or where certain details of the standard may change from time to time, it is permissible for the applicant to include a brief summary of the standard in the trademark application and to refer to another document for the details of the standard, provided however that at least the relevant portions of the other document are available to and easily accessible by the public. To ensure that any such other document is available to and easily accessible by the public, copies may be filed with the Trademarks Office.

Date modified:

Marques de certification — conformité à l'alinéa 30f)

Date de publication : 1998-07-15

L'alinéa 30(f) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce prévoit que, dans le cas d'une marque de certification, la demande d'enregistrement doit renfermer les détails de la norme définie que l'emploi de la marque est destiné à indiquer. La définition de « marque de certification » à l'article 2 de la Loi prévoit par rapport à quoi la norme doit être définie.

Par le passé, le Bureau des marques de commerce a accepté que les détails de la norme définie soient formulés en termes très généraux. Par exemple, le Bureau a accepté les détails de la norme définie comme « l'emploi de la marque de certification indique que les produits spécifiques énumérés ci-dessus en liaison avec lesquelles la marque de certification est employée relèvent de la norme définie par le requérant en ce qui concerne leur nature et qualité ». Toutefois, à la suite de la décision rendue par la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce dans Molson Breweries v. Labatt Brewing (1996), 69 C.P.R. (3d) 274, en ce qui concerne la marque de commerce KOKANEE & Design, cette pratique ne semble plus acceptable.

Par conséquent, à compter d'aujourd'hui, le Bureau n'acceptera pas une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de certification comme étant conforme aux exigences de l'alinéa 30(f) de la Loi, à moins que la demande renferme de manière explicite les détails de la norme définie que l'emploi de la marque est destiné à indiquer. Pour être explicite, les détails doivent permettre au public de déterminer la nature précise de la norme définie que l'emploi de la marque est destiné à indiquer.

Lorsque la norme définie est très longue ou lorsque certains détails de la norme peuvent changer à l'occasion, le requérant est autorisé à inclure un bref résumé de la norme dans la demande d'enregistrement de la marque de commerce et de renvoyer à un autre document pour les détails de la norme, pourvu toutefois que le public ait facilement accès aux sections pertinentes de l'autre document. Pour ce faire, des copies peuvent être produites auprès du Bureau des marques de commerce.

Date de modification :