Compliance with Paragraph 30(a) of the trade-marks Act - Pharmaceuticals

Publication Date: 2003-08-06

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation the legislation must be followed.

The goods "pharmaceutical preparations" are not considered sufficiently specific to meet the requirements of paragraph 30(a) of the Trade-marks Act which requires that an application for the registration of a trademark contain a statement in ordinary commercial terms of the specific goods or services with which the mark has been used or is proposed to be used.

The fundamental principles for determining the acceptability of goods and services apply equally to pharmaceuticals, and are: the ability (a) to assess whether paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Trade-marks Act applies; (b) to assess confusion with another mark; and (c) to assess whether accepting the goods/services as described will grant the applicant an unreasonably wide ambit of protection.

Pursuant to these principles, the Trademarks Office, for the purposes of paragraph 30(a), requires "pharmaceutical preparations" to be specified in greater detail by either (a) naming the disease, or (b) specifying the disease group or type of disease, disorder or condition to be treated, or (c) by indicating the specific type of medication.

Unacceptable statements

By way of example, the following statements of goods are not considered acceptable since each statement encompasses an array of diseases which exhibit disparate symptoms treatable by a wide variety of types of medications:

Acceptable - Naming the specific disease, disorder or condition

In general, naming the specific disease is acceptable, for example:

Acceptable statements - In some instances, naming groups or types of diseases, disorders or conditions

In addition, there are some situations where types of diseases or disorders are considered acceptable; where they encompass a group of diseases/disorders which (a) exhibit similar symptoms and require similar pharmaceutical treatment, and/or (b) restrict them selves to a particular area of the body such that one could appropriately assess for descriptiveness, confusion and ambit of protection (the three fundamental principals set out above for determining acceptability of goods and services).

For example, the following statements of goods are considered acceptable:

Acceptable statements - Naming the type of medication

In general, naming the specific type of medication is acceptable, where such medication is designed to combat particular symptoms, notwithstanding the fact that its use may cut across a number of diseases.

For example, the following are acceptable:

Note: In light of the constant progress in medical research and the rapidly growing pharmaceutical trade, each application must be examined on its own merits to determine whether in the present medical circumstances, a disease, disorder, condition, or group of diseases, or type of medication, will be considered sufficiently specific to satisfy the requirements of paragraph 30(a) of the Trade-marks Act.

Date modified:

Respect de l'alinéa 30a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce - produits pharmaceutiques

Date de publication : 2003-08-06

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser la pratique actuelle du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation faite par le Bureau de certaines dispositions de la Loi. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Les produits « préparations pharmaceutiques » ne sont pas considérées comme suffisamment spécifiques pour satisfaire aux exigences de l'alinéa 30a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, qui exige qu'une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce renferme un état, dressé dans les termes ordinaires du commerce, des produits ou services spécifiques en liaison avec lesquels la marque a été employée ou sera employée.

Les principes fondamentaux sur lesquels repose la détermination de l'admissibilité des produits et des services s'appliquent également aux produits pharmaceutiques, et il s'agit des principes suivants : la capacité a) de déterminer si l'alinéa 12(1)b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce s'applique; b) d'évaluer le risque de confusion avec une autre marque; et c) de déterminer si le fait d'accepter les produits ou les services décrits conférera au requérant un degré de protection indu.

En vertu de ces principes, le Bureau des marques de commerce, aux fins de l'alinéa 30a), exige que les « préparations pharmaceutiques » soient décrites d'une manière détaillée a) en indiquant la maladie à traiter, ou b) en spécifiant le groupe ou le genre de maladie, trouble ou affection à traiter, ou c) en indiquant le type de médicament.

Descriptions non acceptables

À titre d'exemple, les descriptions des produits suivantes ne sont pas considérés comme acceptables, étant donné que chaque description englobe diverses maladies qui présentent des symptômes disparates, traitables avec une gamme variée de médicaments :

Descriptions acceptables - Spécifier la maladie, le trouble ou l'infection

Il suffit généralement de spécifier la maladie, par exemple :

Descriptions acceptables - Dans certains cas, il suffit d'indiquer les groupes ou types de maladies, de troubles ou d'infections

En outre, dans certains cas, les descriptions des types de maladies ou de troubles sont considérées comme acceptables; lorsqu'elles englobent un groupe de maladies/troubles qui a) présentent des symptômes semblables et exigent un traitement pharmaceutique semblable, et/ou b) concernent une région particulière du corps de manière qu'il serait possible d'évaluer dûment le caractère descriptif, le risque de confusion et l'étendue de la protection (les trois principes fondamentaux énoncés précédemment, qui sous-tendent la détermination de l'acceptabilité des produits et des services).

Par exemple, les descriptions suivantes de produits sont considérés comme acceptables :

Descriptions acceptables - Indiquer le type de médicament

Il suffit généralement d'indiquer le type de médicament, lorsque le médicament en question vise à combattre des symptômes particuliers, bien que son utilisation puisse avoir un effet sur diverses maladies.

Par exemple, les descriptions suivantes sont acceptables :

Note : Compte tenu des progrès constants de la recherche médicale et de la croissance rapide de l'industrie pharmaceutique, chaque demande doit être examinée sur le fond en vue de déterminer si dans les circonstances médicales actuelles, la description de la maladie, du trouble, de l'infection, ou du groupe de maladies, ou du type de médicament, peut être considérée comme suffisamment spécifique pour satisfaire aux exigences de l'alinéa 30a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce.

Date de modification :