Declaration of Use — Significant Substantive Reasons

Publication Date: 1998-02-04

Section 40(3) of the Trade-marks Act provides that an application for registration of a proposed trademark shall be deemed to be abandoned if a Declaration of Use is not received by the office before the later of six months from the date of the notice of Allowance or three years from the date of filing the application in Canada.

The office currently grants extensions of time of six months upon expiration of the time limit to file a Declaration of Use if the request is justified and the prescribed fee is received by the office.

Effective immediately, upon the expiration of three years from the initial deadline to file a Declaration of Use provided in the Notice of Allowance, the office will require significant substantive reasons which dearly justify a further extension of time and which set out in detail the reason(s) why it is not yet possible to file a Declaration of Use. The prescribed fee is required for each request.

Extensions of time of one year will generally be granted upon request when an applicant is awaiting approval for a product from a Government Department.

This new practice will apply to all requests received by the Office after the publication date of this notice.

Date modified:

Déclarations d'emploi — raisons considérables et substantielles

Date de publication : 1998-02-04

Le paragraphe 40(3) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce indique qu'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce projetée est réputée avoir été abandonnée si une déclaration relative à l'emploi n'est pas reçue au plus tard dans les six mois suivant l'envoi de l'avis d'admission ou dans les trois ans suivant la date du dépôt de la demande au Canada.

Le Bureau octroi présentement des prolongations de délai de six mois lorsque le délai pour déposer la déclaration d'emploi est expiré si la requête est justifiée et que le droit prescrit est acquitté.

À compter d'aujourd'hui, à l'expiration du délai de trois ans à compter de la date indiquée dans l'avis d'admission pour soumettre une déclaration d'emploi, le Bureau exigera des raisons considérables et substantielles pour justifier l'octroi d'une autre prolongation de délai ainsi que des détails spécifiques empêchant le dépôt de la déclaration d'emploi. Le droit prescrit doit être acquitté pour chaque demande.

Des prolongations de délai d'un an seront généralement accordées lorsqu'un requérant est en attente d'une approbation gouvernementale pour un produit.

Cette nouvelle pratique s'applique à toutes les demandes de prolongation de délai reçues après la date de publication du présent avis.

Date de modification :