Descriptiveness and Terms Such as .com, .ca, .fr, .uk & .us

Publication Date: 1999-09-01

Registrability

Trademarks consisting of or containing terms such as: .com, .ca, .fr, .uk & .us are examined for any clearly descriptive or deceptively misdescriptive meanings, in English or French, as applied to the character or quality, place of origin, conditions of, or persons employed in the production of the associated goods or the performance of the services.

The Office considers these terms to mean:

  • .com — Commercial entity
  • .ca — Canada
  • .fr — France
  • .uk — United Kingdom
  • .us — United States

A trademark that consists of or contains one of these terms is considered unregistrable pursuant to paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Trade-marks Act, if the trademark when considered in its totality, as a matter of first impression in association with the goods and/or services is clearly descriptive or deceptively misdescriptive. Therefore, the addition of one of these terms to a clearly descriptive mark will not make it registrable.

In deciding whether a trademark is clearly descriptive or deceptively misdescriptive, it must be determined what first impression the mark would create upon the everyday user or purchaser of the goods and/or services. (Wool Bureau of Canada Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1978), 40 C.P.R. (2d) 25 and Mitel Corporation v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1984), 79 C.P.R. (2d) 202.

When disclaimer required

Where a trademark in its totality is registrable and contains one of the aforementioned terms, a disclaimer of the term is required if the term when considered in association with the goods and/or services, forms a portion that is not independently registrable within the meaning of paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Act.

If the term is deceptively misdescriptive and forms a significant part of the trademark, the mark in its totality is deceptively misdescriptive and therefore unregistrable having regard to paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Act. (Lake Ontario Cement Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1976), 31 C.P.R. (2d) 103).

Date modified:

Caractère descriptif d'éléments tels que .com, .ca, .fr, .uk et .us

Date de publication : 1999-09-01

Enregistrabilité

Le Bureau examine les marques de commerce composées d'éléments tels que .com, .ca, .fr, .uk et .us afin de déterminer si elles donnent une description claire ou une description fausse et trompeuse, en français ou en anglais, de la nature ou de la qualité des produits ou services en liaison avec lesquels elles sont employées, ou des conditions de leur production ou des personnes qui les produisent, ou de leur lieu d'origine.

Le Bureau considère que ces éléments signifient :

  • .com — Entité commerciale
  • .ca — Canada
  • .fr — France
  • .uk — Royaume-Uni
  • .us — États-Unis

Une marque de commerce qui est composée de l'un de ces éléments est considérée non enregistrable conformément à l'alinéa 12(1)b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce si la marque, envisagée dans son ensemble et d'après la première impression qu'elle crée par rapport aux produits et/ou aux services, donne une description claire ou une description fausse et trompeuse. Donc, l'ajout de l'un de ces éléments à une marque qui est clairement descriptive ne rendra pas celle-ci enregistrable.

Pour décider si une marque de commerce donne une description claire ou une description fausse et trompeuse, il faut déterminer quelle est la première impression que donnerait la marque à l'utilisateur ou au consommateur moyen des produits et/ou services. (Wool Bureau of Canada Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1978), 40 C.P.R. (2d) 25 et Mitel Corporation v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1984), 79 C.P.R. (2d) 202.

Quand un désistement est nécessaire

Lorsqu'une marque de commerce est enregistrable dans son intégralité et comporte l'un des éléments susmentionnés, un désistement de l'élément en question est nécessaire si ce dernier, envisagé avec les produits et/ ou les services, représente une partie qui n'est pas indépendamment enregistrable, au sens de l'alinéa 12(1)b) de la Loi.

Si l'élément donne une description fausse et trompeuse et constitue une partie importante de la marque de commerce, la marque de commerce dans son ensemble se trouve donc à donner une description fausse et trompeuse et ne peut être enregistrée, compte tenu de l'alinéa 12(1)b) de la Loi. (Lake Ontario Cement Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1976), 31 C.P.R. (2d) 103).

Date de modification :