Improving Data Quality Trademark Applications

Publication Date: 2000-10-04

The Trademarks Office would like to remind clients of the following notice published December 1, 1999 (now updated):

The following methods/forms of submitting a trademark application to the Trademarks Office will assist the Trademarks Office in improving the overall quality of the information entered into the trademarks database (INTREPID).

Trademark Office Online Electronic Filing (Electronic Commerce)

The electronic filing system available on the CIPO web site allows the electronic application to be directly loaded into the INTREPID database with no data entry performed by the Trademarks Office staff. This means that the application will be exactly the same as the applicant/agent has submitted with no possibility of Office generated typing mistakes or misinterpretations of the application.

Paper Application with a digital copy

For new and revised applications containing long statements of goods and services, clients are encouraged, on a voluntary basis, to submit a digital copy of the application along with the paper application. The electronic copy will be used to "Copy and Paste" information into the INTREPID database thereby reducing keying errors and improving the overall quality of the database. The paper application will remain the official version of the application in case of any discrepancies between the paper application and the electronic copy.

A digital image of the trademark design may also be submitted. This may allow for a clearer reproduction of complex or fine detailed designs. The file format for the designs must be 300 dpi, black and white, stored in TIFF.

Drawings

Sub-section 27(1) of the Trade-marks Regulations indicates that a drawing of a trademark shall not be larger than 2 3/4 inches by 2 3/4 inches (7 cm x 7 cm). It is the experience of the Office that drawings of this size are not always easily scanned and entered into the INTREPID database and the Registrar is often asking applicants to file a new and larger drawing in accordance with sub-section 27(2) of the regulations. Clients are asked to submit drawings as large as possible (up to but not larger than 8 1/2 inches by 14 inches (22 cm x 35 cm)). This will help reduce the number of times the Office must request a new drawing and improve the overall quality of the reproduction of trademark designs.

Scanning Paper Applications

Where possible the Office will attempt to scan and OCR (Optical Character Recognition) a paper application to then "copy and paste" the information into the INTREPID database. While the OCR process is not exact, the typeface (font, size, attributes) of the application may affect the overall quality of the OCR process. To ensure the best quality for OCR purposes the following typeface attributes should be used:

  • Font: a sans serif font like Arial or Helvetica
  • Size: 12 point
  • Attributes: Normal or Bold is acceptable
  • Other Considerations: please have the goods/services in lower case characters (except for the first letter of a sentence). If the goods/services are all inupper case this will require retyping.

The following typeface attributes should be avoided:

  • Font: a serif font like Times Roman due to the fact that the serifs tend to join letters together with OCR software
  • Size: 10 point or smaller
  • Attributes: where ever possibly do NOT use italics, underlining or any combination of these.
Date modified:

Amélioration de la qualité des données — demande d'enregistrement des marques de commerce

Date de publication : 2000-10-04

Le Bureau des marques de commerce souhaite rappeler à ses clients l'avis suivant publié le 1er décembre 1999 (maintenant mis à jour):

Les méthodes ou formulaires suivants permettant de remplir une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce au Bureau des marques de commerce aideront le Bureau à améliorer la qualité d'ensemble de l'information introduite dans la base de données des marques de commerce (INTREPID).

Soumission d'une demande en ligne au Bureau des marques de commerce (commerce électronique)

Le système de soumission électronique disponible sur le site web de l'OPIC permet de verser directement la demande électronique dans la base de données INTREPID sans saisie de données effectuée par les employés du Bureau des marques de commerce. Cela signifie que la demande sera exactement comme le requérant ou l'agent l'a soumise sans possibilité d'erreurs de frappe ou d'interprétations fautives de la part du Bureau.

Demande d'enregistrement sur support numérique

Dans le cas de nouvelles demandes et de demandes révisées contenant de longs énoncés de produits et services, les clients sont encouragés, à titre volontaire, à soumettre une copie électronique de la demande d'enregistrement accompagnée d'une demande sur support papier. La copie électronique sera employée pour «copier-coller» l'information dans la base de données INTREPID, ce qui diminuera les erreurs de frappe et améliorera la qualité d'ensemble de la base de données. La demande sur support papier demeurera la version officielle dans le cas de divergence entre la demande papier et la copie électronique.

Une image numérique d'un dessin de marque de commerce peut également être soumise. Cela permet une reproduction plus précise de dessins détaillés complexes. Le format de fichier pour les dessins doit être de 300 points par pouce, en noir et blanc, et le fichier doit être stocké en format TIFF.

Dessins

Le paragraphe 27 (1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce mentionne qu'un dessin d'une marque de commerce ne doit pas être plus large que 2 3/4 po sur 2 3/4 po (7 cm sur 7cm). D'après l'expérience du Bureau, les dessins de cette taille ne sont pas numérisés et introduits facilement dans la base de données INTREPID. Le registraire doit souvent demander aux requérants de soumettre un nouveau dessin plus large conformément au paragraphe 27(2) du règlement. On demande donc aux clients de soumettre des dessins aussi larges que possible [au plus 8 1/2 po sur 14 po (22 cm sur 35 cm)]. Cela permettra de diminuer le nombre de fois que le Bureau doit exiger un nouveau dessin et améliorera la qualité d'ensemble de la reproduction des modèles de marques de commerce.

Numérisation des demandes sur support papier

Si possible, le Bureau essaiera de numériser une demande sur support papier au moyen de la reconnaissance optique de caractères (OCR) pour ensuite « copier-coller » l'information dans la base de données INTREPID. Même si le processus OCR n'est pas précis, le caractère (police, corps, attributs) de la demande peut influer sur la qualité d'ensemble du processus. Afin d'assurer la meilleure qualité de OCR, il est recommandé d'employer les attributs de caractère suivants :

  • Police : une police sans empattement comme Arial ou Helvetica
  • Corps : 12 points
  • Attributs : normal et gras sont acceptables
  • Autres considérations : veuillez présenter les produits et services en bas de casse (sauf pour la première lettre d'une phrase). Si les produits
  • et services sont en haut de casse, il faudra taper de nouveau.

Les attributs de caractère suivants doivent être évités :

  • Police : une police avec empattement, p. ex. Times Roman, parce que les empattements ont tendance à rassembler les lettres avec le logiciel OCR
  • Corps : 10 points ou plus petit
  • Attributs : si possible, NE PAS employer italique,soulignement ou leur combinaison
Date de modification :