Paragraph 12(1)(a) of the Act — Name or Surname

Publication Date: 2000-08-16

Paragraph 12(1)(a) of the Trade-marks Act stipulates that a trademark is registrable if it is not a word that is primarily merely the name or the surname of an individual who is living or who has died within the preceding thirty years.

When confronted with a mark composed of a word or words that have name or surname connotations, research must be conducted to determine whether it is in fact the name or surname of a living individual (Gerhard Horn Investments Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks 73 C.P.R. (2d) 23). Commencing immediately, an objection under paragraph 12(1)(a) will generally only be considered if there are at least 25 entries of the name or the surname located in Canadian telephone directories. However, once the 25 entries have been located, the test to determine primary meaning must be applied. The examiners must determine what in their opinion would be the response of the general public in Canada to that word. If they consider that a person in Canada of ordinary intelligence and of ordinary education in English or French would respond to the word by thinking of it as the name or the surname of an individual who is living or who has died within the preceding thirty years, an objection under paragraph 12(1)(a) will be raised.

Where research discloses that the mark consists of the name or surname of a famous individual, an objection may be raised notwithstanding the existence of less than 25 entries in Canadian directories.

This practice also applies to pluralized surnames and surnames in the possessive form. An objection will only be considered if there are at least 25 entries of the surname in Canadian directories.

Date modified:

Alinéa 12(1)a) de la loi — Nom ou Nom de famille

Date de publication : 2000-08-16

Aux termes de l'alinéa 12(1)a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, une marque de commerce est enregistrable sauf si elle est constituée d'un mot n'étant principalement que le nom ou le nom de famille d'un particulier vivant ou qui est décédé dans les trente années précédentes.

Lorsqu'il est question d'une marque constituée d'un ou de plusieurs mots qui évoquent un nom ou un nom de famille, une recherche doit être effectuée afin de déterminer s'il s'agit en fait du nom ou du nom de famille d'un particulier vivant (Gerhard Horn Investments Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks, 73 C.P.R. (2d) 23). Dorénavant, une objection formulée en vertu de l'alinéa 12(1)a) sera prise en considération seulement si au moins 25 occurrences du nom ou du nom de famille peuvent être trouvées dans des annuaires téléphoniques canadiens. Une fois que les 25 occurrences ont été trouvées, il faut appliquer le critère servant à établir le sens premier. À cet égard, les examinateurs doivent déterminer quelle serait, à leur avis, la réaction du public canadien par rapport à ce mot. S'ils considèrent que ce mot évoquerait - pour un Canadien doté d'une intelligence moyenne et possédant un niveau d'instruction moyen en anglais ou en français - le nom ou le nom de famille d'un particulier vivant ou décédé au cours des trente dernières années, les examinateurs devront alors soulever une objection en vertu de l'alinéa 12(1)a).

Lorsqu'une recherche révèle que la marque est constituée du nom ou du nom de famille d'un particulier célèbre, une objection pourrait être soulevée même s'il y a moins de 25 occurrences dans les annuaires canadiens.

Cette pratique s'applique également aux noms de famille portant la marque du pluriel ainsi qu'aux noms de famille écrits à la forme possessive. Une objection sera prise en considération seulement s'il existe au moins 25 occurrences du nom de famille dans les annuaires canadiens.

Date de modification :