Practice Notice — Corrections

Publication Date: 2002-11-06

Note: This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.


This practice notice replaces the notice published April 10, 2002 and is implemented in view of the large amount of requests for amendments to applications. Effective immediately, where an amendment is made on a pending application, the Office will record the change in the database but will not issue any confirmation or client proof sheet showing the change. It is the applicant's responsibility to verify the database to ensure the requested amendment has been recorded.

However, if the required modification is contrary to the Trade-marks Regulations (1996), the Office will send a letter explaining the refusal of amendment.

There is no change in practice where a correction is made on a registered mark. The Office will issue a letter confirming that the correction has been made together with a copy of the registration page.

Date modified:

Énoncé de pratique — corrections

Date de publication : 2002-11-06

Nota : Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser la pratique actuelle du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation faite par le Bureau de certaines dispositions de la Loi. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaut.


La présente pratique remplace celle du 10 avril 2002 et sa mise en oeuvre découle du grand nombre de requêtes de modification aux demandes. Désormais, lorsqu'une modification est apportée à une demande de marque de commerce en instance, le Bureau consignera la modification à la base de données mais n'émettra pas de confirmation ou de feuille de vérification des informations. Il est de la responsabilité du requérant de vérifier la base de données pour s'assurer de la consignation des changements requis.

Par contre, si la modification n'est pas permise par les Règlements sur les marques de commerce (1996), le Bureau enverra une lettre expliquant le refus de la modification.

Il n'y a pas de changement de pratique lorsqu'une correction est apportée à une marque de commerce déposée. Le Bureau enverra une lettre confirmant la correction, avec une copie de la page d'enregistrement.

Date de modification :