Industrial Design Office Practices (Page 3 of 4)

Industrial Design Office Practices (PDF: 934 KB; 22 pages) *Does not include Annex B.
Annex B: Sample drawings (PDF: 1.76 MB; 25 pages)


| Table of Contents |



7. Extension of time

Upon receipt of a written request from the applicant, the Industrial Design Office will generally grant one (1) extension of time of six (6) months to reply to an Examiner's Report. If, following the expiry of the extension of time, the applicant fails to reply, the application will be considered abandoned.

No requests for any further extensions of time will generally be considered. In exceptional cases only the Office will consider granting one (1) additional extension of time up to a maximum of six (6) months. In such cases the Office will require that the applicant provide a written request that specifies the additional time required and explains the exceptional circumstances that prevent the applicant from replying to the Examiner's Report within the specified period.

If the circumstances explained by the applicant are not considered to justify a further extension of time, the Office will notify the applicant in writing that the request has been refused. The applicant will have one (1) month from the date of the notification to file a response or the application will be considered abandoned.

The following are examples of exceptional circumstances that could justify an additional extension of time:

  • Recent change in the Applicant (i.e., by way of an assignment) and/or a recent change in the Agent:

    If there has been a very recent change in the applicant and/or the agent, the Office may grant an additional extension of time, allowing the new applicant and/or the new agent to become familiar with the file in order to be able to reply to the outstanding report.

  • Circumstances beyond the control of the person concerned:

    Examples could include illness, accident, death, bankruptcy or other serious and unforeseen circumstances.

8. Abandonment

If there is no response to a report within the specified period for reply, the application will be considered abandoned as of the date of expiry of the specified period for reply.

Once the application has been abandoned, the Office will send a "Notice of Abandonment" to the applicant as a courtesy. The notice will set out the reason for abandonment and the requirements for reinstatement. No fees will be refunded.

9. Reinstatement

In accordance with Sub-section 5(4) of the Industrial Design Act and Section 17 of the Industrial Design Regulations, an abandoned application may be reinstated if the applicant submits a request for reinstatement within six months after the date of abandonment. The request must include a response to the outstanding report and the prescribed fee (Item 10 of the Tariff of Fees) for reinstatement. If these requirements are not met within the prescribed period, the application will become "inactive" and no further office action will be taken.

10. Withdrawal

Applications and requests to record agreements or maintenance may be voluntarily withdrawn by written request.

Upon receipt of a written request to withdraw a design application, the application will be made "inactive" and a confirmation notice will be sent to the client. No further office action will be taken. The applicant may re-apply if the design was not published more than one year prior to the second filing.

Upon receipt of a written request to withdraw a request for recordal of an agreement or maintenance, the action will simply not be done.

A refund will only be issued in respect of any fees submitted if the request for withdrawal was received prior to any processing of the application or request.

11. Delay of registration

Some countries might reject an industrial design application because the design has already been registered in another country. For this reason, applicants may wish to delay registration to allow time to file the application in another country.

The Industrial Design Office will process such requests at any time before registration. The Office requires a written request accompanied by the required fee (Item 9 of the Tariff of Fees). A six-month delay will be granted beginning on the day the request is received. The same fee will be required for any further requests. During any six-month period of delay, the applicant may request that the application proceed to registration prior to the end of the six-month period.

The above will apply only in cases when an applicant requests to delay the registration of an application that otherwise would normally proceed with registration. This will not apply in situations relating to parent/divisional applications or similar designs filed by the same applicant provided that the applicant has notified the Industrial Design Office of the existence of such co-pending applications. In these situations, the usual practice of the Office is to register such applications on the same day.

Note: a new practice notice has been published for delay of registration. Please refer to the practice notice entitled “Delaying registration of an industrial design”, January 16, 2017.

12. Registration

Once the examiner has determined that the application is in an allowable state, it can proceed to registration. Upon registration the client will receive a:

  • registration certificate;
  • copy of the application;
  • covering sheet summarizing the information about the design; and
  • notice explaining the requirements for maintenance of the registration.

Upon registration, the design will be open for public inspection.

13. Amendment of a design registration

The Industrial Design Office may correct a clerical error in respect of a design registration. Any request to correct a clerical error must be made in writing. Confirmation of any correction will be made by issuing a correcting certificate. In the case of correction of an error not committed by the Office, a fee is required (please see Item 11 of the Tariff of Fees).

The Office will record any amendment ordered by the Federal Court and will provide confirmation by issuing a correcting certificate.

When the Office is notified of other types of changes that occurred subsequent to registration and not affecting the design itself, the Office will make a recordal of the change in the DesignPlus system, e.g., a change of address of the owner, a change of representative for service. In such cases the application as registered will not be amended.

14. Maintenance

Registered designs are valid for 10 years provided that the required maintenance fees are paid. Design protection ends 10 years after the registration date and cannot be extended.

If the owner of an industrial design wishes to maintain the protection beyond five years, the fee set out in the Item 2 of the Tariff of Fees must be submitted before the fifth anniversary of registration. If the fee is not received before expiry of the five-year period, the additional fee set out in Item 3 of the Tariff of Fees will also be required. If the design is not maintained within the five years plus six months, protection ends as of the next day.

15 Assignments and other agreements

15.1 Recordal

Assignments and licences

Assignments and licences will be recorded in the Industrial Design Office upon receipt of an affidavit or a copy of the document effecting the assignment or licence and the prescribed fee (Item 4 of the Tariff of Fees).

The Office will check the chain of title to ascertain that the assignor is the current owner of record. The Office will contact the client if the documentation is unclear in this regard; further documentation or clarification may be required.

The Office will record an assignment or licence against only the design(s) that have been identified in the assignment document. If there are not enough fees to cover all the designs identified, the Office will request the additional fees before doing the recordal.

Other recordals (e.g., changes of name, mergers, security agreements)

These recordals affecting a pending or registered industrial design will be done by the Industrial Design Office upon receipt of a request and a copy of a document effecting the change of name or other recordal. No fee is required for these types of recordals. The Office will review the document(s) only to check the chain of title. The Office will contact the client if the documentation is unclear in this regard.

15.2 Notice of omission

Assignments and licences

Where a request to record an assignment affects a registered or pending design and does not meet the requirements of section 19 of the Industrial Design Regulations, the Industrial Design Office will send out a Notice of Omission setting out the outstanding requirements.

Affecting a registered design: If a response is not received within the specified period for reply in the notice, the recordal will not be done. No documents will be returned and a refund will be issued for any fees that were paid in accordance with item 4 of the Tariff of Fees, schedule 2 of the Regulations.

Affecting a pending design: If a response is not received within the specified period for reply in the notice, the recordal will be made in the name currently on record. No documents will be returned and a refund will be issued for any fees that were paid in accordance with the above-mentioned item 4 of the Tariff of Fees.

After expiry of the specified period for reply to the Notice of Omission, any applicant still wishing to record the assignment or licence (for either a pending or registered design) must send a new request.

Other recordals (e.g., changes of name, mergers, security agreements)

Where the documentation accompanying the request is unclear as to the chain of title, the Industrial Design Office will send out a Notice of Omission requesting clarification and/or further documents.

Affecting a registered or pending design: If a response is not received within the specified period for reply in the notice, the recordal will not be done. No documents will be returned.

After expiry of the specified period for reply to the Notice of Omission, any applicant still wishing the recordal (for either a pending or registered design) must send a new request.

Annex A – Originality: guiding principles

  • When comparing designs to determine whether they are "substantially" different, it is a matter of impression to be judged solely by the eye.
  • One must consider whether the originality of a design is substantial in regard to the quantity of prior art. The standard of originality varies from class to class depending on the degree of possible changes and on the quantity of registered designs in the field.
  • In assessing originality, one must also consider the nature of the article and the constraints or limitations to which a designer is subjected when designing an article. Few changes are required to make a design "original" when an article has a very small range within which design creativity can be exercised. On the other hand, an article that has a very large range within which creativity can be exercised will require a higher standard of originality.

Supreme Court of Canada decision Clatworthy & Son v. Dale Display (1929), S.C.R. 429, "that to constitute an original design there must be some substantial difference between the new design and what had theretofore existed."

Bata Industries Ltd. v. Warrington Inc. (1985) 5 C.P.R. 339 "It seems to involve at least a spark of inspiration on the part of the designer either in creating an entirely new design or in hitting upon a new use for an old is 'novel in character or style, inventive, creative' (The Concise Oxford Dictionary , 6 th ed., 1976)."

Russell-Clarke on Copyright in Industrial Designs, Michael Fysh 5th, Sweet & Maxwell (London) 1974 at p. 36-38., and Re: Paramount Pictures Corporation Industrial Design Application (1981), 73 C.P.R. (2nd) 273: One must look at each design as a whole, and the test should not be only a side-by-side comparison of the differences. One should also consider the appeal to the eye of each design when they are seen separately, taking into account imperfect recollection.

Dover, Ltd. v. Nurnberger Celluloidwaren Fabrik Gebruder Wolff (1910), 27 R.P.C. 175 p. 179, that, for a design to be registered, it "must be new or original with reference to the kind or article for which it is registered; meaning, by kind of article, not the class of article… but the kind of article having regard to its general character and use. A design may be new for a coal scuttle but not for a bonnet. On the other hand, a design for a shade of a gas lamp can hardly be new if it was old for an oil lamp." This narrows somewhat the parameters of the search that is performed. For example, if an application is received for a coal scuttle, a search of the container class is performed but the apparel class (bonnets) is not searched.

See Re: LeMay v. Welch (1884), 28 Ch. D. 24., Canadian Wm. A. Rogers, Limited v. International Silver Company of Canada, Limited Ex. Cr. (1932), p. 66., and Angelstone Ltd. v. Artistic Stone Ltd. C.P.R. Vol. 33; 156 at p. 170.: There must be substantial originality in the design having particular regard to the nature of the article, and mere changes in size or proportion do not necessarily render a design original and may limit other designers in the same trade.

See Phillips v. Harbro' Rubber Co (1920), 37 R.P.C. 233, and Kaufman Rubber Company, Ltd. v. Miner Rubber Company Limited Ex. C.R. 26: The inclusion of mere trade variants in an old design is not sufficient to render a design original. A variation that is known in connection with a particular article or class of articles does not constitute a substantial difference.


| Table of Contents |

Date modified:

Dessins industriels - Pratiques administratives (Page 3 de 4)

Dessins industriels - Pratiques administratives (PDF : 1 Mo; 24 pages) *N'inclue pas annexe B
Annexe B Exemples d'esquisse (PDF : 2.43 Mo; 25 pages)


| Table des matières |



7. Prolongation de délai

À la réception d'une requête écrite d'un demandeur, le Bureau des dessins industriels accorde généralement une (1) prolongation de six (6) mois pour répondre à un rapport de l'examinateur. Si, après l'expiration de la prolongation de délai, le demandeur n'a toujours pas répondu au rapport, la demande sera considérée comme étant abandonnée.

Généralement, aucune demande de prolongation de délai supplémentaire ne sera accordée. Dans des situations exceptionnelles seulement, le Bureau accordera une (1) prolongation de délai additionnelle d'une durée maximale de six (6) mois. Dans ces cas, le Bureau exigera du demandeur qu'il produise une requête par écrit précisant le délai supplémentaire dont il a besoin et expliquant les circonstances exceptionnelles qui l'empêchent de répondre au rapport de l'examinateur dans le délai prévu.

Si le Bureau juge que les circonstances décrites par le demandeur ne justifient pas une autre prolongation, on informera le demandeur par écrit que sa requête a été rejetée. Le demandeur aura un (1) mois à compter de la date de l'avis pour répondre au rapport ou sa demande sera considérée comme étant abandonnée.

Voici des exemples de circonstances exceptionnelles qui pourraient justifier une prolongation de délai :

8. Abandon

Si le demandeur ne répond pas au rapport du Bureau dans le délai imparti, la demande est considérée comme abandonnée à compter de la date d'expiration du délai de réponse.

Lorsque la demande est abandonnée, le Bureau transmet, à titre de courtoisie, un « avis d'abandon » au demandeur. L'avis précise les raisons pour lesquelles la demande est considérée comme abandonnée et les exigences relatives au rétablissement de la demande. Lorsqu'une demande est abandonnée, les droits déjà versés ne sont pas remboursés.

9. Rétablissement

Conformément au paragraphe 5(4) de la Loi sur les dessins industriels et à l'article 17 du Règlement sur les dessins industriels, une demande abandonnée peut être rétablie dans les six mois suivant la date d'abandon si le demandeur présente une demande à cet effet. Pour ce faire, le demandeur devra répondre au rapport en instance et acquitter les droits (article 10 du Tarif des droits) prévus pour le rétablissement. Si le demandeur ne satisfait pas à ces exigences dans le délai imparti, la demande devient alors « inactive » et le Bureau ne prendra plus aucune mesure administrative.

10. Retrait

Les demandes d'enregistrement de dessins et les requêtes d'enregistrement d'une entente ou de maintien du droit exclusif peuvent faire l'objet d'un retrait si le demandeur en fait la demande par écrit.

Sur réception d'une demande écrite de retrait, la demande d'enregistrement de dessin deviendra inactive et une confirmation sera envoyée au demandeur. Aucune autre mesure ne sera prise. Le demandeur peut déposer une nouvelle demande si le dessin n'a pas été publié plus d'un an avant le dépôt de la deuxième demande.

Sur réception d'une demande écrite de retrait visant une requête d'enregistrement d'une entente ou le maintien d'un droit exclusif, la mesure demandée à l'origine ne sera tout simplement pas prise.

Les droits sont remboursés uniquement si la demande de retrait est reçue avant que le Bureau des dessins industriels ne procède au traitement de la demande ou de la requête.

11. Enregistrement différé

Certains pays peuvent rejeter une demande d'enregistrement de dessin industriel parce que le dessin a déjà été enregistré dans un autre pays. Afin d'éviter cette situation, le Bureau offre aux demandeurs la possibilité de différer l'enregistrement pour leur permettre de déposer leur demande dans un autre pays.

Le Bureau traite ce type de demande en tout temps avant l'enregistrement. Le demandeur doit présenter une requête par écrit à cet égard et verser les droits prévus à l'article 9 du Tarif des droits. On lui accordera un délai de six mois à compter de la date de la requête. Les mêmes droits sont requis pour chaque demande supplémentaire. Durant le délai prévu de six mois, le demandeur peut demander que la demande procède à l'enregistrement avant l'échéance du délai.

La mesure mentionnée précédemment ne s'applique que lorsqu'une personne demande que l'enregistrement de son dessin soit différé. Elle ne s'applique pas aux demandes principales et complémentaires ou à des dessins semblables qui ont été déposés par le même demandeur, à condition que ce dernier ait avisé le Bureau de l'existence de ces demandes en coinstance. La pratique courante consiste à enregistrer ces demandes le même jour.

Note : un nouvel énoncé de pratique a été publié en ce qui concerne le sursis à l'enregistrement. Veuillez vous référer à la pratique intitulée « Sursis à l'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel », 16 janvier 2017.

12. Enregistrement

Une fois que l'examinateur a déterminé que la demande est acceptable, cette dernière peut être enregistrée. Le demandeur recevra alors :

Au moment de l'enregistrement, le dessin devient accessible au public pour consultation.

13. Modification d'un enregistrement de dessin

Sur réception d'une demande écrite, le Bureau des dessins industriels corrigera toute erreur d'écriture dans un enregistrement de dessin et enverra un certificat de correction au demandeur. S'il s'agit d'une erreur qui n'a pas été commise par le Bureau, le demandeur doit acquitter les droits prévus à l'article 11 du Tarif des droits.

Le Bureau consigne toute modification exigée par la Cour fédérale et fournit un certificat de correction.

Lorsque le Bureau est avisé que des changements n'ayant pas d'incidence sur le dessin ont été apportés après l'enregistrement de la demande, il consigne ces changements dans le système DesignPlus (par exemple changement de l'adresse du propriétaire ou changement du représentant aux fins de signification). Dans ce cas, la demande telle qu'elle a été enregistrée n'est pas modifiée.

14. Maintien

Les dessins enregistrés sont valides pour une période de dix ans à condition que le demandeur verse les droits exigés pour le maintien. La protection du dessin ne peut être prolongée au-delà des dix ans suivant la date d'enregistrement.

Si le propriétaire d'un dessin industriel souhaite maintenir la protection pendant plus de cinq ans, il doit acquitter les droits exigés à l'article 2 du Tarif des droits pendant la période initiale de cinq ans qui suit l'enregistrement. S'il ne verse pas ces droits avant la fin de cette période initiale, il devra payer les droits additionnels prévus à l'article 3 du Tarif des droits. S'il n'acquitte pas les droits avant la fin de la période de cinq ans et six mois, la protection cessera le jour suivant.

15. Cessions et autres ententes

15.1 Enregistrement

Cessions et licences

Sur réception des droits réglementaires (article 4 du Tarif des droits), d'une copie du document de cession ou de licence, ou d'un affidavit, le Bureau des dessins industriels enregistrera les cessions ou les licences.

Le Bureau vérifiera la chaîne de titres afin de s'assurer que la personne qui veut céder ses droits est le propriétaire actuel. Le Bureau communiquera avec le demandeur s'il juge que la documentation est ambiguë et que des documents ou des renseignements supplémentaires sont nécessaires.

Le Bureau enregistrera la cession ou la licence seulement pour les dessins énumérés dans le document de cession. Si le demandeur n'a pas versé suffisamment de droits pour couvrir tous les dessins, le Bureau exigera le versement de droits supplémentaires avant d'enregistrer la cession.

Autres enregistrements (p. ex. changements de nom, fusionnements, contrats de sûreté)

D'autres enregistrements (fusionnements, changements de nom, contrats de sûreté, etc.) concernant un dessin industriel enregistré ou en instance d’enregistrement peuvent être enregistrés au Bureau des dessins industriels sur dépôt d'une demande et d'une copie du document donnant effet à l'entente. Aucun droit n'est requis pour ce type d'enregistrement. Le Bureau révisera les documents seulement pour vérifier la chaîne de titres. Le Bureau communiquera avec le client si la documentation n'est pas claire à cet égard.

15.2 Avis d'omission

Cessions et licences

Lorsqu'une requête d'enregistrement de cession portant sur un dessin enregistré ou en instance d'enregistrement ne respecte pas les exigences de l'article 19 du Règlement sur les dessins industriels, le Bureau des dessins industriels transmet au demandeur un avis d'omission précisant ce qu'il doit faire pour se conformer au Règlement.

Requêtes relatives à un dessin enregistré : Si le demandeur ne fournit pas de réponse dans le délai fixé dans l'avis d'omission, la requête ne sera pas enregistrée. Aucun document ne sera retourné et les droits versés conformément à l'article 4 du Tarif des droits, annexe 2 du Règlement seront remboursés.

Requêtes relatives à un dessin en instance d'enregistrement : Si le demandeur ne fournit pas de réponse dans le délai fixé dans l'avis d'omission, la demande d'enregistrement sera enregistré au nom figurant actuellement au dossier. Aucun document ne sera retourné et les droits versés conformément à l'article 4 du Tarif des droits mentionné ci-dessus seront remboursés.

Lorsque le délai de réponse à l'avis d'omission est expiré, les demandeurs qui souhaitent toujours enregistrer la cession ou la licence (pour les dessins enregistrés ou en instance) doivent soumettre une nouvelle requête.

Autres enregistrements (p. ex. changements de nom, fusionnements, contrats de sûreté)

Lorsque la documentation qui accompagne la demande n'est pas claire relativement à la chaîne de titres, le Bureau des dessins industriels transmet au demandeur un avis d'omission demandant des clarifications et/ou de la documentation supplémentaire.

Requêtes relatives à un dessin enregistré ou en instance d'enregistrement : Si aucune réponse n'est reçue dans le délai fixé dans l'avis d'omission, la requête ne sera pas enregistrée. Aucun document ne sera retourné.

Lorsque le délai de réponse à l'avis d'omission est expiré, les demandeurs qui souhaitent toujours enregistrer le document (pour les dessins enregistrés ou en instance) doivent soumettre une nouvelle requête.

Annexe A – Originalité : principes directeurs

Dans l'affaire Clatworthy & Son c. Dale Display (1929), R.C.S. 429, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué que, pour être original, un dessin doit différer suffisamment d'un dessin qui existe déjà.

Extrait de la décision rendue dans l'affaire Bata Industries Ltd. c. Warrington Inc. (1985), 5 C.P.R. 339 : « Il (cet arrêt) semble à tout le moins exiger une étincelle d'inspiration de la part de l'auteur, soit par la création d'un dessin entièrement nouveau ou par la découverte d'un nouvel usage pour un dessin qui existait déjà. Il faut souligner une des définitions que donnent les dictionnaires du terme original : " dont le caractère ou le style est nouveau, inventif, créatif. " (The Concise Oxford Dictionary, 6th ed., 1976). »

Russell-Clarke on Copyright in Industrial Designs, Michael Fysh 5th, Sweet & Maxwell (London) 1974, pp. 36-38, et Re Paramount Pictures Corporation Industrial Design Application (1981), 73 C.P.R. (2nd) 273 : Il faut considérer chacun des dessins dans son ensemble, et ne pas se borner à rechercher les différences. Il faut considérer l'attrait visuel de chacun des dessins vu séparément, en tenant compte bien entendu de la rémanence imparfaite de l'image dans la mémoire visuelle.

Dans l'affaire Dover Ltd. c. Nurnberger Celluloidwaren Fabrik Gebruder Wolff (1910) 27 R.P.C. 175, p. 179, le tribunal a statué que, pour qu'un dessin soit enregistré, il « doit être nouveau ou original en ce qui a trait au type d'objet en fonction de sa nature et de l'usage auquel il est destiné. Un dessin peut être nouveau s'il est appliqué à un seau à charbon mais non à un bonnet. D'autre part, un dessin d'abat-jour de lampe à gaz ne peut être nouveau s'il s'agit d'un ancien dessin d'abat-jour de lampe à pétrole ». Cela limite quelque peu les paramètres de la recherche qui doit être effectuée. Par exemple, si le Bureau reçoit une demande d'enregistrement d'un dessin concernant un seau à charbon, il procède à une recherche de la classe des contenants mais non de celle des vêtements (bonneterie).

Voir Re LeMay c. Welch (1884), 28 Ch. D. 24, Canadian Wm. A. Rogers Limited c. International Silver Company of Canada Limited Ex. Cr. (1932), p. 66, et Angelstone Ltd. c. Artistic Stone Ltd. C.P.R. Vol. 33, 156, p.170 : Le dessin doit être assez original dans l'application considérée et un simple changement de taille ou de proportions n'ajoute rien au concept original et ne devrait pas être retenu par respect pour les autres dessinateurs du même métier.

Voir Phillips c. Harbro' Rubber Co. (1920), 37 R.P.C. 233, et Kaufman Rubber Company Ltd. c. Miner Rubber Company Limited Ex. C.R. 26 : L'ajout de variantes de métier à un dessin qui existe déjà n'est pas suffisant pour rendre le dessin original. Une variation connue en rapport avec un objet ou une classe d'objets ne constitue pas une différence marquée.


| Table des matières |

Date de modification :