Practice Notice: Official Marks pursuant Sub-paragraph 9(1)( n)(iii)

Publication Date: 2007-08-22

NOTE: This notice replaces the notice on public authority status under sub-paragraph 9(1)( n) (iii) published in the Trademarks Journal on February 01, 2006.

This notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between these notices and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Obligation To Evaluate Public Authority Status

The Registrar of Trademarks will require evidence of public authority status on every request to give public notice an official mark pursuant to sub-paragraph 9(1)( n) (iii) of the Trade-marks Act [ Stadium Corporation of Ontario Ltd. v. Wagon-Wheel Concessions Ltd., [1989] 3 F. C. 132 (F.C.T.D. ).

Public authority in Canada

In order for an entity to claim the benefit of sub-paragraph 9(1)( n)(iii) of the Trade-marks Act, it must be a public authority in Canada [ Canada Post Corporation v. United States Postal Service (2005), 47 C.P.R. (4 th) 177 (F.C.T.D.); affirmed (2007), 54 C.P.R. (4 th) 121 (F.C.A.)].

Test To Be Used To Evaluate Public Authority Status

The Registrar of Trademarks will apply the two-part test, adopted by the Federal Court of Appeal [ Ontario Association of Architects v. Association of Architectural Technologists of Ontario, (2002), 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 417 (F.C.A.); reversing (2000), 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 417 (F.C.T.D.), hereinafter referred to as "Ontario Association of Architects"].

The two-part test is made up of the following elements:

Governmental Control

In order to satisfy the first element of the two-part test, an entity must be subject to governmental control within Canada and the government exercising the control must be a Canadian government. [ Canada Post Corporation v. United States Postal Service (2007), 54 C.P.R. (4 th) 121 (F.C.A.); affirming (2005), 47 C.P.R. (4 th) 177 (F.C.T.D.)]. The test of governmental control calls for ongoing government supervision of the activities of the body claiming to be a public authority for the purpose of sub-paragraph 9(1)( n)(iii).

The fact that a self-regulatory body is statutory, and its objects and powers may be amended unilaterally and exclusively by the Legislature that created it, does not in law constitute "governmental control" in this context.

The test of governmental control requires that the government be enabled, directly or through its nominees, to exercise a degree of ongoing influence in the body's governance and decision-making.

The following are examples of the types of governmental control the Registrar may look for in evaluating public authority status (Ontario Association of Architects):

The fact that a body is incorporated as a non-profit corporation with charitable objects, has obtained tax exempt status, the ability to issue charitable receipts to donors, or that, as a foreign charity operating in a Canadian province, it could be asked to provide its accounts, financial and corporate information to the government, is not sufficient to conclude that it is under sufficient significant government control to be a public authority [ Big Sisters Association of Ontario and Big Sisters of Canada v. Big Brothers of Canada, (1997), 75 C.P.R. (3d) 177 (F.C.T.D.), affirmed (1999), 86 C.P.R. (3d) 504 (F.C.A.) and Canadian Jewish Congress v. Chosen People Ministries, Inc. and The Registrar of Trademarks, 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 186 (F.C.T.D.), affirmed 27 C.P.R. (4 th) 193 (F.C.A.)].

Public Benefit

In determining whether a body's functions satisfy the public benefit requirement, it is relevant to consider its objects, duties and powers, including the distribution of its assets. In this context, a duty to do something that is of benefit to the public is relevant as an element of "public benefit", even though it is not a "public duty" in the sense of being legally enforceable by a public law remedy, such as an order of mandamus or its equivalent (Ontario Association of Architects).

Examples of activities which are for public benefit include:

The fact that the activities of a body may also benefit its members is not a fatal objection to characterizing them as also benefiting the public.

Evidence of adoption and use of an official mark

In light of the Federal Court decision in See You In- Canadian Athletes Fund Corporation vs. Canadian Olympic Committee (unreported) 2007 FC 406, the Registrar of Trademarks will require evidence of adoption and use of an official mark. While the Trade-marks Act does not define “adoption” or “use” in regards to official marks, it was held that a common feature of both “adoption” and “use” is that there is an element of public display FileNET Corporation v. Canada (Registrar of Trademarks) (2002), 22 C.P.R. (4 th) 328 (F.C.A.)]. Although sections 3 and 4 of the Trade-marks Act are not applicable to official marks, these sections may nonetheless assist in the interpretation of the meaning of “adoption” and “use” of official marks.

The evidence adduced must demonstrate an element of public display. In FileNET Corporation v. Canada (Registrar of Trademarks) (2002), 22 C.P.R. (4 th) 328 (F.C.A.), use consisting of advertising the mark on a government website in connection with an Internet service was considered sufficient use even though the actual service was not yet available.

The evidence in the following examples was found to be insufficient evidence of adoption and use of official marks:

In Piscitelli v. Ontario (Liquor Control Board) (F.C.T.D.) [2002] 1 F.C. 247, it was held that the display of a sign cannot constitute adoption or use of “millennium” as an official mark because the word millennium was not distinguished in any manner surrounding the text. In this case the usage of the word “millennium” in the sign was merely as a generic or descriptive expression and not as a “mark” within the meaning of section 9 of the Act.

Internal use of a mark in correspondence, e-mails and memoranda is not considered evidence of adoption and use of the mark [See You In- Canadian Athletes Fund Corporation vs. Canadian Olympic Committee (unreported) 2007 FC 406].

Evidence of adoption and use of an official mark by a licensee will not be considered adoption and use by the public authority [Canada Post Corp. v. Post Office (2000), 8 C.P.R. (4 th) 289, Canadian Rehabilitation Council for the Disabled d.b.a. Easter Seals/March of Dimes National Council v. Rehabilitation Foundation for the Disabled d.b.a. Ontario March of Dimes (2004), 35 C.P.R. (4 th), 270 (F.C.T.D.)].

NOTE : The fee set out in Item 12 of the Tariff of Fees, that is payable on the filing of a request pursuant to sub-paragraphs 9(1)( n) or ( n.1) of the Act, is considered to cover the work associated with creating the file and is therefore not transferable or refundable.

Date modified:

Marques officielles en vertu du sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii)

Date de publication : 2007-08-22

NOTE : Le présent énoncé de pratique remplace celui sur le statut d'autorité publique en vertu du sous‑alinéa 9(1) n)(iii) paru dans le Journal des marques de commerce le 1 er février 2006.

Il a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur les pratiques du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation des lois pertinentes. Toutefois, en cas de disparité entre cet énoncé de pratique et les lois pertinentes, ces dernières doivent prévaloir.

Obligation d'évaluer le statut d'autorité publique

Le registraire des marques de commerce exigera une preuve du statut d'autorité publique à l'égard de chaque demande d'avis public d'une marque officielle, conformément au sous‑alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce [ Société ontarienne du Stade Limitée. c. Wagon-Wheel Concessions Ltd., [1989] 3 CF 132 (C.F. 1 re inst.).

Autorité publique au Canada

Pour qu'une entité puisse revendiquer le bénéfice du sous‑alinéa 9(1) n)(iii) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, elle doit être une autorité publique au Canada [ Société canadienne des postes c. United States Postal Service (2005), 47 C.P.R. (4 th) 177 (C.F.), confirmée par (2007), 54 C.P.R. (4 th) 121 (C.A.F.)].

Critère d'évaluation du statut d'autorité publique

Le registraire des marques de commerce se fonde sur le critère à deux volets adopté par la Cour d'appel fédérale [dans l'arrêt Ordre des architectes de l' Ontario c. Association of Architectural Technologists of Ontario, (2002), 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 417 (C.A.F.), infirmant (2000), 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 417 (C.F. 1 re inst.), ci‑après Ordre des architectes de l'Ontario].

Le critère à deux volets repose sur les éléments suivants :

Contrôle exercé par le gouvernement

Afin de satisfaire au premier élément du critère d'évaluation à deux volets, une entité doit être assujettie à un contrôle gouvernemental au Canada, et le gouvernement qui exerce ce contrôle doit être un gouvernement canadien [ Société des postes canadiennes c. United States Postal Service (2007), 54 C.P.R. (4 th) 121 (C.A.F.); confirmant (2005), 47 C.P.R. (4 th) 177 (C.F.)]. Le critère du contrôle gouvernemental exige une supervision continue de la part du gouvernement des activités de l'organisme qui prétend être une autorité publique aux fins du sous-alinéa 9(1) n)(iii).

Le fait qu'un organisme auto-réglementaire soit établi par la loi, et que sa mission et ses pouvoirs puissent être modifiés de façon unilatérale et exclusive par le corps législatif qui l'a créé ne constitue pas en droit un « contrôle exercé par le gouvernement » dans ce contexte.

Le critère du contrôle gouvernemental exige que le gouvernement soit habilité, directement ou par l'entremise de personnes désignées, à exercer une influence continue sur la gouvernance et le processus décisionnel de l'organisme.

Voici des exemples de contrôle exercé par le gouvernement que le registraire peut rechercher en vue d'évaluer le statut d'autorité publique (Ordre des architectes de l'Ontario) :

Le fait qu'un organisme soit incorporé comme société de bienfaisance à but non lucratif, qu'il bénéficie d'une exemption fiscale, qu'il ait la capacité d'émettre des reçus d'impôt pour dons de bienfaisance ou que, en tant qu'organisme de bienfaisance étranger oeuvrant dans une province canadienne, le gouvernement puisse lui demander de fournir des renseignements sur ses comptes ainsi que de l'information financière et corporative, ne permet pas de conclure que l'organisme est soumis à un contrôle important suffisant pour être une autorité publique [Association des Grandes Sœurs de l' Ontario et des Grandes Sœurs du Canada c. Les Grands Frères du Canada, (1997), 75 C.P.R. (3d) 177 (C.F. 1 re inst.), confirmé par (1999), 86 C.P.R. (3d) 504 (C.A.F.) et Congrès juif canadien c. Chosen People Ministries, Inc. et Le registraire des marques de commerce, 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 186 (C.F. 1 re inst.), confirmé par 27 C.P.R. (4 th) 193 (C.A.F.)].

Intérêt public

Pour déterminer si les activités d'un organisme servent un intérêt public, il est pertinent d'examiner sa mission, ses obligations et ses pouvoirs, de même que la répartition de son actif. Dans ce contexte, l'obligation de faire quelque chose qui profite à la population est considérée comme un facteur d'« intérêt public », même si elle ne constitue pas une « obligation publique » dans le sens qu'elle n'est pas exécutoire conformément à un redressement prévu par le droit public, comme une ordonnance de mandamus ou un redressement équivalent (Ordre des architectes de l'Ontario).

Exemples d'activités d'intérêt public :

Le fait que les activités d'un organisme puissent aussi profiter aux membres de l'organisme ne constitue pas une objection fatale à ce qu'on considère ces activités comme profitables à la population.

Preuve d'adoption et d'emploi d'une marque officielle

Compte tenu de la décision de la Cour fédérale dans See You In-Canadian Athletes Fund Corporation c.Comité olympique canadien (non publiée), 2007 CF 406, le registraire des marques de commerce exigera une preuve de l'adoption et de l'emploi d'une marque officielle. Bien que la Loi sur les marques de commerce ne définisse pas les notions d'« adoption » et d'emploi » en ce qui touche les marques officielles, il a été décidé que l'existence d'un élément de présentation en public constitue une caractéristique commune tant de l'« adoption » que de l'« emploi » d'une marque officielle FileNET Corporation c. Canada (Registraire des marques de commerce) (2002), 22 C.P.R. (4 th) 328 (C.A.F.)]. Même si les articles 3 et 4 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce ne s'appliquent pas aux marques officielles, ils peuvent néanmoins éclairer l'interprétation des termes « adoption » et « emploi » en matière de marques officielles.

La preuve soumise doit établir l'existence d'un élément de présentation en public de la marque. Dans l'arrêt FileNET Corporation c. Canada (Registraire des marques de commerce) (2002), 22 C.P.R. (4 th) 328 (C.A.F.), la Cour d'appel fédérale a jugé que l'emploi de la marque sur un site Web du gouvernement en liaison avec l'annonce d'un service Internet constituait un emploi suffisant même si le service annoncé n'était pas encore disponible.

Dans les exemples qui suivent, la preuve a été jugée insuffisante pour établir l'adoption et l'emploi de marques officielles :

Dans Piscitellic.Régie des alcools de l'Ontario (1 re inst.), [2002] 1 C.F. 247, la Cour fédérale a statué que la présentation d'une affiche ne peut constituer l'adoption ou l'emploi de millénium comme marque officielle, car le mot millénium ne se démarque aucunement du contexte. Dans cette affaire, le mot millénium était simplement employé dans l'affiche comme une expression générique ou descriptive, et non comme une « marque » au sens de l'article 9 de la Loi.

L'emploi à l'interne d'une marque dans la correspondance, les courriers électroniques et les notes de services n'est pas considéré comme une preuve d'adoption et d'emploi de la marque [See You In‑Canadian Athletes Fund Corporation c.Comité olympique canadien (non publiée), 2007 CF 406].

Une preuve d'adoption et d'emploi d'une marque officielle par le titulaire d'une licence n'est pas considérée comme établissant l'adoption et l'emploi par l'autorité publique concernée [Société canadienne des postes c. Post Office (2000), 8 C.P.R. (4 th) 289; Conseil canadien pour la réhabilitation des handicapés, s/n Conseil national des timbres de Pâques et de la Marche des dix sous c. Rehabilitation Foundation for the Disabled s/n. La Marche des dix sous de l'Ontario (2004), 35 C.P.R. (4 th), 270 (C.F. 1 re inst.)].

NOTE : Le droit prévu à l'article 12 du Tarif des droits, qui est payable pour la production d'une demande visée aux alinéas 9(1) n) ou n.1) de la Loi, est considéré couvrir le traitement associé à la création du dossier et ne sera donc pas transféré ou remboursé.

Date de modification :