Notice of Decision of the Commissioner of Patents Concerning a Patent Agent

Pursuant to section 16 of the Patent Act, the Commissioner of Patents decided, on September 12, 2003, to refuse to recognize Mr. Harold A. Saffrey as a patent agent. Notice of this Decision is published in the Canadian Patent Office Record in accordance with the requirements of section 18 of the Patent Rules.

Attention is drawn to section 19 of the Patent Rules which stipulates:

"19. (1) When the Commissioner makes a decision pursuant to section 16 of the Act that a person be refused recognition as a patent agent, any correspondence respecting an application sent by the Commissioner or by the Patent Office to that person within the six-month period preceding the date of the Decision and to which no reply has been made by that date is deemed not to have been sent to the applicant.

(2) An application filed by a person who has been refused recognition as a patent agent by the Commissioner or an application that included an appointment of such a person as patent agent shall be treated by the Commissioner as an application filed by the applicant or by the patent agent who appointed the associate patent agent."

Date modified:

Avis d'une décision du commissaire concernant un agent de brevet

En vertu de l'article 16 de la Loi sur les brevets, le commissaire aux brevets a décidé, le 12 septembre 2003, de refuser de reconnaître M. Harold A. Saffrey comme agent de brevets. L'avis de cette décision est publié dans la Gazette du Bureau des brevets, conformément aux dispositions prévues à l'article 18 des Règles sur les brevets.

Veuillez prendre note qu'il est stipulé à l'article 19 des Règles sur les brevets que :

« 19. (1) Lorsque le commissaire rend une décision en vertu de l'article 16 de la Loi refusant de reconnaître une personne comme agent de brevets, toute correspondance concernant la demande envoyée à celle-ci par le commissaire ou le Bureau des brevets dans les six mois précédant la date de la décision et à laquelle aucune réponse n'a été donnée jusqu'à cette date est réputée ne pas avoir été envoyée au demandeur.

(2) La demande déposée par la personne que le commissaire a refusé de reconnaître comme agent de brevets ou la demande dans laquelle une telle personne est nommée agent de brevets du demandeur ou coagent est considérée par le commissaire comme une demande déposée par le demandeur or par l'agent de brevets ayant nommée le coagent, selon le cas. »

Date de modification :