New Patent Law Treaty Will Benefit Canadian and Foreign Investors

OTTAWA, May 22, 2001 — The Honourable Brian Tobin, Minister of Industry, today announced that Canada has signed a new Patent Law Treaty. The implementation of this Treaty will benefit Canadian and foreign investors through a streamlined process for filing and processing patent applications.

"The Government of Canada is hereby making a clear commitment to follow through on one aspect of the Speech from the Throne by promoting innovation and attracting investors by modernizing its patent law," added Minister Tobin. "Signing the Treaty will signal Canada's desire to remain a key player in international discussions on any future harmonization of procedures to administer patents."

The Patent Law Treaty is a World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) accord designed to simplify and harmonize administrative practices among national and regional intellectual property offices (IPOs). The Treaty aims to encourage the use of intellectual property systems, stimulate innovation and will facilitate access by Canadians to foreign IPOs.

The Treaty is expected to result in a clearer set of rules and solid benefits for applicants and owners, as well as their agents.

For more information, please contact:

Heidi Bonnell
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Industry
(613) 995-9001

Pierre Trépanier
Director, Patent Branch
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
(819) 997-1947


BACKGROUNDER

The Patent Law Treaty (PLT) is a World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) treaty. WIPO was established in 1970, and is one of 14 specialized agencies in the United Nations system. Based in Geneva, Switzerland, and composed of 171 member states, WIPO promotes intellectual property (IP) protection, facilitates adoption of IP treaties and assumes an important role in the administration of IP throughout the world.

The Treaty and its regulations will simplify and harmonize administrative practices among national and regional intellectual property offices (IPOs).

More specifically, the key results of the Treaty include: a) simplification of requirements for obtaining a filing date; b) harmonization of requirements that can be requested by national offices, with respect to the form and content of an application; c) possibility for owners and applicants to perform certain administrative procedures without representation; d) simplification of procedures for transfer of ownership; e) possibility of extension of the priority period under specific conditions and; f) availability of enhanced mechanisms to avoid a loss of rights.

Canada is already compliant with many aspects of the PLT. However, some changes may be required to the Patent Act with respect to filing date requirements, claiming date priority, assignment and representation.

International efforts toward patent law harmonization were initiated in 1985. A first round of negotiations concluded in 1991 without an agreement. In 1995, a new round of negotiations was initiated and the PLT was adopted at WIPO's Diplomatic Conference for the Conclusion of the PLT on June 2, 2000. To date, 47 countries have signed the PLT, including the United States and the United Kingdom.

By signing the Treaty, Canada is agreeing in principle with the Treaty and its rules, committing to launch the ratification process and to subsequently amend its national patent law so that Canada's patent administrative formalities conform with the Treaty.

Canada assumed a leadership role by actively participating in all preparatory sessions and at the Diplomatic Conference. During the entire process, Canada has advocated for more substantive patent law harmonization in areas dealing with administrative issues.

Consultations took place with stakeholders over the five-year period. Representatives from the patent agent community, the major private sector stakeholder, have expressed satisfaction with the content of the Treaty and with Canada's signature.

By signing, Canada is following through on one aspect of its Speech from the Throne commitment that "the Government will ensure that Canadian laws and regulations remain among the most modern and progressive in the world, including those for intellectual property."

Date modified:

Le nouveau Traité sur le droit des brevets bénéficiera aux investisseurs canadiens et étrangers

OTTAWA, le 22 mai 2001 — L'honorable Brian Tobin, ministre de l'Industrie, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le Canada a signé un nouveau Traité sur le droit des brevets. La mise en application de ce Traité bénéficiera aux investisseurs canadiens et étrangers, en amorçant un processus simplifié de dépôt et de traitement des demandes de brevets.

« Le gouvernement du Canada respecte l'engagement qu'il a pris dans le discours du Trône pour ce qui est de promouvoir l'innovation et d'attirer les investisseurs en modernisant sa législation sur les brevets, a déclaré le ministre Tobin. La signature du Traité démontre l'intérêt du Canada de continuer d'être un acteur de premier plan dans le cadre de futures négociations internationales concernant l'harmonisation des procédures administratives touchant les brevets. »

Le Traité sur le droit des brevets est un accord établi sous l'égide de l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle, qui a pour objet de simplifier et d'harmoniser les pratiques administratives entre les offices de la propriété intellectuelle (OPI) nationaux et régionaux. Le Traité vise à encourager le recours aux régimes de la propriété intellectuelle et à stimuler l'innovation, permettant aux Canadiens d'avoir plus facilement accès aux OPI étrangers.

Le Traité devrait fournir un ensemble de règles plus claires ainsi que d'importants avantages pour les déposants, les titulaires et leurs agents.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter :

Heidi Bonnell
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre de l'Industrie
(613) 995-9001

Pierre Trépanier
Directeur, Direction des brevets
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
(819) 997-1947


FICHE DOCUMENTAIRE

Le Traité sur le droit des brevets (TDB) est un traité établi sous l'égide de l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle (OMPI). Établie en 1970, l'OMPI est l'une des 14 institutions spécialisées des Nations Unies. Basée à Genève, en Suisse, et comptant 171 États membres, l'OMPI a pour mandat de promouvoir la protection de la propriété intellectuelle, de faciliter l'adoption de traités dans ce domaine et de jouer un rôle important dans l'administration de la propriété intellectuelle à l'échelle mondiale.

Le Traité et ses règlements visent à simplifier et harmoniser les procédures administratives entre les offices de la propriété intellectuelle (OPI) nationaux et régionaux.

Les résultats clés qui découlent du Traité sont notamment : a) une simplification des exigences concernant l'obtention d'une date de dépôt; b) l'harmonisation des exigences des offices nationaux en ce qui concerne la forme et le contenu d'une demande; c) la possibilité pour les titulaires et les déposants d'accomplir certaines formalités administratives sans devoir passer par un mandataire; d) la simplification des procédures concernant le transfert de propriété; e) la possibilité de prolonger le délai de priorité suivant des conditions précises; et f) la mise en place de mécanismes améliorés en vue de prévenir la perte de droits.

Le Canada se conforme déjà à de nombreuses exigences du TDB. Cependant, certains changements touchant les spécifications concernant la date de dépôt, les revendications de priorité, les cessions et la constitution de mandataire devront être apportés à la Loi sur les brevets.

Les premiers efforts internationaux visant l'harmonisation des lois sur les brevets ont été déployés en 1985. La première série de négociations s'est terminée en 1991 sans que les parties arrivent à un accord. Une nouvelle série de négociations a débuté en 1995, et le TDB a été adopté le 2 juin 2000 à la Conférence diplomatique de l'OMPI pour l'adoption du TDB. À ce jour, 47 pays ont signé le TDB, y compris les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni.

En signant le Traité, le Canada donne son accord de principe au Traité et à son règlement d'exécution, et s'engage à amorcer le processus de ratification ainsi qu'à modifier ultérieurement sa loi nationale sur les brevets de façon à ce que les formalités administratives du Canada soient conformes au Traité.

Le Canada a joué un rôle de chef de file en participant activement à toutes les réunions préparatoires et en siégeant à la Commission principale de la Conférence diplomatique. Tout au long du processus, le Canada a réclamé une plus grande harmonisation des lois sur les brevets touchant les procédures administratives.

Des consultations ont eu lieu pendant cinq ans avec les principaux partenaires. Des représentants du milieu des brevets, importants partenaires du secteur privé, se sont dits satisfaits du contenu Traité et sa ratification par le Canada.

En signant le Traité, le Canada donne suite à l'engagement qu'il a pris dans le discours du Trône, suivant lequel le gouvernement compte « s'assurer que nos lois et règlements, y inclus ceux qui concernent la propriété intellectuelle et la compétitivité, demeurent parmi les plus modernes et les plus progressifs du monde… »

Date de modification :