Canadian Copyrights Database Help: Searching Tips


Search query

On the search screen there is a series of three search text boxes. After the words "Enter search text" add the name or number that you want to search. Then select one of the seven "fields" from the drop down menu. These are: author name, category, country of publication, owner/assignee name, registration number, title, year of publication. Each of these fields corresponds to searchable information.

Boolean search

You may use up to three search query boxes using Boolean operators (and, or, but not). These operators can be used to combine several search criteria in order to further refine a search and obtain more specific or relevant results. The operator "and" ensures that both search criteria are present in the resulting documents. The operator "or" ensures that at least one of the search criteria is present in the resulting documents and the operator "but not" is used to exclude words or phrases from a query.

For example, you could look for "A Purple" in the Author field or "A Purple" in the Owner field. Another example would be to look for "A Purple" in the Author field and "D Black" in the Author field but not "Canada" in the Country of Publication field.

Capital/small letters, special characters and accents

The search engine is case sensitive only if both upper and lower case letters are used at the same time. For example, if you enter "house" the search will find all titles with "House", "house" or "HOUSE" If you enter "House" the search will find only those titles containing "House".

The search engine is accent sensitive. If you enter "été" the search will find titles with "été". If you look for "ete" the search will only find titles with "ete".

The search engine is programmed to ignore punctuation except for the punctuation &, @, $, %, ^, <, +, #, | and ~. Punctuation is replaced by a space. For example, a search for the words "on-line" would find the words "on line", "on-line" and "On Line". Also a search for the word "R.I.P." would find the words "R.I.P.", "R I P" and "Q.R.I.P.L.E".

Wild cards

Your query can also include wild cards (an asterisk (*) for a string of letters or numbers or a question mark (?) for a single letter or number) for more flexibility. Wildcards are useful for searching truncation and word stems (e.g. pharm* to retrieve pharmacy, Pharmaceuticals, etc.) or variant spellings (e.g. organi?ation to retrieve organization or organisation).

Number of documents returned

You can modify the number of hits or results provided by the search. The results are ranked based on the hit count which is the number of times individual query words appear in the selected field(s). A hit count equal to the maximum number selected means other relevant documents may not have been picked up. To obtain all relevant documents, you should increase the maximum number or be more specific in your search criteria.

Number of documents per page

By default, the maximum results per list is ten documents. This option lets you define the maximum number of documents displayed per list. The results are ranked based on the hit count. Hit count refers to the number of times individual query words or search criteria appear in the selected field(s).

Execute search

You can now hit the Search button or Reset the search criteria to the default settings and enter new search information.

Search results

The results are displayed in a new window. You may PRINT using your browser. Single-click on one of the result lines to view the details page for that copyright (application number, registration number, date registered, owner name and address, etc.).

Date modified:

Fichier d'aide concernant la base de données sur les droits d'auteur canadiens : Aide à la recherche


Interrogation

L'écran de recherche contient une série de trois boîtes de recherche. À côté du mot « Entrer le texte de recherche », inscrire le nom ou le numéro recherché. Ensuite, choisir l'un des huit « champs » dans le menu déroulant. Ce menu contient les champs suivants : année de publication, catégorie, lieu de publication, nom de l'auteur, nom du cédant, nom du titulaire/cessionnaire, numéro d'enregistrement, titre. Chacun de ces champs correspond à un type de renseignement consultable.

Recherche à l'aide d'opérateurs booléens

On peut utiliser jusqu'à trois boîtes de recherche avec des opérateurs booléens (et, ou, non). On peut utiliser ces opérateurs pour combiner plusieurs critères de recherche, afin de rendre la recherche plus précise et d'obtenir des résultats plus précis et plus pertinents. L'opérateur « et » permet d'obtenir des résultats contenant les deux critères de recherche. L'opérateur « ou » permet d'obtenir des résultats contenant au moins un des critères de recherche. L'opérateur « non » permet d'exclure des mots ou des phrases des résultats de la recherche.

Par exemple, on pourrait saisir « A Purple » dans le champ Nom de l'auteur ou « A Purple » dans le champ Nom du titulaire/cessionnaire. On pourrait aussi entrer « A Purple » dans le champ Nom de l'auteur et « D Black » dans le champ Nom de l'auteur et non « Canada » dans le champ Lieu de publication.

Majuscules/minuscules, caractères spéciaux et accents

Les majuscules et les minuscules auront un effet sur les résultats de la recherche seulement si les deux sont utilisés en même temps. Par exemple, si on cherche le mot « maison », la recherche trouvera « Maison », « maison » ou « MAISON ». Si on cherche le mot « Maison », la recherche trouvera seulement les titres qui contiennent « Maison ».

Les accents auront un effet sur les résultats de la recherche. Si on cherche le mot « été » la recherche trouvera seulement les titres avec « été ». Si on cherche « ete » la recherche trouvera seulement les titres avec « ete ».

Le moteur de recherche ignore la ponctuation et les caractères spéciaux, à l'exception de &, @, $, %, ^, <, +, #, |, ~, !, /, =, >, [, ], _, }, ©, ®, ¢, £, ¤ et ¥. La ponctuation est remplacée par une espace. Par exemple, en cherchant le mot « on-line » la recherche trouvera les mots « on line », « on-line » et « On Line ». Une recherche du mot « R.I.P » trouvera les mots « R.I.P », « R I P » et « Q.R.I.P.L.E ».

Caractères de remplacement

Afin d'obtenir davantage de résultats, votre interrogation peut contenir des caractères de remplacement (un astérisque (*) pour remplacer une chaîne de caractères ou un point d'interrogation (?) pour remplacer un seul caractère). Ces caractères permettent de trouver des mots tronqués, des mots ayant la même racine (p. ex. pharm* vous permet de trouver les mots pharmacy, Pharmaceuticals, etc.) ou des variantes orthographiques (p. ex. organi?ation vous permet de trouver organization et organisation).

Nombre de résultats repérés

Vous pouvez modifier le nombre de résultats repérés lors d'une recherche. Les résultats sont classés en fonction du nombre d'occurrences du mot demandé dans le(s) champ(s) déterminé(s). Si le nombre de résultats obtenus correspond au nombre maximal choisi, il est possible que certains autres documents pertinents n'aient pas été affichés. Pour obtenir tous les documents pertinents, il faut augmenter le nombre maximal de résultats ou préciser ses critères de recherche.

Nombre de documents par page

Par défaut, le nombre maximal de documents est de dix par écran. Cette option permet de modifier le nombre de documents affichés par écran. Les résultats sont classés selon le nombre d'occurences, qui signifie le nombre d'apparitions des termes de l'interrogation ou des critères de recherche dans le(s) champ(s) sélectionné(s).

Exécution de la recherche

Cliquez sur le bouton Rechercher pour entamer la recherche. Cliquez sur Effacer pour vider les champs et entrer de nouvelles interrogations.

Résultats de recherche

Les résultats s'affichent dans la fenêtre en cours. Vous pouvez IMPRIMER ces résultats au moyen de votre fureteur. Cliquez une fois sur l'un des résultats pour faire apparaître une page contenant les détails liés à ce droit d'auteur (numéro de demande, numéro d'enregistrement, date d'enregistrement, nom et adresse du titulaire, etc.).

| Retourner à la page de recherche |
| Introduction à l'aide | Aide à la recherche |
| Description des champs consultables et autres champs |
Date de modification :