Language selection

Search

Instructions for Maintenance Fee Calculation Sheet

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Maintenance Fee Calculation Sheet

The maintenance fee calculation sheet guides the applicant in providing the necessary maintenance fee information. This will assist the Patent Office to correctly apply the payments and to help identify any errors. It will also provide a mechanism for the authorization of credit card or deposit account payments.

It is strongly recommended that the applicant complete the fee calculation sheet by entering the required data and amounts in the appropriate areas, and to include this sheet when submitting maintenance fee payments.

Information about the applicable maintenance fee payable can be obtained by consulting Schedule II, Tariff of Fees, Parts 3 and 5, Maintenance Fees of the Patent Rules.

Calculation of the prescribed maintenance fee

Listing number (if applicable)

Indicate the number that your company is assigning to represent your files for tracking purposes. This information will be used by the finance section in any future communication with you for validation purposes.

Name and address of the person and company paying the fee

Please provide the name of the person paying the fee. For patent applications, the maintenance fee can be paid by the single applicant, if there is a single applicant, or a person authorized by the applicant. In the case of where there are joint applicants, the fee can be paid by one of the applicants or a person authorized by one of the applicants, as defined in sections 36(2) and 37 of the Patent Rules.

Patent application or patent number

Indicate the patent application number or issued patent number for which a maintenance fee is being paid.

Reference number

Indicate the applicant's or patentee's file reference number for which a maintenance fee is being paid.

Due Date

Enter the due date of the maintenance fee being paid.

Maintenance fee

Enter the amount of the maintenance fee being paid. Please note that the amount of the maintenance fee will vary depending on the entity size as defined in subsections 44(3) and 112(3) of the Patent Rules, and on whether the payment occurs on or before the respective anniversary of the filing date as late fees may be applicable.

Small entity

In addition to claiming small entity status, the applicant or patentee must file a signed small entity declaration compliant with subsections 44(3) and 112(3) of the Patent Rules.

Reinstatement fee

Enter the amount of the¸reinstatement fee. If the patent application for which you are submitting a maintenance fee is currently abandoned for non-payment of a maintenance fee, and you are within the prescribed 12-month reinstatement period, it is possible to reinstate your patent application by making a request for the reinstatement of the patent application, by paying the maintenance fee and late fee that should have been paid, and by submitting a reinstatement fee (subsection 73(3) of the Patent Act). In addition, you may have to demonstrate to the Commissioner that failure to take action occurred in spite of the due care having been taken.

Abandonment occurs at the later of six months after the due date or the expiry of the Commissioner's Notice.

Late fees

Enter the amount of the late fee. If the maintenance fee for an application or a patent has not been paid by the anniversary of the filing date, a late fee will be required irrespective of whether a notice has been sent. The payment of the late fee is pursuant to subsections 27.1(2) and 46(2) of the Patent Act and items 8 and 25 of Schedule 2 of the Patent Rules.

Total

The total of the amounts indicated in the maintenance fee and, if applicable, the late fee and the reinstatement fee columns.

Page total

The total of the amounts indicated in the total column.

Method of payment

Please note that we only accept Canadian currency.

To help the Patent Office identify the method of payment of the prescribed fees, please check the applicable box(es).

When paying by credit card, please provide the credit card number and the expiry date, unless the authorization form for payments made by credit card has been completed and submitted to CIPO's finance section.

Authorization to charge deposit account or credit card account

The Patent Office will not charge fees to deposit accounts or credit card accounts unless the deposit account or credit card account authorization is signed and the deposit account or credit card number is indicated.

Authorization to charge a deficiency

Please indicate if you are authorizing CIPO to debit your deposit account or credit card the additional sum of money needed to effect payment of the appropriate fees where there is a clear intent to pay a fee.

If you require assistance in completing the maintenance fee calculation sheet, please contact us.

Please refer to the Patent Act and Patent Rules for further information concerning the official requirements associated with the preceding guidelines. In the event of any inconsistency between these guidelines and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Date modified:

Instructions pour la feuille de calcul de la taxe de maintien en état

Feuille de calcul de la taxe pour le maintien

La feuille de calcul de la taxe pour le maintien en état indique au demandeur les renseignements qu'il doit fournir au sujet de la taxe pour le maintien en état. Ce document aidera le Bureau des brevets à appliquer correctement les paiements et à déceler toute erreur. Il offrira également un mécanisme qui permettra d'autoriser les paiements par carte de crédit ou compte de dépôt.

Il est fortement recommandé au demandeur de remplir la feuille de calcul de la taxe en inscrivant les données et les montants requis aux endroits voulus et de présenter cette feuille avec les paiements de la taxe pour le maintien en état.

Des renseignements sur la taxe pour le maintien en état peuvent être obtenus dans les Règles sur les brevets (voir l'annexe 2, Tarif des taxes, Parties 3 et 5, Taxes pour le maintien en état).

Calcul de la taxe pour le maintien en état réglementaire

Numéro de dossier de l'entreprise (le cas échéant)

Indiquez le numéro de dossier que votre entreprise utilise aux fins de suivi. Cette information sera utilisée par la section des finances lors de communications futures avec vous aux fins de validation.

Nom et adresse de la personne et de l'entreprise qui acquittent la taxe

Veuillez indiquer le nom de la personne qui acquitte la taxe. Dans le cas des demandes de brevet, la taxe de maintien en état peut être payée par le demandeur unique, s'il y a un seul demandeur, ou une personne autorisée par le demandeur. Dans le cas où il y des codemandeurs, la taxe de maintien en état peut être payée par l'un des codemandeurs ou une personne autorisée par l'un des codemandeurs, conformément au paragraphe 36(2) et à l'article 37 des Règles sur les brevets.

Numéro de la demande de brevet ou du brevet

Indiquez le numéro de la demande de brevet ou du brevet délivré pour lequel une taxe pour le maintien en état est acquittée.

Numéro de référence

Indiquez le numéro de référence du dossier du demandeur ou du breveté pour lequel une taxe de maintien en état est acquittée.

Date d'échéance

Inscrivez la date d'échéance de la taxe pour le maintien en état qui est acquittée.

Taxe pour le maintien en état

Inscrivez le montant de la taxe acquittée. Il est à noter que le montant de la taxe variera compte tenu de la taille de l'entité, telle qu'elle est définie aux paragraphes 44(3) et 112(3) des Règles sur les brevets, et compte tenu du fait, que le paiement est effectué au plus tard à l'anniversaire respectif de la date de dépôt, puisqu'une surtaxe peut être applicable.

Petite entité

En plus de revendiquer le statut de petite entité, le demandeur ou le breveté doit déposer une déclaration signée du statut de petite entité conformément aux paragraphes 44(3) et 112(3) des Règles sur les brevets.

Taxe de rétablissement

Inscrire le montant de la taxe de rétablissement. Si la demande de brevet pour laquelle vous soumettez une taxe pour le maintien en état est actuellement considérée abandonnée pour non- paiement d'une taxe de maintien, et que la période de 12 mois prévue par la loi pendant laquelle vous pouvez rétablir votre demande n'est pas échue, vous pouvez rétablir votre demande de brevet en présentant une demande à cet effet, en versant la taxe de maintien qui aurait dû être acquittée ainsi que la surtaxe et en soumettant la taxe de rétablissement (voir le paragraphe 73(3) de la Loi sur les brevets). De plus, vous devez démontrer au commissaire que l'omission de prendre les mesures qui s'imposaient a été commise bien que la diligence requise ait été exercée.

Les abandons surviennent soit, 6 mois après la date d'échéance ou, à l'expiration de l'avis du commissaire, selon laquelle de ces dates arrive en dernier.

Surtaxe

Inscrire le montant de la surtaxe. Si la taxe de maintien en état pour une demande de brevet ou un brevet n'a pas été payée au plus tard à la date d'anniversaire du dépôt, une surtaxe sera requise, qu'un avis vous ait été envoyé ou non. Le paiement de la surtaxe est conforme aux paragraphes 27.1(2) et 46(2) de la Loi sur les brevets et des articles 8 et 25 de l'annexe 2 des Règles sur les brevets.

Total

Le total des montants indiqués dans les colonnes taxe pour le maintien en état, de la surtaxe si applicable et de la taxe de rétablissement.

Total cumulatif

Le total cumulatif des montants indiqués dans la colonne total.

Méthode de paiement

Veuillez prendre note que nous acceptons seulement les devises canadiennes.

Pour aider le Bureau des brevets à déterminer la méthode de paiement des taxes prescrites, veuillez cocher la ou les cases applicables.

Si vous payez par carte de crédit, veuillez indiquer le numéro de la carte et la date d'expiration, à moins que vous n'ayez déjà rempli le formulaire d'autorisation concernant les paiements effectués par carte de crédit et l'ayez fait parvenir à la section des finances de l'OPIC.

Autorisation de prélèvement sur un compte de dépôt ou un compte carte de crédit

Le Bureau des brevets ne prélèvera pas de taxes sur des comptes de dépôt ou des comptes carte de crédit, à moins que l'autorisation voulue ne soit dûment signée et que le numéro de compte de dépôt ou de compte carte de crédit ne soit indiqué.

Autorisation de prélever un montant en souffrance

Veuillez indiquer si vous autorisez l'OPIC à prélever sur votre compte de dépôt ou compte carte de crédit le montant d'argent supplémentaire requis pour effectuer le paiement des taxes requises, lorsque le titulaire ou le breveté a indiqué clairement son intention d'acquitter une taxe.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour remplir la feuille de calcul de la taxe pour le maintien en état, contactez-nous.

Veuillez consulter la Loi sur les brevets et les Règles sur les brevets pour connaître les exigences officielles associées aux lignes directrices précédentes. En cas de divergence entre les présentes lignes directrices et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Date de modification :