Sequence Listings

October 9, 2007

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) practice and interpretation of relevant legislation and should not be quoted as, or considered to be, a legal authority. In the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. It is the responsibility of the applicant/patentee to decide how to proceed with respect to a particular application or other matter.

Rules amending the Patent Rules were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, Vol. 141, No. 10 , on May 16, 2007, and came into force on June 2, 2007. Within this new rules package, there were a number of changes regarding the format of sequence listings. This practice notice attempts to clarify the amendments and considers the impact these changes will have on stakeholders.

Within these new rules significant changes were implemented regarding the format of sequence listings. The amendment brings the Canadian format for submitting sequence listings in line with the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) standard by referencing the latter in the Patent Rules. The advantage of using the reference technique is that the Canadian standard will automatically change whenever the PCT standard changes, thereby ensuring that our standard is always in keeping with the international standard and reducing the regulatory burden for applicants. Specifically, sections 111-131 were repealed and replaced with new section 111 which reads:

111.

  1. If an application contains disclosure of a nucleotide or amino acid sequence other than a sequence identified as forming a part of the prior art, the description shall contain, in respect of that sequence, a sequence listing in electronic form, and both the sequence listing and the electronic form shall comply with the PCT sequence listing standard
  2. If an application originally filed without a sequence listing is amended to include a sequence listing, the applicant shall file a statement to the effect that the listing does not go beyond the disclosure in the application as filed.
  3. If a sequence listing initially filed in paper form or in an electronic form that does not comply with the PCT sequence listing standard is replaced by a sequence listing in an electronic form that does comply with that standard, the applicant shall file a statement to the effect that the replacement listing does not go beyond the disclosure in the application as filed.

PCT sequence listing standard is defined in section 2 of the Patent Rules and reads as follows:

"PCT sequence listing standard" means the Standard for the Presentation of Nucleotide and Amino Acid Sequence Listings in International Patent Applications under the PCT provided for in the Administrative Instructions under the Patent Cooperation Treaty;

Further information regarding the PCT sequence listing standard can be found as standard 25 (Annex C) in the administrative instructions online.

The new rules also contain a transitional provision for those applications that were filed prior to June 2, 2007. New transitional provision 43 reads as follows:

43. In respect of applications filed before the coming into force of these Rules, the applicant may substitute the requirements of sections 111 to 131 of the Patent Rules as they read immediately before the coming into force of these Rules for the requirements of section 111 of the Patent Rules.

Applicants should clearly indicate the choice of Rules to apply in a covering letter and comply accordingly.

The intent of new Rule 111(1) is to require that the sequence listing be present only in an electronic form. Therefore, when a sequence listing submitted in accordance with subsection 111(1) of the Patent Rules is part of an application of record in the Office, it is not permissible for a paper copy of the sequence listing to also be part of that application. Applicants will be requisitioned to withdraw any paper copy of a sequence listing for which a PCT sequence listing standard compliant electronic sequence listing has been made of record.

The office recognizes that there is currently no means for the public to easily access the electronic form of the sequence listing from CIPO. However, our IT team is actively working on making the electronic sequence listings publicly available on the Canadian Patent Database (CPD). Once available on the CPD clients will be able to view the complete sequence listing online. CIPO wants to assure our clients that sequence listings will be available online on the CPD in a near future. In the meantime, the sequence listings are available for public inspection, once an application is laid open, upon request at CIPO.

If you have questions regarding the format for sequence listings please contact Doug Lloyd at 819-639-5185.

Date modified:

Listages de séquences

9 octobre 2007

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser la pratique actuelle de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) l'interprétation faite par l'OPIC de la loi applicable. Elle ne doit pas être citée ni être considérée comme ayant une valeur juridique. En cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaut. Il est de la responsabilité du demandeur/breveté de décider de la procédure à suivre à l'égard d'une demande particulière ou de toute autre question.

Les Règles modifiant les Règles sur les brevets ont été publiées le 16 mai 2007 dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, Vol. 141, No 10, et elles sont entrées en vigueur le 2 juin 2007. Cette nouvelle série de règles comporte plusieurs modifications à la présentation des listages de séquences. Le présent énoncé de pratique vise à expliquer les modifications et à déterminer les répercussions qu'elles auront sur les parties concernées.

Cette nouvelle série de règles comporte plusieurs modifications à la présentation des listages de séquences. Les modifications harmonisent la norme canadienne de présentation des listages de séquences avec la norme du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets (PCT) en incorporant celle-ci par renvoi dans les Règles sur les brevets. L'utilisation de l'incorporation par renvoi a pour avantage que la norme canadienne changera automatiquement quand la norme du PCT changera. Ainsi, nos normes concorderont toujours avec la norme internationale ce qui allégera le fardeau de la réglementation pour les demandeurs. Plus particulièrement, les articles 111 à 131 ont été abrogés et remplacés par le nouvel article 111, qui se lit comme suit :

111.

  1. Le listage des séquences de nucléotides ou d'acides aminés qui n'est pas désigné comme faisant partie d'une découverte antérieure est décrit d'une manière conforme à la Norme PCT de listages des séquences et présenté dans le format électronique prévu à cette norme.
  2. Dans le cas où une demande est initialement déposée sans un listage des séquences et est subséquemment modifiée pour en inclure un, le demandeur dépose une déclaration selon laquelle le listage n'a pas une portée plus large que la demande initialement déposée.
  3. Dans le cas où un listage des séquences est déposé dans une forme — sur support papier ou format électronique — qui ne respecte pas les exigences de la Norme PCT de listages des séquences et est déposé à nouveau dans un format électronique conforme à cette norme, le demandeur dépose une déclaration selon laquelle le listage de remplacement n'a pas une portée plus large que le listage initialement déposé dans la demande.

La norme PCT de listages des séquences est définie à l'article 2 des Règles sur les brevets et se lit comme suit :

« Norme PCT de listages des séquences » La Norme relative à la présentation des listages des séquences de nucléotides et d'acides aminés dans les demandes internationales de brevet déposées selon le PCT et qui est prévue aux Instructions administratives du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets.

On peut trouver en ligne plus d'information concernant la norme PCT de listages des séquences, sous la norme 25 (Annexe C), à la page des instructions administratives.

Les nouvelles Règles renferment aussi une disposition transitoire qui s'applique aux demandes déposées avant le 2 juin 2007. Le nouvel article transitoire 43 se lit comme suit :

43. À l'égard de toute demande déposée avant l'entrée en vigueur des présentes règles, le demandeur peut substituer les exigences des articles 111 à 131 des Règles sur les brevets dans leur version antérieure à l'entrée en vigueur des présentes règles aux exigences de l'article 111 des Règles sur les brevets.

Les demandeurs devraient indiquer clairement dans une lettre d'accompagnement les Règles qu'ils choisissent d'appliquer et s'y conformer en conséquence.

Le nouveau paragraphe 111(1) des Règles a pour objet d'exiger que le listage de séquences soit déposé exclusivement sur support électronique. Par conséquent, lorsqu'un listage de séquences présenté conformément au paragraphe 111(1) des Règles sur les brevets fait partie d'une demande officielle soumise à l'Office, il n'est pas possible de joindre à la demande une version imprimée du listage des séquences. Les demandeurs devront retirer la version imprimée d'un listage des séquences pour lequel un listage des séquences sur support électronique conforme à la norme PCT de listage des séquences a été accepté à titre de version officielle.

L'Office est conscient que le public n'a actuellement aucun moyen facile de consulter la version électronique du listage des séquences à l'OPIC. Toutefois, le groupe de la TI s'emploie à mettre les listages de séquences électroniques à la disposition du public dans la Base de données sur les brevets du Canada (BDBC). Une fois la chose faite, les clients de la BDBC pourront consulter en direct tous les listages des séquences. L'OPIC désire assurer à ses clients qu'ils pourront consulter en direct les listages des séquences dans la BDBC dans un futur proche. Entre-temps, il sera possible de consulter les listages des séquences en s'adressant à l'OPIC dès que la demande sera rendue publique.

Si vous avez des questions sur la présentation des listages de séquences, veuillez communiquer avec Doug Lloyd (819-639-5185).

Date de modification :