Service of Documents on the Registrar of Trademarks

Publication date: 2008-01-23

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Canadian Intellectual Property Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

The following practice notice provides guidance on how to effect service on the Registrar of Trademarks (the "Registrar").

Appeals of Decisions of the Registrar (Section 56 of the Trade-marks Act) and other Notices of Application filed with the Federal Court

Whether or not the Registrar is named as Respondent in a notice of application filed with the Federal Court either appealing a decision of the Registrar under section 56 of the Trade-marks Act or seeking judicial review of a decision of the Registrar, rules 304(1)(b) and 127 of the Federal Courts Rules require that the notice of application be personally served upon the Registrar.

Personal Service

Where a document is required to be personally served on the Registrar, personal service may be effected by:

1. Attending at the Canadian Intellectual Property Office and personally leaving the document with an employee in the Executive Office of the Registrar who is authorised to accept service on behalf of the Registrar.

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Executive Office to the Registrar of Trademarks

50 Victoria Street, Phase I
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0C9
Tel.: 819-994-5179

OR

2. Rule 133 of the Federal Courts Rules provides that personal service of originating documents on the Registrar may be effected by filing the originating document and two copies of it with the Federal Court Registry.

Leaving documents at the Canadian Intellectual Property Office mail room or sending the documents by courier, mail or facsimile does not constitute personal service.

Requirement to File Copies of all Notices of Appeal

All notices of appeal filed in the Federal Court appealing a decision of the Registrar must also be filed with the Registrar (ss.56(2)of the Trade-marks Act). The requirements under subsections 56(1), (2) and (3) of the Trade-marks Act are obligatory in nature and a failure to comply with this provision may render the appeal a nullity (Crush International Limited v. Canada Dry Ltd., 47 C.P.R. (2d) 124). Notices of appeal from decisions of the Registrar filed in the Federal Court may be transmitted to the attention of:

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Attention: I.C. Legal Services

50 Victoria Street, Phase I
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0C9

Tel.: 819-994-0015
Fax: 819-997-1890

Non-Personal Service

Where a document is not required to be personally served, service may be effected on the Registrar by sending the document to the Canadian Intellectual Property Office, attention IC Legal Services, at the address provided directly above. Non-personal service may include, where the applicable rules of court allow: mailing the document, delivering the document by courier or transmitting the document by facsimile (see for example Rules 138 -143 of the Federal Courts Rules).

Federal Court Judgments and Stays of Proceedings

In accordance with section 61 of the Trade-marks Act, a certified copy of every judgment or order of the Federal Court, Federal Court of Appeal, and the Supreme Court of Canada relating to a trademark is filed with the Registrar by an officer of the Federal Court.

Section 50 of the Federal Courts Act provides for stays of proceedings being conducted before the Federal Courts and the Federal Court may stay the actions of the Registrar pending an appeal from the Federal Court to the Federal Court of Appeal (Ault Foods Ltd. v. Canada (1992), 44 C.P.R. (3d) 507 (F.C.T.D.).

Despite any subsequent appeals from the Federal Court to the Federal Court of Appeal of decisions of the Registrar (with the exception of subsequent appeals in opposition and section 45 proceedings as discussed below), the Registrar must, absent a stay of proceedings, act in accordance with all judgments and orders of the Federal Court.

Appeals of Decisions from the Registrar in Opposition and Section 45 Proceedings

Pursuant to subsections 39(1) and 45(5) of the Trade-marks Act, the Registrar must act in accordance with "…the final judgment given in the appeal." In appeals concerning a decision of the Registrar under subsections 38(8) or 45(4) respectively, the Registrar considers the judgment of the Federal Court to be the final judgment unless that Federal Court judgment is subsequently appealed to the Federal Court of Appeal. In the case of a subsequent appeal to the Federal Court of Appeal, the Registrar considers that she can not act under subsections 39(1) or 45(5) of the Trade-marks Act until such time as the Federal Court of Appeal renders its judgment, which judgment is considered to be the final judgment given in the appeal (unless the matter is then is heard by the Supreme Court of Canada, in which case, the final judgment is that of the Supreme Court of Canada).

The accuracy of the Register of Trademarks and the status of the trademarks at issue in litigation depends upon the parties keeping the Registrar apprised of the conduct of litigation, including notifying the Registrar of the commencement and disposition of any and all subsequent appeals. Copies of litigation documents, including notices of appeal and discontinuances can be sent to the attention of:

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Attention: I.C. Legal Services

50 Victoria Street, Phase I
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0C9

Tel.: 819-994-0015
Fax: 819-997-1890

Date modified:

Signification de documents au registraire des marques de commerce

Date de publication : 2008-01-23

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur les pratiques de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et sur l'interprétation des lois pertinentes. Toutefois, en cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

L'énoncé de pratique qui suit contient des directives sur la façon de signifier des documents au registraire des marques de commerce (le « registraire »).

Appels de décisions rendues par le registraire (article 56 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce) et autres avis de demande déposés à la Cour fédérale

Que la registraire soit désignée ou non en tant que défendeur dans un avis de demande produit à la Cour fédérale soit pour interjeter appel d'une décision du registraire en vertu de l'article 56 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce ou pour demander un contrôle judiciaire à l'égard d'une décision du registraire, l'alinéa 304(1)b) et l'article 127 des Règles des Cours fédérales exigent que l'avis de demande soit signifié personnellement au registraire.

Signification à personne

Lorsqu'un document doit être signifié personnellement au registraire, la signification à personne peut être effectuée de la façon suivante :

1. En se présentant à l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et en remettant personnellement les documents à un employé du Bureau de direction du registraire qui est autorisé à accepter la signification au nom du registraire.

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Bureau du registraire des marques de commerce

50, rue Victoria, Phase I
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0C9
Tél. : 819-994-5179

OU

2. L'article 133 des Règles des Cours fédérales prévoit que la signification à personne d'un acte introductif d'instance au registraire peut être effectuée par dépôt de l'original et de deux copies du document au greffe de la Cour fédérale.

Le dépôt de documents à la salle du courrier de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada ou l'envoi de documents par service de messageries , par la poste ou par télécopieur ne constituent pas une signification à personne.

Exigence concernant la transmission des copies des avis d'appel

Tout avis d'appel d'une décision rendue par la registraire produit à la Cour fédérale doit également être produit au bureau du registraire (paragraphe 56(2) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce). Les exigences prévues aux paragraphes 56(1), (2) et (3) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce sont de nature impérative, et le non-respect de ces dispositions peut entraîner la nullité de l'appel (Crush International Limited v. Canada Dry Ltd., 47 C.P.R. (2d) 124). Les avis d'appel de décisions rendues par la registraire produits à la Cour fédérale peuvent être transmis à l'adresse suivante :

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
À l'attention des Services juridiques d'IC

50, rue Victoria, Phase I
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0C9

Tél. : 819-994-0015
Téléc. : 819-997-1890

Autres modes de signification

Lorsqu'il n'est pas exigé qu'un document soit signifié à personne, on peut effectuer la signification au registraire en faisant parvenir le document à l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, à l'attention des Services juridiques d'IC, à l'adresse indiquée ci-dessus. Par autres modes de signification, on entend, lorsque les règles de procédure applicables le permettent, l'envoi du document par la poste, l'envoi du document par service de messageries ou la transmission du document par télécopieur (voir, par exemple, les articles 138 à 143 des Règles des Cours fédérales).

Jugements des Cours fédérales et suspensions d'instances

Conformément à l'article 61 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, un fonctionnaire de la Cour fédérale produit au registraire une copie certifiée de tout jugement ou de toute ordonnance de la Cour fédérale, de la Cour d'appel fédérale ou de la Cour suprême du Canada concernant une marque de commerce.

L'article 50 de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales prévoit la suspension des procédures tenues auprès des Cours fédérales et prévoit que la Cour fédérale peut suspendre les procédures dans toute affaire tranchée par la registraire en attendant l'issue de l'appel d'une décision de la Cour fédérale interjetée auprès de la Cour d'appel fédérale (Ault Foods Ltd. c. Canada (1992), 44 C.P.R. (3d) 507 (SPICF).

Malgré tout appel subséquent interjeté de la Cour fédérale à la Cour d'appel fédérale à l'égard de décisions du registraire (à l'exception d'appels subséquents dans des procédures d'opposition et des procédures en vertu de l'article 45, comme on l'explique ci-après), la registraire doit, en l'absence d'une suspension des procédures, se conformer à tous les jugements et ordonnances de la Cour fédérale.

Appels de décisions rendues par le registraire dans des procédures d'opposition et des procédures en vertu de l'article 45

Conformément aux paragraphes 39(1) et 45(5) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, la registraire doit se conformer au « … jugement définitif rendu en l'espèce. » En cas d'appels interjetés à l'égard de décisions du registraire rendues en vertu des paragraphes 38(8) ou 45(4) respectivement, la registraire considère que le jugement de la Cour fédérale est le jugement définitif à moins que celui-ci ne soit ultérieurement porté en appel auprès de la Cour d'appel fédérale. Dans un tel cas, la registraire considère qu'il ne peut se conformer au paragraphe 39(1) ou 45(5) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce tant que la Cour d'appel fédérale n'aura pas rendu son jugement, lequel sera considéré comme le jugement définitif rendu en l'espèce (à moins que l'affaire ne soit entendue par la Cour suprême du Canada, dans lequel cas le jugement définitif sera celui rendu par cette instance).

Pour assurer l'exactitude du registre des marques de commerce et du statut des marques visées par des litiges, il faut que les parties tiennent la registraire au courant du déroulement des litiges, notamment en avisant la registraire du début et de l'issue de tout appel subséquent. Les copies de documents concernant des litiges, y compris les avis d'appel et de désistement, peuvent être envoyées à l'adresse suivante :

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
À l'attention des Services juridiques d'IC

50, Victoria, Phase I
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0C9

Tél. : 819-994-0015
Téléc. : 819-997-1890

Date de modification :