Language selection

Search

Archived — Tell me more about patents (Page 3 of 4)

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office



Can a patent agent help?

A patent agent has special training in preparing and following a patent application through the entire patent process. This process is often called “prosecuting a patent”.

A patent agent can help you write your patent application and help you correspond with the Canadian Intellectual Property Office’s (CIPO’s) Patent Office. The more you know about what patents are, the more you will be able to help your patent agent write a thorough and accurate description of your invention. Remember, no one knows more about your invention than you do.

Consult our list of registered patent agents.

The Patent Office and CIPO

The Patent Office is part of CIPO. CIPO administers Canada’s intellectual property laws and gives information to Canadians about intellectual property. This helps support and promote economic development.

CIPO also gives Canadians the tools they need to search Canadian and foreign patent documents. We also have a search room that you can use while you are researching patents and other records.

The Patent Office receives and examines your applications for patents. We grant patents for applicants that qualify. When we are asked to, we also record when a patent is sold or assigned to another person.

The Patent Office is located in Gatineau, Quebec. For more information, contact CIPO.

Review—Tell me more about patents


Date modified:

Pour en savoir davantage sur les brevets (Page 3 de 4)



Un agent de brevets peut-il être utile?

Un agent de brevets a suivi une formation spécialisée dans la préparation et le suivi d’une demande de brevet tout au long du processus d’obtention du brevet. On appelle souvent ce processus « la poursuite d’une demande brevet ».

Un agent de brevets peut vous aider à rédiger votre demande et à correspondre avec le Bureau des brevets de l’Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC). Plus vous en savez sur ce qu’est un brevet, mieux vous pourrez aider votre agent de brevets à rédiger une description complète et précise de votre invention. N’oubliez pas que personne ne connaît mieux votre invention que vous.

Consultez notre liste d’agents de brevets inscrits.

Le Bureau des brevets et l’OPIC

Le Bureau des brevets fait partie de l’OPIC. L’OPIC applique les lois sur la propriété intellectuelle au Canada et donne de l’information aux Canadiens sur la propriété intellectuelle. Ceci aide à appuyer et à promouvoir le développement économique.

L’OPIC donne aux Canadiens les outils dont ils ont besoin pour rechercher des documents de brevets canadiens et étrangers. Nous avons aussi une salle de recherche que vous pouvez utiliser pour chercher des brevets et d’autres documents.

Le Bureau des brevets reçoit et examine vos demandes de brevet. Nous délivrons des brevets aux demandeurs qui satisfont aux exigences. Sur demande, nous inscrivons aussi au registre la date de vente ou de cession d’un brevet à une autre personne.

Le Bureau des brevets est situé à Gatineau, au Québec. Pour d’autres renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’OPIC.

En résumé — Pour en savoir davantage sur les brevets


Date de modification :