Language selection

Search

Writing a patent application (page 5 of 8)

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office



Claims

The claims you make in your application are the legal foundation that protects your patent. They form a boundary around your patent that lets others know when they are trespassing on your rights. You define the limits of this boundary with the words and phrases in your claims.

Your claims are key to getting complete protection for your invention; therefore, you may wish to work with a professional patent agent to make sure your claims are properly drafted.

When you write the claims section, you should consider the following:


The scope of your claims

Each claim should have only one meaning, which can be either broad (general and high level) or narrow (more specific), but not both at the same time. Writing many claims, where each one has its own scope, means you can get legal title to several aspects of your invention.

Here is an example of a broad claim (claim 1) found in a patent application for a collapsible tent frame.

Claim 8 for the same patent is narrower in scope and focuses on a specific aspect of one part of the invention. Try reading through the claims for this patent and notice how the section begins with broad claims and then moves towards claims that are narrower in scope.

Look at another example. In this patent application for an electrical connector, the first claim keeps getting referred to by later claims. This means that all the features in the first claim are also included in the later claims. As more features are added, the claims become narrower in scope.

The characteristics of your claims

Three things you should work toward when you are writing your claims are to make them clear, complete and supported.

Your claim must be clear so that you do not cause the reader to wonder about the claim. If you find yourself using words such as "thin", "strong", "a major part", "such as" or "when required", then you are probably not being clear enough. These words force the reader to make a judgement based on their opinion rather than on objective observation.

Each claim should be complete so that it covers an inventive feature and have enough elements around it to put the invention in the proper context.

The claims have to be supported by the description. This means that everything about your invention that you discuss in the claims must be fully explained in the description. Also, any terms you use in the claims must either be in the description or be clearly suggested by the description.

The structure of your claims

A claim is a single sentence (statement) made up of three parts: the preamble (or introductory phrase), the body (or purview) and the transitional phrase.

The preamble (or introductory phrase) names the category of the invention, and sometimes the purpose (for example, a machine for waxing paper, a composition for fertilizing soil).

The purview (or body) of the claim lists the main parts of the invention, such as parts of a device, steps of a process method, ingredients of a composition or groups in the chemical formula of a compound.

The transitional phrase joins the previous two parts. It is made up of words and phrases such as:

Note: The transitional phrase describes how the body of the claim relates to the introductory phrase. The transitional phrase is also important in assessing the scope of the claim as the phrase can be restrictive or permissive in nature.

In the following example, "A data input device" is the preamble, "comprising" is the transitional phrase, and the rest of the claim is the body.

Example

"A data input device comprising:

Keep in mind

Should the Patent Office object to one of your claims, it does not mean that the rest of your claims are not valid. Each claim is judged on its own value. This is why it is important to make claims on all aspects of your invention; doing so is a way of making sure that your invention receives the most protection possible. Here are some tips on writing your claims. Once you have finished this section you have only the abstract and petition left to write!

Tips on writing claims

Here is a summary that will help you write your claims:


Date modified:

Rédaction d'une demande de brevet (page 5 de 8)



Revendications

Les revendications que vous faites dans votre demande constituent la fondation juridique qui protège votre brevet. Elles forment une frontière autour de votre brevet qui signale aux autres qu’ils empiètent sur vos droits. Vous définissez les limites de cette frontière par les mots et les phrases utilisés dans vos revendications.

Vos revendications sont l’élément-clé pour obtenir la protection complète de votre invention. Vous voudrez peut-être travailler avec un agent de brevet professionnel pour vous assurer qu’elles sont rédigées correctement.

En rédigeant cette section, vous devriez accorder une attention particulière aux éléments suivants :


La portée de vos revendications

Chaque revendication ne doit avoir qu’une signification, qui peut être large (générale et de haut niveau) ou étroite (plus précises), mais pas les deux à la fois. En rédigeant plusieurs revendications, chacune ayant sa propre portée, vous pouvez avoir un titre juridique pour plusieurs aspects de votre invention.

Voici un exemple de revendication large (revendication 1) que l’on trouve dans une demande de brevet pour un support à crayon pour casque.

La revendication 5 pour le même brevet est de portée plus étroite et traite d’un aspect particulier de l’invention. Essayez de lire les revendications de ce brevet et notez que la section commence par des revendications larges et progresse vers des revendications de portée plus étroite.

Examinez un autre exemple. Dans cette demande de brevet pour un chauffe-eau domestique, la première revendication est constamment invoquée dans les revendications suivantes. Tous les aspects de la première revendication sont donc aussi inclus dans les revendications suivantes. Au fur et à mesure que des aspects sont ajoutés, le sens des revendications devient plus étroit.

Les caractéristiques de vos revendications

Vous devriez viser trois choses lorsque vous rédigez vos revendications : les rendre claires, complètes et fondées sur la description.

Votre revendication doit être claire pour éviter une interprétation du lecteur. Si vous utilisez des mots comme « mince », « fort », « une grande partie », « tel que », ou « au besoin », vous n’êtes probablement pas assez clair. Ces mots obligent le lecteur à porter un jugement en fonction de son opinion plutôt que d’une observation objective.

Chaque revendication doit être complète, c’est-à-dire qu’elle doit comprendre une caractéristique inventive et présenter suffisamment d’éléments pour mettre l’invention dans le bon contexte.

Les revendications doivent être fondées sur la description. Cela signifie que tout ce qui concerne votre invention et dont vous parlez dans les revendications doit être entièrement expliqué dans la description. De plus, les mots que vous utilisez dans les revendications doivent se trouver dans la description ou pouvoir être clairement suggérés par la description.

La structure de vos revendications

Une revendication est rédigée en une seule phrase (un énoncé) composée de trois parties : le préambule (ou l’introduction), le corps (ou la portée) et l’expression transitoire.

Le préambule (ou l’introduction) nomme la catégorie de l’invention et parfois l’utilité (par exemple un appareil servant à cirer le papier, une composition pour fertiliser le sol).

Le corps (ou la portée) de la revendication désigne les principaux éléments de l’invention, comme les pièces d’un appareil, les étapes d’un procédé ou d’une méthode, les ingrédients d’une composition ou les groupes dans la formule chimique d’un composé.

L’expression transitoire fait le lien entre les deux parties précédentes et se compose de mots ou d’expressions comme :

Note : L’expression transitoire décrit la façon dont le corps de la revendication se rapporte à l’introduction. Elle est importante dans l’évaluation de la portée de la revendication parce qu’elle peut être de nature restrictive ou permissive.

Dans l’exemple qui suit, « un dispositif de saisie des données » est le préambule, « comprenant » est l’expression transitoire et le reste de la revendication forme le corps.

Exemple

« Un dispositif de saisie des données comprenant :

N'oubliez pas

Si le Bureau des brevets soulève une objection à l’égard de l’une de vos revendications, cela ne signifie pas pour autant que le reste de vos revendications ne sont pas valides. Chaque revendication est jugée selon sa propre valeur. C’est pourquoi il est important d’inclure des revendications pour tous les aspects de votre invention; cette façon de faire peut vous assurer que votre invention recevra la meilleure protection possible. Voici quelques conseils sur la rédaction de vos revendications. Une fois que vous avez terminé la présente section, il ne vous reste que l’abrégé et la pétition à rédiger!

Conseils sur la rédaction des revendications

Voici un résumé qui vous aidera à rédiger vos revendications :


Date de modification :