Writing a patent application (page 7 of 8)



Petition

Your petition is your formal request for a patent. It states your name and address, the title of the patent, and information about priority, patent agents and representatives, and more.

Here are some general instructions for each section of your petition:


Section 1

In this section, you ask for a patent. If you are the applicant, this section also includes your name, your complete address and the title of your patent. You have to type names in the following order with a space or separator between the elements: Family name in capital letters, given name(s), initial(s), (or firm name), street name and number, city, province or state, postal code, telephone number, fax number and country.

Section 2

This section does not apply to new applicants.

Section 3

This section is the statement of legal representative.

If you are the only inventor, then the application must have a statement to that effect, i.e., Section 3(1) is included.

If, however, the applicant is not the same as the inventor, then the application must give the name and address of the inventor and say that the applicant is the legal representative of the inventor, i.e., Section 3(2) is included.

Section 4

In this section, you request a priority date based upon an application you have already filed. Many applicants will not need to use this section.

Section 5

If you have chosen a patent agent to assist you, this section is where you write their name and address. Follow the same format as outlined in Section 1. The agent should be registered. You can also appoint an agent at a later date.

Section 6

If you are an individual or a small business of 50 people or fewer, you can claim small entity status, and your filing fee and other fees will be lower.

In addition to claiming small entity status, you must file a signed small entity declaration that conforms to section 3.01(1) of the Patent Rules. You can provide the small entity declaration in Section 7 of the petition or in a separate document. (Please see the small entity declaration tool.)

Section 7

In this section, you can say which drawing you would like to present with the abstract.

Just below Section 7 is a signature line, which you may use to conform with section 3.01(1)(e) of the Patent Rules (see Section 6, above).


Date modified:

Rédaction d'une demande de brevet (page 7 de 8)



Pétition

Votre pétition est votre requête formelle d’obtention d’un brevet. Elle comprend vos nom et adresse, le titre de votre brevet, de l’information sur la priorité, les agents de brevets, les représentants et plus encore.

Voici les instructions générales à suivre pour chaque section de votre pétition.


Section 1

C’est dans cette section que vous demandez un brevet. Si vous êtes le demandeur, vous devez indiquer votre nom, votre adresse complète et le titre de votre brevet. Les noms doivent être entrés dans l’ordre suivant, avec un espace ou un caractère de séparation entre les éléments : nom de famille en majuscules, prénom, initiales, (ou raison sociale), suivis du nom de la rue et numéro, ville, province ou état, code postal, numéro de téléphone, numéro de télécopieur et pays.

Section 2

Cette section ne s’applique pas aux nouveaux demandeurs.

Section 3

Cette section est l’énoncé de représentant légal.

Si vous, le demandeur, êtes le seul inventeur, la demande doit avoir un énoncé à cet effet, c.-à-d. que la section 3(1) est incluse.

Si, cependant, le demandeur n’est pas l’inventeur, la demande doit donner le nom et l’adresse de l’inventeur et mentionner que le demandeur est le représentant légal de l’inventeur, c.-à-d. la section 3(2) est incluse.

Section 4

Vous demandez à cette section une date de priorité à l’égard d’une demande que vous avez déjà déposée. Plusieurs demandeurs n’auront pas à utiliser cette section.

Section 5

Si vous avez choisi un agent de brevets pour vous aider, écrivez dans cette section son nom et son adresse. Suivez le format décrit à la section 1. L’agent doit être inscrit. Vous pouvez aussi nommer un agent plus tard.

Section 6

Si vous êtes un particulier ou une petite entreprise de 50 personnes ou moins, vous pouvez demander le statut de petite entité et vos frais de dépôt et autres frais seront moins élevés.

En plus de revendiquer le statut de petite entité, vous devez déposer une déclaration du statut de petite entité dûment signée conforme au paragraphe 3.01(1) des Règles sur les brevets. Vous pouvez fournir la déclaration du statut de petite entité dans la partie 7 de la pétition ou dans un document séparé. (Veuillez voir l’outil de déclaration du statut de petite entité.)

Section 7

Vous pouvez indiquer dans cette section quelle figure vous voulez présenter avec l’abrégé.

Juste en dessous de la section 7 figure une ligne de signature que vous pouvez utiliser afin de vous conformer à l’article 3.01)1)e) des Règles sur les brevets (voir la section 6 ci-dessus).


Date de modification :