No time limit to respond to correspondence from the Trademarks Office with respect to transfers

August 13, 2009

Effective immediately, the Office will no longer set a time limit to respond to correspondence issued by the Office identifying deficiencies in requests to register the transfer of a registered trademark or to recognize the transfer of an application for registration of a trademark.

The Office will continue to issue correspondence identifying deficiencies to be remedied in order for the Registrar to register or to recognize the transfer when:

  1. The prescribed fee (see Tariff of Fees – Item 6) relating to a request to recognize the transfer of one or more trademarks has not been paid or is incomplete, or
  2. The evidence furnished of the transfer of one or more trademarks is not satisfactory, or
  3. The information required by paragraph 30(g) of the Act is not provided.

However, the only consequence of failing to respond to such correspondence will be that the transfer in question will not be registered or recognized. The transfer will be registered or recognized only once all the deficiencies have been remedied. Until such time as all the identified deficiencies have been remedied, correspondence relating to the prosecution of an application for the registration of a trademark shall continue to be with the applicant.

This notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Date modified:

Aucun délai pour répondre à une lettre envoyée par le Bureau des marques de commerce en cas de transferts

Le 13 août 2009

Désormais, le Bureau ne fixera plus de délai pour répondre à une lettre envoyée par le Bureau dans laquelle sont précisées les lacunes dans une demande visant à enregistrer le transfert d'une marque de commerce déposée ou à reconnaître le transfert d'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce.

Le Bureau continuera d'envoyer des lettres précisant les lacunes auxquelles il faut remédier pour que le registraire puisse enregistrer ou reconnaître le transfert dans l'un ou l'autre des cas suivants :

  1. Les droits exigibles (Tarif des droits - article 6) en rapport avec une demande visant à faire reconnaître le transfert d'une ou de plusieurs marques de commerce n'ont pas été payés ou n'ont été payes qu'en partie
  2. La preuve produite au soutien du transfert d'une ou de plusieurs marques de commerce n'est pas satisfaisante
  3. Les renseignements exigés par l'alinéa 30(g) de la Loi n'ont pas été fournis.

Toutefois, l'omission de répondre à une telle lettre fera en sorte uniquement que le transfert ne sera ni enregistré ni reconnu. Le transfert ne sera enregistré ou reconnu que lorsqu'il aura été remédié toutes les lacunes. Jusqu'à ce que les lacunes identifiées aient été remédiées, la correspondance relative à la poursuite d'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce devra continuer d'être échangée avec le requérant.

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser les pratiques actuelles du Bureau des marques de commerce et interprétation faite par le Bureau de certaines dispositions de la Loi. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Date de modification :