Patent Cooperation Treaty Kit

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Overview of the Patent Cooperation Treaty system

Overview of the PCT system that shows PCT International Applications filed with Receiving Offices who transmit applications to the International Bureau (IB), International Searching Authorities (ISA), and International Preliminary Examining Authorities (IPEA), the IB also publishes the PCT International Applications and communicated with Designated Offices which then grant Patents.  A timeline at the bottom shows the time from the Priority Date at 0 months to the end of the international phase at 30 months.

Source : World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

What is the Patent Cooperation Treaty?

The Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) is an international treaty administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Under the PCT system, you may file for a patent in as many as 142 member countries through a single application filed in Canada.

More precisely, after you have filed an international application in Canada, you are able to designate or elect any of the signatory countries to seek patent protection there at the national level. The granting of patents remains the responsibility of each national patent office.

Why would I file internationally?

A Canadian patent does not protect your invention in another country.

For example, suppose you have invented a mountain-climbing snowmobile and hope to corner the market in countries where the machine may be in demand. You will probably want a patent not only in Canada, but also in the United States, Austria, Germany and wherever else a mountain-climbing snowmobile could be used. You might also want a patent in Japan, where many snowmobiles are manufactured. Otherwise, someone in one of those countries might copy your invention and market it in competition with you.

What is WIPO?

WIPO is an agency of the United Nations dedicated to intellectual property issues. In its role as administrator of the PCT, WIPO is referred to as the International Bureau and carries out five major processing functions:

  • receives the application
  • receives amendments to the patent claims
  • undertakes international publication
  • communicates your application and an international search report to patent offices in the countries you designate
  • communicates an international preliminary report on patentability (Chapter I or Chapter II—see below under Chapter designation) to patent offices in the countries you designate

In addition, WIPO produces various materials that provide information related to patents and the PCT, including:

  • the PCT Applicant’s Guide, a comprehensive guide that addresses each step of the PCT filing process, including requirements for national entry into the contracting states
  • the PCT Gazette, which is published weekly and contains notices and indexes relating to the publication of individual international applications and general information concerning the PCT
  • the PCT Glossary, which aids in the understanding, drafting or translating of PCT documentation
  • access to PATENTSCOPE®, a database that houses the PCT applications that have been published and facilitates the search of international patent applications

The PCT procedure simplified

The PCT procedure has two main phases: an international phase and a national phase. The expressions “international phase” and “national phase” are not official PCT terms, but have utility and have become well known.

1. International phase

Filing

You file an international application, which complies with the PCT formality requirements, in one language, and pay one set of fees. The patent office processes the application and gives it an international filing date and international application number.

International search

An international searching authority identifies (in an international search report) any published documents that may have an influence on whether the invention is patentable, and then summarizes the invention’s potential patentability in a written opinion.

Publication of documentation

Shortly after 18 months from the filing date, the contents of an international application are published along with the international search report.

Chapter designation

Should you decide to continue with the application process, you must then choose which course to pursue:

  1. Chapter I of the PCT—This is the default designation. If you choose to continue with Chapter I of the PCT, the application will proceed to the national phase. In accordance with Article 19 of the Treaty, after you receive the findings of the international search report, you are entitled to a one-time amendment of the claims. You must file any amendments with the International Bureau. The written opinion will serve as the international preliminary report on patentability and will be communicated to the states where you are seeking patent protection. These states are referred to as “designated” states.
  2. Chapter II of the PCT—If you wish, file a PCT/IPEA/401 form (referred to as a “demand”) with an international preliminary examining authority (IPEA). You should consider filing a demand if you are not sure about your chances of getting patent protection. The IPEA will do an additional patentability analysis (referred to as an “international preliminary examination report”). In accordance with Article 34 of the PCT, you may amend any part of the specification, and all amendments will be transmitted directly to the IPEA for analysis. The resulting report offers a non-binding opinion on whether the invention is novel, involves an inventive step and has industrial applicability. The international preliminary examination report will serve as the international preliminary report on patentability and will be communicated to the states where you are seeking patent protection. These states are referred to as “elected” states.

Communication with national offices

The designated or elected office will request from the International Bureau a copy of the published international application and the international search report. It will also ask for the international preliminary report on patentability (Chapter I or Chapter II, as required).

2. National phase

You can now seek patent protection from the national or regional patent offices of the states that you designated or elected during the application process. In each national or regional office, you must also pay applicable fees and provide any necessary translations.

It is important to note that in the national phase, any patent office is free to apply its national law to determine patentability. The national offices will examine the international application based on prior art (information that might cause the patent examiner to object to one or more of your claims) and any other conditions of patentability that are not requirements of the international application.

Each contracting state has given a detailed summary of the requirements for entry into their national phase. However, as practices and rules may change, the only authentic sources of information on requirements are the laws, rules and regulations of each state.

Consider using a patent agent

Patent offices inform applicants of the services provided by registered patent agents. Patent agents have expert knowledge and experience that you can use during the preparation and prosecution of your patent applications. The Canadian Intellectual Property Office’s website provides a list of registered patent agents who can represent you before the Canadian Patent Office.

Minimum requirements for filing

You are entitled to file an international patent application if you are a national or resident of one of the PCT contracting states. If there are several applicants named in the international application, only one of them needs to comply with this requirement. An international patent application must be prepared according to certain formal requirements set out in the PCT and its regulations. WIPO’s PCT Applicant’s Guide—International Phase sets outs these requirements. If you follow these requirements, you will not have to adapt to various national or regional requirements later.

Forms

WIPO uses standard forms to collect information during the application process. The WIPO PCT forms page offers editable copies of the required PCT forms, as well as samples of properly completed forms.

Fees

For the application to be recognized by the International Bureau (WIPO), it must also be accompanied by the required fees. You must pay all required fees within one month from the date that the international application is received; late payments are subject to an additional fee. Fees to be transmitted include:

  • Transmittal fee ‐This fee is intended to compensate the receiving office (RO) for the work it does in connection with the international application.
  • International filing fee ‐ This is a fee paid to the RO for the benefit of the International Bureau when filing an international application.
  • Search fee ‐This fee is paid to the RO for the benefit of the international searching authority for carrying out the international search.
  • Preliminary examination fee and handling fee ‐ This fee is paid to the international preliminary examining authority for filing a demand and for conducting an examination of the application.

How to file an international application

Once you have prepared the international application according to PCT requirements, you should file it. You have four options for filing:

1. International Bureau as the receiving office

An international application may be filed directly with the International Bureau. The International Bureau will act as the receiving office; however the international searching authority (ISA) and international preliminary examining authority (IPEA) are determined based on the contracting state, which is the same as your nationality or country of residence. Where two or more applicants are from different contracting states, filing the international application with the International Bureau may result in a wider choice of authorities. In such a circumstance, the choice of ISA must be shown in the request and the choice of IPEA must be shown in the demand.

The International Bureau will receive international applications by:

Mail  International Bureau of WIPO
 PCT Receiving Office Section
 34, chemin des Colombettes
 1211 Geneva 20
 Switzerland
Fax  (41-22) 910 06 10

Note: Originals of facsimiles need to be received within 14 days of transmittal.

Electronic format

2. National office as the receiving office

You may file an international application with the national office of the PCT contracting state where you are a resident or national, or with the office acting for that state. If there are two or more applicants, it is fine if only one of the applicants satisfies this requirement.

To file the international application with Canada as the receiving office, please address your applications to the Commissioner of Patents and send the application by:

Mail or in person  Place du Portage I I
 50 Victoria Street, room C114
 Gatineau, QC K1A 0C9
By facsimile  819-953-CIPO
 or
 819-953-OPIC

Note: Faxes sent to any other number will not be considered received by CIPO.

Electronic Format

We will consider correspondence sent electronically, including by fax, to be received on the day that it is transmitted, if it is delivered and received before midnight, local time at CIPO, on a day when CIPO is open for business. For correspondence delivered on a day when CIPO is closed for business, we consider it received on the next day CIPO is open for business.

3. Electronic filing using PCT-SAFE software

PCT-SAFE (Secure Applications Filed Electronically) offers you a way to prepare your international applications electronically. You may also file the application either via secure online transmission or using physical media (e.g., diskette, CD-R, DVD-R). You can operate the PCT‑SAFE software in PCT‑EASY mode. This means you file applications on paper, along with request form data and an abstract on a physical medium. If you file electronically, you will pay certain fees at a reduced rate. All this is explained in the general overview and frequently asked questions concerning PCT-SAFE, which are available from the WIPO website. Please note that there are minimum system requirements to use and download the PCT-SAFE software.

To file an application, please visit CIPO’s PCT e-filing page, or WIPO’s electronic filing (PCT-SAFE) page.

4. Electronic filing using ePCT online service

For PCT applications filed with CIPO in its capacity as receiving office

You can use ePCT to prepare, validate and download an e-filing package to be transmitted to CIPO as the receiving office. CIPO, as a receiving office, does not accept direct online filings of international applications through the ePCT online service. Once you have prepared the e-filing package with the ePCT online service, you will need to visit CIPO’s PCT e-filling page to submit the e-filing package.

For PCT applications filed to the International Bureau in its capacity as receiving office, with CIPO as the designated international searching authority

You can also use ePCT to prepare, validate and file a PCT application with the International Bureau as receiving office, to be transmitted to CIPO as the international searching authority. This process is explained in the e-PCT user guide and frequently asked questions concerning ePCT, which are available from the WIPO PCT Portal.

If your nationality and residence are Canadian, then only Canada will be available as an international searching authority (ISA). However, if you have different states of nationality or residence, you will need to choose the ISA. In any case, you will have to click on the drop-down menu to indicate the ISA, as shown below:

International Searching Authority - CA - Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Screenshot from ePCT

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) plays a role at both the international phase and national phase of the PCT system. These roles include:

  • receiving office (RO)
  • international searching authority (ISA)
  • international preliminary examining authority (IPEA)
  • designated/elected office

International phase

CIPO's Patent Office has three distinct roles during the international phase.

1. Receiving office

If you or one applicant from your group of applicants is a national or resident of Canada, the application may be filed with CIPO. You must file the application in either English or French. You must use Canadian currency to pay the transmittal, international filing and search fees within one month of receiving the international application. These and further requirements are outlined in WIPO's PCT Guide. Here are the four steps involved:

  • Step 1
    CIPO receives the international application from you.
  • Step 2
    CIPO checks the international application to determine whether it meets the requirements for form and content for international applications. This check is formal in nature only and does not go into the substance of the invention.
  • Step 3
    If the international application meets the PCT requirements for giving the application an international filing date, CIPO accords the international filing date and international application number.
  • Step 4
    CIPO transmits the "record copy" of the international application to the International Bureau, keeps a "search copy" for its roles as an international searching authority and keeps one copy as the "home copy."

2. International searching authority (Chapter I)

Where an international application is filed with Canada as the receiving office, CIPO will serve as the ISA. Canadian examiners will produce an international search report and a written opinion of the ISA (WO-ISA). The WO-ISA provides the applicant with a preliminary, non-binding opinion on the issues of novelty, inventive step (ingenuity) and industrial applicability of the patent. This allows the applicant to assess, at the search stage, whether to proceed to the national/regional phase. If no demand for international preliminary examination is filed, the WO-ISA will be converted by the International Bureau into an international preliminary report on patentability (IPRP Chapter I). These and further requirements are outlined in WIPO's PCT Applicant's Guide.

3. International preliminary examining authority (Chapter II)

CIPO will carry out an international preliminary examination on condition that you have filed a “demand” form and paid the accompanying fees. You need to indicate in the demand if the application is to be examined as originally filed or amended in accordance with the PCT. The purpose of the international preliminary examination under Chapter II is not to grant or refuse a patent, but to provide a preliminary and non-binding opinion on whether the claimed invention appears to be novel, involves an inventive step and has industrial applicability. These and further requirements are outlined in WIPO’s PCT Applicant’s guide.

Questions during the international phase

Prior to filing, you can contact either WIPO or CIPO with general questions about the PCT system, including how to file an international application and the procedure you need to follow during the international phase.

National phase

If you have designated or elected Canada for national patent protection, there are a few requirements that you need to fulfill to successfully enter the “national phase” in Canada. One requirement is that you submit the application in either English or French. Another requirement is that you pay maintenance fees for each one-year period from the international filing date. Additional requirements are listed in WIPO's PCT Applicant's Guide.

The time limit for entering Canada’s national phase is 30 months from the priority date (the date on which the application met the requirements under PCT). Late entry is available, and the time limit may be extended up to 42 months from the earliest priority date, provided you pay the national entry fee and the additional late entry fee. Upon national entry, the application is considered a national application and prosecution of the patent application is carried out according to statutory requirements, the Patent Act and Patent Rules. Copies of these legal texts and additional information are available from the CIPO website.

All applicants may use the services of a patent agent and benefit from their experience and knowledge in preparing and prosecuting applications with CIPO. However, where the applicant is not the inventor of the alleged invention, you must appoint a patent agent. Once you have appointed a patent agent, CIPO will correspond only with the patent agent concerning the prosecution of the application. Only registered patent agents from CIPO’s agent list can conduct business with us.

Summary of links

This list of useful links has been compiled to facilitate the understanding of the international filing system.

Date modified:

Trousse d'information sur le Traité de coopération en matière de brevets

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Qu'est-ce que le Traité de coopération en matière de brevets?

Le Traité de coopération en matière de brevets (PCT) est un traité international administré par l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI). En déposant une seule demande de brevet au Canada dans le cadre du système du PCT, vous pouvez déposer une demande de brevet dans les autres 153 pays membres

Plus précisément, après avoir déposé une demande internationale au Canada, vous avez automatiquement désigné et élu tous les pays signataires pour pouvoir obtenir une protection par brevet à l'échelle nationale dans ces pays. L'octroi des brevets demeure la responsabilité de chaque office de brevets national.

Vue d'ensemble du système du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets

Pourquoi ferais-je un dépôt au niveau international?

L'obtention d'un brevet canadien ne protège pas votre invention dans un autre pays.

Par exemple, supposons que vous êtes l'inventeur d'une motoneige capable de gravir des montagnes et que vous voulez conquérir le marché dans les pays où il pourrait y avoir une demande pour un tel véhicule. Vous désirerez sans doute faire breveter votre invention, non seulement au Canada, mais aussi aux États-Unis, en Autriche, en Allemagne, et partout où une telle motoneige pourrait être utilisée. Vous voudrez peut-être aussi obtenir un brevet au Japon, où l'on fabrique déjà une grande quantité de motoneiges. Sinon, quelqu'un dans l'un de ces pays pourrait copier votre invention, la commercialiser et vous faire concurrence.

Qu'est-ce que l'OMPI?

L'OMPI est un organisme des Nations Unies qui se consacre aux questions relatives à la propriété intellectuelle. Dans son rôle d'administrateur du PCT, l'OMPI est appelée le Bureau international et exécute cinq grandes fonctions de traitement :

De plus, l'OMPI produit divers documents qui présentent de l'information sur les brevets et le PCT. Parmi ces documents, on trouve :

Procédure du PCT simplifiée

La procédure du PCT comporte deux phases principales, soit une phase internationale et une phase nationale. Les expressions « phase internationale » et « phase nationale » ne sont pas des termes officiels tirés du PCT, mais sont utiles et maintenant bien connues.

1. Phase internationale

Dépôt

Vous déposez une demande internationale satisfaisant aux exigences en matière de formalités du PCT, dans une seule langue et payez un seul ensemble de taxes. L'office de brevets traite la demande et lui attribue une date de dépôt international et un numéro de demande internationale.

Recherche internationale

Une administration chargée de la recherche internationale indique, dans un rapport de recherche internationale, tous les documents publiés pouvant influer sur la brevetabilité de l'invention et résume la brevetabilité potentielle de l'invention dans une opinion écrite.

Publication de la documentation

Peu après une période de 18 mois suivant première la date de priorité, le contenu de la demande internationale est publié avec le rapport de recherche internationale.

Désignation du chapitre

Si vous décidez de poursuivre le processus de présentation d'une demande, vous devez choisir le parcours à suivre:

  1. Chapitre I du PCT – Il s'agit de la désignation par défaut. Si vous choisissez de poursuivre avec le chapitre I du PCT, la demande passera à la phase nationale après votre démarche. En vertu de l'article 19 du Traité, une fois que vous avez reçu les résultats du rapport de recherche internationale, vous avez le droit d'apporter une modification unique aux revendications. Vous devez déposer toute modification auprès du Bureau international. L'opinion écrite servira de rapport préliminaire international sur la brevetabilité et sera communiquée aux états membres du PCT dans lesquels vous cherchez une protection par brevet. Ces états sont appelés les « états désignés ».
  2. Chapitre II du PCT –Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez déposer un formulaire PCT/ACEPI/401 (appelé « Demande d'examen préliminaire international ») auprès d'une administration chargée de l'examen préliminaire international (ACEPI). Vous devriez envisager de déposer une telle demande si vous n'êtes pas certain de vos chances d'obtenir la protection par brevet. L'ACEPI effectuera une analyse de brevetabilité additionnelle (appelée une opinion écrite de l'ACEPI). En vertu de l'article 34 du PCT, vous pouvez modifier toute partie du mémoire descriptif et toutes les modifications sont transmises directement à l'ACEPI, pour analyse. Un rapport, final, appelé le rapport préliminaire international sur la brevetabilité (RPIB) vous sera transmis, et sera également transmis aux états dans lesquels vous cherchez une protection par brevet. Ces états sont appelés les « états élus ». Le RPIB présente une opinion non contraignante sur la question de savoir si l'invention semble être nouvelle, impliquer une étape inventive et être susceptible d'application industrielle.

Communication avec les offices nationaux

L'office de la propriété intellectuelle national ou régional d'un état désigné ou élu demandera au Bureau international une copie de la demande internationale publiée et du rapport de recherche internationale. Il demandera également le rapport préliminaire international sur la brevetabilité (chapitre I ou chapitre II, s'il y a lieu).

2. Phase nationale

Vous pouvez maintenant obtenir une protection par brevet auprès des offices de la propriété intellectuelle nationaux ou régionaux des états que vous avez désignés et élus pendant le processus de présentation d'une demande. Dans chaque office national ou régional, vous devez aussi payer les taxes applicables et présenter toutes les traductions nécessaires.

Il est important de souligner que dans la phase nationale, tout office de la propriété intellectuelle est libre d'appliquer ses lois nationales ou régionales pour déterminer la brevetabilité. Les offices de la propriété intellectuelle examineront la demande internationale en fonction des antériorités (information qui peut faire en sorte qu'un examinateur de brevets identifie une irrégularité dans l'une ou plusieurs de vos revendications) et de toute autre condition de brevetabilité qui ne constitue pas une des exigences de la demande internationale.

Chaque état membre du PCT a remis un sommaire détaillé des exigences pour entrer dans sa phase nationale. Toutefois, puisque les pratiques et les règles peuvent changer, les seules sources d'information authentiques relatives aux exigences sont les lois, les règles et les règlements de chaque état.

Penser faire appel à un agent de brevets

Les offices de la propriété intellectuelle informent les déposants des services offerts par les agents de brevets inscrits. Les agents de brevets possèdent une expertise et une expérience spécialisées dont vous pouvez bénéficier pendant la préparation et le traitement de vos demandes de brevet. Le site Web de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada présente une liste des agents de brevets inscrits qui peuvent vous représenter devant le Bureau des brevets canadien.

Exigences minimales en matière de dépôt

Vous avez le droit de déposer une demande de brevet internationale si vous êtes ressortissant ou résident d'un des états contractants membres du PCT. Si plusieurs déposants sont nommés dans la demande internationale, un seul d'entre eux doit satisfaire à cette exigence. Une demande de brevet internationale doit être préparée conformément à certaines exigences officielles indiquées dans le PCT et ses règlements. Le PCT — Guide du déposant — Phase internationale de l'OMPI établit ces exigences. Si vous respectez ces exigences, vous n'aurez pas à vous adapter à diverses exigences de formalités nationales ou régionales plus tard.

Formulaires

L'OMPI utilise des formulaires normalisés pour recueillir de l'information au cours du processus de présentation d'une demande. La page des formulaires du PCT de l'OMPI offre des copies modifiables des formulaires du PCT requis, ainsi que des exemples de formulaires adéquatement remplis.

Taxes

Pour qu'une demande soit reconnue par le Bureau international (OMPI), elle doit être accompagnée des taxes requises. Vous devez payer toutes les taxes requises dans le mois suivant la réception de la demande internationale; les paiements tardifs donnent lieu à des taxes additionnelles. Voici les taxes qui doivent être transmises :

Comment déposer une demande internationale

Une fois que vous avez préparé la demande internationale conformément aux exigences du PCT, vous devez la déposer. Voici vos quatre options :

1. Bureau international en tant qu'office récepteur

Une demande internationale peut être déposée directement auprès du Bureau international. Le Bureau international agira à titre d'office récepteur, mais l'administration chargée de la recherche internationale (ACRI) et l'administration chargée de l'examen préliminaire international (ACEPI) sont déterminées en fonction de l'état membre contractant, qui correspond à votre nationalité ou à votre pays de résidence. Lorsque deux ou plusieurs déposants proviennent de différents états contractants, le dépôt d'une demande internationale auprès du Bureau international peut produire un choix plus grand d'administrations. Dans un tel cas, le choix de l'ACRI doit être indiqué dans la requête et le choix de l'ACEPI doit être indiqué dans la demande.

Le Bureau international recevra les demandes comme suit :

Par courrier Bureau international de l'OMPI
Section « office récepteur du PCT »
34, chemin des Colombettes
1211 Genève 20
Suisse
En format électronique — visitez la page web du dépôt direct de l'OMPI

Vous pouvez utiliser le formulaire électronique ePCT pour préparer, valider et déposer une demande en vertu du PCT auprès du Bureau international comme office récepteur. Le Bureau international la transmettra alors à l'OPIC qui agira à titre d'administration chargée de la recherche internationale. Ce processus est expliqué dans le guide de l'utilisateur du ePCT et la foire aux questions concernant l'ePCT, qui sont accessibles sur le portail du PCT de l'OMPI.

Si vous êtes de nationalité et résidence canadiennes, seul le Canada sera proposé comme administration chargée de la recherche internationale (ACRI). Toutefois, si vous avez la nationalité ou le statut de résident de différents états, vous devrez choisir une ACRI. Peu importe votre situation, vous devrez indiquer votre choix dans le menu déroulant pour préciser l'ACRI, comme illustré :

International Searching Authority - CA - Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Saisie d'écran ePCT (disponible en anglais seulement)

2. Office national en tant qu'office récepteur

Vous pouvez déposer une demande internationale auprès de l'office national de l'état membre du PCT dont vous êtes résident ou ressortissant, ou auprès de l'office agissant pour le compte de l'état. S'il y a deux ou plusieurs déposants, il est acceptable qu'un seul des déposants satisfasse à l'exigence.

Pour déposer la demande internationale auprès du Canada, à titre d'office récepteur, adressez vos demandes au commissaire aux brevets et transmettez-les à l'adresse suivante :

Dépôt par courrier ou en personne  Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
 Place du Portage I
 50, rue Victoria, pièce C114
 Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0C9 (courrier : J8X 3X1)
Par télécopieur :  819-953-OPIC (6742)
 ou
 819-953-CIPO (2476)

Note: Les télécopies transmises à tout autre numéro ne seront pas considérées comme étant reçues par l'OPIC.

Format électronique

Nous allons considérer la correspondance transmise de moyen électronique, incluant celle transmise par télécopieur, comme ayant été reçue la journée même de sa transmission, si elle a été livrée et reçue en entier avant minuit (heure locale) par l'OPIC et se verra accordée cette date de transmission dans nos dossiers, que l'OPIC soit ouvert au public ou non. Dans les autres cas de livraisons physiques transmises lors d'une journée où l'OPIC est fermé au public, nous considèrerons que la correspondance aura été reçue lors de la prochaine journée où l'OPIC sera ouvert au public.

Dépôt électronique au moyen du logiciel PCT-SAFE

Le logiciel PCT-SAFE (demandes sécurisées déposées électroniquement) vous offre un moyen de préparer vos demandes internationales électroniquement. Vous pouvez aussi déposer des demandes par transfert sécurisé électronique ou à l'aide d'un support physique (p. ex. CD-R, DVD-R). Si vous déposez électroniquement, vous paierez certains frais à un tarif réduit. Les pages web de l'OMPI concernant le logiciel PCT-SAFE « User Documentation » et « Troubleshooting » (en anglais seulement) expliquent comment procéder. Soulignons qu'il y a des exigences de système minimales (disponibles en anglais seulement) à respecter pour utiliser et télécharger le logiciel PCT-SAFE.

Dépôt électronique au moyen du service en ligne ePCT

Vous pouvez également utiliser le service en ligne ePCT pour préparer, valider et déposer une demande PCT électronique, en prévision d'une transmission à l'OPIC à titre d'office récepteur. L'OPIC, en tant qu'office récepteur, n'accepte pas les dépôts électroniques de demandes internationales provenant directement du service en ligne ePCT. Lorsque vous avez préparé votre demande électronique par le biais du service en ligne ePCT, vous devez visiter le site du Dépôt électronique des demandes PCT afin de soumettre votre demande électronique.

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) joue les rôles suivants dans les phases internationale et nationale du système du PCT:

Phase internationale

Le Bureau des brevets de l'OPIC assume trois rôles distincts au cours de la phase internationale.

1. Office récepteur

Si vous, ou un déposant de votre groupe de déposants, êtes ressortissant ou résident du Canada, la demande peut être déposée auprès de l'OPIC. Vous devez déposer la demande en français ou en anglais. Vous devez utiliser la monnaie canadienne pour payer les taxes de transmission, de dépôt international et de recherche dans un délai d'un mois suivant la réception de la demande internationale. Ces exigences et d'autres exigences sont décrites dans le PCT — Guide du déposant – Phase internationale (Version PDF). Voici les quatre étapes :

2. Administration chargée de la recherche internationale (chapitre I)

Lorsqu'une demande internationale est déposée auprès du Canada à titre d'office récepteur, l'OPIC agit à titre d'ACRI. Les examinateurs canadiens produiront un rapport de recherche internationale et une opinion écrite de l'ACRI (OE-ACRI). L'OE-ACRI présente au déposant une opinion préliminaire non contraignante relativement aux questions de nouveauté, d'activité inventive et d'application industrielle du brevet. Cela permet au déposant d'évaluer, à l'étape de la recherche, s'il doit passer à la phase nationale/régionale. Si aucune demande d'examen préliminaire international n'est déposée, le Bureau international convertira l'OE-ACRI en rapport préliminaire international sur la brevetabilité (RPIB, chapitre I). Ces exigences et d'autres exigences sont décrites dans le Guide du déposant du PCT de l'OMPI.

3. Administration chargée de l'examen préliminaire international (chapitre II)

L'OPIC effectuera un examen préliminaire international si vous avez déposé un formulaire de « demande » et payé les taxes connexes. Dans la demande, vous devez indiquer si la demande doit être examinée telle que déposée ou si elle doit être modifiée conformément au PCT. L'objectif de l'examen préliminaire international, en vertu du chapitre II, n'est pas d'octroyer ou de refuser un brevet, mais de présenter une opinion préliminaire non contraignante indiquant si l'invention revendiquée semble nouvelle, comporte une activité inventive et est susceptible d'application industrielle. Ces exigences et d'autres exigences sont décrites dans le Guide du déposant du PCT de l'OMPI.

Questions pendant la phase internationale

Avant d'effectuer un dépôt, vous pouvez communiquer avec l'OMPI ou l'OPIC pour poser des questions générales sur le système du PCT, notamment sur la façon de déposer une demande internationale et la procédure à suivre pendant la phase internationale.

Phase nationale

Si vous avez désigné et élu le Canada pour obtenir une protection nationale à l'égard d'un brevet, vous devez satisfaire à quelques exigences pour entrer avec succès en « phase nationale » au Canada. Vous devez payer la taxe nationale de base afin d'entrer en phase nationale au Canada. Une des exigences est de soumettre la demande soit en français, soit en anglais, lorsque la demande internationale est dans une langue autre que le français ou l'anglais. Vous devez également payer les taxes de maintien en état à l'égard de chaque période d'un an suivant la date de dépôt international débutant au deuxième anniversaire de la date de dépôt. Les exigences additionnelles sont indiquées dans le PCT — Guide du déposant — de l'OMPI (Version PDF).

L'échéance pour entrer en phase nationale au Canada est de 30 mois après la première date de priorité ou, si aucune demande de priorité n'a été déposée, à partir de la date de dépôt international (date à laquelle la demande a satisfait aux exigences du PCT). Vous pouvez entrer en phase nationale au Canada si les exigences pour entrer en phase nationale sont complétées dans une période de 12 mois après le délai de 30 mois. Pour ce faire, vous devez soumettre une requête pour que les droits du demandeur soient rétablis à l'égard de cette demande internationale, une déclaration portant que le défaut n'était pas intentionnel et verser la taxe pour le rétablissement des droits. Au moment de l'entrée à la phase nationale, la demande est considérée comme une demande nationale et le traitement de la demande de brevet se fait conformément aux exigences législatives prévues dans la Loi sur les brevets et les Règles sur les brevets. Vous trouverez des copies de ces textes législatifs et des renseignements additionnels dans le site Web de l'OPIC.

Bien que tous les déposants peuvent utiliser les services d'un agent de brevets et bénéficier de l'expérience et des connaissances de ce dernier relativement à la préparation et au traitement des demandes de brevets à l'OPIC, lorsque le déposant n'est pas l'inventeur de l'invention présumée, vous devez nommer un agent de brevets. Une fois que vous avez nommé un agent de brevets, l'OPIC correspondra seulement avec ce dernier dans le cadre du traitement de la demande. Seuls les agents de brevets inscrits figurant sur la liste des agents de l'OPIC peuvent traiter avec nous.

Sommaire des liens

Voici une liste de liens utiles dressée pour faciliter la compréhension du système de dépôt international.

Date de modification :