Professional Designations and their initials — Paragraph 12(1)(b) of the trade-marks Act

Publication Date: 2010-10-26

This notice is intended to clarify the Trademarks Office practice with respect to applying the provisions of paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Trade-marks Act (hereinafter referred to as the "Act") to professional designations.

When confronted with a mark or portion of a mark that appears to be the title of a profession, research is conducted to determine whether the mark or portion of the mark is a professional designation. Where research discloses that the mark or portion of the mark applied for does consist of a professional designation, examiners are to apply the first impression test in light of the applicant's goods and/or services [see Wool Bureau of Canada Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks, (1978) 40 C.P.R. (2d) 25 and Mitel Corp. v. Registrar of Trade Marks, (1984) 79 C.P.R. (2d) 202].

If it is considered that the prospective consumer, when faced with the applied for trademark would immediately, as a matter of first impression, conclude that the goods or services are produced by a professional from that designation, the mark will be found to be clearly descriptive or deceptively misdescriptive of the persons employed in the production of the goods and services and unregistrable pursuant to the provisions of paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Act [see Life Underwriters Assn. of Canada v. Provincial Assn. of Québec Life Underwriters (1988) 22 C.P.R. (3rd) 1 and Lubrication Engineers, Inc. v. Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (1992) 41C.P.R. (3d) 243].

Moreover, the Office considers that the mere addition of an abbreviation, acronym or initials of the professional designation contained in the trademark will not render the trademark registrable (see Life Underwriters Assn., supra; College of Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists of British Columbia v. Council of Natural Medicine College of Canada (2009) 80 C.P.R. (4tH0 265]

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Date modified:

Titres professionnels et leurs initiales — Alinéa 12(1)(b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce

Date de publication : 2010-10-26

Le présent énoncé a pour but de préciser la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce en ce qui concerne l'application des dispositions de l'alinéa 12(1)(b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (ci-après la « Loi ») aux titres professionnels.

Lorsqu'il se heurte à une marque, ou une partie de celle-ci, qui semble être le nom d'une profession, l'examinateur effectue une recherche afin de déterminer si la marque, ou une partie de celle-ci, s'agit d'un titre professionnel. Si la recherche révèle que la marque, ou une partie de celle-ci, visée par la demande est effectivement composée d'un titre professionnel, l'examinateur doit appliquer le critère de la première impression eu égard aux produits et/ou services du requérant [voir Wool Bureau of Canada Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks, (1978) 40 C.P.R. (2d) 25; Mitel Corp. v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1984), 79 C.P.R. (2d) 202].

S'il est jugé que le consommateur éventuel, au vu de la marque visée par la demande, aurait immédiatement l'impression que les produits ou services sont produits par un membre de cette profession, la marque sera considérée comme donnant une description claire ou une description fausse et trompeuse des personnes ayant produit les produits et services et donc non enregistrable conformément aux dispositions de l'alinéa 12(1)(b) de la Loi [voir Life Underwriters Assn. of Canada v. Provincial Assn. of Québec Life Underwriters (1988 22 C.P.R. 93D) 1 et Lubrication Engineers, Inc. v. Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (1992) 41 C.P.R. (3d) 243].

Le Bureau considère que l'ajout d'une abréviation, d'un acronyme ou d'initiales représentant le titre professionnel compris dans la marque de commerce ne rendra pas une marque enregistrable Life Underwriters Assn ci-dessus et College of Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists of Bristish Columbia v. Council of Natural Medicine College of Canada (2009) 80 C.P.R. (4th) 265].

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser les pratiques actuelles du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation faite par le Bureau de certaines dispositions de la loi pertinente. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Date de modification :