Colour Claims: PANTONE

Publication Date: 2010-12-22

Where an applicant claims colour(s) as a feature of the trademark, pursuant to Rule 28(1) of the Trade-marks Regulations the said colour(s) shall be described.

Where the colour claim is for a colour not found in Rule 28 of the Trademarks Regulations, the Registrar may require the applicant to include a clear description and may wish to reference a colour system for each colour(s) claimed.  Should the name of the colour system be the subject of a registered mark, the name of the colour system must be set out in uppercase letters and must include the statement that the name of the colour system is a registered trademark. The following would be an example of an acceptable description: “the colour turquoise (PANTONE 15-5519)* is claimed as a feature of the mark.  *PANTONE is a registered trademark”.

A reference to a colour system alone (i.e. PANTONE 32) is not acceptable. The applicant must include both a description of the colour that is claimed and make reference to the colour system. While the Office does not endorse or recommend any one colour identification system, any colour system used should be easy to identify and reproduce by the general public.

When the applicant does not make reference to a colour system, he must provide a clear description of the colour(s) that is/are claimed as feature of the trademark.  For example, a claim to the colour "magenta" would be acceptable however, "greyish green" or "purplish blue" would not be acceptable as neither the Office nor third parties would be able to accurately assess the colour(s) being claimed.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Date modified:

Revendications de couleur : PANTONE

Date de publication : 2010-12-22

Conformément à la règle 28(1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, quand des couleurs sont revendiquées comme caractéristiques de la marque de commerce, les couleurs doivent être décrites.

Quand la couleur revendiquée n'est pas précisément listée dans la règle 28(1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, le Registraire peut exiger une description claire de la couleur et le requérant peut référer à un système de couleurs pour chaque couleur revendiquée.  Si le nom du système de couleurs est l'objet d'une marque enregistrée, on doit indiquer le nom de ce système de couleurs en majuscules et inclure un énoncé indiquant que le nom du système de couleurs est une marque de commerce enregistrée.  L'énoncé suivant est une description acceptable: 'la couleur turquoise (PANTONE 15-5519)* est revendiquée comme caractéristique de la marque de commerce. *PANTONE est une marque de commerce enregistrée'.

Une seule référence à un système de couleurs, par exemple 'PANTONE 32' n'est pas acceptable.  Le requérant doit inclure une description de la couleur revendiquée et faire référence au système de couleurs.  Le Bureau des marques de commerce n'endosse pas ou ne recommande pas un système de couleurs en particulier; le système utilisé doit être reconnu par le public en général et facile à reproduire.

Dans une revendication de couleurs, si on ne fait pas référence à un système de couleurs, on doit soumettre une description claire et précise des couleurs revendiquées.  Par exemple, une revendication de la couleur 'magenta' est acceptable; par contre, 'vert avec des teintes de gris' ou 'bleu tirant vers le mauve' ou 'rouge violacé' ne sont pas acceptables puisque le Bureau des marques de commerce ou des tierces parties ne pourraient dire précisément ce que sont leurs couleurs revendiquées.

Le présent énoncé a pour but de préciser la pratique actuelle du Bureau des marques de commerce et son interprétation des lois pertinentes. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Date de modification :