Searchable fields


Application number

The number that is assigned to a trademark application (also referred to a TMO number, meaning Trademarks Office number).

Registration number

This is the number that is assigned to a trademark when it becomes registered. The number is preceded by an abbreviation of the name of the act under which it was registered (ATM for an Act Pertaining to Trademarks, TMDA for Trade Mark and Design Act, UCA for Unfair Competition Act, NFLD for Newfoundland Act, and TMA for Trade-marks Act). But, when you use this database, only the number is needed. If several trademarks have the same registration number but are registered under different acts, the list that the database generates will give you all the trademarks that have that number.

Current owner name

The name of the most recent owner registered with the Trademarks Office. See also registrant.

Old owner name

The name of the previous owner registered with the Trademarks Office.

Old and current owner name

The name of the previous or the most recent owner registered with the Trademarks Office.

Trademark

This is the trademark itself if it consists of words, numerals or letters only, or refers to a description if it is a combination of a word and design mark, or consists of design features only.

Trademark description

This is a written description of what the mark consists of. It is used mainly for trademarks registered under theold Trade Mark and Design Act (TMDA) and Unfair Competition Act (UCA). It is sometimes used for trademarks registered pursuant to the Trade-marks Act (TMA) that have design features.

Foreign character translation/transliteration

Where a trademark includes foreign words and characters, it must be translated into English or French. This field is used to search for this translation.

Where a trademark includes foreign characters (such as Chinese, Korean, Arabic, Cyrillic, etc.), it must be transliterated into Latin characters. This field is used to search for this transliteration.

(Note: transliteration consists of writing a letter or word using the corresponding letters closest to a different language or alphabet.)

Index heading

Index headings identify all word components of the trademark.

Goods

The goods field contains all the goods related to a trademark. The goods are shown in the official language in which they were submitted. Therefore, you may want to look up the same goods in both official languages (English and French).

Services

The services field contains all the services associated with a trademark. The services are shown in the official language in which they were submitted. Therefore, you may want to look up the same services in both official languages (English and French).

Goods and services

The goods and services field contains all the goods and services associated with a trademark. When you use this field, you should know that the goods and services are shown in the official language in which they were submitted. Therefore, you may want to look up the same goods and services in both official languages (English and French).

Nice Classification

The Nice Classification groups goods and services into 34 classes of goods and 11 classes of services. Each class has a heading that provides a general indication to the fields in which a good or service belongs. There are also explanatory notes for the class headings that provide additional information on the types of goods or services that can be included within a specific class.

It is important to note that the Nice Classification does not supersede the Canadian Trade-marks Act and Trade-marks Regulations. Consequently, the provisions for specifying all goods or services in paragraph 30(a) of the Trade-marks Act still apply. Please consult the Goods and Services Manual for examples of acceptable statements of goods or services and their appropriate class.

Disclaimer

Sometimes an applicant has to disclaim the right to the exclusive use of one or more unregistrable parts of a trademark. This field allows you to search disclaimed subject matter on the database. Depending on how the disclaimer statement is worded, some trademarks that have disclaimed matter may not be found.

For example, when you are searching for marks in which the word “ultra” has been disclaimed, and you input the word “ultra” in this field, you will find trademarks for which the word “ultra” has been specifically disclaimed. You will not hit the marks that include the word “ultra” for which the disclaimer statement reads as follows: “The applicant disclaims the right to the exclusive use of All The Reading Matter apart from the trademark”, and other similar disclaimers.

Vienna codes

The Vienna code classification is an international standard for categorizing trademark designs by their figurative elements. The Vienna classification consists of a hierarchical system that moves from the general to the specific, dividing all figurative elements into categories, divisions and sections.

For example, the “hands” is a figurative element with the code 2.9.14, of which the category is 2, the division is 9, and the section is 14.

Vienna codes description

This field allows you to search words within the written description of the figurative elements in the Vienna classification.

Trademark lookup

This setting will simultaneously query the following fields: Trademark, Trademark description, Foreign character translation and Index headings. Consequently, this setting allows the user the convenience of being able to query all the fields which are relevant to looking up a particular trademark.

Date modified:

Champs de recherche


Numéro de demande

Il s'agit du numéro attribué à une demande de marque de commerce (souvent appelé aussi numéro de la demande ou numéro BMC, signifiant numéro du Bureau des marques de commerce).

Numéro d'enregistrement

Il s'agit du numéro attribué à une marque de commerce au moment où elle est enregistrée. Il est précédé de l'acronyme désignant la loi en vertu de laquelle elle est enregistrée (ATM pour Act Pertaining to Trademarks, LMCDF pour la Loi sur les marques de commerce et dessins de fabrique, LCD pour la Loi sur la concurrence déloyale, TERRE-NEUVE pour la Loi sur Terre-Neuve et LMC pour la Loi sur les marques de commerce). Cependant, pour vos recherches dans cette base de données, seul le numéro d'enregistrement est nécessaire. Au cas où plusieurs marques de commerce auraient le même numéro d'enregistrement, mais seraient enregistrées en vertu de différentes lois, la liste des résultats indiquera toutes les marques portant ce numéro.

Propriétaire actuel

Il s'agit du nom du propriétaire le plus récent inscrit auprès du Bureau des marques de commerce. Voir aussi Requérant.

Propriétaire précédent

Il s'agit du nom du propriétaire précédent inscrit auprès du Bureau des marques de commerce.

Propriétaire actuel et précédent

Il s'agit du nom du propriétaire précédent ou le plus récent inscrit auprès du Bureau des marques de commerce.

Marque de commerce

Il s'agit de la marque de commerce en soi, si elle est composée uniquement de mots, de chiffres ou de lettres, ou si elle renvoie à une description s'il s'agit d'un mot ou d'un dessin de marque, ou est composée uniquement d'éléments de dessin.

Description de la marque de commerce

Il s'agit de la description écrite des éléments de la marque. Elle est utilisée surtout pour les marques enregistrées en vertu des anciennes Loi des marques de commerce et dessins de fabrique (LMCDF) et Loi sur la concurrence déloyale (LCD). Elle est parfois utilisée pour les marques de commerce comprenant un dessin enregistrées en vertu de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (LMC).

Traduction/translittération des caractères étrangers

Lorsqu'une marque de commerce comprend des mots et des caractères étrangers, elle doit être traduite en anglais ou en français. Ce champ permet de faire la recherche de cette traduction.

Lorsqu'une marque de commerce comprend des caractères étrangers (tels que des caractères chinois, coréens, arabes, cyrilliques, etc.), elle doit être translitérée en caractères latins. Ce champ permet de faire la recherche de cette translittération. (Note : une translittération consiste à écrire une lettre ou un mot en utilisant les lettres se rapprochant le plus d'une langue ou d'un alphabet différents.

Rubriques

La rubrique d'index identifie tous les éléments de mots de la marque.

Produits

Le champ des produits comprend tous les produits associés à une marque de commerce. Les produits figurent dans la langue officielle de la demande. Vous trouverez peut-être utile de rechercher les mêmes produits dans les deux langues officielles (français et anglais).

Services

Le champ des services comprend tous les services associés à une marque de commerce. Les services figurent dans la langue officielle de la demande. Vous trouverez peut-être utile de rechercher les mêmes services dans les deux langues officielles (français et anglais).

Produits et services

Le champ des produits et services comprend tous les produits et services associés à une marque de commerce. Quand vous utilisez ce champ, vous devriez savoir que les produits et les services figurent dans la langue officielle de la demande. Vous trouverez peut-être utile de rechercher les mêmes produits et services dans les deux langues officielles (français et anglais).

Classification de Nice

La classification de Nice regroupe les produits et services dans 34 classes de produits et 11 classes de services. Chaque classe comprend un intitulé de classe qui fournit des informations générales quant aux domaines des produits et services. Il y a aussi des notes explicatives pour chaque intitulé de classe fournissant des informations supplémentaires sur la nature des produits et services qui peuvent figurer dans une classe dénommée.

Veuillez prendre note que la classification de Nice ne l'emporte pas sur la Loi sur les marques de commerce et le Règlement sur les marques de commerce du Canada. En conséquence, les dispositions concernant l'identification des produits et services contenues dans l'alinéa 30a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce continueront de s'appliquer. Veuillez consultez le Manuel des produits et des services pour des exemples d'états déclaratifs de produits et de services acceptables ainsi que leurs classes appropriées.

Désistement

Parfois, un demandeur doit se désister du droit à l'emploi exclusif d'une ou de plusieurs parties d'une marque de commerce qui ne sont pas enregistrables. Ce champ permet de chercher dans la base de données les éléments faisant l'objet d'un désistement. Selon la façon dont est formulé le désistement, on peut ne pas trouver des marques de commerce comprenant un tel élément.

Si vous cherchez, par exemple, des marques dans lesquelles le mot « ultra » n'est pas protégé et que vous introduisiez le mot « ultra » dans ce champ, vous obtiendrez les marques de commerce pour lesquelles le mot « ultra » a expressément fait l'objet d'un désistement. Vous n'obtiendrez pas les marques comprenant le mot « ultra » pour lesquelles la déclaration de désistement est formulée en ces termes : « Le demandeur se désiste du droit à l'emploi exclusif de toute la matière à lire en dehors de la marque de commerce », et autres désistements similaires.

Codes de Vienne

La classification des codes de Vienne est une norme internationale pour catégoriser les dessins de marques de commerce par leurs éléments figuratifs. La classification de Vienne est un système hiérarchique qui va du général au particulier, divisant l'ensemble des éléments figuratifs en catégories, divisions et sections.

Par exemple, les « mains » est un élément figuratif ayant le code 2.9.14 pour lequel la catégorie est 2, la division est 9, et la section est 14.

Description du code de Vienne

Ce champ vous permet de rechercher des mots contenus dans la description écrite des éléments figuratifs de la classification de Vienne.

Repérage de marque de commerce

Ce paramètre vous permet de chercher simultanément dans les champs suivants : Marque de commerce, Description de la marque de commerce, Traduction des caractères étrangers et Rubriques.

Date de modification :