CIPO Business Strategy 2012-2017 (Page 2 of 13)

CIPO Business Strategy 2012-2017 (PDF: 5.8 MB; 27 pages)

Previous | Table of Contents |


CIPO's Values

As trusted partners in building an innovative Canadian economy

  • We serve with excellence and efficiency in all that we do.
  • We make timely and sound decisions on IP rights.
  • We respect the perspectives of stakeholders while carrying out our regulatory function.

As proud employees of CIPO

  • We perform our duties in a manner that preserves and builds on CIPO's good reputation and credibility.
  • We work collaboratively.
  • We act as ambassadors of IP.
  • We are committed to continuous improvement and learning.

As an individual

  • I respect my fellow employees.
  • I value diversity.
  • I appreciate the ideas and contributions of other employees.

Message from the Chief Executive Officer

I am pleased to present the Business Strategy for the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO). This strategy will guide our decision-making and commitments over the next five years.

The crucial element underpinning this strategy is that economic prosperity in a global economy is driven by new ideas and knowledge-based industries. As intellectual property (IP) rights encourage new knowledge and innovation, CIPO has a key role to play in supporting the government's overall agenda of improving Canada's growth and enhancing our economic competitiveness.

The value of many Canadian firms increasingly depends on their intangible assets, including patents, trademarks, copyrights, and industrial designs. The speed, quality, efficiency and effectiveness of Canada's IP administrative system can affect whether or not ideas are successfully commercialized and brought to market. This business strategy sets out priorities for the next five years that will allow CIPO to play a more effective role in this regard so that IP is more efficiently leveraged in support of innovation and economic growth.

We will achieve this by better understanding the requirements of innovators and the innovation cycle in which businesses operate, facilitating access to IP information so it can be better leveraged, and developing an IP framework that supports innovation, increases certainty and reduces red tape. Finally, the strategy reconfirms CIPO's commitment to efficiency, timeliness and quality through our efforts to maintain a highly skilled workforce, make our information technology systems more modern and responsive, and to optimize the cost-effectiveness of our operations.

These new strategic directions will require a commitment to continual change, and CIPO will build a change management culture that will support this important transition.

The Strategy is the result of insightful discussions held within CIPO, as well as with our key federal government partners, businesses and representatives of the IP agent community. I look forward to continuing this engagement as we implement the Business Strategy.

Sylvain Laporte
Commissioner of Patents,
Registrar of Trademarks and
Chief Executive Officer


Previous | Table of Contents | Next

Date modified:

Stratégie d'affaires de l'OPIC 2012-2017 (page 2 de 13)

Stratégie d'affaires de l'OPIC 2012-2017 (PDF : 5.8 Mo; 27 pages)

Page précédente | Table des matières |


Valeurs de l'OPIC

À titre de partenaires de confiance chargés d'instaurer une économie innovatrice au Canada

En tant qu'employés fiers de travailler à l'OPIC

À titre de personne

Message du président

Je suis ravi de présenter la Stratégie d'affaires de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC). Cette stratégie orientera les décisions et les engagements que nous prendrons au cours des cinq prochaines années.

L'élément crucial de cette stratégie tient au fait que, dans un contexte de mondialisation, la prospérité économique dépend des nouvelles idées et des industries du savoir. Étant donné que les droits de propriété intellectuelle (PI) sont propices à l'acquisition de nouvelles connaissances et à l'innovation, l'OPIC a un rôle clé à jouer en appuyant les priorités globales du gouvernement, qui consistent à stimuler la croissance du Canada et à améliorer sa compétitivité économique.

La valeur de nombreuses entreprises canadiennes dépend de plus en plus de leurs biens incorporels : brevets, marques de commerce, droits d'auteur et dessins industriels. La rapidité, la qualité et l'efficacité du régime administratif de la PI au Canada peuvent déterminer si des idées vont être commercialisées et percer les marchés avec succès. La Stratégie d'affaires énonce des priorités pour les cinq prochaines années qui permettront à l'OPIC de jouer un rôle plus efficace à cet égard, de sorte qu'il exploitera plus efficacement la PI au profit de l'innovation et de la croissance économique.

Nous y parviendrons en améliorant notre compréhension des exigences des innovateurs et du cycle d'innovation dans lequel évoluent les entreprises, en facilitant l'accès à l'information relative à la PI pour mieux l'exploiter, ainsi qu'en établissant un cadre de la PI qui favorise l'innovation, offre plus de certitude et allège le fardeau administratif. Enfin, la Stratégie réitère l'engagement pris par l'OPIC en matière d'efficience, d'opportunité et de qualité, grâce aux efforts entrepris pour maintenir en poste des employés hautement qualifiés, rendre ses systèmes informatiques plus modernes et mieux adaptés, et optimiser la rentabilité de ses activités.

Ces nouvelles orientations stratégiques nécessiteront un engagement à l'égard de changements continus, et l'OPIC instaurera une culture de la gestion du changement à l'appui de cette importante transition.

La Stratégie est le fruit de discussions constructives tenues au sein de l'OPIC, mais aussi avec nos principaux partenaires fédéraux, des représentants d'entreprises et des agents spécialistes de la PI. Je sais que nous poursuivrons cet engagement lorsque nous mettrons en œuvre la Stratégie d'affaires.

Sylvain Laporte
Commissaire aux brevets,
registraire des marques de commerce
et président


Page précédente | Table des matières |

Date de modification :