CIPO Business Strategy 2012-2017 (Page 4 of 13)

CIPO Business Strategy 2012-2017 (PDF: 5.8 MB; 27 pages)

| Table of Contents |


Part II

Strategic Analysis


The Role of IP is Continually Evolving

A range of factors and trends influence how CIPO will respond to a new generation of innovation challenges. For instance, all intellectual property offices must be prepared to deal with fluctuating economic conditions that affect the volume of IP applications and the evolution of IP policy and practices that occur because of evolving body of law. Outside of these realities, the most broadly acknowledged trends have been the growth of IP as a business asset and its increasingly international nature.

While IP law is domestic in nature, some elements of national rights have gradually become incompatible with the fact that innovators operate on a global stage. Because the commercialization of their ideas occurs at the multinational level, they need to register their IP rights in many countries. Pressure has therefore increased on IP systems to provide a cost-effective way to obtain reliable and high-quality IP rights in multiple jurisdictions so that innovators can effectively tap into existing and rapidly emerging new markets.

The rapid growth of IP investment is also one of the marked changes in the innovation landscape. Business models have emerged where IP is a central element establishing value and potential growth. Firms now invest significantly more in intangible than in tangible assets and many depend on IP licensing to help increase revenues. The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has noted that rising royalty and licensing fees, the significant growth in knowledge markets based on IP rights and the rising share of patents that list inventors from more than one country are all evidence of the growing demand for IP.

It follows that as IP rights have become more and more central to the global business strategies of successful firms, IP has also become essential to economic growth and innovation policy. In response, ensuring that the right IP frameworks and incentives are in place to leverage IP is a key goal of many governments.

To manage the growing demand for the protection of ideas, and recognizing that timely IP decisions help innovators quickly develop, monetize and globally commercialize their ideas, measures such as international work sharing and harmonization initiatives are being implemented across intellectual property offices (IPOs) globally. Efforts are also underway in many IPOs to increase the functionality of their information technology services to respond more efficiently to modern business needs.

As new types of innovation and technologies continue to challenge existing laws, and new players introduce policy shifts, achieving success in leveraging IP also hinges on understanding how IP frameworks affect economic growth. Accordingly, there is increasing emphasis on the need to strengthen understanding of business IP strategies and producing stronger evidence-based policies.

CIPO's Role in the Future

In light of this dynamic and evolving global context, IP systems must align themselves more closely with economic strategies to increase growth. To support this evolution, CIPO has recast its mission and vision statements. While CIPO has always been concerned with new knowledge, its encouragement and its protection, we are turning our focus to the ways in which we can encourage business success, invention and discovery in Canada.

Mission

To contribute to Canada's innovation and economic success by:

  • providing greater certainty in the marketplace through high-quality and timely IP rights;
  • fostering and supporting invention and creativity through knowledge sharing;
  • raising awareness to encourage innovators to better exploit IP;
  • helping business compete globally through international cooperation and the promotion of Canada's IP interests; and
  • administering Canada's IP system and office efficiently and effectively.

Vision

Our leadership and expertise in intellectual property support creativity, enhance innovation and contribute to economic success.

A Framework for Action

Based on our new vision and mission statements, CIPO's business strategy aims to strengthen the role of IP to support Canada's innovative capacity and output. The Business Strategy is comprised of strategic and enabling pillars that focus on CIPO's substantive business.

A Framework for Action

Strategic Pillars

The improvements and changes made through strategic pillars will focus our service offerings, increase our contribution to both within government and to the public and provide real change to the role IP plays in innovation.

  • Customers: We will develop a deeper understanding of the needs of the innovators and businesses that generate ideas and wealth in order to provide the information and services they need to successfully leverage IP for innovation and economic success.
  • Access to Innovative Knowledge: We will ensure more effective information dissemination throughout the innovation cycle to encourage the development of new products and processes through the exploitation of accessible knowledge.
  • Modern IP Framework: By reducing red tape and aligning the IP regulatory and administrative framework with international best practices, and in support of innovation, competitiveness, increased clarity and certainty, we will help enhance the commercial success of Canadian businesses.

Enabling Pillars

The enabling pillars will result in improvements in the way we carry out our day-to-day activities, develop the foundation required to provide new and innovative services and modes of communication, and provide an effective and informed workforce.

  • Highly Skilled Workforce: For CIPO to play an integral role in the innovation process, we need to be a flexible, knowledge-intensive and learning-based organization that can attract and retain the most qualified people who understand the innovation benefits of IP.
  • Responsive IT Infrastructure: A responsive and modern IT system is critical to encouraging innovation, maintaining a modern regulatory framework, and providing efficient services and accessible knowledge.
  • Operational Excellence: A strong and sustainable capability to manage business operations effectively and efficiently while meeting the needs of customers/stakeholders will ensure we provide quality IP rights in a timely and cost-effective manner.

Measuring for Success

CIPO will implement a performance measurement system that will ensure the ongoing monitoring and assessment of our performance. Performance measurement allows us to track our progress against our goals, while striving to administer Canada's IP system in a manner that is effective, efficient, and responsive to our customers' needs and expectations. This will support informed and timely decision-making with respect to setting priorities and, when required, taking a course of corrective action. The objective is to make clear linkages between management decisions and our performance against the Business Strategy. The organization as a whole will share accountability for the success of the Business Strategy.

CIPO recognizes the importance of defining what success will look like. It is only in this way that we can truly know whether we have achieved our goals. For this reason, and to support our performance measurement efforts, we have identified end-states for each of the strategic and enabling pillars. Measures of success against each of these end-states will include the performance of the organization in attaining the respective priorities.

Measurements will begin at the activity level and are connected by priorities to the strategic and enabling pillars of the Business Strategy. For each of the activities that support the respective priority, we will establish baselines and realistic, yet challenging, targets.


| Table of Contents |

Date modified:

Stratégie d'affaires de l'OPIC 2012-2017 (page 4 de 13)

Stratégie d'affaires de l'OPIC 2012-2017 (PDF : 5.8 Mo; 27 pages)

| Table des matières |


Partie II

Analyse stratégique


Le rôle de la PI évolue constamment

Divers facteurs et diverses tendances influent sur la façon dont l'OPIC relèvera les nouveaux défis en matière d'innovation. Par exemple, tous les offices de la propriété intellectuelle doivent se préparer à gérer une conjoncture économique fluctuante, qui donne lieu à une réduction du nombre de demandes liées à la PI et influe sur les politiques et pratiques connexes en raison de l'évolution de la réglementation. En dehors de ce contexte, les tendances les plus marquées indiquent une croissance de la PI en tant qu'actif commercial et une internationalisation de la PI.

Les lois relatives à la PI sont nationales de nature, mais certains éléments des droits nationaux sont graduellement devenus incompatibles avec le fait que les innovateurs travaillent à l'échelle mondiale. Parce qu'ils commercialisent leurs idées sur la scène internationale, ils doivent enregistrer leurs droits de PI dans de nombreux pays. Les responsables des régimes de la PI subissent donc de plus en plus de pression, car ils doivent trouver un moyen d'obtenir des droits de PI fiables de qualité supérieure dans de nombreux pays, de sorte que les innovateurs puissent percer les marchés existants et les nouveaux marchés en pleine expansion.

La croissance rapide des investissements dans la PI est un autre des changements marquants que l'on observe dans le domaine de l'innovation. On voit de plus en plus de modèles d'entreprise qui accordent une place centrale à la PI, laquelle crée de la valeur et favorise la croissance. Aujourd'hui, les entreprises investissent beaucoup plus dans des biens incorporels que dans des biens corporels et, très souvent, l'augmentation de leurs revenus dépend de l'octroi de licences de PI. Selon l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI), l'augmentation des redevances et des taxes de licence, la forte croissance des marchés du savoir fondés sur les droits de PI et l'augmentation de la proportion de brevets répertoriant des inventeurs de plusieurs pays témoignent de la croissance de la demande en matière de PI.

Étant donné que les droits de PI sont de plus en plus souvent au centre des strategies commerciales internationale des entreprises prospères, la PI est elle aussi devenue essentielle aux politiques axées sur la croissance économique et l'innovation. Ainsi, de nombreux gouvernements cherchent avant tout à se doter de bons cadres de la PI et à offrir les bons incitatifs dans ce domaine.

Pour gérer la demande croissante dans le domaine de la protection des idées, et compte tenu que les décisions rapides relatives à la PI aident les innovateurs à concrétiser, monnayer et commercialiser leurs idées rapidement à l'échelle mondiale, l'ensemble des offices de la propriété intellectuelle (OPI) du monde entier prennent des mesures comme l'échange international de travaux et les projets d'harmonisation. Par ailleurs, les OPI sont nombreux à améliorer la fonctionnalité de leurs services informatiques afin de répondre plus efficacement aux besoins des entreprises d'aujourd'hui.

Les nouveaux types d'innovation et les nouvelles technologies continuent de remettre en question les lois en vigueur, et les nouveaux acteurs modifient les politiques existantes. Par conséquent, une exploitation efficace de la PI exige une compréhension de la façon dont le cadre de la PI influe sur la croissance économique. On insiste donc de plus en plus sur la nécessité de mieux comprendre les stratégies en matière de PI des entreprises et de produire des politiques plus efficaces fondées sur des faits.

Le rôle de l'OPIC dans l'avenir

À la lumière de ce contexte mondial à la fois dynamique et évolutif, les régimes de la PI doivent s'harmoniser davantage avec les stratégies économiques afin de stimuler la croissance. À l'appui de cette évolution, l'OPIC a revu ses énoncés de mission et de vision. Bien que l'OPIC se soit toujours soucié de l'acquisition, de l'encouragement et de la protection des nouvelles connaissances, il est en train de réorienter son regard vers des façons de favoriser le succès des entreprises, l'invention et la découverte au Canada.

Mission

Contribuer à l'innovation et au succès économique du Canada :

Vision

Notre leadership et notre expertise en matière de propriété intellectuelle appuient la créativité, favorisent l'innovation et contribuent à l'essor économique.

Cadre d'action

La Stratégie d'affaires de l'OPIC, qui s'appuie sur nos nouveaux énoncés de vision et de mission, vise à renforcer le rôle de la PI à l'appui de la capacité d'innovation et de production du Canada. Elle comprend des piliers stratégiques et habilitants, qui mettent l'accent sur les principales activités de l'OPIC.

Cadre d'action

Piliers stratégiques

Les améliorations et les changements apportés grâce aux piliers stratégiques nous permettront de cibler nos services, d'intensifier notre contribution tant au sein du gouvernement qu'auprès du public et d'instaurer des changements véritables quant au rôle de la PI dans l'innovation.

Piliers habilitants

Les piliers habilitants nous permettront d'améliorer nos activités quotidiennes, de bâtir les fondements requis pour fournir des services et des modes de communication innovateurs, et de nous doter d'une main-d'œuvre à la fois efficace et qualifiée.

Mesure du succès

L'OPIC mettra en œuvre un système de mesure du rendement qui garantira la continuité du suivi et de l'évaluation de notre rendement. La mesure du rendement nous permet de faire le suivi des progrès que nous réalisons par rapport à nos objectifs, tout en nous efforçant d'administrer le régime canadien de la PI de façon efficace, efficiente et adaptée aux besoins ainsi qu'aux attentes de nos clients. Ce système facilitera la prise de décisions éclairées au moment opportun en ce qui concerne l'établissement de priorités et, au besoin, la prise de mesures correctives. L'objectif visé consiste à établir des liens clairs entre les décisions de gestion et notre rendement par rapport à la Stratégie d'affaires. Tous les employés de l'organisation seront responsables du succès de la Stratégie.

L'OPIC reconnaît qu'il est important de déterminer comment le succès se concrétisera. C'est la seule façon de savoir si nous avons vraiment atteint nos objectifs. Pour cette raison, et pour appuyer nos efforts de mesure du rendement, nous avons défini des « états finaux » pour chacun des piliers stratégiques et habilitants. Pour mesurer le succès obtenu par rapport à chacun de ces états, nous déterminerons dans quelle mesure l'organisation satisfait à ces priorités respectives.

On commencera par mesurer le succès des activités, qui sont liées, par priorité, aux piliers stratégiques et habilitants de la Stratégie d'affaires. Pour chacune des activités qui appuient la priorité respective, nous établirons des données de base et des objectifs réalistes, mais ambitieux.


| Table des matières |

Date de modification :