CIPO Business Strategy 2012-2017 (Page 6 of 13)

CIPO Business Strategy 2012-2017 (PDF: 5.8 MB; 27 pages)

| Table of Contents |


Part IV

Enabling Pillars


Highly Skilled Workforce

A key enabler of any organization's business strategy is the strength of its employees. As an organization where a large percentage of our employees are experts in their field, CIPO has an excellent foundation on which to support creativity, enhance innovation and contribute to Canada's economic success. To maintain this foundation and solidify a reputation as a respected and desirable place in which to build a career, CIPO must attract, retain and develop a skilled and motivated workforce that will contribute to the success of the organization and become the public service leaders of tomorrow.

We will achieve this by designing and implementing strategies and programs that enable effective recruitment, as well as developing and retaining people with the necessary skills and aptitude to meet our current and future organizational needs. As a first step, this will require us to identify and develop the skills and competencies that are most critical in supporting and delivering on our strategic objectives and meeting customer needs.

In order to maintain and build on our capacity, we will tailor our training and development programs to support identified key competencies. We will also expand opportunities for our employees to gain experience, pursue meaningful career paths, and develop their ability to effectively and efficiently manage and lead our change initiatives. We will continue to encourage and support personal and professional development initiatives, such as integrated talent management, that are aimed at developing CIPO's future leaders.

Recognizing our peoples' value and contributions will also be at the forefront of our efforts to ensure that our employees view CIPO as a great place to pursue a career. We will introduce a refreshed awards and recognition program, as well as initiatives designed to engage our employees at every level so they fully understand the importance of their contribution to the innovation cycle. We will also be served in this regard by aligning employees' performance goals with the Business Strategy so they can clearly appreciate their valuable roles in achieving CIPO's mission and vision.

Goal: To promote a workforce that understands the innovation benefits of IP and contributes to the economic success of Canada.

Objectives:

Commitments:

How We Will Define Success

CIPO will benefit from a highly skilled workforce that understands the innovation benefits of IP. We will have the right people, in the right jobs, at the right time. Employees' performance and learning goals will be aligned to CIPO's mission and direction. CIPO will recognize, develop, and value its employees and future leaders.


Responsive IT Infrastructure

The current state of CIPO's IT systems prevents us from fulfilling our vision and mandate in an effective manner. For instance, search and notification capabilities do not provide innovators with sufficient technical IP information and fail to support incremental innovation. Similarly, the systems do not allow for easy extraction of data required to perform business analytics that would support research and fact-based policy making, and inform business investment decisions. The lack of system flexibility also constrains CIPO's ability to implement regulatory changes as well as international agreements in a timely manner.

Dated IT systems also constrain CIPO from operating efficiently, and have affected its capacity to meet modern-day demands and business needs of its customers. The cost of maintaining multiple systems that cannot be integrated poses a serious financial and operational risk for the organization.

CIPO will put in place a modernization strategy to build an efficient and responsive IT environment to support innovation and help maintain a dynamic regulatory framework to respond to business IP needs.

Goal: To maintain responsive information technology (IT) systems that support CIPO's ability to encourage innovation and respond to the IP community's business needs.

Objectives:

Commitments:

How We Will Define Success

CIPO will have in place a responsive IT infrastructure built on a reusable, component-based architecture that supports CIPO's ability to encourage innovation, and responds to the needs of the IP community. Individual projects designed to enable CIPO to provide effective and efficient services, as well as enhanced accessibility to the innovative knowledge contained in its databases, will be delivered on time, on budget, and on scope. The IT function will enable CIPO to ensure that operational imperatives are addressed as they arise and operational systems maintain a high level of performance.


Operational Excellence

For any service organization, operational excellence is about empowered employees who are committed to continually improving business processes to better meet the needs of their customers. As a Special Operating Agency of government, CIPO has always paid close attention to prudent management and fulfilling its obligations to customers.

As with any business today, we need to continue to harvest opportunities to provide greater value to our customers — the innovators — by delivering quality IP rights in a timely and cost-efficient manner. CIPO will therefore undertake a comprehensive exercise to become a truly process-based organization focused on improving cost efficiency and creating a smoother, uninterrupted flow of work that more efficiently meets the needs of our customers with respect to timeliness, quality and cost-effectiveness.

Goal: To provide quality IP rights in a timely and cost-effective manner.

Objectives:

Commitments:

How We Will Define Success

CIPO will have implemented a strong performance measurement system that supports agency-wide improvements to quality, timeliness and cost efficiency and timely and meaningful reports, metrics, and data that supports strategic and operational decision-making. CIPO will have in place a common approach to continuous process improvement. This will enable management to drive effective change and focus on improving value for customers and Canadians.


| Table of Contents |

Date modified:

Stratégie d'affaires de l'OPIC 2012-2017 (page 6 de 13)

Stratégie d'affaires de l'OPIC 2012-2017 (PDF : 5.8 Mo; 27 pages)

| Table des matières |


Partie IV

Piliers habilitants


Main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée

La force de la main-d'œuvre est un des grands facteurs habilitants de la stratégie d'affaires d'une organisation. L'OPIC, en tant qu'organisation comptant un fort pourcentage d'employés experts de leur domaine, s'est doté de bases solides qui favorisent la créativité et l'innovation et contribuent à l'essor économique du Canada. Afin de maintenir ces bases et de renforcer sa réputation à titre d'organisation respectée où il fait bon travailler, l'OPIC doit attirer des employés qualifiés et motivés qui contribueront à son succès et deviendront les leaders de la fonction publique de demain, mais il doit également les retenir et leur offrir des occasions de perfectionnement.

Nous y parviendrons en élaborant et en instaurant des stratégies et des programmes de recrutement plus efficaces ainsi qu'en formant et en maintenant en poste des employés qui détiennent les compétences et les aptitudes nécessaires pour répondre à nos besoins organisationnels actuels et futurs. Dans un premier temps, il faudra cerner et développer les compétences les plus importantes pour réaliser nos objectifs stratégiques et répondre aux besoins de nos clients.

Afin de maintenir et de renforcer nos capacités, nous adapterons nos programmes de formation et de perfectionnement de façon à soutenir les principales compétences définies. Nous offrirons également aux employés plus d'occasions d'acquérir de l'expérience, de poursuivre une carrière stimulante et de développer leurs capacités à gérer et à diriger efficacement des projets de changement. Nous continuerons d'encourager et d'appuyer les projets de perfectionnement professionnel et de développement personnel, comme la gestion intégrée des talents, qui visent à former les prochains leaders de l'OPIC.

La reconnaissance de la valeur et de la contribution de nos employés sera au premier plan des efforts que nous déploierons pour veiller à ce qu'ils considèrent l'OPIC comme un lieu idéal où poursuivre une carrière. Nous mettrons en place de nouveaux programmes de primes et de reconnaissance ainsi que des projets visant à mobiliser nos employés à tous les niveaux afin qu'ils comprennent l'importance de leur contribution au cycle de l'innovation. À cet égard, nous harmoniserons les objectifs de rendement des employés avec la Stratégie d'affaires afin qu'ils voient à quel point leur rôle dans la concrétisation de la mission et de la vision de l'OPIC est important.

But : Promouvoir une main-d'œuvre qui comprend les avantages commerciaux et sociaux de la PI et qui contribue au succès économique du Canada.

Objectifs :

Engagements :

Comment définirons-nous le succès?

L'OPIC bénéficiera d'une main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée qui comprend les avantages de la PI pour l'innovation. Les bonnes personnes occuperont les bons emplois au bon moment. Le rendement des employés et les objectifs d'apprentissage seront harmonisés avec la mission et l'orientation de l'OPIC. Ce dernier reconnaîtra et valorisera ses employés et ses futurs leaders, tout en veillant à leur perfectionnement.


Infrastructure de la TI adaptée

L'état actuel des systèmes de TI de l'OPIC empêche l'organisation de réaliser sa vision et son mandat efficacement. Par exemple, les capacités de recherche et de notification ne fournissent pas aux innovateurs suffisamment de renseignements techniques sur la PI et ne favorisent pas « l'innovation progressive ». De plus, les systèmes ne permettent pas d'extraire facilement les données nécessaires pour procéder à des analyses qui appuieraient la recherche, l'élaboration de politiques fondées sur des faits et les décisions d'investissement. Le manque de souplesse des systèmes limite également la possibilité de l'OPIC à apporter des changements à la réglementation et à respecter diligemment ses obligations en vertu d'ententes internationales.

Les systèmes de TI dépassés freinent aussi le déroulement efficace des opérations de l'OPIC et nuisent à sa capacité à répondre aux besoins de ses clients et aux exigences de notre époque moderne. Le coût associé au maintien de plusieurs systèmes qui ne peuvent pas être intégrés présente un risque financier et opérationnel sérieux pour l'organisation.

L'OPIC mettra en œuvre une stratégie de modernisation qui vise à créer un environnement de la TI efficace et souple, pouvant favoriser l'innovation et le maintien d'un cadre réglementaire dynamique, dans le but de répondre aux besoins des entreprises en matière de PI.

But : Maintenir des systèmes de technologie de l'information (TI) souples qui aident l'OPIC à encourager l'innovation et à répondre aux besoins de la communauté de la PI.

Objectifs :

Engagements :

Comment définirons-nous le succès?

L'OPIC mettra en œuvre une infrastructure de la TI souple qui repose sur une architecture par composante et réutilisable. Cette dernière aidera l'OPIC à favoriser l'innovation et à répondre aux besoins de la communauté de la PI. Les projets individuels conçus pour permettre à l'OPIC de fournir des services efficients et une plus grande accessibilité à l'information contenue dans ses bases de données respecteront les échéanciers, les budgets et le cadre établis. Les TI permettront à l'OPIC de remplir ses obligations opérationnelles et de se doter de systèmes à rendement élevé.


Excellence opérationnelle

Dans toute organisation offrant des services, l'excellence opérationnelle repose sur des employés dotés des moyens nécessaires pour s'engager à améliorer continuellement les processus de façon à mieux répondre aux besoins de leurs clients. À titre d'organisme de service spécial du gouvernement, l'OPIC a toujours veillé à administrer ses activités avec prudence et à répondre à ses obligations envers ses clients.

Comme dans toute entreprise moderne, il faut continuer de chercher des occasions d'ajouter à la valeur des services offerts à nos clients, les innovateurs, en leur garantissant des droits de PI opportuns et rentables. L'OPIC entreprendra donc un exercice exhaustif dans le but de devenir une organisation réellement axée sur les processus qui cherche à améliorer sa rentabilité et à favoriser une exécution des tâches uniforme et sans interruption, de façon à répondre efficacement aux besoins de ses clients en ce qui a trait à la rapidité, à la qualité et à la rentabilité.

But : Fournir des droits de PI de qualité de façon rapide et économique.

Objectifs :

Engagements :

Comment définirons-nous le succès?

L'OPIC se dotera d'un solide système de mesure du rendement qui permettra d'accroître la qualité, la rapidité et la rentabilité à l'échelle de l'organisme et de produire des données, des mesures et des rapports utiles et opportuns qui étayent les décisions stratégiques et opérationnelles. L'OPIC mettra en place une approche commune d'amélioration continue des processus. Cela permettra à la direction d'instaurer des changements efficaces et d'ajouter à la valeur des produits et services offerts aux clients et aux Canadiens.


| Table des matières |

Date de modification :