Trademarks Examination Manual — Page 1 of 5

On this page:

  1. Introduction
    1. General Information

I Introduction

I.1 General Information

The Trademarks Examination Manual ("this Manual") is designed to serve the needs of the Trademarks Office, specifically, staff in the Examination Section as well as the needs of the public. The Trademarks Office, a branch of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), is the official government body which receives and processes all applications submitted both by individuals and companies who wish to register their trademarks.

This Manual incorporates the interpretation of provisions of the Trade-marks Act and the Trade-marks Regulations by the Courts and should therefore reduce the time needed to process applications by clarifying the statutory guidelines necessary to examine them. In addition, and perhaps more importantly, its use should result in more consistent decision making.

This Manual is also a reference guide for applicants and agents on how examiners will interpret and apply the provisions of the Trade-marks Act and Regulations.

It should be noted that this Manual is a guide only and is not binding on the Trademarks Office. This Manual is in no way intended to replace the Trade-marks Act and Regulations. In the case of any inconsistency between this Manual and the legislation, the Trade-marks Act and Regulations must be followed.


Previous | Table of Contents | Next

Date modified:

Le manuel d'examen des marques de commerce — Page 1 de 5

Sur cette page :

  1. Introduction
    1. Information générale

I Introduction

I.1 Information générale

Le manuel d'examen des marques de commerce a été conçu pour répondre aux besoins du Bureau des marques de commerce, et en particulier à ceux de la Section de l'examen ainsi qu'à ceux du public. Le Bureau des marques de commerce, division de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC), est l'organe du gouvernement qui a pour fonction de recevoir toutes les demandes présentées par les particuliers et par les sociétés qui désirent faire enregistrer leurs marques de commerce, et d'y donner suite.

Le manuel vise à regrouper les interprétations qu'ont faites les tribunaux des dispositions de la Loi et du Règlement sur les marques de commerce. Par conséquent, il devrait permettre de réduire le temps passé à l'étude des demandes, car il clarifie les lignes directrices à suivre. En outre, et peut-être là un point plus important, le manuel devrait permettre de rendre des décisions plus uniformes.

Le manuel est aussi un guide de référence pour les requérants et les agents pour déterminer comment les examinateurs interprètent et appliquent les dispositions de la Loi et du Règlement sur les marques de commerce.

Il y a lieu de remarquer que le présent manuel n'est qu'un guide et qu'il ne lie pas le Bureau des marques de commerce. Il ne vise d'aucune façon à se substituer à la Loi sur les marques de commerce et à son Règlement sur les marques de commerce. En cas de divergences entre le manuel et la législation, ces derniers l'emportent.


Précédente | Table des matières | Suivante

Date de modification :