FAQ — Trademarks e-filing application

Login to the Trademark e-filing application

1. What transactions can be submitted using the new online system?

You may use the new system to perform the following tasks:

  • File a new application for the registration of a trademark, certification mark and distinguishing guise.
  • File a revised application.
  • File a certified copy of a registration referred to in subsection 31(1) of the Trade-marks Act if filed with the new or revised application.
  • Appoint a registered trademark agent and/or a representative for service if requested with the new or revised application.
  • Attach additional documentation supporting the new or revised application.

Subsequent releases of the system will allow you to complete and submit applications for the registration of a sound mark, to amend the registration of a trademark to extend the statement of goods and/or services, and eventually all office transactions.

2. Can I use previously saved applications from the old system as templates to file new and revised applications with the new system?

Yes. The new system allows the upload of previously saved HTML applications from the old system to allow the submission of a revised application for use as a template to file a new trademark application.

Note: Although a great deal of effort has been made to ensure maximum compatibility with the previous system, it is possible that not all data will be properly transferred to the new system when a saved application is uploaded. Please read all of the data in the loaded application and make any necessary modifications to comply with this new e-filing system prior to submitting data to the Office.

3. In brief, how does the new e-Filing system work?

You may complete and submit an application at any time of the day or night. The system allows you to submit information by responding to a series of questions to meet not only the filing requirements but other important information to be submitted. This information may include the name and address of a representative for service or your preferred language of correspondence and mode of communication so that the Office may efficiently process your application. In all, you may have fill in up to seven of the following screens to complete your application:

  • Applicant Information
  • Correspondence Details
  • Trademarks Agent/Associate Agent (if applicable)
  • Representative for Service
  • Trademark Details
  • Goods/Services; Basis for Filing and Other Claims
  • Closing Details

Upon successful submission of your application, the acknowledgement receipt and filing notice are sent to you as an attachment via email.

4. How do I receive my application number and filing date?

To receive a filing date and number, an application must meet the filing requirements. An application must contain the following information:

  • the name and address of the applicant
  • the goods or services in association with which the trademark is proposed to be used, or has been used or made known, and in the case of a trademark other than a proposed trademark:
    • the date of first use or making known of the trademark in Canada, or
    • the name of a country in which the trademark has been used and information respecting the registration or application for registration in a country of the Union on which the right to registration is based
  • the application fee
  • a drawing of the trademark, unless the trademark consists solely of a word or words not depicted in a special form

If your application is missing filing requirements, you will be prompted to supply the outstanding information before proceeding to your cart, as the application may not be submitted until the missing filing requirements are provided. The application number will be provided to you immediately following the successful payment of the application fee. However, the official filing date will be the date that the application is received in the Trademarks Office during regular office hours.

5. Can I save my application to submit later?

Yes. You can enter the trademark application at your own pace and save the file in the Work in Progress folder until you are ready to submit it. You may also view, print and/or validate the application to verify the information you have entered.

6. Do I need to forward documents that were submitted online?

Documents sent electronically constitute originals. A duplicate paper copy should not be forwarded.

Date modified:

FAQ — Application du dépôt électronique des marques de commerce

Connexion à l'application du dépôt électronique des marques de commerce

1. Quelles transactions peuvent être effectuées au moyen du nouveau système en ligne?

Vous pouvez vous servir du nouveau système pour exécuter les tâches suivantes :

Les versions subséquentes du système vous permettront de remplir et de présenter des demandes d'enregistrement d'une marque sonore, de modifier l'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce afin d'élargir la déclaration des produits et services, et éventuellement d'accomplir toutes les opérations du bureau.

2. Puis-je utiliser des demandes déjà sauvegardées dans l'ancien système comme modèles pour déposer des demandes nouvelles et révisées au moyen du nouveau système?

Oui. Le nouveau système permet le chargement de demandes HTML déjà sauvegardées à partir de l'ancien système, pour permettre la présentation d'une demande révisée comme modèle, qui servira au dépôt d'une nouvelle demande de marque de commerce.

Nota : Bien qu'on ait fourni des efforts considérables pour assurer la compatibilité maximale avec le système qu'on utilisait avant, il est possible que toutes les données ne soient pas bien transférées dans le nouveau système au moment du chargement d'une demande sauvegardée. Lisez toutes les données se trouvant dans la demande chargée et apportez toutes les modifications requises pour vous conformer à ce nouveau système de dépôt électronique avant de transmettre les données au bureau.

3. En bref, comment fonctionne le nouveau système de dépôt électronique?

Vous pouvez remplir et présenter une demande à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit. Le système vous permet de présenter de l'information en répondant à une série de questions, pour satisfaire non seulement aux exigences en matière de production, mais aux exigences relatives à d'autres renseignements importants à présenter. Ces renseignements peuvent comprendre le nom et l'adresse d'un représentant pour signification ou votre langue de correspondance et votre mode de communication préférés, de sorte que le bureau puisse efficacement traiter votre demande. En tout, vous devrez peut-être remplir un maximum de sept des écrans suivants pour terminer votre demande :

Après que votre demande est bien présentée, l'accusé de réception et l'avis de production vous sont transmis dans une pièce jointe, par courriel.

4. Comment vais-je recevoir mon numéro de demande et la date de production?

Pour se voir attribuer une date de production et un numéro, une demande doit satisfaire aux exigences en matière de production. Elle doit comprendre l'information suivante :

Si votre demande ne satisfait pas à toutes les exigences en matière de production, on vous demandera de fournir l'information manquante avant de poursuivre vers le panier, puisque la demande ne peut être transmise avant que toutes les exigences en matière de production soient respectées. Le numéro de demande vous sera attribué immédiatement après le paiement accepté des droits applicables à la demande. Toutefois, la date de production officielle sera la date à laquelle la demande est reçue au Bureau des marques de commerce, au cours des heures d'ouverture régulières.

5. Puis-je sauvegarder ma demande pour la présenter ultérieurement?

Oui. Vous pouvez préparer la demande de marque de commerce à votre propre rythme et sauvegarder le fichier dans le dossier Travaux en cours, jusqu'à ce que vous soyez prêt à transmettre la demande. Vous pouvez également visualiser, imprimer ou valider la demande afin de vérifier les renseignements que vous avez entrés.

6. Dois-je transmettre des documents qui ont été présentés en ligne?

Les documents transmis électroniquement constituent les originaux. Aucun double exemplaire papier ne doit être transmis.

Date de modification :