Guideline to Furnishing Evidence When Applying for the Patent Agent Qualifying Examination

In order to write the patent agent examination, all candidates are required, pursuant to paragraph 12(b)(iii) of the Patent Rules, to furnish the Commissioner with evidence establishing that they meet the requirements set out in paragraph 12(a).

The Office considers that any of the following will satisfy the requirement to furnish evidence: an affidavit or a statutory declaration by the candidate, or a letter of attestation signed by the candidate's employer or by a registered patent agent.

The affidavit, statutory declaration or letter of attestation will be assessed by the Office to determine whether it establishes that the requirements of paragraph 12(a) of the Patent Rules have been met by the candidate.

The Office, as a general rule, does not require a detailed explanation of a candidate's experience. The Office prefers a document that clearly and succinctly provides qualitative information addressing the nature (e.g. preparing, filing and prosecuting applications), context (e.g. in Canada, at firm X, since 20xx, under the supervision of a registered agent), and duration of the experience. Quantitative descriptions, other than for establishing that the 24-month requirement has or will be met, are not required.

It is not necessary to have a third party attest to the candidate's experience, nor is it required that the experience be obtained under the supervision of a registered patent agent.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices lors de l'admission de l'examen de compétence d'agent de brevet

Pour se présenter à l'examen de compétence d'agent de brevet, les candidats sont tenus, selon l'alinéa 12b)(iii) des Règles sur les brevets, de remettre au commissaire une preuve établissant qu'ils satisfont aux conditions prévues dans l'alinéa 12a).

Le Bureau considère que chacun des documents suivants satisfait à l'exigence de fournir une preuve : un affidavit ou une déclaration solennelle par un candidat, ou une lettre d'attestation signée soit par l'employeur du candidat ou par un agent de brevet agréé.

L'affidavit, la déclaration solennelle ou la lettre d'attestation seront examinés par le Bureau afin de déterminer si les exigences de l'alinéa 12a) des Règles sur les brevets sont remplies par le candidat.

De manière générale, le Bureau n'exige pas une description détaillée de l'expérience des candidats. Le Bureau préfère un document qui fournit, de façon claire et succincte, de l'information qualitative sur la nature (p. ex., préparation, dépôt et poursuite de demandes), le contexte (p. ex., au Canada, pour le cabinet X, depuis 20xx, sous la supervision d'un agent de brevet agréé), et la durée de l'expérience. Les renseignements quantitatifs, autres que ceux destinés à établir que l'exigence concernant la période minimale de 24 mois est ou sera respectée, ne sont pas nécessaires.

Il n'est pas nécessaire qu'une tierce partie atteste l'expérience du candidat, et il n'est pas requis que l'expérience acquise soit faite sous la supervision d'un agent de brevet agréé.

Date de modification :